Yvonne Creative

• Thread starter Thread starter sok leng
  • Start date Start date
Hi Cowie,

My ROM date is on the 7th Feb. How's your preparation going on? Where is your reception venue? I cant get any coat for my FH.
My FH'S pants do not match the colour tone of those coats and he feels very 'laychay' to wear. Trying to persuade him to buy another pants cos I feels that I will look more formal than him. Really wish that he will wear the coat.

Hi Confuse gal,

Ya, I do agree with Cowie. Talk to Yvonne directly.

Hi knowing,

You are also getting ROM in Feb.
Which date? Who is your make-up artist? I think mine is Lily Ru. I hv not try her yet, but saw one of her master piece. The bride looks nice and my FH says the bride looks different in real person and pic. I happen to c the bride in real person.

Hi Snowcat,

I think you r too stressed at work that's y. For my case, recently I am also stressed out
but I really feels that I hv no time left. I hv yet to buy my shoes, settle my flowers and also engrave my wedding rings....

What colour of shoes will go nice with the blue gown? White or silver? Do you think is advisable to get tuplips or rose for the ROM hand bouquet? I wanted to choose tulips but the florist say it does not last, rose wld be better. But rose is too common leh, will champagne rose looks nice with the blue gown?

Hi gals, wonder if anyone of you took the photoshoot already. just want to check whether they allow u to take 2 gowns for outdoor shoots?

also, i think someone mentioned before the magazine ablum. may i know what it's like and how come must add money?

also for the makeup, how much do we need to pay for the ampuloe and false eyelashes?

Hi confused gal, maybe u can take the ROM dress and also use it for your tea ceremony? actually maybe u can bargain for the extra tea dress if u really wants lor.

hi aimee, i think silver shoes with those shiny beads are quite pretty lor, somemore also very easy to match.

Hi Ping,
I don't think Yvonne will let me use the ROM gown as the tea dress since both are on diff days. Do u think instead I can use my evening gown as my tea dress?

I hope you gals are right about me being stress at work, my company even ask me to come back on Saturdays. Where got time!!!! I hope things will go alright, I also ask my FH to give me more moral support.

Hi Aimee,
Personally, I think a pair of matt silver shoes will blend in better with the blue gown. As for flowers, what the florist say is true. From what I have seen, tulips seem to become "soft" after a while....and they tend to bend outwards from the core of the bouquet. But if you really like it, you can overcome this problem by asking your florist to tie the tulips higher. That is, the securing ribbon will be nearer the flower itself and not mid-way up the stem.....eih, I hope you know what I mean. In this way, the tulips will still remain straight and rigid as the day goes on. Also, get your FH to collect the flowers just before going to ROM instead of the day before. This will also ensure that the flowers are still fresh and pretty
I think champagne colour will also look nice with your gown since yours is just a baby blue right?......

Hi Aimee,
Oops....forgotten to answer some of your questions
As for preparations, I am quite settled myself. Now am left with getting a florist and FH's shirt and tie. Have not confirmed reception venue yet. Have you confirmed yours?

As for you FH's coat, why not just ask him to get a black pair of pants? That will go well with the black coats that Yvonne has in the shop. Moreover, black is a colour which he definitely can where to work, etc...... won't be a waste

Hi Cowie,

I m planning to go Orient Ocean @ Miramar Hotel for tim sum lunch. Cos I will b booking that restaurant for my wedding dinner.

This will b a opportunity for my parents and in-laws to take a look @ the environment and also 'taste' the food lah

Oh, my FH did bought a black pants but somehow the colour does not match the coats. The salesman did told me that the pants is charcoal black in colour. I wonder how come ther is a difference???

I will talk to the florist again. C what she says? So where did you get your flowers? Actually what is the market px like huh? I went down to Parkmall, the florist quote me 10stalks of roses cost $60. Is it ex?? My FH thought there is nearer to ROM thus the flowers will be fresh from the freezer and he need not to collect one day earlier.

Hi Aimee,
If that is the case, maybe you want to try getting a piece of sample cloth from Yvonne before you go get your FH's pants? This may help ensure that it matches. Personally I do not think it will be a waste to invest in another pair of pants since these are the colour selection of the coats available in the shop. If he gets a pair that matches now, not only can he use for your ROM, when photoshoot, or actual day comes along, he can use the same pair of pants to match the coats again

I think 10 stalks of roses as a bridal bouquet is about the market price. I am not thinking of getting a bouquet, maybe a wrist corsage instead. Thought it will be pretty troublesome to be holding a bouquet since there will be a lot of moving around that day..........
Hey, heard that the shop at parkmall actually deliver your bouquet to ROM for you if the timing is rite. Maybe you want to check with them

Yvonne hasn't called me to arrange me to meet up w my ROM makeup artiste yet
so i have no idea who is doing the makeup
should i called Yvonne now
my ROM is 19th Feb

I've finally went to YC's boutique last Saturday and decided on a silver gown with bare back. I love the gown, but what colour of flowers will match with a silvery gown? Also my FH managed to borrow a coat, that with mandarin collar. Quite happy. But I noticed that most of the bridal gowns are spahetti strap or tube kind. And some of their gowns look like they have been altered a few times. Do you think YC is obligated to dry clean my ROM gown before I wear it on the actual day? My make up artist is Eileen, anyone know her??

Aimee, I'm still looking for a Tim Sum restaurant leh. At first we were going to Mouth Restaurant at Chinatown Shopping centre. But with me and my FH looking so grand. A bit funny to go walking around a shopping centre leh. How much is Orient Ocean's Tim Sum? I was thinking of 2 tables.

Forgot to add, but have anyone of you ever wanted a certain kind of wedding gown, but YC cannot cater for it. Perhaps they don't possess this material, etc?

Hi Snowcat,
Eileen is my beautician currently and she will be doing my bridal make-up for me too
Nice lady. But I have not tried her make-up yet. Maybe Connie can help you here
?

If you have any request for gowns, just check with Yvonne. Am sure she will try her best to give you what you want

Do you know how YC arrange the make-up artist for us? It seems that they will ask wher we live first and they allocate accordingly. Cos b4 Doreen arrange for me, she ask me where I stay. Has anyone use Lily Ru b4? Is she ok? Though I hv seen her 'master piece', but better to play safe.

Hi Snowcat,

The a la-carte tim sum lunch at Orient Ocean is 9.80+++ with 34 selections. The River city (sister co of Orient) restaurant which is inside the excelsior hotel also offers tim sum lunch @ 9.80+++ but wif only 20 selections. My fren has tried Orient b4, she says not bad.

I wld think pink or champagne colour flowers will goes well with the silvery gown.

Hi Snowcat

Are u referring to Eileen Chan?? Well, I must say both the makeup and hairdo is very well done. She's quite experience in that. The makeup she did for me is very natural and well blended. You won't see it as being too heavy in the make up. As for the hairdo, I was given 4 different styles and each reflects a different personality .....

Dun worrie, I believe she'll try to give u a image that best fit your look and personality. If u want, I can show u my photos one of these days if we happen to meet up, okie?

Hi Snowcat,

The prices I quoted are for wkdays. Wkends will b 12.80+++.

Hi knowing, actually my make-up artist is for my ROM only. So dun worry.

Hi Connie, thanks for your affirmation. At least I can leave my face totally to Eileen. Why do they need to allocate by locations? I will still be going down to YC to wear my gown and do the make-up. Dun tell me I'm mistaken? Eileen told me 10am, coz' my ROM is at 11:30am.

Hi aimee,
When u mean 9.80+++, it is BUFFET a la-carte? Where is Mirarmar hotel? What colour is champagne colour flowers? Izzit yellow? Coz' my FH say yellow roses is for separation.

Hi Snowcat,

According to Doreen, the same make-up artist will be used for my actual day as well. U mean yours is different??

Ya, the tim sum is buffet a la-carte style seems that you order from menu. MIramar hotel is @ Havelock Rd opp River View Hotel. Champagne is something like peach colour but lighter. Ur FH is right, yellow rose is for separation.

Hi Snowcat.....

Eileen did the makeup for me for my studio and outdoor photoshoot....tt's why I've so many styles....

Well...I think if Eileen is doing for ur ROM only...dun worry....she's rather fast in making-up for the bride....u'll be on time for ur ROM.

Btw, i've not tried Lei Garden at Chijmes but hv went to another of their outlet somewhere in Orchard Rd...fm wat I can remember (hv not been their for quite sometime liao), their food is quite good....worth giving it a try....esp. their dim sum.......

Hi Snowcat
Today I called YC
Doreen told me Eileen will do the makeup for me
but later called n tell me Eileen will be overseas during my rom day
so she said will arrange another makeup artiste for me, till now haven't received any news yet...
Just heard fm my gf there's a new designer at YC
i am wondering does it mean next time we cannot get personalised service fm Yvonne
I think i feel more comfortable talkin to Yvonne
than the rest

Hi all YC brides,
Juz finish ROMing today. Everyone said I looked nice in my silvery bare-backed dress. But I did not really like my make-up. Perhaps my eyes are small and therefore have to put fake-eyelashes and mascara, but I felt that I looked too dramatic, I prefer a more natural look. I have already suggested to Yvonne to find me another make-up artist for my actual day. No thanks to drama looks!!! AND I had to pay extra $40 for the "AM-PEEL" and fake eyelashes. No wonder brides end up paying bridal boutiques much more than the package price.
I went to Wang Jiang Lou for my Dim Sum, guess how much we paid? $189 for 20 ppl. Coz' 50% off for all Dim Sum on weekday lunch. Moreover its a nice place with nice ambience.

Hi snowcat,

Congrats!!!
When is your actual wedding? Have you planned already?

Do keep us updated, okie?

Who is your makeup artist? Mine was Irene and she did a wonderful job for me on my actual day. Everyone commented that my makeup was natural and nice.

Hi Jojo,
Actually my artist is Eileen. Now when the photos are out, I find that I actually look ok. Perhaps her kind of makeup is more photograph-friendly. Or perhaps I'm simply not used to putting on makeup. I really hate putting on foundation, coz' I've got oily skin.

Hi Cowie,
Thanks. When is yours?? All the best to you and your FIH.

Actually I feel kinda funny, coz' now I have to call my hubby parents, mama and papa. So used to calling them Auntie and Uncle.

I've placed my digital photos on the web. Those of you who are interested can email me at [email protected]

Anyone tried having their makeup done by Shirley
I was told my rom will be done by her
not sure of her skills

Hi Snowcat,
Thanks! Mine is on 15 Feb
Eileen will be doing my photoshoot and actual day make-up actually....... you got me a bit worried......

Hi Snowcat,

I had extremely oily skin as well. As such, putting on makeup for me was a real big challenge for Irene on my photoshoot day.

However, the photos turned out really well.
I looked natural and best of all, myself.

Subsequently, I went to my mum's beautician and had facial done by her. I had treatment for about 2 months and by my actual day, Irene actually commented that my skin had improved by leaps. She was very happy since now my complexion didn't pose a problem to her at all.
My actual day makeup was very light and natural as well. Will be posting some photos on the web soon. Will let you gals know once it is ready.

Cowie...don't worry lah...things will turn out fine.

Hi Snowcat,

Thanks for sending me the pic. You look nice and natural with the make-up. I hope mine will turn out nice as well. My make-up artist is Lily Ru, kind of worried, seems that no one here has use her before.

:P
Aimee

Anyone use Shirley before...i find her coordination quite poor....

Hi Jojo
Can recommend yr facial artiste or nt
have heard fm Yvonne that u have a facial artiste
that charges at a v reasonable price

Hi knowing,

My beautician is located at UOL Building, Somerset Road...
"Beauty 21". If you are interested, give me your email addy and I will send you the details.
Yupz...she charges really reasonable rates as compared to those outside.

Hi Aimee,
Thanks for your praises!! How's your ROM??? Must send me your pics leh.

Hi knowing,
Why u say Shirley's coordination quite poor?

Have u all met one another before perhaps at YC shop?

BTW on my ROM day during my make-up, I heard xiaomei commenting to Eileen that she is thinking of joining another Bridal shop. I hope she doesn't "tiao chao", coz' I like her and her bridal experience.

You know why I say I don't like my make-up? When I look at YC's bridal photos and my make-up, hey I look like all other YC's brides, same kind of make-up. I dun mean any offense, but I feel kinda strange.

Hi snowcat,

wow...you look really natural and nice.

Knowing...I sent you an email already...do let me know if you don't receive it.

Cowie...how excited anot? a few more days to ROMing...heehee
Me excited for you leh...on second thoughts....I may be able to make it on Friday leh...let me check and sms you again...cos next week all supplementary and remedial lessons in school will be cancelled.

Hi all....

Me back from honeymoon liao but was busy with worka nd new year preparations and lots of other things so have not posted anything for a real long time.

Seems like everyone is happy preparing for your wedding.... congrats and all the best.....

Snowcat,

I also felt a but weird when I have to change the way I address my hubby's parents and I change the addressing from the day of my ROM... which is like half a year from m

Hi Jo Jo
Thank U I have received the info...

Hi SnowCat
I made such a remark is becos
YC actually ask her to call me
but then she didn't till i called YC again
n she called, she told me she's busy call me bk again, i waited a few days still no news so i called bk...she cannot remember my rom date....
somemore its so near now....so i told her again..
hope she turns up on that day....

Hi JoJo,
Must SMS me hor......looking forward to seeing you!!! I think will slowly start to get more and more excited....
But I think I am more worried than excited now leh

Hi KK,
Enjoyed yourself in NZ?
Even though I know that I will be starting to address my future in-laws as Father and Mother after ROM....... I still dunno if I will be able to do it

Hi Knowing,

I used Irene...personally, I feel she is responsible and good. In fact, all my guests commented that my make-up was natural and not too thick or white...check with Yvonne and see what she has arranged for you, okie? I am sure she wouldn't give you someone who isn't professional enuff...

So how's the wedding preps going so far? Do keep us updated, okie?

Hi JoJo
Thanks, u're always so helpful
My gf just went for her ist session of gown designing recently
But she said she was only shown 5pcs of EG & didnt see any samples of WG except 1 newly made pc
Could u share w us during ist trial what did they show u & hw abt gown designing, where the ideas come from.....cos i see some people's gowns are v unique n special

Hi Knowing,

You flatter me...heehee...
I am only sharing with you what I hv experienced. Actually, I cannot really remember what I did on my first appt....if I didn't remember wrongly, I went with a few designs I saw on the magazine and told them what I had in mind. Then, they selected a few pieces of WG and EG for me to try on to see which cutting suits me best. The first session was mainly communicating with them as to what I wanted and what they would give me. Then they also took my measurement and drew the sketch of the gown for me. Whereupon, I selected the material for both the gowns.

I think that is about all...

Meanwhile, have fun!!!

P/s...did you go for facial at the place I recommended?

Hi JoJo
Is it the range of gowns at YC v limited?

I still haven't went to the facial cos now trying to cut some costs after the expenditure during my rom in feb

Will go in April, keep u informed then :>

Hi knowing,

From what I know, YC has quite a good range of gowns for her brides to choose from...of course those OTR ones, will need alterations before you can fit them nicely.

I being "dua jiak" also managed to find a gown for my photoshoot leh...
... so...no need to worry.

Convey your concerns to Yvonne or Doreen or the others there. They will definitely be able to help in some way or another.

Yupz...will look forward to postings from you soon!!!

Juz curious, although YC tell us that our gowns are MTM, wat if they take one of their gowns and alter it until it fits the design that they want? I was just thinking that this would be possible.
Also do you think it is better to MTM wedding gown or evening gown? I was thinking of having only 1 walk-in during the wedding banquet, what do you all think? Coz' I've been to going to weddings recently and I find it a chore to stand up again during my fren's second walk-in. I think 2 walk-ins are not needed, just 1 walk-in wearing the evening gown and can seat throughout the dinner. What do you all think?

Hi aries, I had my wedding last December and photos taken as early as June last year. As such, I wouldn't be able to help you with the photographer. But, it would be good to communicate what you want with Yvonne. She is rather accomodating.

Snowcat...I am sure they have their ethics and wouldn't stoop so low as to do this. They would want to protect their image as well. So if you have paid for MTM gowns, they will give you MTM gowns.
As for your question on marching in...I had 2 march-ins...but the guests only stood for the first one. They need not stand for the second march-in. Communicate this with your emcee and see how it goes. I am sure your guests would be extremely pleased though.

Hi Snowcat,
I had the same fear as you also about the MTM gowns after I have heard stories about shops just altering what they have to suit you. But my experience with YC is pretty positive. I tried on some of their gowns, found one which was similar to what I had in mind, communicated to Yvonne about exactly what I had originally wanted...... well, I am seeing my gown maturing into what I had in mind.......just went for my 2nd fitting.

As for whether to MTM WG or EG, why not try out their gowns first and see if there is already a WG or EG that suits exactly what you wanted. That why you can MTM the other gown
For me, I chose to MTM WG cos there is this particular design which I always dreamt of, and really hope to have it

I dun think it matters whether you have one or two march-ins. It is your wedding, you call the shots
Put it this way, only you and your hubby will have fond memories of that special nite for life. As for guests, not many will really remember the sequence of the events during the dinner for long. So, follow your heart......

Snowcat:

I noticed you mentioned sometime ago that one of the brides in this forum (KK) is actually a sales person from YC?!?! and that she not really like us who are real bride?

Can you tell me, cos i very shock that they pretend to be independent bride and actually is from YC or relatives?

Hi to all.

Just wish to share some experiences with everyone. Me & FH went down this evening to YC to choose photos and there was this extremely pushy lady there. We have never seen her before, but she seems to have some interest in making sure you choose A LOT of photos!

She wanted us to pay 2K more for all the shots and insisted we take all the photos, even those where we look horrible! Although Yvonne was there and did not pressure us, this person kept insisting and pushing us to get more and more photos. It was very irritating and was such an unpleasant experience. If even, Doreen, Yvonne, Dean and Xiao Mei are not pushing us, why should she?

She spoiled our entire experience tonite.
Just beware that although YC pple may not seem to be pushy, they can be when it comes to choosing photos. not sure if this means their standard will deteriorate.

Any one else share such an experience?

Hi Leena,

I was at YC yesterday evening, what time you were there? I just signed up with them and my wedding is in Sept. Like to hear from you more.