Which Slimming Centre is the Best ?

alan_golfnut

junec: FYI, both my knees are thoroughly worn out from years of hard sports. The ortho told me that I got osteo arthritis so bad that the doctor (from a government hospital notorious for understating problems) at age 27, my knees were so worn out that I'd prob be in a wheelchair if I kept going for another 2 years. Well, I did keep going for another 2 years of competitive rugby, and I'm still walking way past my 'expiry date', being active and all.

I just kept working to make my knees stronger, made sure that when I exercised, I take care of my knees, such as not locking out the knees or hyperextending your knees.

You need to know which part of your knee is hurting, or get a doctor to diagnose for you what is the problem. You should strengthen the knee to stabilise it from too much sideways movement, if it's a stability issue. If it's severe wear and tear and it really bothers you, try exercises with less impact, such as swimming, rowing, crosstrainer, etc.

Oh, knee guards, are debatable. Unless they're the top of the range ones with metal by the side (and costs like in excess of $100!), they're quite useless. I had them and wore them to keep me knees warm and also a psychological boost. Best thing to do is still to strengthen your kness stability with leg extensions and leg curls.

junec

Alan, you are the best. Thanks for the inspiration. Now I feel more confident about continuing on with my exercise.

I'll keep wearing my guardian knee guards ($27 each) as security blankets and will start wearing better running shoes for my run tmr. BTW I just when to Queensway for a new pair of adidas climacool. Not sure if they give enough support but they look so cool!

I'm already very concious about not locking out or hyperextending my knees. Next step is to find exercise for strengthening the knees.

As for doing less impac exercise, afraid can't do much there, I just like running. Am even tinking of challenging myself to do 1/4 maraton for the 1st time this year. I must be going thru mid life crisis coz really want to change my fitness this year.

alan_golfnut

Junec: Ah, dun worry. That's the reason why health/fitness is not a job for me, but a passion. Just glad that by sharing, I can make a diff in your life.

As long as the shoe fits your running profile (try this link to look for your best shoe http://www.runnersworld.com/category/0,5034,s6-52-167-0-0,00.html), then go for it! Most shoes dun last much longer than 1 year nowadays. Personally, I wear Mizuno cos I feel they last longer and is more reasonably price.

Whoa! Great aims! Go for it! But do do strengthen you knees if you're gonna be training so much. You don't always have to do road runs for mileage, mix it up with runs on the track or field (softer surface), or on the treadmills. Do swim cos it'll not only work your cardio, but also strengthen your legs.

joymmt

Hi Alan
I too suffer knee pain when going up and down the stairs... must be wear and tear due to years of dancing and jogging.
Went to see an ortho and he advised me to do some exercises to strengthen the thigh muscles. He just did a visual check and charged me $100 consultation. Not too sure whether he got "liao" or not. Anyway, I did not follow his routine, as I was too lazy.
I have stopped jogging as I worried that I might over-exert the knees. Now I am taking yoga. Thinking of having another second opinion about the knees. Do you have any good doctor to recommend? I couldn't figure out which will be better for me - chiropracter, orthopaedic or physiotherapist, hope I get the spelling right

Thanks for enlightening!

alan_golfnut

joy: Wow, how to judge whether an ortho is good or not? I used to see Dr Prem Kumar from NUH, but he can rather acerbic and so you might not like him, seems always in a rush, but he is sposed to be good with what he does.

Chiropractors: Frankly, I dunno what good they would do for you when it's an issue with the insides of your knee, not a problem with bones.

Sometimes I know it's kinda frustrating that we spend so much money only for a doctor to give us a once over. But frankly, if we didn't try what the doctor advised us to do, and still feel the pain, don't you think it's an even bigger waste of money to go to another doctor, and the doc tells you the same thing? I mean, it's the same as not taking the medicine that Dr A prescribed, and when you don't recover, you go see Dr B for him to give you the same medication. How to recover?

What exactly did the doctor say was wrong with your knee? Wear and tear can happen to many bits of the knee, to the ligaments and the cartilage. You cannot get away from strengthening your knees. It carries your entire body weight, and so you can imagine the load that it's under. My best advice to you is, do what the doctor advised you to dilligently, then see how it goes after another 6 months.

BTW, dancing does place A LOT of lateral (sidewards) stress on the knees. Work on your muscles, work on your muscles. Good luck!

rosie

Hi joymmt,
Why not u try glucosamine? My mum has been taking it for years already. Does help in relieving joint pain.

alan_golfnut

Rosie: Glucosaumine (which has to be taken with Chondroitin) works, but it has to be taken on a cyclical basis. Meaning, for example, a month on and another month off. However, it should be just ONE way of maintaining quality of life.

joymmt

Hi Rosie
Have taken glucosamine with Chondroitin for one year but no difference leh..Actually quite sad that it didn't work for me. I am thinking of trying the Glucosamine cream, might be better than the ingestible ones as it can penetrate to the knees better.

Hi Alan
Have not heard about taking glucosamine on a cyclical basis, interesting...
Sounds like dancing might worsen the situation with the lateral stress. What a pity to give up something that I love. Guess I have to start exercising muscles since there are not much choice already.
Wah, you do got "liao", see your postings in a lot of health threads, dishing out very good advice.

Thanks folks for your prompt replies!

alan_golfnut

joy: The cyclical thing, it's too overcome the body adapting to it and hence loss of effect. Don't give up dancing if you love it so much!! Do go to the gym to and work your legs to strengthen your muscles so as to provide lateral support for your knees. 2 recommended ones are leg extensions (works front of legs, or the 'quadriceps') and leg curls (back of legs, or 'hamstring'). Do high repetitions to start with, with light weights, cos without being there, I cannot tell what weight would be suitable for you before it hurts. Too heavy, it might hurt. So do about 20 repetitions (make sure weight is light enough for you to do 20), rest for maybe 2 minutes, then repeat the whole process (the particular exercise plus rest) for another 2 times. When you think the load becomes too easy for you (usu after a month if you do twice a week), increase by half or one plate of weight. Do this for maybe a month or two before going back to your dance. And when you do, 2 things to do: (1) wear a knee guard (those that you find in Guardian or sports shops) to keep some stability in your knee. They're quite rudimentary in terms of support, but at least it's SOME form of support. Keeps the knees warm which gives comfort to the joints too. (2) EASE yourself into dance before launching into those super scary (from the point of view of wrenching to the knee) twists. Try some basic movements to see if it hurts, then gingerly try the movements that usually hurts. Try that! If you need more info, just PM me.

Oh, no worries about the health thing. It's just fortunate that I had the opportunity to an education in Health & Physical Education, so I might was well help educate people cos there're so many misconceptions out there, which leads to commercial exploitations and grief for consumers.

junec

Joymmt: My hubby tired both Pills & cream form of Glucosamine cream and he think cream form better.

alan_golfnut

June: Wow! Will keep that in mind when my knee acts up again. Speaking of application on skin, read about how some experiments they did on anabolic steroids where they stuck the steroid patches on the subjects' scrotum. Rationale being that the skin is thinnest there, and might be most easily absorbed. I think they found it rather effective.

alan_golfnut

June: Oh my! Cannot imagine what you'd planned to post!! Haha! Actually, was gonna joke if your hubby's knee injury was a result of your, ahem, 3 hour marathons? *lol*

Speaking of marathon, you doing the Sheares Bridge run or the 2nd Link run? I can't run that long, hate long distances. Was always a sprinter, not that I was fast, just lazy. ;)

junec

Yup signed up for the 5km Sheares Bridge run. It'll be my first. You running too?

Not doing the 2nd link one coz friends joke that must bring passport & likely to not be able to complete the run coz will not look the same as passport photo after running to check point.

Anyway, I never said I accomplished the 3 hr thing, I merely suggest that it was possible to increase endurance with endurance training. What are you thinking?

alan_golfnut

June: Bleah! I'm too competitive, so when if I sign up for such runs, I'd wanna do well, meaning I'd need to train obsessively, and running is not something I wanna get obsessive abt!

3 hour marathon: Sorry, read too much into it! *lol*

Re your watch, just waiting for northgal to revert now before I go pick it up. BTW, how do you wanna do the transaction? Where do you work or stay? Could meet somewhere convenient.

junec

Alan: I work Suntech area. Where do you work? Actually u work for Bank or insurance company or other finance firm? How do u find time to be personal trainer?

alan_golfnut

June: Ah, Suntec, no prob, can meet you there, but depends where northgal works though.

I'm with Pru, so I get more leeway with time, just gotta be an expert juggling.
What to do, I enjoy both jobs.

alan_golfnut

lala: Frankly, naturophathy is a very iffy area, based on theoretical assumptions, and so far, there hasn't been any independent medical verifications that it works. It's sposed to remove toxins, but the thing is, we do remove toxins through our normal process of defecation, and water does help the process. And diet can also help, meaning as long as we stay off stuff like alcohol, cigarettes, etc, the body will naturally cleanse itself.

joymmt

Hi June - Just like to dance generally... Also into social dance like waltz, latin etc. I especially love rock n roll and have learnt up to advanced level. But now with painful knees, I have stopped for a long while. Just last week I danced with my colleagues at Bar None and knees still hurt for simple stuff like that. Haiz...Must try the creams if your hubby finds it work.

Hi Alan - thanks for the tips. The leg and light weight exercises were similar to the ones suggested by that ortho specialist. Aiyoh, wish I have got these advice from you earlier, so I save $100
Have to psyche myself to start working on the muscles vigilantly!

alan_golfnut

Joy: No worries at all! Wow! $100? How much time did the doctor spend with you? You can spend less money for an hour with me, and I can take you through all the exercises, explain to you how it works, how to do it, and what to look out for! *lol*

joymmt

Alan: $100 for 15 minutes and no medication, just ask me to exercise my thigh and legs. Will try out his routine first. If it doesn't work, I will come to a real pro like you - cheap and good

snowysoul

Hello alan,

Very curious hor...did u get any students from this forum..? your sounded like a very very expert. I was wondering how much u charge har?Perhaps u can post your pix and show us your picture..quite curious with all your expert knowledge, u must have superb body build hor...

snowysoul

Hello alan,

Very curious hor...did u get any students from this forum..? your sounded like a very very expert. I was wondering how much u charge har?Perhaps u can post your pix and show us your picture..quite curious with all your expert knowledge, u must have superb body build hor...

alan_golfnut

joy: Nope, not suggesting you come to me, merely a comparison. Doctors suggests the treatment, it's the physios who do the hard work of getting the patients back on the round. Kudos to them! I appreciate their efforts for getting me back on the road after I'd broken my back years ago.

snowy: As I'd always said, I always believe the diff between me and the next person is not how smart or good I am, but the opportunities I've been given. And in this case, I studied this field when I was Uni, and cos I enjoy sharing, I've always been a candid person with my views. And no, I don't get any students from here though I dun deny that I do get queries. And no, I dun profess to having a superb body. We all have our limitations, as I've always emphasised, and no one would say that they are perfect. Yes, we all search for perfection, but there'll always be something we won't be satisfied with. It's human nature. Nope, won't post my pic, but if you should be so curious, you're more than welcomed to come to the gym to have a look see.

prudential

Ever wonder why Alan seem to be so free here to reply to all our queries? He is one of the top agent of Prudential. This thread may just be another way that he try to get contact for his insurance. PT is secondary.

snowysoul

Har?really? so he has hidden agenda? Err...he never sell any insurance to us yet leh...Wow, than he must be rich, got so many side lines.

prudential

He is full time in insurance. This may explain why he is gettting publicity for himself here, stepping into almost thread with weighty issue. He has the advantage to use his sports background to build up his customer base. Perhaps the bridegroom-to-be should spend more time with his wife.

junec

Nah, I think he is genuinely chatty and willing to share his view. If he gets more business ou of it, great for him, but I doubt its his main agenda to get insurance business.

It's nice to think that people join forums because we enjoy the interaction and the sharing of knowledge.

If we focus on finding people's alteria motive, all the "experts" would be eliminated. There is a medical doctor in the forum too and he has been helping us with our queries. If we start accusing him of being here to solicite business we'll scare him away.

The main reason for most of us, me included,is the interesting peole that I get to talk to. I'm new to this but have found it addictive. Always looking forward to hearing viewpoints and experiences.

alan_golfnut

Haha! At every forum, we always get people who'd come in and get personal, so I'm pretty used to it.
Say what you want, it doesn't bother me and neither will I be bothered to engage in a spat. Not my intention. I welcome differing opinions and will argue objectively, but if it's personal attacks, then I won't bother. ;)

June: Thks for your kind words, really appreciative. Had a quick think about what I said, and I really dun regret being here nor what I said, and I stand by my views. Prob some bizpeople here might be offended cos they deem my actions as being detrimental to their biz, but as far as I am concerned, we are all adults. Neither am I omnipotent to be able to be able to sway opinion with my words (wow, I shld be in politics then! *lol*). As everyone can see, not all agree with what I saw, and I respect that. I just share what I know, and hope that it can make a positive difference to some lives. Yup, it can be a fault, with me being so candid all the time. But do I regret telling the truth, none at all.

Oh, and I've been truthful rite from the start of what I do, and was never sneaky about it. If people enquire abt my service, sure I'd reply them. What is wrong with that? *lol* Sorry to the person who wanted to get personal and try to hurt me, cos it's not gonna work. Neither will I engage in a sledging battle with you. So chill!

snowysoul

Hey Prudential,

How u know our this Alan is the alan u know?Anyway i tink u r new here rite? Hmm...as well as we exchanges experience in this forum, I think it is still ok if people sell insurance rite? Not as though he is a murderer, rapist or watever...ha!!ha!!

nikki_chen

We merely wan to seek for advice here of any problem we meet or share information.

We dun wan any battle happend in here. Any post whether is true or believe or not is up to you mah.

If said the purpose of enter this thread is to get business, maybe not only Alan ba.

Just ask want we would like to know, share want we wanna to share, get satisfied the asnwser we get from, why should need think so far/lots neh..

shuhui83

hi alan, now then i know that you are a prudential agent... but too bad i had jus bought my insurance.....how long are you in this line... one of my poly mate is also into this line. but isnt it difficult to work in this line...

alan_golfnut

kacy: No lah, I always believe that people shld buy it from someone that they trust, so I'm not really a cold calling kinda person, much to the distress of my boss.

gomugomu

hi i got a cenosis treatment for sale.there more than 20 treatment left n there are also serums. willing to let go at $500. (neg) pls contact me...thx very much
willing to let go as i will be leaving sg soon.
pls email me at [email protected]

jastan

Alan_lee
need to check with you, my hubby got problem with his ankle, whenever he start his jogging routine, he will always get pain at his ankle, now he seldom jog. Is this normal? by the way he on the overweight category. So he's trying to do some exercise to lose weight and he prefer jogging but everytime he starts he will have this problem.

I am also trying hard to lose weight, how does the training at gym helps? Must engage a personal trainer? How does this whole things work?

alan_golfnut

Hi Jas, has your buddy every sprained his ankle before? I guess his weight does the pressure on his ankle (and other joints) no favour either. He could strengthen his ankles, and also do some low impact cardio work to reduce his weight before his embarks on high impact ones like jogging.

You can check the first post of "How to slim down properly" (just click the link that northgal provided) on how training in the gym helps and how to do it. The advantage of having a personal trainer is that a specialised programme can be specifically tailored for you, with the necessary changes made along the way as well. Get someone who is well-accredited, cos anyone can be accredited, but the question is what is the depth of his knowledge and ability.

See you at the thread!

freedom

Hi people, i am thinking of going slimming at see either slimming centre or acupuncture etc.... haven decide on which one to go cos still do not know which one is the best. Can you guys give me some advise? My budget is nothing more then $2000 and must at least help to cut down 10 to 20 kgs in 3 months. THANKS!

bethany

hi freedom, dun think S$2000 will be enough if your target is about 10 to 20kg, maybe S$4000 still possible.

But i do have friends managed to lose 6-15kg in 1.5-2 months time, which i think is very good already, and cost wise is within your budget.

alan_golfnut

WHOA! 4k?! For your budget, if you sign up with a good personal trainer, you could lose 10kg, plus you'd be healthier (lower blood pressure, lower cholestrol, avoid osteoporosis, etc), better mood, more energetic, improve your quality of life, etc. Best part is, the money you save from not going to a slimming centre, you can save it to buy yourself a new wardrobe rather than buying one for the onwers of the slimming centre.
Plus an active lifestyle combined with a healthy diet is the only proven non-medical way to lose fat.

freedom

hi beibei, you mentioned that your friends lost 6 to 15 kg in 1.5 to 2 mths and cost wise is within my budget....what is it? how?

bethany

4K alot meh? Think you go any slimming center will definitely cost more than that lor, and you could easy gain back all the weight you have lost..

personal trainer is a good idea, only thing is it might take longer time, that's what i think personally lah.

my friends who went to slimming center eventually all give up, cos there's not much effect yet super exp.. that's why i will nvr consider..

Freedom: my friends are taking organic supplement, can lose about 1-3 kg in one week time. then for the following 2-3 weeks, i see them lose alot in size but not weight, on 4th or 5th week, they start to lose weight again and progress is faster.. i find this way very healthy as our human body is organic mah, it will help you lose weight and at the same time detoxify your body. i will try out and let you know more..=)

freedom

hey has anyone of you heard of AIMIN?
any comments on this acupuncture place? like not bad leh so would like to hear more honest comments. The package is $1800 and can lost 10 to 12 kg in 4 months. Abit slow rite....seems like beibei's organic supplement one like better..... PEOPLE PLEASE GIVE ME SOME TRUEFUL ADVISE LA!!!!

redtail81

Hi ppls,

If you really keen on losing weight. I have come across an effective weight loss programme which my friend has personally tried it and lost 10kg in a month plus. It has personal trainers to advise you on what you should do and what you should not do FOC too.
Interested ? Email me at [email protected]

bbg

hi, i am currently undergoing the chilli slimming program by May Fair Beauty. have been doing it for 2 mths, VERY happy with the results.

but do keep in mind that u cant go to slimming centers and still eat alot. however the diet i did here is easy to follow. in fact its not even a diet. i eat wat i want but less carb, less oily food. if u want more info, mail me [email protected]