Where to source for good printer

shoezz

got to know a rather cheap and nice printer to work with..
David has a shop at Sunshine Plaza (sorry I can't remember the name of the shop, it;s located at the ground floor, you can email him at [email protected]). He uses offset printing machines and he is charging me $1.10 per card. He is a very nice guy to work with.

Essentially, i showed him a rough design of how i like my card to look like and he is helping me with the wordings and layout inside.

icute

Hi Emmeline,

Do you know how much Kentrich Trade Press charges for printing inserts? Can I have their address, contact number and name of person in-charge pls? Thanks!

emmeline

Hi icute,

Just fyi I did not go to Kentrich to do inserts.
I only went to him for my church wedding invites, which costed me $0.70/card with digital images, flip open print on all sides, & laminate.
Feel free to contact Tony Ong at HP : 9673 2080 or email him at : [email protected] to obtain a quote from him. Tell him that Emmeline intro'd u. Hope he still remembers me lor.

Btw, sorrie leh, i dun have his address with me now. Call him shld do the trick.

eggie

hi emmeline,
that's very cheap for your church wedding invites. Do you do the artwork yourself? It's full colour printing for all sides? What's your volume like?

lester

I got the card from T Dragon but will be printing on my own. There will be approximately 250 cards and it is just a normal 2 page printing with matt gold ink. Anyone has any recommendations for cheap and reliable printer to recommend? Thanks.

anoif

maybe u can try innerval design and print.
u can contact andy lee at 97437676. c wat's the best price that he can give.

kite~

finally i printed all my cards. Got very bad experience n encounter with Jasvy. Alot of major mistakes they made.

ohmigod

Hi Kite
What do u mean by bad experience with Jasvy? My hotel recommended them and I am thinking of going to them. What happened?

kite~

do not wish to elaborate. very bad experience though. thought alot of ppl recommend that its gd since it tied up with many hotels in SG.

jaspeng

Hi everybody,

Some questions to ask:-
1. How much to print insert?
2. Does printing insert more expensive than printing on the card?
3. Does it cost more than insert if I wish to choose template card that the shop has?

deremi

hey all,

can someone advise which printer company print nice design n reasonable price?

Hi-Tech, T-Dragon, ACHIEVE DESIGN & PRINT or Jasvy?

aleixis

Does anyone have any comments on the following printers?

- T Dragon
- Jasvy
- Acepro
- Generic Printing

I have seen a few comments for the first 3 printers but havent seen any comments for Generic Printing. These are the 4 recommended by our hotel.

Any comments, anyone? Thanks!!!

hi aleixis,

i am not impressed with jasvy. think you can give it a skip.

t dragon seems ok... though i think its a little tiny bit ex...

ace pro & generic printing.. i never heard before... dun think its very commonly mentioned in the threads here. but what you need to do is to consider the designs & prices of each company and also if you like the person serving you or not..

aleixis

Hi minssy,

Thanks for your feedback. Does it mean that we have to go visit a few of the printers to see their designs and talk to them before we can decide?

May i know which printer did you use?

hi alexis,

actually its very troublesome to shortlist printers by going down and see the designs, esp if they are not so accessible. If you have the time, you can go call and make appointment and see them. i am just a little lazy. i go with my frd's recommendation.. i shd be using i success which is at bras basah. however, another forum frd recommended me another printer which i may call & check out their service first

pansymaniac

hello aleixis,

Share with you a card company which I'm personally impressed with also..minssy should have seen my recommendation (hor???

Anyway, it is called Ola Designs and basically the designs are good and prices value for money. You can look for Lynette on her HP 9784 7482. the website is www.ola.com.sg

It is a good idea to call printers up like minssy says rather than keep going down. I made appt with the card company so that they set aside the time for me only...cos i don't like to wait!!

haru

i need to print not wedding invitations, but wedding programs for the ceremony (songs, order of ceremony,etc)...can i stil go to the printers? Will they provide the papers?

stupeed

hi haru

card-blanche provides all the neccessary items for your wedding, but more improtantly, they actually design the whole set of invites and programme booklets to syngergise with each other. so everything will look nice in a set!

haru

hi verie,
thanks! i have actually done our invites, so its only the programs that we need to print. i like card-blanche, but i think its prob nt cheap?? i'm lookin for something simple, chic and affordable...any recommendation?

haru

hi minssy,
nope, but i think i will go check it out. Do i have to bring my design to them for them to give a quotation?

hi haru,

u dun have to but it will be great if you can bring.

they will give you a quotation.. pretty standard stuff. they have aloott of samples so u may even get an idea from there!

stupeed

hi haru, if your budget per program isn't $1 per pc then I think it shouldn't be much of a problem. One thing about a lot of printers is that they photocopy the programs lah. Some of the printers I went to quoted me really cheap but they only provided one-colour printing in black. I saw some of their samples and it turns out they do photocopying of the program booklets. They are much much cheaper though, so I guess if you are budget-conscious, can compromise on quality and don't mind the look then you should go for it!

haru

hi verie,
my budget is $1, but of coz if i can get it cheaper, that wil be ideal. gues i'll just have to take a look to be sure...

pansymaniac

hello haru,

i think also depends on how many pages your programs are. If it consists of many pages, then like verie mentions, it may end up being photo copied.

Try Ola Designs and see what they can come up with. One thing I like about them is that they will give good value, so mention to them your budget and what you have in mind. If it can be done, great! If not, they will suggest the best alternative.

Oh ya...website is www.ola.com.sg

stupeed

hi lovestory, not very sure where to print inserts. My designers did the whole card up for me as I did not want to use the hotel's cards.

earl_grey

I printed my invitations recently and was so satisfied with the experience that I simply must share it with you all.

I brought 160 blank cards to AXXA Design & Print, requesting for the wording to be printed directly onto the cards. I approved the art work via email at 11.50am on a Monday, thinking that most probably I could only collect the cards on Thursday afternoon, yet at 8.15am on Wednesday I was informed that the cards were ready for collection! I was so surprised because I did not ask them to rush!

And the efficiency did not come with a steep price: before approaching AXXA, I went to a well-known wedding card specialist, T. XXXXXn, their quotation for printing 160 cards in matt gold (not hot-stamp) was $240 (exclusive of GST), requiring 3 weeks to complete; but AXXA printed my cards with similar matt gold ink in just 8 days (from acceptance of order to collection of cards, including weekend), at a much lower price of $140 (inclusive of GST). Quality of the product? Perfect. Not to mention the helpful and patient staff who accommodated all my requests to turn my imaginations and design into a beautiful wedding invitation that I cannot stop admiring.

Hence, for couples who are looking for a reasonably-priced, speedy and reliable printer, I highly recommend AXXA Design & Print. You can contact them at 6282 9269 (ask for Ms Mary Huang, the sales manager), their address is at 605A Macpherson Road, #05-01 Citimac Industrial Complex. The location is a little less accessible than most wedding card specialists in town, but for me, the inconvenience was definitely worthwhile.

nemo_fc

hi ladies out there... me have recommendation for printing invitation cards.

colors w pix.. low price & nice. me waiting for final artcopy before go ahead to print.

suika

I'm actually sourcing out for cheap n good printers...I know funnie to put it this way, but i've got budget constrain...wanted somethings new n simple. Care to share your experiences with me....thanks

tiffanyshyne

I'm in the process of making my own cards, and the best part is you can get a whole thematic concept without a hole in the pocket, as what Ed said on September 01, 2004. Most of us have budget constraints, but it doesn't have to be evident on the invite/programme. I've been to weddings where the programme is obviously photocopied... nooooo... there are better ways... when im done with my own wedding, maybe i'll go on to helping others with theirs.

483027.jpg

this is just a prototype... budget of $1 per card? sure... make it yourself...

lin79

Hi, i'm new here and am sourcing for cheap n good printer for inserts.
Will be taking cards from T.D as advised but have to source in the printing.
Should I print with T.D to afford the inconvenience? but heard it's more ex.
Any good n cheap printer to recon?

angelwink35

There's a reliable printer at Bras basah complex. Shop name is Backcomp located at #02-97 . Look for Bernard Wong. Mobile :81685234 . He is not those "cut carrot" shop which I know there's alot in this printing market.He will give some good advices ( eg : like how to maximize the layout so there's no wastage of papers , this is definitely important for consumers
I have done some sticker printing recently for my company and the quality and workmanship is good!And I am getting back to him for printing design of the brochures.
Actually, I get to know this shop is through recommendation from fren's fren.
I do understand that he has many experiences in doing wedding cards, corporate invitation cards and even some model company has engaged him for printing cards, brochures etc.
I think most important thing is COMMUNICATION .Very important ! Get someone who can listen to your needs and have mutual understanding of the expected final products

Good luck guys ! and Happy printing ..

milky_kio

I decided to try out the uncommon printers and I never regretted my decision. Similar to earl_grey, i went with Axxa design & print.

My layout was confirmed within 3 days. The designer was prompt and accurate with my requirements.

The lady told me that they need about 4 to 5 working days leadtime. I confirm the layout only on Friday morning and they were able to give it to me on Monday! Fast!

Their service is really good. I feel safe in their hands! You can look for Mary. ;)