Village Hotel Changi

blessedger

Hello, has anybody had their wedding at the square ballroom? We might be needing 25 tables and quite worried will be veri squeezy.Does anybody has any experience ?

mapleleaf

Hi JK,

I had mine recently. The ballroom can comforably accomodate up to about 23 tables. 25 is a bit too tight, I think. I had 19 and it was quite comfortable.

blessedger

Hi Mapleleaf,
Do yuo mind sharing yr wedding photo? just wld like to see yr dinner set up.

my e-mail add is [email protected]

How was the dinner & service ?

mapleleaf

It was on the whole a good experience. The main co-ordinator for the night was Thomas. He was responsible, professional and efficient. Everything went quite smoothly. For the service of the individual waiters at each table, it depended on who was serving. But I did not hear any complaints from the guests, so I think the service was ok. The suite was nice. Also must go and explore the changi boardwalk. Very nice sea breeze and view

rubberducky

My wedding at CVH was a complete fiasco. So many things went wrong that to tell the complete story would take several long paragraphs!!!!

Basically, this is (only) the WORST of what happened:

(To be fair to them, we had our dinner by the poolside. I don't know what the regular dinner in the ballroom is like.)

The worst of what went wrong:

1. Mo microphone the entire night. We had to shout all our speeches!

2. The sound system did NOT work. Music was either BLASTED or non-existent. At one point during dinner, the speakers were playing nothing but static, but not a single member of the staff at CVH bothered to switch the speakers off - until my GUEST went to tell them to do so.

3. No sound from the DVD player/speakers. We has 2 montages which we spent a bomb on. BOTH had to be screened SOUNDLESS.

4. CRAP service. As the bride seated at the bridal table, I had a PRC waitress ask me in mandarin, "Ni hui jiang hua yu mah?" (Can you speak mandarin) when I asked for a refill of wine. - I can't imagine the level of (lack-of) service the rest of my guests must have received.

Most of the wait-staff stood about like dummies throughout my dinner. We had to repeatedly request for basic service, like the refill of drinks etc. At one point, I actually had to stand up and walk to the waitress just to ASK FOR WATER. At my own wedding.

5. REALLY CRAP PLANNING. The champagne pouring ceremony: A waiter came up to ask if we wanted to do the champagne pouring. We said 'yes', shouted our speeches (no microphone) and turned around to pour the champage.

LO' AND BEHOLD!!!! The waiter had disappeared!! There was NO waiter - the champagne bottle was unopened and uncorked - how to pour???!!! My SO immediately took up his wine glass from the table and used that to toast our guests instead.

6. LOUSY FOOD. One of the worst wedding dinners I'd ever been to. And it was mine.

-----

Honestly, I didn't post my experience here because I've avoided thinking too much about my wedding. The entire affair was such a complete and utter fiasco that I'm STILL deeply ashamed that it was my event.

I think I'm considered quite an easy-going bride by normal standards. I don't sweat the small stuff, and I was prepared myself for eventual screw-ups. (Esp. after reading some of the posts about CVH here).

But the crap we were put through by CVH is REALLY completely unacceptable. The hotel gave us a token discount at the end; but can they turn back time to allow us to redo our wedding???

We SO regret choosing CVH - that was the BIGGEST mistake we made in planning our wedding. The ambience by the pool was fabulous - but unless you're prepared to bring in your own planner, food, staff and logistics, forget it.

Brides, please beware if you're thinking of a poolside dinner. I hate to think of anyone else having to go through the same crap we did.

banditkhoo

Hey, quack, can't be that bad la, didn't see many complaint on this hotel yet, but i think yours is a special case. poor thing.whatever is over is over, no point bad mouth about the issue, scarly you kenna sue for whatever you post over here.

wendily

I guess there wasn't much complains written bout this hotel because after going through crap... you can't really be bothered to jot it down anymore...

Quack.. my wedding wasn't smooth too...Just a word to describe it... Disappointed or rather, expected it to be disappointing. (I have previously some issues with them already)

blessedger

hi all, after hearing all these..im so worried about our wedding .. sigh.. on top of that, we will be needing 25tables and guess its gonna be super tight. Does anybody noes whether serena is still there?

creamyz

i have booked my Hi-tea rom with CVH, and now worried the timing for 2-5pm will be too hot. Any gals had their hi-tea at CVH?

creamyz

ya lor..thats wat i worry too....my solem will start 3pm....cannot imagine we eat under the hot sun, i will melt....
coz the tables will put at the void deck...

cheekies_baby

Hi there, anyone having their wedding at the Ballroom? Saw the toilets on that floor and find them kinda not well-kept, not dirty dirty but definitely not well-kept.

If you had your wedding there recently, how was the condition of the toilets during the dinner? To me, clean and well-kept toilets are the hallmark of a good hotel.

blessedger

hihi cheekies
I hve been to the square ballroom a few times when meeting up with Dan, the toliet outside looks clean leh...Just went there last mth...
ya i also agreed tat well-kept toliet is very important..I will be gg down next monday for food tasting. will check it out again. ahaha

cheekies_baby

Hi JK,

Yes, please do check it out and give your comments on both the food and the condition of toilets ;p

Good luck and congratulations!

When's your wedding?

blessedger

hhi cheekies baby,
Our wedding is on 15 May 08. I will let you know after my wedding.. hehe..

As for the toliet, the last time I went was Ok leh..and in fact I find it quite clean. Anyway tomorrow is our food tasting. I will feedback again..

mapleleaf

I had my wedding dinner at CVH last December. Actually, I find the toilets clean but certain accessories a bit worn out. For example, one of the door's handle cannot lock properly. Some simple maintenance will be good.

cheekies_baby

Hi mapleleaf,

That's precisely what I am trying to say. You took the words right out of my mouth ;p

It's clean but very desolate, like no one comes down to maintain the the toilets. For eg, the sinks and soap dispensers are all metal right? When I went there around 8-9pm that day, the entire sink area was wet and there were numerous stain marks all over the metal sink, taps, stainless steel backing.

There was also no paper towels etc? For a four-star hotel, I am sure that it can be better maintained right?

blessedger

Just had our food tasting yesterday nite. The food is alrite, not fantastic but ok la.. I find it soso only, but we have written down our comments tho. Hope they will improve on it on our wedding day. As for the toliet, personally I find it alrite .. ahaha.. the accessories etc indeed is a little bit worn out. But overall is clean. Well well, I hope CVH people is reading this and can make some improvement ya..

When we were there last nite, the banquet staffs were very helpful. Overall service was good. Hopefully it can be maintained on the actual day as well...

This thread seems abit quiet, looks like CVH is still not that popular yet ya..Now we are having headache over the transportation for guest. As some of our relatives are staying in the west and north, guess we need to cater transportation. But not sure how to go about doing it as it is difficult to confirm who will be taking the transport as well.. hmm..anybody has any comments and ideas? I was thinking of pickup point at cityhall / Pasir ris. But afraid Cityhall will be too far...

cheekies_baby

Hi JK,

The food is just so-so? In what sense?

Haha, old accessories huh? Yah, hope that they note and do something about it. Maintenance is very important, esp for a service-oriented industry such as this.

Yeap, heard alot about the service of their staff being inadequate or unsatisfactory. Glad that you found it good. Just hope that the level of service remains high for your dinner

How about making it as Pasir Ris? Actually City Hall not too far lah, hit ECP only straight down to Changi. More central for your guests too. You using their chartered bus svc or sourcing for your own?

I dunno about others but one of the reasons why I shortlisted CVH is the laid-back ambience and "boutique-hotel" feel of it. Because of that, I am willing to forgo the fact that it is way out east and not a very convenient location and is pricier than even some popular hotels in town. Just hope for is that they provide a reasonable standard of service and experience for the amount of money spent. Yah?

Good luck for your wedding. Let me know how it goes ok?

wendily

All the best to those having their weddings soon!

Hi JK,

I think pasir ris will be the nearest MRT to cater your guests there. For my wedding i didn't cater any transport for my guests, coz i presummed most of them will be travelling by car, but then the carpark is another issue, because they have really limited spaces, and on my wedding day, i think there was another couple having their wedding there. So end up my guests have to park somewhere further down and walk.

I think it really doesn't matter, no matter how far it is, your guests will find a way there.

I ended my wedding around 9++, so that my guest will be able to get home earlier.

blessedger

HI Cheekies Baby (cheekies_baby,
The food is quite normal, not exceptionally nice.. The shark fin don't really taste like shark fin as i dun remember seeing much fins in the soup..haha..mainly is chicken meat in cube and not shredded. We wrote it in the feedback form for this.

Actually I really like the ambience at the foyer area.. nice.. it gives a cozy and tranquil feeling. Yes, the reason whey we chose there is also because of the laid-back ambience. haha.. so guess most of us who are here chose CVH for the same reason ya. The only thing is we are quite disappointed that the sales team has changed people.Most of the old staffs have left and we hope that this grp of new staffs can give us a satisfactory service...

Don;t think they have chartered bus service leh. We are sourcing our own and still considering whether to get it or not. Hmm...Really headache,as we can't cfm how many guest will be taking the bus as well.

Btw, when is your wedding??

Hi Wendily,
Yr wedding ended quite early eh.. hw many tables u had? Can you share more with me? my e-mail adddress is [email protected]. hee thanks!

bbgal555

Hi u all lovely CVH Brides-2-Bs...

I jus had my wedding with CVH on 22Feb08.. And had 23+1 tables.. Didn't contribute much to this thread all these time.. Hv been sitting back n reading the ups n downs tat many couples have went through with CVH...

Seriously, i do feel that hiccups do happen to everyone's wedding.. But wat i really see is tat, if u are able to take things abit lighter.. you'll create an easier ambience for everyone, Including your brothers n sistas.. as well as the hotel staff who are able 2 work together cohesively through the wedding.. N to be honest.. Having a banquet is a "show-like" process for a wedding.. You n ur hubby can't work it out alone on the AD... U'll need a good team of people to work it out with u..

I think on my wedding day.. I've been very blessed with a handful of proactive n nice hotel staff to run the "show" with me.
To be honest, i was pretty much worried with all the bad feedbacks that i saw on the posts above.. N you know it was too late at that time, as it was 2weeks b4 my AD when i saw the bad posts on the hotel.. cannot pull out anymore... But jus had to cross my fingers n go ahead with everything.. moreover there were more stuff to be worried ovr other than the banquet.

I had my solemnization at the poolside upstairs.. supposedly to end b4 7pm.. but as my JP was late due to the traffic caused by airshow.. it ended at ard 7.20.. But no one rushed us at all..

Dan is very proactive as well as versatile.. as he'll always try his best to meet the "extra" requirements for us.. N also the co-ordinator at the square ballroom.. an Indian or Malay gentleman that i couldn't remember his name.. He was very flexible with us too.. I had a veri rowdy crowd.. N he was there 2 ensure all my guests were comfortable.. And for the service by the waiter n waitresses were quite good in fact (according to my friends n relatives)... However... something i must say about their food, the sharks' fin was pretty much disappointing.. This is wat i think EVERYONE complains on.. But well, you can't meet the best of both worlds.. Most importantly if your wedding can attain a 85% of satisfaction.. You shouldn't be complaining much.. N mine attained 97%... Hahah..

I must say the ambience at the Square Ballroom was really nice n cosy for everyone.. The team of ppl at CVH reallly did exceed my expectation.. n i do hope all you BTBs will have a good assurance from them too.. So dun worry so much n most importantly must look pretty n enjoy the process on ur AD. My Husband n myself really did not regret our choice to embark our beautiful journey with CVH...

Jene

blessedger

Hi Jene,

Thanks for your feedback on your experience with CVH. I believe it does help many BTBs whom have signed up with them .Including me as my wedding is coming soon in 2 mths time. he heee..

Btw, was 23+1 tables too squeezy? We need at least 24+1 for our wedding tho.. was kinda worried as Dan said it might be too squeezy.

cheekies_baby

Hi JK,

My wedding dinner is scheduled for this Dec so I guess you'll be having to share your experience with me first
Really hope that things will go good for yours.

Hi Jene,

Good to have a positive mindset like you. But I guess if one is going to spend a certain sum of money on a service provider, naturally one would worry or have a certain level of expectations. Glad to know that you had a good wedding overall.

Btw, was the sharks' fin really bad? In what sense?

Oh and I totally agree that the ambience of the hotel is cosy. Non-intimidating and pretty relaxed kind. Btw, did you have any pics of the ballroom taken on your AD? Can post and let us see?

Thanks, Jene.

bbgal555

Hi JK..

According 2 my frens feedback.. the place is cozy.. meaning to say on account of the amt of tables i had, it was really ok.. nt too squeezy.. But when yr hubby n yrself have to move ard to take pix with ur frens n relatives, it will actually be alittle tight..

Abt transportation.. i didn't charter any bus.. but why nt call Dan n ask if any arrangements can b done. Cos they might hv a daily shuttle service to n fro tampines/ pasir ris mrt for their own hotel guests..

Hey Cheekies Baby,

The Sharks' fin soup was really jus gravy with barely any fins.. I'm nt too sure if it'll be a matter to you.. i feel usually when people attend a chinese banquet will look out for sharks' fin soup.. The thing is when you are at the food tasting session, everything seems fine. so you hv talk to them abt the sharks' fin quantity.. Mayb u wana consider top-up or wat.. i duno.. u nd to chk with Dan lo..

I hv pix taken at the htl.. but i need to find it fr my hubby's computer.. will post again k.. so will nd to ask for ur patience..

cheekies_baby

Hi Jene,

Haha... no lah, will certainly not top up for more fins. On the menu, it reads as "Sharks' Fin Soup" so it had better be that and not just flour-thickened gravy.

I totally agree that what you have during the food tasting is not always what you are going to get. However, it is a platform for improvement and they really should listen to our feedback right? Also CVH usually caters to less tables so quality should not be too far off.

Anyway, the coordinator who is handling our wedding is Rebecca. She seems a great person, friendly and sweet. Hope she stays put.

blessedger

Hi CHeekies Baby,

ya, will surely feedback after my wedding .. hee..Im kinda excited and looking 4ward to everything..:D..Pray that everything will turn out well..

Hi Jene,

Thanks ..In fact we have checked with Dan, he mentioned we have to charter our own shuttle service if we need. still thinking abt it tho.

looking 4ward to view your photos ya...
Btw, did you liase with their florist directly ? I saw one of their standard floral deco and finds it quite simple and plain. Any idea is extra floral deco expensive?...

HI Sasha,

CVH minimum table is 16.. I guess you can talk to Dan, i believe they sld be able to accomodate 15tables ya.

sasha_sim

Hi everyone, this thread seems to be really very very quiet huh?

No news or updates from anyone? I have yet to speak to CVH about the request of 15 tbls.

Anyone who is having a wedding there soon or had one there before with less than 20 tbls? How was it like?

shaine

omg! kinda of confuse now! I like the ambience of CVH, i met up with Dan earlier March to enquire on the wedding package, telling him that my AD is early jan 09, he suggested me to attend this coming may weding showcase. To add, he's friendly! Sent in the application but no reponses or follow up from them on wedding showcase, called in and spoke to Victoria then she told me she had received my application but still processing. Compare to other hotel wedding showcase, they will called and acknowledge that they had received your application. After 2 weeks still no reponse and no record from my bank acc, called in again, she said still processing... till date still no reponse. Spokek to Candy too, she promised to get back to me by end of the day of the wedding package as my AD had blocked for antoher 4 couples so whoever paid first get it!!! but till date no phone call, *faint!! what kind of service is this??

uk_fung

Hi JK,
My PG is 1950photography

Hi Sharon,
sorry to hear that.. hmmm perhaps they are busy with the show and further more.. the banking part should be another dept doing it?? Might not be at the cord. side ba... Understand your frastration... anyway the show is tml right? Good luck and enjoy

blessedger

Hi Mrs Chiew,

Thanks. hee .

Hello CVH brides to be,

Recently we just had our wedding dinner at CVH...just thinking of offering some feedback...The ambience was really good and exactly what we wanted. HOwever, the food was kinda disappointing and different from our food tasting, sound system was not too good either, Mu guest complainted that it was too soft..

We had feedback to the hotel and they have initiated some compensation to us which we appreciated. I guess most of us chose the hotel becoz of the ambience, really hope they will do something abt the food...

Overall their service was good, banquet overall in charge was prompt and efficient..there were so hiccups and also joyous moment for our wedding held there..

Just sharing our experiences..will be uploading our photos soon and will share some of the pics here..

shaine

I attended the wedding showcase that day! For those who attended, anyone spot the typo error on the invitation card- instead of Venue is Venne. Personally, the carpark look like is under renovation. The plate is dirty! Omg!The food is not nice, very disappointing! I have already inform them to release the day that they have block for my wedding and confirming with Conrad.

sasha_sim

Hmmmm.... perhaps someone from CVH should read about this and clarify? I saw that it won some tourism experience in 05 or 06. Should it degenerate like that?

Sharon, you releasing what date? I am thinking of calling them for Jan 2009 too.

j3nson

I'm actually hoping to have my wedding over at CVH by the poolside but am having some concerns after reading all your past experiences.

Was wondering if someone might be able to email me a sample of their quotation and Dan's / Jenny's contact details before we make a trip down to CVH.

I understand Jenny has since left CVH? but the comments so far have been very positive about her work so was hoping I might be able to get in touch with her and find out where she is currently at. Appreciate it loads ladies; thanks very much!

wendily

Hi there.. for those who wants Jenny contact.. i'm not sure if it will be nice to release here.. you can drop me an email.. at [email protected] I will send her contact to you if its still valid.

I must agree lah.. CVH ambience is really very good... Even though i was suay that it rained before my wedding and I can't have it by the poolside, but overall, my guest did enjoy the wedding (nt food!) LOL.

You guys can look for adrain too.. But not sure if he is in charge of banquet or wedding, but he is helpful too.

wendily

Anyway.. can you imagine i left my wedding shoes there! LOL.. not sure if they have thrown in away... but didn't bother to pick it up either...

mstomrs

Hi all, I have hotel voucher for Changi village to let go (inclu. of breakfast for 2). Do PM me if interested. Thanks!

cheekies_baby

Oh dear, just received word from my wedding coordinator that my wedding banquet coordinator resigned about 2 months back! No news at all about follow up!

Damn worried now.

uk_fung

hmmm actually I feel there's no worry... the other time when I have my ROM back last year Oct.. I signed with them about May time.. by Oct already change 2 cord.... but still.. things still goes smoothly
.... true that they should give us a notice when there is a change of cord. hmmmm maybe they feel is a 1 yr kind of thing.. if wanna inform also when it get near then inform.. else like within one year keep changing ppl also confusing for us.... ? Seems like they have high turn over rate hor ;(