The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

Touraco,
Yap, I managed to squeeze for 1.5 per table. but that was during SARS period.. hee.. and the industry wasn't doing well so maybe that's why they can agree to my request.

You don't have to pre-book tables of 11 seats.. just on the spot ask for additional chairs and setup that's all. The hotel coordinator for the day would be there to help.

No idea where the food is cooked leh... but the food was alright. I quite enjoyed it but of course I had comments from others such as the cold dish with wasabi was too much for the kids etc. Ai ya, you can never please everyone! The most important thing is your parents.. as long as both sides of parents are satisfied, dont' really have to care much about the rest of the comments.

Hi juliana,

Hee.. yap, I'm still in the thread.. a bit k-po hor.. should have disappeared from here since I got married such a long time ago :P

Still trying to adjust to married life... no longer can do some things freely lor cos always have to consider about the other party and our families.

Ya, I was quite sad about LG. Am now the coordinator for a gf's wedding and was previously helping her get a package from LG. Things were going well but before she could sign up, LG closed.

Sigh.. i'm sure your gown will still turn out nice.. just that the feeling when stepping into the newly decorated place would be different liao.

Apple,

I don't have 11 at table that night.My hubby and me rang everyone up a couple of days before to ensure that they turned up for the night. So attendance was great and we managed to start the dinner ON TIME! That was really amazing considering the fact that all dinners never started on time. Anyway, only 2 or 3 of our friends couldn't make it cos they fell sick.

And yes, kiddos can squeeze, give them baby seats lor!! I have 4 nephrews and they were in baby seats and took up 2 "seats" in terms of food :P

Apple,

No know whether they have different wedding cakes to choose from.. but my guess is "don't think so..." cos it would be a dummy cake on stage.. the real one they will send to your room.

And you are in luck! It is a fruit cake... quite a nice one but I suggest that you cut in your room and give a minor portion of it to relatives... it was so rich and we had so much to eat that night so we couldn't finish it in the end.

Touraco,

wedding invites.. if you want, I can send you mine.. i have some extras lying around. But hor you need to give me your mailing address, and of course keep my details confidential :P Email me at [email protected]

Think they have 1 and only 1 dummy cake - it's the standard 3-tier one. I was thinking of doing away with it, very funny to cut a fake cake but my bf likes the idea so ok lor...: P The cake that's sent to the suite is 500g. Dunno if can choose flavour..would love a chocolate mousse cake.. hee hee..

My cold dish didn't hv wasabi leh...maybe they changed it..

Panzz, ur presence in the thread is very much welcomed, u r the only one with the experience! : P Gnny hasn't been coming in, must be very busy w her married life.. : P It's better tt yr fren didn't sign up with LG otherwise she'll hv to work with the new mgt (which is quite diff frm Doreen, tt's all I shall say!)

Touraco, my food tasting was 6 pax 6 dishes. But I saw another table also food tasting and it's 8 dishes leh.. maybe they ordered the 10 course menu. I had Cold dish, shark's fin soup, crispy chicken, seabass, mushroom w veg, peking pork rib. Liked all of the dishes except for the chicken, it was quite bloody cos the blood spled out when they chopped the bones. We sent it back n asked for it to be very well cooked and it came back fine. But we decided to change to Fried chicken w Thai sauce instead, dun want to risk it on the actual dinner.

I dun hv the soft copy of the dinner card. Can send u the soft copy of my church invite when it's done. : p

BTW, Panzz, do u still hv the Sentosa maps you had at the back of your card? Can send to me via email if u still hv it? The one Beaufort provided is too complicated and big.

Juliana, maybe it was the chef assistant who did the food tasting dishes (referring to the chicken with period)? That was the case for me, the food on the actual day was much nicer and i was told it was done by the chef himself while food tasting was by the assistant.

I check with my hubby cos he did the card. I gather he probably shrunk it to fit. I'll get back to you... If you have the Sentosa maps from Beaufort in softcopies, you can also shrink them too...

hi apple,
panzz said it's a fruit cake. great...i love fruit cake.

hi panzz,
i will email you my address. thanks in advance for the invites.and yah...if you have the sentosa maps, it would be good as well..

hi julianna,
thanks in advance of the church invites...heehee...need me to email you my address?

Apple, Juliana, Panzz, Touraco,
Wow, you all really keep this thread active! All have internet access at work huh?

Though I have made a tentative booking at Beaufort, but actually still looking at other venues. One of the thing I'm worried about is the food. Real glad to hear from Juliana and Panzz that the food is not bad!

Panzz,
can I check with you whether your guests complained about Beaufort not having enough parking lots? Cos my colleagues who's been to a wedding dinner at Beaufort said he had to park somewhere further and end up walking quite a distance!

Apple,
You still making a trip down to Beaufort this weekend? Do let me know how the decor is like...

touraco,
You decided on the number of people to invite for solemnization?

hi queen,

can't do without internet access these days...hahahaha

sun sun mentioned that we can park at the sentosa golf club carpark. yah,panzz, any problems with parking?

i will most probably invite the whole 250 pax and they will just have to stand around. no choice

Most work places have Internet access

My guests didn't complain about not finding parking lots. Cos like Touraco said, they can park at the golf club car park. They do have to walk a bit but not that far la.

As for the older folks who didn't really know how to get to the island, we chartered a bus to ferry them to and fro. I gather those are the folks who will really complain and I managed to keep them happy :P

Touraco, Apple, I checked with my hubby. He took the maps off the following websites and re-drew them using Photoshop cos there are copyright issues. I guess you guys might have to do the same liao.

http://www.beaufort.com.sg/location.html
http://www.sentosa.com.sg/map.htm

hi panzz,

you charter a bus to ferry them from their home? i thought there are bus shuttle services from harbourfront mrt station?

Thanks Panzz,
will checkout the links for the map.

Queen,
I'll be taking some pix, will show u next wk then u can see if you wanna change anything orr add on flowers etc

Touraco,
Yaya, good that it's fruit cake... me and hubby still hoping that we can choose fruit cake over the rest, now happy liao.. kekee

Touraco,
Dun dare to think now ah... trying to lose some weight leh... hahahahahha... i must control control until that day then "da-chi-da-her"... hahahahahahha

touraco,

Ya lor, had to charter a bus to bring parents' friends from Bedok down to Sentosa and back. Ar... they said they had trouble looking for the free bus from harbourfront! SIGH! But i gather might as well charter rather than having to look for missing folks! No want to suffer any more grief from complaints about how far beaufort was!

touraco,

My hubby and his mom paid for the bus, so I dont' really know. I guess about $150? And from comfort... my hubby told me can go to comfort website to check it out.

Bad news...
I got a call from Sun Sun today. She said that the prices for 2005 will be increased by $90 for every package, eg. $628+++ to $718+++. She wants me to confirm my booking (mine was tentative booking only) by end of March if I still want to get the old pricing.
Did any of you 2005 brides get the call from Sun Sun?

The thing is, I'm hoping to confirm during their wedding show, so I can get the free flow of beer.
Their package price is already on the high side, if confirm now, no beer thrown in. What's more got to pay the $1000+++ for the Lawn...
Wah, siong!

Dunno if can bargain with her and get her to throw in at lest 20 litre of beer...

hi queen,

i received a call from sun sun yesterday too and she told me the exact thing.

when she say confirm, does she mean we have to pay some form of deposit????

Just arranged few days ago to see sun sun but not free this month so arranged in 1st week april...she did not mentioned this leh! She still send me the old package.

Can we get deposit back if we book first but cancel early (say 1 yr b4)? I cannot get my guestlist out in time but very interested in Beaufort...what if I end up with morethan 25 tables...cannot fit....

touraco,
Yep... confirm means put down deposit.
But I'm thinking of meeting her next week and see if she can throw in the beer. I mean, quite unfair of them to tell us so late and expects us to make a decision in 1 week or so right? Now got to fork out another $600 - $700 for the beer.

Karen,
Think they just changed the pricing. Since you haven't met Sun Sun or made any tentative booking, she may not feel obligated to inform you. I'm sure whether deposit is refundable after confirmation, but I doubt so. Very few, if any, hotels will refund deposits.

hi queen and karen,

i'm worried that after i put deposit, i decided to change venue. approximately how much deposit we are supposed to give?

touraco,
Er...I'm not how much deposit to put, think it is $2000? Maybe Apple or Juliana can confirm?
Think you have been looking at other venues right? Any other better places? If going for Beaufort, got to confirm next weekend already. No time to source for other hotels.

hi queen,
i told sun sun that the wedding date is confirm. she asks for our names and address and will be sending a confirmation letter to me.

Hi touraco,
So you have decided on Beaufort?
You mean no need to go down and pay the deposit?
when do we have to do that then?

Is the confirmation the contract? Meaning, will she put down the terms and conditions in the confirmation? If so, how to bargain with her if she send the contract to us?

Hmm...Think I will give her a call too.

hi all! wow, so many postings since the last time I logged in!

queen,
I guess deposit depends on which room you're booking. I know grand salon is $4000, but dun know how much for ballroom.

panzz,
so glad to see u're still active here! =) could you also pls send me your card/maps etc? I'm DIY-ing so a bit lost at the moment...

touraco,
it seems like quite cheap to get it done at T-dragon. can u tell me/show me what your cards and church invites are like? I'm worried T-dragon's will be ching-cheong (well, their name sounds so! hee hee..) so I din bother to check them out. but if they're good and so cheap, then maybe I won't bother to DIY anymore. thks in advance! =)

Hi Galz,
Went down to see the decor for the ballroom... not bad... very nice... the ambience looks really good compared to when i saw it during the day... think will add on additional decors for the foyer and the outside area. No time to download the pix from my digicam yet.. will do that this wk then u gals can see. The gold table cloth looks kinda orangey in the pic... but i think the red looks a bit too chi-na for me. Wonder if i shd bring my own table cloth, then can match my color theme keke...

Queen and touraco,
Deposit for ballroom upon confirmation is $2k. I paid thru visa, dun have to go down, so lehchey. Do read thru and get her to put down all the things that she has promised, in case she forgets etc.

hi pokiebear,
i have not make any cards yet. i am waiting for panzz's invites samples though.

hi apple77,
i asked sun sun can we still make changes after confirmation and she said yes. i am going to read the letter she sent and find a day to confirm with her again.

touraco,
are you going to bargain for anything?

Apple,
So the confirmation letter comes with all the agreed terms? Do you think I can bargain with her through the phone? I know that some of the brides have mentioned that it is very difficult to get anything extra out of Beaufort. But though I'll try anyway cos I feel a bit shortchanged. Will I appear a bit yao kui?

touraco,
pai seh...think I meant to address it to juliana.

juliana & panzz,
could you pls send me your invite samples? guess I have to decide on whether to DIY or get a printer soon, running out of time if I'm to DIY!!! yiks!

by the way panzz, are there a lot of additional inserts which we have to include, like maps, car passes, island passes, etc etc etc?

queen,
don't worry, jus try to ask for whatever you want. I'm sure that's what all brides do and sunsun is probably used to it already, but like what the others have said, don't get your hopes up too high. Good luck! =)

Queen,
The papers you are going to sign on contains all the agreed terms. Do make sure extra details like corkage charges or rates of optional items are written down etc as all these rates are readjusted all the time. It is rather difficult to get extra items but i think they are flexible for the menu dishes. Eg. i managed to changed some of the dishes from a more expensive pkg. There's no harm trying, cos if u eventually do get it, it benefits you!!!

hi pple,
gotten an email from sunsun on the contract.
the things we talked to her about the other time, she did not list down in the email.

she just listed teh standard stuff in the contract and we have to pay the deposit of $4000 by 2/4

Touraco,
Just get her to list down watever she missed out lor.

Btw gals,
Think Sunsun mentioned that there's a few designs for the dummy cake.. good, can select the one that fits my theme liao.. keke

Pokkiebear,

Hee... yap, I'm still hanging around here and refusing to leave! :P
Ok, can send you the card but need your address, so you got to email me at [email protected].

Touraco,

Pai say pai say.. sending my card out... been on a cruise over the weekend so didn't have time to send :P Was also desperately looking for a spare red envelope. Couldn't find any, i think I will send the card without the nice envelope la. Hope you dont' mind.

Pokkiebear,

Actually my husband incorporated maps, car pass, island pass etc. into one card. I send u then u will know what I meant. But got one drawback on that, some of my guests didn't know that the invitation card must be used as a pass to gain entry to the island or to use as car pass, they still paid $2 at the gantry. So make sure if you are putting all into one card, you remind your friends to bring their invitation card for free entry and parking!

girls,
if Sun sun didn't state down in the contract sent over things that was discussed, all you have to do is make the appropriate amendments in the softcopy document and email it back to her! If she feels that the changes are not acceptable, she will let you know. That's what i did and faster that way rather than having to get her on the phone.

cruise bery ex... sigh...

I sending after 5pm today so i think the latest you can get the card is on thurs. Sorry for the delay.

Hi, may i join in? I've juz signed up with Beaufort... would be glad to know more abt it..
indeed, quite diffc to get Sunsun by calling. nvrtheless she replied via email promptly.

The ball room. I prefer the terrace below but guest list over shot! sori, didn't check all your previous postings. what abt u?? when?

oops! sorry, shld b the grand salon. i'm considering whether to use "audrey" the recommended florist or chek out outside florist. any suggestn?

hi finnish,
Will post the decor i saw the other day.. but it's for the ballroom. It's not bad, but then when i went to see their portfolio and photos... not impressive leh... maybe it's the photography??? Anyway, if u look for ur own florist can always change the decor for a 20L barrel of beer or something else, but finding own florist may also mean over budgeting

hello Apple,
Thanks! i will check whether outside florist cost worth xchanging for the beer cost or not. Saw 18Jan's wedding decor there. wondering was it done by 'audrey'. was very beautiful!
better not think too much on such. otherwise it's gonna burn another big hole! btw, can tell when's your's?

Do you think I can do the bargaining over phone or is it better to talk to Sun Sun in person?
Easier for her to reject through the phone right? But then, may also get rejected even though went all the way down to Beaufort since they are so inflexible with extra items... seems like all of you didn't manage to get extra stuff. Dunno if I should bother.

Apple,
what optional items will be at special rates? I only know extra day room will be at $188+++ and wine purchase from hotel is $32. Anything else?
Must ask Sun Sun again.

Hi finnish,
welcome!

hi panzz,
how much u spend for the cruise?
i'm thinking of going for one and thinking of getting the balcony class else in a room with only a small window is so miserable.

after reading the contract, i realise there are a lot of things that aren't in there but she has verbally agreed during our discussion

do you think it's feasible to exchange the wedding favours for 2 rooms? per pax wld be around $2,right? so i got 250 guests and that wld be $500 and that wld cost more than the $188+++ she quoted.

hi finnish,
welcome....so when's your big day?

hi queen,
i got so many requests and questions that i feel that it's better that i go down and talk to her personally

hi HP,
the ballroom is smaller so it really depends on the number of guests you have...my guest list can't accomodate the ballroom