The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

I think it would be better to start everything on a clean slate with the one who has taken over your wedding.

Give a call to them first & take it from there. Maybe your girl's better briefed than mine

i got to catch up with the posts!

cat, there is a chance that DJs will have contacts to rent dancefloor equipment. not sure how it works, maybe engage DJ and you get your dancefloor? or see if a DJ is kind enough to forward a contact (even if you don't intend to engage him).

pms are sent to the email address you registered with sgbrides, so it's as easy as checking your emails for notifications.

rie, i had 23 tables (i think) in the grand salon.

as for floral decor... i didn't pay much attention, because i thought the resort's setting is already very natural and beautiful. i went with Audrey's 'cos i know she had been tied up with beaufort for at least the last 10 years, so i assumed she's most familiar with the venue. oh she threw in a free arrangement for the signing table in the garden, she was like "never mind lah, give to you". otherwise i'd only have one for the reception outside the salon.

cat, i have a super active baby who squirms around throughout the day (think he's starting to lack space inside hahaha). both my husband and myself are hoping that he'd tire himself out so much that when he comes out, he'd be a quiet baby!

Thanks for sharing stickymouse.

I have about 20tables. yeah, i really love Beaufort's ambience.

u thought of a name for ur baby yet?

Hello girls! Am back with 5 pairs of shoes, a bag and yummy meals and lotsa to catch up here. Awesome!:-)

Hi Stickymouse, it's so funny how you described your baby! It's a boy afterall, so boys (= men later) will want lotsa space.;-) Mind sharing your chosen hospital?

Hi Cat! Why dun u trying contacting the wedding bands and at the same time, ask for suppliers of dancefloor equipment? We had to rent additional equipment too (apparently, Beaufort's sound system is not sufficient if you want a 4 piece band) and A Little Dream found the supplier for us. Don't worry, you still have time!:-)

Hi Rie, my coordinator is Clara. Can honestly say that my hubby is pleased with her response. She is a bubbly and enthusiastic girl so that helps.:-) Well, our party happens in one month's time so i guess we will be extremely UNHAPPY if they are still taking their time to respond.

With regards to floral decor, I was very particular about it when we started the wedding preparations. I went with Jane but Jane is definitely the more expensive of the two. I soon realised that to have the floral effect that i want, the budget will be "destroyed"! So, i decided to stick to the floral package that is included within our wedding package. Trade offs la!

Am having my wedding solemnization and dinner (10 tables) at The Ballroom. So, everything is taken care of in one area.;-) Hubby is Italian and Catholic so we will have a church ceremony and a dinner celebration in Italy in end Aug.

Hi PK, welcome back! You sound like your trip was wonderfully fulfilling! ;)

I mentioned to my fiance about A Little Dream and he's really keen. So, I would probably try to contact them for my wedding much later.

Anyway, I was talking to him yesterday and he mentioned that when we met up with Cathy then, she did mention that the dance flooring would be provided by the hotel.

I'm not sure if he remembered wrongly.

Stickymouse - i love the name ethan. sounds like a tall, dark and handsome man. harha!

Cat - i thought the card was creative too. But abit tak glam. Harha. bride and groom must have a really great sense of humour! ;D

Welcome back PK!
Good to shop shop shop! hehehe

We're actually not thinking of hiring a band, didnt think we needed one but I'll ask give them a buzz to check on their charges. If its worth the while, I'll discuss with my hubby again.

My hubby is an Aussie & we're also thinking of holding a separate reception for his family & friends who can't attend our Oct wedding when we return for Xmas. Still havent decided yet. See how it goes.

Planning one wedding is already a headache. Two weddings I will probably peng san!

:D

Hey Cat.Am in total agreement; i will peng san if i have to plan for two celebrations.:-) My future in laws are planning for the party in Italy so we can relax a bit.;-) I just confirmed with Louis, will head down next week to try on my wedding gown with the beadwork!

Will your hubby be seeing you in the gown before the wedding day? Mine is particular about not seeng it.

OoooOooo, given Louis' workmanship, it'll be gorgeous. I can't wait to see your wedding photos!

No, my hubby is not particular but Louis is!!! Louis put his foot down on this issue. He wont even discuss my wedding dress when my hubby is present.

Louis is so much fun to work with.

louis sounds familiar... are you all referring to the guy who also makes peranakan sarong kebaya at the Esplanade? what's his store called again?

Ethan wasn't my first choice of name... but i had to go along with it (marriage lesson: sometimes must listen to husband muahaha). when people hear it, they'd either go "Ethan Hawke?" or "Mission Impossible ah?" :D

Yes Stickymouse. Louis does exquisite kebayas. He used to have a shop in the Esplanade but has since moved to Purvis Street. His boutique is called Amor Meus.

I thought marriage lesson #1 - always agree to your husband & then do it your way?!?! bwahahaha ... i saw that on one of the wedding episodes on cable. Oh yeah, Mission Impossible - forgot about that.

oh yeah!! amor meus that's right... i've always liked peranakan kebayas (my husband's from peranakan family) and now i really question why i didn't even think of wearing one at the wedding... ?!?!?

i think marriage lesson #1 can be - always agree with your husband in presence of other people, after they're gone then you can do it your way hahaha

Yeah, another person who knows Louis & Amor Meus! U know, Louis is so low-key in this business; but he really does wonderful work.

Cat-Initially my hubby was ok with seeing me in the gown. But Louis was quite sure that he did not want to, if he has a choice. So, i had to go back and ask again and turns out that Louis was right! Must be the accummulated years of experience.;-)

Stickymouse, i will most likely find myself in your situation!;-) Cos i like a English name for my girl (when she arrives;-) and hubby likes this particular Italian name for the boy which i am not very fond of....then i guess will have to give in la.

Hey PK, i just checked with Maria, my wedding coordinator, she says my champagne corkage is $40 nett!?!?! That's more expensive that yours!

That's not fair .....

Basically, we informed the hotel that we want to bring in 10-12 bottles. They started at $40nett for all bottles. They have relented at 5 bottle corkage free and $30nett for subsequent bottles.

Hi all, i have a question here. When should I start looking for a JP to solemnise my wedding in Oct? Some friends suggests that I start now but some said that's too kiasu.

The last thing I want is to be some bridezilla on a manhunt for a JP.

Rie - did you manage to speak to the hotel yet?

Hello Cat!

I have started looking for someone to solemnize my wedding already. Because my own pastor is unable to do so, I had to source for others. I am quite kiasu! harha! ;)

And, I felt that it is only fair to give the 'new' pastor ample notice and time.

So maybe, u can start looking around and keeping an eye out.. especially if you have someone in mind.

My fiance managed to call the hotel and our coordinator is Clara. We'll be meeting up with her soon.. sometime in April just to touch base.

I might be going down to the florists that you provided on one of my off days.

hey Cat, i guess it doesn't hurt to start getting a JP to book in his calendar a slot for you. apparently some popular JPs get booked one year in advance!! i thought that's ridiculous though.

anyway... you don't need a popular JP right..

some of the so-called popular ones are those whose English and jokes/presentation make me cringe!

Hi Rie - good to hear that you have Clara to take care of things. Let me know how the florist goes. Which one do you intend to visit?

Hi Stickymouse - you are right. i don't need a popular JP. The last thing I want is to deal with a JP with a diva attitude on my wedding day! Just a decent one who speaks proper English, will do.

I'm going to use to close my eyes & point to the first name on the list, unless that one speaks Chinese, Hokkien, then I'll move to the next JP :P

Hey Cat,

Most probably both. Just to get a feel of their services and what they have to offer. I think this is the best gauge of opinions. Also need to hear what the fiance thinks. He is quite picky.

Will definitely share my experience, but I would only be on leave late April.. so gotta wait till then.

Just to check though, for the cake the hotel gives.. it's complimentary, right? Cat, I know you did give me a list of cakes. But, i'm not sure if those are the complimentary or would I have to pay for them?

Do I have the luxury of choosing a particular flavour? Or do I just take whatever that is offered/given to me?

Thanks for the clarification!

Stickymouse, just wondering what did u give for favours? i'm not really too fussy about that though.

hey rie, i gave out rosebuds in organza bags... (i selected from a range Beaufort provides).

unfortunately, some people didn't know they were meant for tea infusion... they thought it was for hanging in the wardrobe or scent bags!!

hey cat, yeah... do hope you find a reliable JP soon!

Sounds pretty and practical! harha..

u mean some people thought they were like potpourri? harha!

does beaufort have a good range of favours?

Cat, u planning to buy favours or just get from what beaufort offers?

Rie, not too sure about the wedding cake as I didnt ask too many questions (since i've decided Beaufort is not going to bake my cake). i don't know what the basic & the elaborate cakes look like since they don't have photos to share. but if you have a design that you want, the hotel can try to do it - that's what i am told.

i think you have to pay for it. the complimentary cake is a dummy cake, if i am not wrong. the wedding cake varies from $120 (basic cake) - $150 (elaborate cake) per kilo +++. Quite ex. You choose the flavours based on what the hotel can provide. If you want a special flavour, you will have to ask them.

Thanks Stickymouse! *fingers crossed*

Rie - a friend of mine is going to bake my wedding favors.
she runs a cat & dog sanctuary & always in need of funds. so i asked to help me out & at the same time, i'll add a little write up in the favor, so that she gets what little publicity she can get

she is baking heart-shaped pineapple tarts - mmmmmm, my favorite!!!!

heheh... yah... a bit sad but oh well, can't please everybody. i just didn't want to give out items that will be duplicate to our guests (e.g. a couple going home with two sets of salt/pepper shakers??) i think we had a previous discussion on scenario of family of 5 going home with 5 wine stoppers/cocktail stirrers right?? something like that...

the best is food!! helps stave off hunger hehe... ang ku kueh? tau sar piah? lau po bing?

i don't think the selection is fantastic... the rosebud is prob the best i cld find... but then again they might have changed after these 2 yrs...

& oh, the other favor i am thinking of adding on is a charity favor - i would like to donate a sum to the breast cancer foundation on behalf of my guests. at least i know the money goes to a good cause

my hubby's concern is, the guests may think we are too cheap to give favors & use charity as an excuse.

i dont know ...

Stickymouse, i think Beaufort only gave 3 favors choices - salt & pepper shakers, bottle stoppers & ceramic keepsakes boxes! & like you, we're thinking, each couple will be going home with 2 sets of each item!

Oh Stickymouse, so I had a convo going on with you before. Now I remember!

so little?! 3 choices. ah well!

So fun! homemade favours with lots of love!

huh? only 3 choices?? wow...

cat, i think your friend's baking as fund raising is a lovely idea.

do you all feel that people actually might not notice if there are no wedding favors? i mean... i don't really remember the favors i receive, 'cos i usually eat them or leave them behind (if not edible). hahaha

My sentiments exactly Stickymouse. Its generally quite wasteful, even for food. I remember one of my cousin's wedding. She used her wedding cake as the wedding favor. Some of the relatives at our table were complaining that they don't like cakes & the cakes were left behind. Can't please everyone. So why should we spend our money this way? Just so that people don't think we are cheap?

That's where i disagree with my hubby.

Re the favours. I recalled seeing photoframes, keepsake boxes, salt & pepper shakers, wine stoppers; soaps, etc..we picked the keepsake boxes. Am also of the opinion that the wedding favours are quite un-noticeable!

Re the JP. Am using the JP(Mr. Tan) who is recommended by Sentosa. Have met with him already and he seems nice, a grandfatherly figure.:-) I think we approached him 3 or 4 months before our big party.

Am just back from my meeting with Louis. Tried on my gown with the beaded work; i can't wait for April 25, haha!

Neither do i.

I usually gobble up the chocolates there and then.

I recently attended a wedding in the City and they had some very impractical luggage tag cum photos thingy. I didn't know what to do with it too.

PK! I am so excited for you!!!
I can't wait to see your photos. Do share, please??

Thanks for the heads up re the JP. Will speak to the hotel

Thanks Cat! And definitely, i will share the pictures!;-) have u sorted out the corkage charges yet?

Mr. Tan (the JP) speaks english well and clear; i think we are in good hands and so will u guys if you decide to go with him.:-)

How much will Card Blanche charge you? But it will be good to tie the designs together, at least you have a flowing theme.

I am doing that. Invites, table numbers, menu & favor tags & guest cards

PK, nope, the corkage charge thingy is still up in the air. Wrote to the hotel last week, havent heard from them since.

Do you mind passing Mr Tan's contact to me? I'll drop him an email or a call.

Here u go: [email protected]

I will get his mobile for you; my hubby has been the one talking to him. Mr. Tan sounds very serious and distant on the phone but he is definitely warm in person.

Per card number+menu = $5.10. And since we have only 10 tables, i thought would be ok to proceed. Just got "green light" from the italian.:-) Yeah, definitely wonderful to have a a theme running through all the stationery.

would like to find out if the hotel provides transportation to ferry guests from mainland Singapore to Sentosa??

did anyone tried to bargain for the provision of transport from the hotel??

Hi didee, Beaufort provided free shuttle service from two places i.e. Paragon and vivocity. I tried both services in the past, on time and reliable.

Hi Girls! Any updates or things to share on your preparations?

I have been tying up all the loose ends this week and getting ready for a simple Guo Da Li next Wed. We finally got down to selecting the music for the solemnization. Some major procrastincation there..;-)

Now, we are happy and relaxed..thankfully! though things may just change...;-)

Hi PK! I haven't been doing anything over the last few weeks. Taking a breather & a break from the wedding planning.

I'm actually thinking of touching base with you sometime next week to see how you are doing!

All ready & prepared to walk down the aisle??? ;)