The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

hi there midas,
if you have a link to your photos, can you send me a link as well. i am happy for you that agnes is your coordinator..she is mine coordinator as well for my Nov/07 AD but another one will take one her soon because she will be leaving the banquet service and moving on the concentrate on another portfolio ...

Any one has any idea which coordinator from Fullerton is better?

Hi Fullerton Brides,

I'm considering Fullerton but I find Fullerton's ballroom rather long, has any of your guests esp those seated at the end 'complained' that they feel too isolated cos its quite far from the stage.

hi Tia,

Got your PM and haf sent you the link to my AD photos.

Yes it's true dat Fullerton's ballroom is slightly longish but I did not receive any complaints abt feeling left out and all. =)

hey pandilic - congrats!!! i wanna see your wedding photos! share ok? [email protected]

dear girls, can anyone advise based on my 12 tables + 2 reserve, which room can I opt for? heard the straitsroom is very good, but can only hold min 8 & max 12 tables. any other rooms available?

anyone has the wedding package, can email me at [email protected]

heard the bridal room is terrific, how is it like? can describe? or anyone with pics to show me? my email is [email protected]

thanx

hi cpigl and TY - haf sent you the link to my AD photos. the loft suite is FANTASTIC!!!! 2 stories...gorgeous views, balcony area, wonderful bathroom...perfect! u'll definitely love every minute of your 2 nights there. =) i also requested to use the loft suite for my PS cos it was sooooo nice!

Hello ladies,

Will be holding our dinner at the Fullerton in Nov. Anyone care to share their AD pictures? Would like to see the set up.

I only have one night at the loft suite. Would like to have a additional night stay if possible. He he

jo ([email protected])

Hey annejo,
which day is your wedding? ;) mine is on the 25th ..

but it is strange, the package contains 2 days at loft suite right .. you only have one? the package changed already?

If I'm not wrong, I think Ballroom (48 tables max) weddings get two nights, while Straits Room (12 tables max) get one night? Unless the package has indeed changed.

Think I'm going to sign with them...the passion and black setup is stunning.

Me and my fiance just met up with Evelyn Joseph and according to her, we can only meet the minimum revenue through upgrading of food and not beverages, contrary to what Lizzie said above. Does anyone else have a similar experience?

Also are there any other coordinators besides Evelyn. Not too comfortable with her though I really like Fullerton.

I just had my wedding at Straits Room in Jan and it was great! Initially I didn't quite like Evelyn too because I thought she sounded bitchy over the phone. But seriously, she's okie. She gave us some cockage waiver and waive the extra charge when we upgraded our invitation card design at AWT. My hubby requested for 2 round of rehearsals before the AD and Evelyn did accomodate us.

On the AD, The banquet manager was great too. Ambience and table setting was all very nice! It was certainly worth it =)

seems like the coordinators there change so often i'm losing touch.

i first signed up my package with shue, but shortly after she told me agnes would be taking over her.

then a few months later, again i received info that agnes would be moving on to another position, and I haven't even met her b4!

feel quite disappointed cos I had discussed all my ideas with Shue and now I have to deal with someone who might not know what was agreed earlier.

I attended a dinner there once and i agree that the portion is really small, that's why we are considering doing away with individual servings(seems like the portion is more that way). Heard that the food is not too good and really scared.

My AD is in Nov and I hope by then they would have improved after all these negative reviews.

I heard that the portion is small as well. Wonder if an additional dish might help or not? But not sure whether the add-on is worth it.

Can someone pls advise what are the additional perks that we can ask for out of the package?

Hi, I personally find Fullerton not able to provide good food at events held in their Ballroom but good food at Straits Room. My guess is the kitchen is not able to cope with large events.

bubbledream - additional perks is something quite subjective and differs according to what's important to you. why don't you discuss it with them to see if they can meet what you want?

Been thinking about costs lately and sigh, i guess i'll be happy if i can even be remotely close to breaking even for this one.

Just to share an experience. Attended a wedding in Dec 06 there, and this guy at my table asked the waiters for more food because it was getting late and the portions were small and he was still starving.

I guess guys tend to need more food. The waiters brought him some rice in advance, when actually they were only serving the 4th or 5th dish.

anyone to share their experience? is the food portion in the ballroom small? by the end of the dinner, will you be full or still hungry?

Sorry FH here.

Anyone here intending to do solemnisation and dinner together at Fullerton?

Hows the flow like??. I like to do an outdoor solemnisation then followed by the actual dinner.

Anyone got photos or experience. Care to share.. Thanks

hi darkwing! haf sent you the link to my Fullerton photos. i had my solemnisation at the East Garden, followed by dinner at the Ballroom. hope it helps. =)

Hi ash,

Thanks so much.. Its going to be very help ful.. =) My FW will love it.. Very nice too..

Congrats to you..I am having same thots as your wedding.. having outdoor and indoor banquet.

Thanks so much.. What your rough budget overall at fullerton?

Thanks again.. I am sending the link to my FW for viewing..

Hi ash,

Is yours a Christian solemnisation?

I see a pastor and a JP rite? Can enlightened? thank you so much.

How you link both the pastor and JP part together?

I got problem with the religious part. As I am a christian my FW is not.

Mr Khaw Boon Wah, as a guest in your happy occasion is nice touch too.

I realised your family are at the hotel. During the groom's arrival.. nice touch too.

They allow? such arrangement? its makes coordination for the dinner so much easier.

Can enlightened your plans? Really nice.

Its a good plan too.. as big portion of the family are there already.. Timing also not that headache.

Thanks brokenbudgie,

Yah I saw the list thanks. Only need to ask my pastor for recommendation.. I was hoping for my own pastor to conduct, and having a JP there for witness.

My FW is more comfortable with someone familiar.

Hows the planning been going. If my FW agreed, I was hoping to get some tips from ash, pin jin and GDL, etc. on the the other cooridnation part. Timing, schedule and such. Really noob when coming to this. But really keep things going for my day.

Really envy ash , as her family were at the hotel way before hand. As the Tea ceremony is there and the bride is able to relax in the comfort of the hotel room and in the midst of her family.

Really something I can keep in view during my planning. I am roughly setting aside 20K for wedding. the other 20K for home.

Anyway I am planning for my AD to be around 15th August 08 that week. As its our anniversary also.

See how it goes. The Flat must come in as well.

Timing is essence now

DarkWing - My AD is in July and we only started planning in December but I realise that as long things move along week by week, it isn't too short a period to plan. I'm handling all the wedding matters while FH is handling the reno....it's still manageable. Are you confirmed at the Fullerton yet?
20K sounds like a lot for home - why so much? My tea ceremony is also going to be at the hotel! It just is more convenient that way.

Hi brokenbudgie,

Nope, I haven make any formal approach to Fullerton yet. Still have to wait for my FW to agree on the place. Other hotels are in my list too. Only Fullerton was 1st on my list. So ask around first.

I am BKL for starters now, as my FW is really busy with work, knocking off only at 9pm and at times worst.

So I just carry-on with the searching, asking BTBs here for help. And get the idea, cost and planning in place.

oh, 20K is just an estimate for + and -.

As following this will be the Flat, if all according the timetable will be ready by Mar'08.

then I have be full time at the house for reno liao.

So to me I dun really have much time to think and plan, if I had only around 1 yr or so left.

$$ I am more concern abt. AS some couple in the forum spend around 15K on reno, thats what I see 20K is just a buffer prepared for it.

Hi Elene - No, i'm simply fitting it into part of the dinner. Initially we wanted it to be a family-only gathering at the Roof Garden one floor above, where the cocktails take place but decided everyone should share the joy. BTW, despite its name, the Roof Garden, is not an open air garden on the roof ;)

DarkWing - We contacted around 10 hotels before deciding on the fullerton because they have a nice black/red set up and the Straits Room is amazing for smaller weddings. If you can book during a hotel's wedding show, you can get a lot of freebies thrown in. For instance, alcohol is probably the most expensive component of the dinner. But we signed with Oriental hotel for our 2nd night and got a free flow of beer.

hi dark wing, not sure if you getting new flat or resale? for me, i spend over 40K on renov for my 5 room resale. furnishing the house and buying all those small small things like pans, utensils, pail, etc can cost you about another 10K-15K.

i have tabluated what i have spend for the house and preparation of ROM and wedding. its shocking to see that we have spent near 100K.

Hi Dark Wing ,
I strongly recommend you fullerton! ;)because since it is a once in a life time affair, well, go for it leh! right. but main thing is hope you have slot for that date!

20K + or -, well, i think you will have to go to renotalk forum to get more for ID you want. but if you need, i can recommend you my ID, just PM me. ;)

Hi ASH,
just a greeting for you. gown fittign for my WTB in D* G** is in April and we are getting excited over it ;) hope everythign is a ok for you at the other side of Asia! ;)

Hi brokenbudgie,

For me putting fullerton, is the difference it brings. The victorian look in a hotel is rare in S'pore. As I am looking for an outdoor solemnisation either by the pool or an outdoor area which is nice in the evening sun. Fullerton is convenient as the Ballroom is just next to the East Garden like ash's wedding.

I am also looking at Four Seasons and Rasa too. Four Season have a top level poolside area. and Rasa have the lawn (beach). Real nice for solemnisation.

I doubt I will be signing anything during the exhibit as my Flat is still under construction. Earliest delivery is Mar'08, as per the HDB CSO.

So my timetable is real tight. If the house is not confirm for delivery by Mar or Apr 08, my wedding have to push. If Not I will burnt out by the amt of planning and budgeting in my head.

Hi Cpigl,

Mine's a New Flat, 4 rm. I am not intending to do alot as its new, toilet and kitchen are almost done. As both my FW and I are working, these small things I will buy after the main reno with monthly income here and there. Yah at the end of the day maybe well hitting 100K.

The big things to be done up during reno is the master bedroom, kitchen and toilet with all the fixtures and equipment installed. The other is the powerpoints, lighting points, tele pts and A/C are to be installed. Living room fixtures is more or lesss to do up with the sofa. Then the TV and etc later.

Thinking abt it, headache come liao.

Hi morghanjess,

Thanks for the recommendation, Ash's wedding really gave a good impression. I still need to get others as well,

My FW needs to be convinced. I really hope she can have something in mind so easier for me to plan.

I am in the reno forum too, reading around and learning some dos and donts. Reviewing of what I have in mind for the house and what to look out for if certain types of materials are use. paints, stones, glass etc.

The FWs and FHs here are really helpful.

I thank them alot. This forum is great for couples

hello Darkwing! will try to answer yr qns here:

1. Christian Solemnisation - Yes. I had different Pastors to do different segments of the solemnisation service. No JP was present. U may need to check with your Pastor if he's comfy wif solemnising a wedding involving a non-Christian partner. Then in dat case, u wld need to bring in a JP.

2. Family coordination. The package includes 2 nites at the Suite. I checked in together with my family the day b4 my AD. I wanted my family to enjoy the suite with me on "my last nite". Tea ceremony was held at the suite too cos it'll be more convenient for my relatives to all meet at Fullerton since the solemnisation and dinner will be there, rather than travelling to my own home then again to Fullerton. so when i left Fullerton to go to my hubby's place, my relatives started arriving at the suite to get ready for the tea ceremony for my side. The hotel can arrange tea and the teacup sets. =)

Budget. Rental of the East Garden costs $4K i think. Rental of AV equipment is $700. Includes everything you see in my solemnisation setup - flowers, gazebo, chairs with seat covers, entrance arch.

For the dinner portion, I had 50 tables. Each table costs $958+++ or $998+++ (cant remember now). but this was slightly more than a year ago. better check Fullerton's latest pricing.

We certainly had a very memorable wedding and the team at Fullerton was great too! Let me know if u haf other qns. be happy to help. =)

hey morghanjess!! so many things haf happened..... dat's why haven emailed you. let me update you over email ok? =) btw..it's freezing in HK now. weather is crazy this winter.

cpigl - for 40k, was your reno a basic one or was it a total transformation? have been contacting IDs & contractors this week. Quotes are currently hovering between 40k-50k right now for my 20+ yr old maisonette and we're just talking about very basic/necessary stuff. Eek. If only I'd won the Toto Hongbao last week..

Hi ash,

Thanks for your enlightenment. i got a better idea already. The only thing is the $$. I am not sure the hokkien side pin jin and GDL how they go about. I read from some thread, like what they said the bride side will sort of take what you give and give you back a portion.

As for the Tables wise, they will accept what you give. headache liao. dun want to give too little and dun want to give too much. thinking of split half of the banquet for the bride. ard 15 tables. Anyway its me and my FW's money. just hope to break even.

For my FW is ok. No issue, my pastor is ok too. Just have to approach him.

Rental of the East Garden is quite a bg sum to be added into the budget have to rework my plan liao.

Now have to hunt down other hotels in my list. to get the picture.

Thanks ash. You really help alot. God Bless you and you family.

Hi Ash,

I'm totally mesmerized by ur gown, makeup, hairdo and the romantic ceremony at Fullerton Hotel. U looked gorgeous!!

I also intend to have everything done in a day; hence can you pls help me with the following timeline qns I have?

1) I noticed that u changed into CS before going to Groom’s house. Did MUA wait till then, and help you remove your veil?
2) Did you go straight for the solemnization with the morning makeup, after ur tea-ceremony @ Fullerton? Or u rest 1st, and group solemnization & banquet together?
3) When did the MUA come for the 2nd makeover? Before solemnization or banquet? How long did she take?
4) How much time did u allocate for solemnization ceremony before banquet starts?

Sorry for asking so many qns. Appreciate ur help very much!! Thanks!

brokenbudgie, i tear down the whole place and re-do everything. kitchen, floor, toilets, hack study wall to replace with full glass, book cabinet, laminate flooring for 3 bedrooms, wall to wall wardrobe for master bedroom, all doors and door frame including main door, windows and window grills, sliding glass door for kitchen, glass shower screen for master toilet, re-wiring, level up balcony. i think that's all.

if you are doing masionette, i think you need more $$.

Oh yah, 1 more qn for Ash: ;P

I noticed u've different hairdo for solemnization, Banquet 1st & 2nd march-in. How much u have to pay for the MUA to stay back?

Thanks! Bless you.

hi Darkwing - dun worry too much ok? i think as long as both sides are quite chin chye type, the GDL and no. of tables to give shdn't be too big a headache. all the best for your wedding prep and hope to see you here la. ;p