The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

Hi Nicole,
I came across your other threads at FBO following the link you sent me previously

Wah, really sound complicated...so did you have to pay for the whole fireworks sequence, even though they didn't carry the full schedule out?
Yup, i can imagine how smokey it must have been, as Fullerton's ceiling really quite low...

i have juz postponed my wedding to September..luckily the hotel still has room for me

hi Nicole,

your wedding really sounds so fairytale like! fireworks and elevated aisle!

would you mind sharing which places you visited for your 5 day photoshoot?? i'm thinking of having an additional outdoor shoot before my wedding dinner

where have you girls been to? so quiet in here...

me going for food tasting tomorrow...ROM-ming tomorrow too...keeping fingers crossed everything will be alright...

Cin Cin

Me here!! *raise hands*

CONGRATS to your ROM!!

Take more picts and let us know ok how did the food tasting go ok?!

So you collect the invites oledy? can should me your invitation cards design??

Congrats Cin

You will be a pretty bride tomolo!

did you change any item of your menu? must we tell the hotel before food tasting or change after the tasting?

thanks! i am now a mrs... waited almost 9 years to be a mrs...yah, long hor? been dating my hubby for almost 9 years liao...hee hee

HI Besse,
Yes, collected the invites already. You have a fax machine? i can fax you the design... digital camera on loan to my sis who is on holiday...

Hi Cookiemz,
must tell them before food tasting, so you can try...we changed one or two items on the menu...

i have asked Elizabeth to allow us to try the item of the original menu and the one we intend to change to, so can make a comparison. ie. wok fried honey prawns change to deep fried prawns with wasabi mayo. So in this case, we can try both prawns, and decide which is better. But not everything can try both lah, wait they think we greedy heh heh. Discuss with your co-ordinator lor, he or she will advise you on that...

Hi Nicole,

Yah, heh... think i was a tad underdressed compared to some of the girls there who were in long gowns, thick makeup and flowers in their hair...but at least i wasn't the most underdressed...

but i am glad i wore the short one instead of the long dress...it was so damn hot this morning, and so crowded. Short dress more convenient and comfortable...70 couples getting married today, ROM limit each couple to six guests only and already crowded...can you imagine if no restriction???

Hi Besse, Cookiemz,
Food tasting went on smoothly. Food was good...some dishes better, some okay lah... i would recommend the wasabi mayo prawns (something unique and it is tasty!) and the hongkong style fried egg noodle with seafood and shredded lettuce (very tasty and a good alternative to the standard ee fu noodles or lotus leaf rice).

Cin

CONGRATZ to your upgrade to MRS!

Wow.. 9 years leh. not easy! ;)

Yeah, this am v v bright and sunny and HOT.. whew.. but weather v nice to take picts.. lucky me going to do my solemnisation in the aircon fullerton ;) else i will MELT... *grin

hehe.. okok.. will take note for the dishes you recommended... my MIL din wan the sour sop dessert.. pan dan cos said SOUR not sound good for the marriage.. *faint.. so you keeping the dessert?

Haha.. how's elizabeth now? she's getting bigger?

Hmm.. faxing the invite ar.. err.. diff, cos i usually not ard in office leh.. where u work? maybe can pick up from u??

Besse
I didn't want the Soursop initially but because I don't like soursop. But this dessert is delicious!!!

Cin
Hmm ... I don't recall eating any prawns. Hmm .. but we have the same menu right, since yours is on a Sunday and mine's on a Friday. I didn't really care for the Ee Fu noodles. So you recommend the other one? As you know, I've gone for my food tasting, was wondering if I can ask to change the menu again?

Hi Besse, kare2711

i think we have different menus cause mine is a sunday

Our dessert can choose from either chilled cream of rock melon with sago or chilled cream of honeydew with sago or mango pudding or tang yuan in red bean soup or Ou Ni (teochew yam dessert).

Dessert not much difference lah, i actually wanted the OU NI, different mah, but parents and PIL felt it would be too heavy...and mango pudding, while a favourite with younger folks, doesn't really sit well with the older generation. So in the end, stuck with chilled cream of rock melon with sago. General consensus around the table was that it tasted nice. but i didn't really like it lah...

Cin thanks..

Hmm think our menus should be the same, since mine is a sunday wedding too.. or prob they revised the menu after you have signed with them?!

Else by right, Friday and Sunday should share same menu.. cos prices same mah.. grrr..

Hi Besse,
Er..i meant your mailing address lah dear

yah hor, friday and sunday same menu leh...how come you didn't taste any prawns? What are the items on your original menu and what did you change?

ours is cold dish (roast duck, prawn salad, jelly fish, squid and spring rolls), followed by sharks fin broth with crab meat, follwed by roast sesame chicken, then wok fried prawns with honey beans and XO sauce, HK style steamed soon hock, mushroom and broccoli, ee fu noodles and chilled cream of rock melon.

We changed the cold dish (roast duck and squid changed to thai style pacific clams and mini octopus, and our spring rolls changed to vietnamese spring rolls), wok fried honey prawns changed to wasabi mayo prawns and ee fu noodles changed to hongkong style fried egg noodle with seafood and shredded lettuce.

Hi Cin

i see i see.. okok.. if you don mind, you can drop me an email and i'll email my mailing addie to you.. hee..

Me not yet gone for food tasting.. wedding still 5.5 months away.. *gulp* not v far away hor.. but think the menu quite the same..

how's the portion? is it generous??

Got picts to share for your ROM??? ;)

hi besse,

me email is [email protected]

portion is satisfactory, enough lah...at the end of the meal, our stomachs were protesting already. But for those who eat a lot, maybe it will be just nice for them. Not too filling... but for us ladies who do not eat as much, the portions are big enough.

haha, in the process of uploading the pics. Nothing fantastic lah...Will email you when it is ready

Cin
My wedding is on a Friday ah, so should be same as yours too.

In the end, I asked for change in noodles. But I decided not to change the prawns. Too troublesome and I haven't tried the wasabi prawns so better not take the risk.

Besse
I agree with Cin. By the end of the mail, I was so full! But I really wonder if the portions are going to be the same on the day.

i asked about the portions. We checked with the chef and made sure that they would give us the same size of fish and same servings ie. 2 prawns per person means two prawns per person...

i think it would be safer for us to double check with our co-ordinators again before the banquet.

Btw, are you girls getting your wine from Fullerton? Did you try it during the food tasting? we requested to try one white and one red. The white was very nice, and the red was not bad. If you girls getting, do you know which brand/name wine you are getting? just want to see if they provide everyone the same one...

Hiee Cin

Glad to hear some positive comments on the food tasting

Me also dated my fiance for almost 9 years means by the time we tie a knot next year....it would be almost 10!! Still remember my dad asking me if i can wait till 10 years if i eventually marry him when we first dated hehehe....time really fly

Hi Poox,

hee hee, sama sama...when we first started going out, my mother also asked me the same thing

wah gals..

you all been pak toring for so long?! *faintz..

Hee. glad you guys are moving on to next stage in life.. when's planning for bb?

I attended a wedding dinner at Fullerton last night and I wanna assure u gals tt the service was great and the food was yummy and red wine is good too!

A thing to note though is tt the food portion may not be enuff for guys coz yummy food mah, so want second helping but dun have
hee !

And having the live broadcast really helped guests seated at the sides to see u and hubby walk in for yr entrances. Rem to smile and dun look down when u walk down the steps.

Going back to Fullerton really brought back my wedding day memories. :P The staff remembered and recognised hubby and I and came up to chat with us, so we felt very welcome back to the hotel.

Have fun with yr wedding preps!

Thanks Nicole..

Indeed, everytime i went to Fullerton for drinks etc, I fell in love with the grandeur of the place again and again.. and really look forward to my wedding day.. so magical, the place!!

Sigh...

I am new here....I would like to know when is the best time to book for wedding dinner especaily like Fullerton...cos mine will be around next year.....

How much does it cost per table????

hi snow

if you have some dates in mind, you can start to source around already, esp if you considering weekend banquets.. afterall, there's oni 52 weekends in 1 yr..

Fullerton has a few rates for per table.. deps on weekdays or weekends, and the menu you have. best is you give their catering sales dept a call and have them fax you their latest quotes.. den make an appt to go down and see the place and meet the catering sales mgr to have a better feel..

Hope that you can join the list of fullerton bride-to-be soon!!

Hi Nicole,

How was the attendance at the dinner? Just wondering whether SARS will still have a big impact on the wedding guest list...

Hi Snow,

If u do go down to fullerton for a visit, do arrange to see a full banquet setup rather than an empty ballroom, especially when u're seriously considering this hotel. The price of fullerton is definitely higher than most hotels, especially for the weekends. It may be fairer if u compare fullerton with hotels in the same league, rather than just base it on price alone.

Hi Ethan

You also holding wedding in Fullerton? Never seen you b4..

Ya Nicole, please share how's the attendence for the wedding dinner u have attended..

Cin..

Hiyah, howdy.. err, you sent the invite card sample to me??

Hi Besse & fullerton brides,

I'm still seriously considering holding my wedding at Fulleron next year, which is y I've yet to be able to contribute advice to this thread. Even though my fiancee & I adore the place, a wedding banquet is somewhat not just about the 2 of us. Parents are also involved in the process, though they're not involved in the actual decision-making. Due to SARS, the economic outlook, or simply just prudence, we've been receiving advice & comments about the potential financial issues involved if Fullerton was chosen. Unfortunately, the expenditure is within a 'grey' zone, ie, it's affordable if u decide to stretch your budget a little, but yet there'll always be a 'better' way to spend the same amount of $.

For Fullerton brides & brides-to-be, may I ask if u all have also encounter this stage in your decisional process? What was the key deciding factor & what are the concrete plans u brides set aside to cushion any contingencies?

Hi Besse,

Sent it out today, was busy with work, sorry

Argh!! i am going crazy with tying the ribbons on the wedding invites...anyone sent theirs out yet? the ribbons they give are so thick, can't really tie any pattern except the normal bow. And either my fingers are too fat or the ribbon is too thick, each card i have to re-tie at least twice or thrice...driving me nuts!!

Hi Ethan,

We chose fullerton mainly for two reasons:-

1) My FH's brother got married there a year and half ago, so we more or less know what to expect ie. level of service, banquet presentation etc.

2) Fullerton also has a reputation or name, which lends an aura of classiness, and for the price they are charging per table, i think it is reasonable... also, we started looking for banquet venue quite late, so frankly speaking we did not really consider other options and this was mainly because of reason no. one. Fullerton was a safer and easier option for us...

You have one more consideration now though, because of SARS. But i'm sure the banquet manager will discuss this with you.

For couples like us who are getting married soon (mine is in June), they are open to discussion and listed us several options/alternatives that we can choose, should we have trouble meeting the guaranteed number of tables.

Hi ethan

i'm also in the same "phase" right now....both of us love the place and was quite certain until this sars outbreak! as my fiance is working in one of the airline, well....it's quite badly affected...expecting a major pay cut....

if we stretch our budget, can still have it at our dream location but of course $ my be put to better use....sigh....

dunno....hope to make a decision soon.....have been sitting on it for almost half a year :P

Hi Poox,

I think a decision won't come any easier as time passes, cos there'll always be an option to put the same amount of $ to a 'better' use. To make decisions even more difficult, a banquet is just a single day event, but yet it's also a once-in-a-lifetime affair. It's almost trying to be practically romantic, a situation that's hard to balance.

SARS have reminded us that in life, anything u've expected & planned may not necessarily happen. Decisions is probably about just making a calculated risk, bite the bullet, & dun look back with regrets. As long as the couple had a good time & memories to keep, it's probably all that really matters.

Hi Ethan and Poox

Haiz.. i understand what a tuff decision making process u are going thru.. went thru the same rational myself too.. in fact, did consider other options.. but reverted back to Fullerton of the the time and place fit i guess..

Like Cin, we planned for our Nov wedding only in End Feb this yr.. And wanted a weekend wedding. Almost all hotels are booked on our choice dates. It is thru sheer Chance and fate that someone had to postponed her booking on the date i wanted.. and on a SUNDAY (err, as you prob know by now, Fullerton's Sunday is Much MORE aFFOrdable than a Saturday date)

Fullerton was the dream venue, but appeared too costly on the spreadsheet we computed.. and after much rationalising, we still went ahead and decided with our gutfeel and decided to splurge on the once in a lifetime event that we can live to remember..

However, now there are still times that I wonder if i have made a wise financial decision.. and if the money could be better spent on something else like on the house or a better honeymoon...

Hmm.. no choice.. now can only work harder to make MORE money to spend.. :D

Cin babe

Gee.. thanks!!
will look forward to seeing it from mailbox!!

Haha.. i think i will also have probs with the ribbons.. cos me oso hv chubby fingers!!

How's life as MRS??

Hi fullerton brides!

I am in the midst of choosing a wedding banquet venue...
I like fullerton, but was worried about walking down the flight of stairs in my gown!!

any experiences to share/reassure me about this??
i'll be really grateful!

Cin

Received the design oledy.. THANKS!!

Hey, nice leh.. i like.. i did a carving like that too in Shanghai.. but v big.. so don think is v suitable for the card design.. hmmmph

Hi Elenne..

Welcome to the thread.. when's your wedding?

Wrt your concerns, I think no one has fell down the steps ever before leh.. hehe.. so think it should be ok..

Hi Besse

glad to hear that!!
hopefully my wedding can be some time in May next yr but i have yet to meet any wedding coordinator at fullerton. will make arrangements soon

i just went to irene's creation today. think i may sign up with BV.

hi elenne

u're planning to wed in may? me too!! which date are u planning?

hi besse

how is your gown fitting coming along? is it what u dreamed of? must be fun and exciting....i gotta wait at least 5 more months before fitting would start :P

Hi Poox!!!

i was thinking of May 23 but actually i am flexible abt the date, cos if it is late then i'll just take it as more time to save $$$!!
Where are you getting your gown from?

hiee elenne

mine is earlier part of may 04.

i'm going to BV's show tomorrow, if i can't get my eyes off their gown then maybe i'll sign up tomorrow

May I ask any of you managed to negotiate waver off the corkage fee? Let me know... Seems like its difficult for them to wave it off! Sigh!

Hallo Help

I totally agree it's difficult, think can only try to waive to some max amt but not totally waived.

the other difficult one is the LCD projector.

Hi Help

To set the record straight, I doubt you ever will get full waiver for the corkage for wine and hard liquor.

What we did was
1. Bargain down wine corkage.
2. Bargain for 5 more extra bottles of corakge waiver
3. Exchange the wedding fav for extra waiver of wine corkage.

Hope it helps

Hi Help,

I don't think it is possible to get a full waiver off the corkage fee as they will still want to 'earn' some money from you.

I agree with Besse. The best thing to do is to bargain for more corkage waiver, for wine and hard liquor.

Hubby and I actually wanted to bring in our own wine cause one of my dad's business associates is a wine importer. However, due to the SARS situation, we cannot confirm the actual number of guests, so we decided to get wine from Fullerton instead. Part of our 'contingency plan' with Fullerton was to guarantee less tables, but guarantee certain number of bottles of wine.

Besse,
In the end, what was your package like? yours also a sunday one right?

hiee ladies

a little update on my bridal shopping, i've sign up with bridal veil
went for their show today, both me and my fiance really love her design...so we sign up on the spot :P next we'll need to confirm the photographer to use....think most probably i'll go for KIM Studio D'fia.

Before the BV show, i actually went to Ted Wu so that my fiance can help make a better decision. TW was good too but we decided to go for the simple elegant look rather than the elaborate look.

Really happy....now next i think i should go confirm my hotel soon :P

hi besse

my first appointment sometime in oct!! sigh....still a long way to go...by then u should be taking your ps already :P

actually there is no other hotel...we're just waiting for garey to call...haha..parents keep thinking fullerton would reduce their price...what do u think?

so u manage to ask for extra 5 bottles waived on top of the original how many?

Hi Poox..

Hmm original corkage waiver is 12 bots i think.. forget the details oledy..

Err.. not sure if Fullerton will drop its pricing.. best is you book the dates you wan..

Oh.. 1st appt is in Oct? I will be preparing for my wedding soon by then!