The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

Kare2711

Wowo.. so you another Sil's bride..
who's your designer? How's your gowns like?

Hmm.. better quick print and send the invites.. and RSVP hard!! That's what Elizabeth advised!

Cin

Oh.. ok, when will the card be ready?? wanna see photo.. or yeah, you can fax me.. but i not in office these few days leh.. hmmm how leh!? *scratch big head

Where did you get the wedding bands?

My Emcees.. dunno yet, most likely to be close frens i guess.. I intende to give my own speech as well.. and prob wanna present flowers to mom and pop..

Hmm.. ok to cry, but must stop in time lar!

Hi Besse,

Larry Jewellery at Ngee Ann City. Card should be ready in about 7 to 10 days... will keep you posted

Btw, i have a question. If i have a friend who is a jie mei as well as emcee, how many ang paos do i have to give her? three? ie. one at the door (collective one to be shared by all the jie meis), another one from us for helping out as a jie mei, and another one at the end of the day for being an emcee? is that too many ang paos? Maybe i should substitute one ang pao with a gift? Any recommendations?

Cin
Wouldn't the photo paper cost a lot more? I think there's no need for that since most people would probably throw away the card.

Besse
I would prob. collect my cards next week. Actually I'm only sending out the cards on first week of May. Reason is my parents are traditional Chinese and they don't like the idea of sending out the cards in the month of Ching Ming.

My designer is Minda.

Hi Kare2711,

Yup, that was our reasoning also, when we decided not to choose that option, cause most of the time, people just throw away the card. so no need to spend so much money...thus, in the end, we just opted for hotstamping on the cover lor...

For the benefit of couples who're considering Fullerton as their banquet venue, could anyone post their reasons behind choosing Fullerton? What are the package items we can bargain for, and hidden costs etc?

Piyo

Hi there. are you considering choosing Fullerton as your banquet venue? Well i personally love the old dame image of fullerton. The following are my reasons for choosing fullerton:

1.They have also a nice pillarless ballroom which has 13 steps leading down.. v grand

2. The loft suite they are giving as the bridal suite is heavenly!! split level with privacy in the sleeping area upstairs.

3. The food is by Jade, one of the restaurants under Tong Lok Group

4. The min and max no of tables matches our requirements

The package items are pretty standard.. you can find the wedding package from the fullerton website.

Bargain wise, probably can try to increase the carpark redemptions, the invitation cards. Also can try to lower down corkage costs for wine.. and maybe even a day room for your helpers

I don think there's hidden costs. Just have to budget extras for wine and beer if your guests are heavy drinkers.

Hope it helps

Cin..

Yeah, i heard Larry has nice rings too.. how much did you pay for yours.. we thinking of Piaget.. hmm but quite ex.. but surprisingly, cost abt the same as the LeeHwa platinum ring.

Ok.. wait patiently for your cards 2 be ready.

Hmm.. your mum can give jiemei a small ang bao, then you and hubby can give a separate one as Emcee lor. else you can get your fren a nice gift.. deps on your budget.. but maybe something nice from Tiffany.. a small locket or smthing like that.

Kare2711

I see.. ok, you keep us posted on your preps!! How was the food tasting? nice?

Hi Besse,

We paid about $800 for each ring. Can't remb exact price, cause receipt with FH.

Hi Kare2711,

Let us know how your food tasting went, and any dishes to recommend ok? I know that the cocoa ribs and deep fried prawns with wasabi dip are popular...

Hi Piyo,

We chose fullerton mainly for two reasons:-

1) My FH's brother got married there a year and half ago, so we more or less know what to expect ie. level of service, banquet presentation etc.

2) Fullerton also has a reputation or name, which lends an aura of classiness, and for the price they are charging per table, i think it is reasonable... also, we started looking for banquet venue quite late, so frankly speaking we did not really consider other options and this was mainly because of reason no. one. Fullerton was a safer and easier option for us...

Hi Poox,
Sorry! Just saw your posting today.
Yeah, Wesley will be doing my studio and outdoor. Will u be using him as well? He is very nice and easy going. I feel very comfortable and looking forward to PS in Sep.
If you are keen, go and take a look at his work. He will work out a theme for your PS.

Hi Cin & Besse,

Thanks for posting your reasons behind picking Fullerton as your hotel. I've visited Fullerton already & compared their packages with other hotels such as Conrad, Ritz & Raffles e Plaza. Fullerton does have the grandeur & classiness, but there's some other limitations which make it imperfect, other than the pricing of course. The ballroom is of a somewhat oval shape, which makes the march-in shorter than most hotels. The ceiling height is also lower comparatively. Fullerton also doesn't have intelligent lighting. Other than these areas, things such as loft suite, leading down stairs etc, are the plus points.

Although Fullerton's pricing may be arguably worth it for the classiness, do u gals have to fork out a substantial sum after collecting the angpows? What's the typical range of money to set aside if about 50% of the attendance are relatives?

i'm back...had been reading your posting but too busy and tired to join in :P

hi wen
i plan to meet up with wesley, so when's your ps? so what's the theme he planned for you? when didn't u use him for actual day? and how much did he charge you? if it's not convenient to share here can email me [email protected]

hi piyo
i'm oso still considering fullerton although more or less made up my mind juz haven sign on the dotted line :P when's your wedding?
so far i find fullerton with most positive comments on the food, ambience and service. Though prices is a little on the high side but if the quality of service is guaranteed, then guess it's worth it.
do agree that the shape of the ballroom is a drawback but if you really want a longer walk in, can arrange for a L-Shape walk which i may be considering

Hi Piyo,

When i attended my FH's bro's wedding in 2001, that was my first thought - why do they have such a short walk-in and why is there a flight of stairs?! so hazardous for the bride! But apparently, a lot of people think that the stairs are a unique feature of the ballroom. And FH assured me he would hold me tightly when walking down the stairs

Like what Poox said, you could consider an L shape walk-in, but for me personally, i don't really know how they will work that out cause if you want an L shape walk in, means you have to come down from the side stairs, rather than the one in the middle...i think, right Poox?

Oh, and another plus point is that service and food presentation is very professional

Hi Poox,

Thanks for replying. I'm planning to have my wedding in Oct next yr. When you mention about L-shape march-in, is it like what Cin have described? Personally, I find the L-shape format a little odd, since everyone would be expecting your entry from the main entrance. Also, wouldn't u be depriving the other half of the ballroom guests a closer look at u?

Hi Cin,

Thanks for sharing your experience at your FH's bro's wedding. I thinks for hotels in the same range as fullerton, there's little to worry with regards to service & presentation. However, there's a compromise in terms of food quality when you analyse the cheapest package. The more expensive package will have better food, but they're way off our budget. How did u find the food, & do u happen to know which menu ur FH's bro selected?

Hi Piyo,

My FH's brother changed some items on the menu, and we are doing the same things to. There are some items which have alternatives in the same price range. ie. spring roll change to vietnamese spring roll, or vege change to homemade spinach tofu... if you want to change to better stuff ie. vege change to vege with abalone, you can top up the difference.

Dicuss with your wedding co-ordinator from Fullerotn. They are quite flexible with the menu choices, but if some items you wanna change to are of a different price range, then must top up.

FH and I are thinking of changing three items on the menu.

Hello

I've seen a friend doing a L-Shape walk-in at Rasa Sentosa, they entered from a side door then walk towards the stage, guess it'll be the same for fullerton.
well... as for depriving guest from the other end from taking a good look at u....i think it's fine but i think i'll prob stick with the normal walk-in, think it'll look better. Discuss with your coordinator, i'm sure couples have done it before.

Hi Piyo

The short walkin is ok for us.. cos we doing a military wedding with the sword bearers marchin.. that'll buy us sometime. I think i'll be more nervous if i walk along a long long aisle like the Ritz and Pan Pac.. *faint*

We personally find the ceiling ht ok.. and the shape of the ballroom unique.. that adds to the diff as compared to other ballrooms.

Furthermore, as Fullerton is relatively still "new" as compared to the rest of the hotels, attending a wedding there is prob quite new 2 most people.

Also, hehe.. this reason a bit warp.. but since Fullerton is a heritage building.. it will still stand tall when my kids ask where we have had our wedding
then can even bring them to the place where we exchange our vows

Err Gals..

me Excited!! Cos today went ring shopping! Found the ring that I am madly in lust with, but Bf just din like it.. cos he said looks too flamboyant on him (he's a old conventional thinker *grrr) .. what do you gals think of Cartier's trinity wedding band?? the one with 3 diff colors rings looped together?! nice rt?! Sulk.. nw have to compromise..

Anyone has any comments on Tiffany wedding band?? hmmmpf

hi Poox
My PS is on 30 Sep. We have opt for nature so no building at all. Wesley will help to source for the right place for us. He is not free to do the actual day for me. His package is $2350 for 25 8R photos which includes candid, studio and outdoor. For me, I opt for half-day PS (studio & outdoor) so he give some discount. He is v flexible w his package so u can always discuss w him what u want. Also he will try to work out something new for u so your photo will have a different feel from others. This is the main reason why i choose over others.

Hi Piyo,
Personally i would like to have my wedding in Raffles Hotel becos the ballroom is long and cozy for 20 tables. But my FIL wanted more tables so have to look for another place. Those that I have considered are Ritz and Shangri-La. Ritz & Shangri-La is a bit inconvenient as they are not near to any MRT. The plus point of having it at Fullerton is its proximity to Raffles MRT. I guess not all your guests will be driving, right?
Also, there is only one ballroom in Fullerton. I dont like the idea of many ballrooms and confuse my guest. I ever attended one wedding where 3 grooms are standing outside the ballrooms waiting for their guests. And I dont know which is my friend's husband.
Comparing to other hotels of the same range, I find the package offered by Fullerton is very reasonable. Since your dinner is next Oct, take more time to look for your ideal hotel.

hi wen

$2350 sound a little steep. mmm....but think still worth paying him a visit.

hello besse
ring shopping mm....perhaps that's the next thing i should be doing since i've seen enough of the wedding gowns:P
think it's better to get a pair which both of you like, otherwise can design your own and get it custom made.

i went down to arab st today, quite interesting....some of the cloth there were simply stunning!! inspired to design something on my own and get a tailor to do it. should go take a look when u'r free.

Hi wen,

Raffles hotel is good if u're looking for a cosy wedding setup. As for transport, most non-driving guests would actually prefer to take cab, since they're decked out in evening wear. Also, at the end of the wedding, most people would rather pay for a taxi to save on travelling time, since it's probably going to be quite late.

I'm also concerned about venues with a few ballrooms, as they tend to confuse & lack exclusivity. Some of these hotels employ staff to marshall & direct people on your wedding, so the likelihood of guests going to the wrong ballroom is reduced, but there'll always be some blur people around.

I'm hunting for a hotel early as our wedding is on a sat. There's only that many good saturdays in a year. We're down to choosing between the last few contenders.

May I ask the fullerton brides-to-be which bridal packages they took up, & the reasons behind them? It's interesting to see if couples who choose the same hotel have the same preferences for bridal packages.

Hi Piyo

What do u have in mind for bridal? Do you have any idea what kinda gowns you like? if you like a dreamy romantic look, you can go for Tan Yoong like Wen.. or if you like nice clean cuts, you can go for Bridal Veil.. All dep on your style.

I went for The Wedding Present cos I find myself v comfortable with the designer and the style of the designer. Also, I find their pricing to my budget and package pretty comprehensive.

YOu can find the list of bridal boutiques and photographers (photoshoot n actual day) that the Fullerton brides-to-be have contracted for.

Kare2711 - 30May03/Silhouette/Greymatters
Cin - 22June03/Yvonne Creative/Vividshots
Cookiemz - 10Jul03/Yvonne Creative
Blissz - 30Oct03 /TedWu/Montage/Greymatters (KC Wong)
Tealeaf1 - 1Nov03/Blush2
Besse - 2Nov03/TheWeddingPresent/AndrewChoi/Triston Yeo
Wen - 17Nov03/TanYoong/MemphisWest(Wesley Loh)/ThePond(Tan Ngiap Heng)
Pam - 28Dec03/BV/Studio D'fia
Miumiu - Feb04/Silhouette&Sophia/Sophia
Poox - May04

Cin
Is it possible for you to get a photo of your card? Reason is FH as well as future FIL wants the card with the rose. Ditto most of my family members. But I don't like that one. Find it a little lau ku pan. I like the white one better. But I can understand why they don't like it. They would probably find it too white and plain. With a copy of how it would look like, when hot-stamped, perhaps I could change FH's mind.

Hi all Fullerton brides and potential Fullerton brides to be,

Its been a long time since I posted in this thread, hope I am welcome now.

I had my wedding at Fullerton last Dec and would like to assure u all that they did a great job and I had a fairytale wedding I wanted. My guests enjoyed the dinner and service too.

The Loft suite is heavenly to stay in and taking our PS in the suite was something very fun!

If any of u have any qns to raise, I will be glad to help from my wedding experience.

Meanwhile, have a fun time with yr wedding preps and all the best!

Hi Besse,
Quick update..... juz confirmed to take Choon Huat from Fast Soup to be my actual day photographer.
Finally one more thing settled.

Hi Princesslin,
Of course u are most welcome here!

I'm sure the girls will have plenty of questions for u as their wedding date draws nearer.

Hi Princesslin,

I think all those who're reading this thread will welcome your presence, since there's not many fullerton brides who're still active after their wedding.

Most of the items in the package can be observed, except for food probably. How did your guests find the food for your wedding?

Also, what additional perks did u manage to get on top of the standard package?

Hi Pam!
I replied yr PM liao

Hi Piyo,

Most of my guests enjoyed the food, except a few of my male classmates told me that the portion was not enuff for them!!!!!
so i told them i will treat them to another BIG meal after wedding hee hee :D

There isn't much additional perks except the usual more invites and more car park coupons to bargain for because they are not very generous with freebies, i had to exchange item for item in the package. For eg, I exchanged the wedding favours for the use of LCD screens etc etc

But I did request for a day use room for helpers and they provided it.

hi princesslin

so happy to have a "senior" giving us tips.

out of curiosity, which bridal boutique, photographer (studio and actual day)did u use? would u recommend them?

and it'll be great if u have some pic to share with us.

Hi Nicole,

May i know which song you used for your walk-ins? Do you remember how long it takes to walk from the top of the stairs to the stage? My FH and I are having some trouble deciding on a walk-in song, and we are worried about the length of the song, and timing of walking from top of the stairs to the stage etc.

Hi Kare2711,

I haven't collected the cards yet, prob end of this week. Is that too late for you? If yes, maybey you can go down to Jasvy with your PIL to take a look, they have printed samples there already on both types of cards.

hi poox.

i signed up with BV, photographer is Chris Ling. Church wedding at Chijmes and caterer is Kriston.

Actual day videographer is Adrian from Videolane.

I have actually stopped sharing my wedding pics, hope u all dun mind. :D but u can email me and we can chit chat ah.

Hi Cin,

I had 3 walk ins ( 3 entrances) . there are thirteen steps down the stairs, so u got to time roughly how fast u wanna walk to reach the stage. and do note tt guests seated at the corners of the ballroom do not get to see u when walk down the stairs. So what I did was to use live video -ie live broadcast so tt guests could see me as i walked down slowly with my hubby.

My first walk in, I used a the theme song from Ever after, which I edited to 5 mins because i used it for my church wedding also. But I took abt 2-3 mins to walk down stairs and up a platform we built down the aisle, so tt guests could see us we walked down the aisle.

the concept is like what they did for the Ted Wu wedding show. But i did not use the "glass stage platform" because it costs abt $10 k plus to do it which to me is a lot of $$!!!!

And because my WG weighs 11kg++ and has a 3 m long train, I took my own sweet time to walk down steps because i did not wanna trip and malu myself hehehehe :P

My second entrance, I used the song Ai Shi Yong Heng and we played the whole song because I had pyrotechnics display (fireworks) as our second entrance highlight on the stage. Again my first Eg was also quite heavy and very big (in terms of pong pong) so had to be very careful. i literally walk one step, pause, walk one step pause.

It took us exactly 2 mins 45 seconds to walk from ballroom entrance down the steps to the stage before we danced and kissed as the fireworks started.

My final entrance, was the easiest and fastest coz i wore a light gown so i think we made it to the stage in less than 1 min time. we played Moulin Rougue's Come what may.

I was quite worried abt the combi of long trian, heavy gowns and heels on wedding day, so I had pe wedding dinner rehearsals (to also time music) and also practiced walking down steps without looking down too much and still being able to smile haha.

It helped tt my hubby holds my hand tightly so very secure.

HI Nicole,

Wow! I am impressed, your dinner sounds very elaborate and grand! You must have spent a lot on the preparations and effects etc. If you don't mind me asking, how much was the total bill that night? (so i can use it to hush my FH up if he thinks our wedding too expensive haha

The Ever After theme song is the extended version of Loreena Mckennit's song is it? I like that a lot too

Who did you get to do the 'live' broadcast? was it the videographer for the day? thanks.

Hi Princesslin,

Thanks for sharing with us. Which of the fullerton package did u choose, & who's your coordinator?

Hi Princesslin,

Thanks for sharing the details of your wedding.

We've also been thinking of having a live broadcast of the walk-in and the evening's events on stage as the people at the ends of the ballroom can't really see very well.

Was wondering if I can know who you hired for your live broadcast and how much you paid. If not convenient to post here, then can e-mail me at [email protected]

FH and I are in a dilemma. We had a discussion with our parents last night, and we are all very concerned about the current SARS situation.

If the SARs situation continues on, we will have trouble filling the guaranteed 35 tables, cause about half of our relatives and friends are currently not residing in Singapore. Some are in Malaysia, others in Hong Kong, China, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, USA etc.

As such, our parents are persuading us to cancel the Fullerton wedding banquet altogether and opt for a cozy dinner for just close friends and relatives.

They know we don't want to postpone, so they say go ahead with everything and get married ie. tea ceremony etc. Only, just have a smaller scale dinner.

FH and I would really love to hold our wedding banquet as this is a once in a lifetime thing for us, and we also do not want our deposit to go to waste. Our parents are beginning to 'push' us. Cause we are holding back the wedding invites just in case we want to cancel, but if we are to go ahead with the wedding, we cannot send out the invites too late either.

I know our parents mean well, as they do not want us to waste 17 or 18 tables (ie. about $18-$19K) if we cannot fill the tables. Sigh..... how? don't know what to do leh...

On one hand, if just a cozy dinner, we save A LOT of money, and less hassle for everybody. On the other hand, marriage is a once in the lifetime thing, but if only half the crowd turn up, then a lot of wastage.... heeellpp...

Hi Cin,

Yes I did spend a lot of effort in preparing for my wedding.

My total bill for banquet at Fullerton came up to abt 60k +. That includes accomodation for guests, our extended stay, use of 3 screens + LCDs, guest list of 527 guests etc.

I got my videographer, Adrian from Videolane to do the live broadcast, then on the actual day he brought along another cam and taught my fren how to use it so that Adrian could still use his videocam to video the wedding while my fren is handling the live broadcast video.

Cin, regardng yr dilemma. Its abt 2 months to yr wedding, can u cancel the banquet without any forfeit of deposit?

I know the SARS scare is a real fear and I would seriously be thinking abt the same questions if I were in your shoes.

We can't decide for u, of course, but we can offer suggetsions and u need to discuss with yr FH and family + in laws to come to consensus what u want.

My suggestions are
1) Find out from overseas guests how comfy they are to travel and come attend yr wedding even if Sars situation is not better.

2) Talk to banquet manager abt yr concerns and see if u can try to come to a win win situation for u and the hotel. For eg: U hold only 30 tables. and you are willing to top up for the menu or spend the money in other ways like extending stay in hotel etc.

3) Reduce yr banquet size and hold it in the Straits room at Fullerton which can hold a cozy number of guests.

4)Over invite- invite as many guests as u can and RSVP well.

HI Piyo

My package is the sat package , the $838+++ per table package. My banquet manager is Thomas.

Hi Tulips,

I engaged Adrian from Videolane for my live boradcast and whole day videography. He is really great! And my guests enjoyed the highlights he did and had it delivered to Fullerton at abt 8pm plus and I could show it just before my second entrance. The whole day package costs abt $1.6k but I think his rates has since increased to $2k. There is a discount for SB members. If u want his contacts , feel free to ask. Can tell Adrian tt Nicole reccomended u, think....think only ah can get disocunt. :P

Take care and God bless!

Hi nicole,

Thanks for the information. Hope you don't mind if I ask a few more questions....

1) I presume that you got the package which includes the videography for the whole day as well as the express highlights. Did you package include photo montage as well?

2) I attended a dinner at the fullerton ballroom which also had the live broadcast. However, noted that the camera was at the top of the stairs. Just thinking at if camera at the top of the stairs, then can only see your back when you walk down, right? Where was the camera located at your wedding?

Thanks so much for answering our queries.

Your wedding sounds so much like a fairytale dream :-) I'm sure many peoeple are really envious (like me :-))

Hi Tulips,

Feel free to ask, I came in this thread to be KPO and offer help hehehe :p

1) Yup my package is called the complete package and yup it included the photo montage too.Adrian even helped us video a MTV/song where hubby and i sang for my parents n in laws as a thank you gift for them to show during dinner.

2)My camera was located at the stage. It showed us coming down from the steps to the stage.

To me, I felt like a princess in a fairytale come true on my wedding day and the best part is now in my married days, i still get to enjoy the happily ever after!

PS The Fullerton staff all helped to make me feel like a princess as such that on my wedding day and thruout my stay, they called me princess and my hubby prince whenever they greeted us . hehehehe :D

And when we went back to Fullerton for a friend's wedding dinner this year, some remembered us and still addressed us princess and prince. :P

Hi Nicole,

thanks for your suggestions. Actually, we have been considering all you mentioned. Now will just wait to discuss with co-ordinator lor..

Aiyah, share you pics leh...your wedding sounds so beautiful! I would really love to see you in your 11kg+ gown and 3m train... must really look like a princess! Can email me just one or two pics? my email is [email protected]

Cin
I went down today to Jasvy and I saw your card! Lovely! Too bad I ended up with the other one. No choice because the squarish one was too white.

hi Cin,

have you reached a decision yet?

my in-laws are also very concerned about the recent SARS situation and have asked us to consider postponing our dinner...looks like we dun have a choice.. most likely push the dinner to sept/oct... sigh

Hi Kare2711,

You saw my card? eh tell me seriously nice or not? i haven't seen it yet, will only be free to go down on Saturday morning to collect. you can be blunt with me
cause if not nice, maybe i will go down earlier on thurs night or fri morn to take a look, and if really not nice, at least we can tell them earlier whether to reprint or not.

Hi Cookiemz,
Not sure yet...will have to discuss with Elizabeth first. Been very busy with work today (wed) so didn't have time to call her...prob give her a call later (thurs).

Hi Nicole,

Thanks for all the info. Will probably arrange to meet up with Adrian sometime to have a look at what kind of videos he does.

how's your weekend?

Pincesslin,i was trying to send u an email but it was bounced back. what's your email add?

Hi Poox,

I sent u an email to yr email acct.

sorry for the bounced mail. My magix email is not longer in use.

Hi Kare2711,
Collected my wedding invites liao... ok lah, more or less what Ivy described to me, no complaints

Hi Cookiemz,
I spoke with Elizabeth already, and we discussed several alternatives. She said she would discuss with her manager and get back to me on the feasability of the various options we discussed. Most prob the wedding will go on, but with less tables lor...

Hi Poox,
Weekend was ok, same old same old...just watched Speed on ch 5...just realised Keanu reeves looked so much better and hunkier back then...as opposed to looking pasty and anorexic in the Matrix...what did he do to himself?? such a waste...miss him when he looked macho and hunky heh heh

took a look at my album layout yesterday. Ok, so far no complaints...will be able to collect album in about 3 weeks..hope it turns out as planned *keeping my fingers crossed*

Hi Nicole,
Been meaning to ask you...the fireworks and confetti display...was it arranged and executed by Fullerton or did you get people from outside to co-ordinate the event? Also, how much did it cost?

Hi Cin,

How did u know abt the confetti display?

The fireworks and confetti display were not arranged by Fullerton. In fact, we were the first wedding couple to have fireworks in their ballroom and it was the second event to have fireworks (the first was done by a MNC). Fullerton is not a very ideal venue to do fireworks

The reason is because Fullerton has a very low ceiling and so the smoke of the fireworks will greatly affect guests , esp those seated near the stage.

So as part of their fire safety regulations (as in all events which has fireworks) we needed to seek approval from FSB for a permit to have our fireworks. On top of that in Fullerton's case, we had to pay to build/construct and install suction fans with pipes to suck in all that smoke. That pipes and suction fans thingy itself costs as much as the fireworks.............in fact more

My contractor for the fireworks, told me that other hotels did not require that we (clients) pay for the suction fan thingy because the hotels have the facility. But Fullerton was very insistent that we (clients) had to pay and construct it if not , even if we got the permit from FSB, we couldn't go ahead with the fireworks.

So no choice, had to pay for the ducting of the pipes (which means having the pipes (which attached to the suction fans ) go thru the pipes tunnel (from ballroom in B1 all the way from kitchen to up above at level 1) to release the smoke from ballroom to outside.

so cost is very hefty lor

and the whole thingy was quite a hassle, coz prior to our wedding, there was another event in the afternoon, so there is the issue of time constraint for my contractor to get the pipes ducted in time (not easy job).

Thankfully, all went well in time for the set up.Our contractor cheoreographed a sequence of display of fireworks for us. However, the fireworks for the intro already sparked off sooooo much smoke that literally hid us from the guests :P, that my contractor did not go on with the sequence and grand finale of the display. He was worried abt the impact of the smoke in the ballroom. The Fullerton staff had to open all the doors to let the smoke out.

Of course, we would have loved it that we had the entire fireworks sequence and the finale. however, we are contended with what we had and that our guests enjoyed it. :P