The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

Only realised abt the food voucher at abt 1am after the wedding dinner. Ordered it..abt 80 dollars. By the time food came at 230am, was already too tired, went to sleep. So left the food at the bedside. Didn't eat

They should have at least saved our banquet food ma. dunno why this wasn't done. Thought it was standard practice also, apparently not! So maybe u guys better let yr wedg coordinator know to save the food for u.

Also, I had a few AV presentations which had some foul ups. Apparently, they dun keep the projector on. So when we tried to play the powerpoint slides and videos, there was music but no video on screen. We found out its because they turned off the projector! So must tell them to turn on projector at all times! In the end, one of my powerpoint presentations didn't get presented! Such a shame

retsel, thanks for sharing, at least we will know what to do when it's our turn

btw, usually food tasting is how many months before the AD? if i wanna go to the hotel during my PS to take photos in the suite, the coordinator will allow right? how long in advance should i let her know?

Food tasting can be done up to 1 month -3 weeks before wedding. Quite flexible.
Photoshoot wise in suite, not sure man. Gotta ask your coordinator. I know inside the hotel lobby can be done

huh? is it?
<retsel> thanks for letting us know what we should take note of...a
<notsuperfamous> for the PS...i call 2 wks before hand but apparently still too late...as my coordinator says 2 couples has book the same day for PS...1 in the morning, 1 in the aftn...so qiao...

Dear Min
So can't change to another day?
Yeah problem is your timing may clash with others.
How about night time? then u can take the fullerton outside and esplanade at night also, quite nice with all the bright lights.

I've got another suggestion.
After the weddg banquet and before u retire to your room, why not get some of the wine bottles that are half opened? Quite a waste to throw them. I had a few half opened wine bottles, regretted not bringing back to drink myself, haha

As for iLuvPurin's suggestion for more perks...

well Fullerton is quite strict with corkage. They are unfortunately not like other hotels which provide full waiver of wine corkage. And their wine is so expensive, costs $42 per bt with GST! Even when I ordered 45 tables, didn't come with any more perks, let alone 35 tables.

So in the end, I decided on their house red wine, (it was Esser Cab Sav), which is actually quite good. Cos, if I were to buy wine from elsewhere, i've to get them for less than $20, or else, if I add Fullerton's $20 corkage,it'll come up to $40 or more and it won't be worth it at all! And its difficult to find good wines for less than $20!

I bought my white wines from elsewhere (Crystal wines had a one off 50% off sale at one time) so managed to get a few decent white wines for less than $20. Fullerton's Esser Chardonnay wasn't that nice.

i went to carrefour last wkend...they have a wine fair and is selling at cheaper rate....less than $20/bottle for cornerstone chianti, which was recommended...but to me, wine are all the same....haha....btw, 31st May is the last day of the sale...

hi retsel, thanks for your reply although it came abit late. by now, i already know fullerton is very stingy with perks. i just wanna see how much can they budge lol. anyway, i still signed on the dotted line and become an official fullerton btb! i'm so pleased wiith their service and quality that i know i will be in good hands on my wedding day. whether to take their house wine or buy outside, i will decide closer to the wedding.

peaberry, ya thats wat they told me also...but it seems that last yr, their wedding show was in Jul..

the only drawback for Fullerton Straits Room is the capacity of max 12 tables..tho they can arrange to accomodate 11 pax per table...

my coordinator was away..will wait when she back to discuss further with her

last yr was during oct i think....food was great leh...$40++ for 2 pax....eat until jin happy...but of coz...the show was nice too...wat i understand from my coordinator is that the ballroom is occupied till Oct....hence they have to hold the wedding show late 2009...

Hi Purin,
Yup, my service provided by the banquet manager william for my wedding day was very good. He took the initiative to iron out lots of the problems on the ground.

for couples who have already booked Fullerton before their wedding show, they wun qualify for the perks given during wedding show le right?

anyone can share wats the extra perks given in the last wedding show? for main ballroom or straits room?

Hi Kristine,
U will not get extra perks.
Think its 2 bts of wine for every table. Can't remember wat the rest were.
Prices were the same

Hi Kristine,
I meant : U WILL get extra perks if u book at the wedding show.
Think its 2 bts of wine for every table. Can't remember wat the rest were.
Prices were the same

am very keen in Fullerton, wondering if i should sign up now or during the wedding show..worried by then, the date i want has been taken...and also the issue of 12 tables capacity in Straits Room..

Kristine, really depends.. i booked mine in July 08 for Oct 09 wedding coz we didnt know when the wedding show was gonna be. wedding show turned out to be in Oct 08 and by then, almost all the weekends in Oct 09 were booked already. if yours is a 'hot' month (noticed that are quite alot of weddings from may all the way till december, esp after the 7th month), or auspicious date, might have to book earlier. forego the perks lor.

oh and to add, we didnt realise our month was that popular or auspicious until after we had booked, so i guess it was a good thing we booked early

wedding show is good but if the hotel doesnt hold it often or you have no idea when it is gonna be, no point waiting or you might miss out on your date.

thks for your advise. Will discuss wif my HTB on this..now we are worried about the capacity...does anyone know which other hotels have a similar function space as Straits Room but with bigger capacity?

GCW is another of my shortlisted hotels but we feel the ballroom still lose out to Straits Room..i be holding a wedding luncheon and Straits Room ambience seems to be more suitable..

Kristine, what about the Four Seasons? I believe they have smaller ballrooms for a more intimate party too. I did explore holding my banquet at GCW too but it still really doesn't compare to the Fullerton.
Agree with you that the Straits Room is lovely and one of a kind indeed!

peaberry, my HTB dun realli fancy 4 Seasons tho i like it before i visit Fullerton..anyway crescent ballroom already booked for my date else i will have sign up wif 4 Seasons...i am already booking 1yr 4 mths in advance yet cannot get the date i want..

Kristine, have you checked out the East/West Windows rooms on the top floor of Four Seasons? they're really gorgeous and perfect for a lunch! Almost booked them myself.. and the service (from the coordinator to the service on the wedding day) is fantastic.

Kristine, oh sorry I think both rooms together can only take about 12-14 tables..think you need more? Anyway, the entire area is private and very cosy. The lift opens up to a private lobby with reception area.

hi leidy..12-14 tables will do just fine..Straits Room can take max 12 tables also..

hmm..maybe i should check out the east/west windows..but these 2 venues will be better for a dinner cos of the night views, isn't it?

Hi Kristine, i think the rooms look nicer in the day actually. Because they have floor to ceiling windows which will let in a lot of light in the day. Can't see through the windows at night.

But do go down to take a look! suggest you look for Ginny. She's really friendly and patient

Just checking if anyone has managed to book with Fullerton without hitting the min no. of tables on a weekend.

I have wanted very much to book with Fullerton but their weekend dinner package requires min number of 35 tables. But we can only confirm 25 tables for now.

Just wondering if anyone has managed to book Fullerton without achieving the no. of tables on a weekend?

Fullerton is indeed strict on perks..try to nego for upg to their bridal suite but got rejected. Need to pay if we want upg to suite. thats really bad as a lot of other hotels in the same class are offering suite stays even for wedding luncheon..

tho i heard raves for their 2-floor bridal suite, is it going to be a problem when coming to gown-changing?bedroom is upstairs so i presume gown-changing will be in the bedroom rather than the area downstairs right?then wearing the gown coming down the stairs, is it a hassle?

Can any ex-brides from Fullerton who has stayed in the bridal suite advise on that?

Hi sis Kristine,

What i gathered the last round, there is another exit or door at level 2 of the bridal suite which you can utilise if you are going up for change after the 1st change.

hope this helps. ;p

kris > yup fullerton is strict on perks. the suite costs abt 1200++ per nite, they won't upgrade easily. it's hard to compare fullerton to other hotels. i know other hotels can give this give that, very accommodating. as for fullerton, it's either take it or leave it. that's the feeling i got on my first visit when i tried my luck to nego for perks. the coordinator told me they want to maintain standard and they know they won't lose business due to the lack of perks. you need like to the place and their service and it also means that you will have to be prepare to pay more as there will be hidden costs such as beverages and corkage charges etc.

as for the bridal suite, there is another door to the upper level. so if you need to change your gown, just go to the third floor. the main entrance of the suite is on the second floor.

are you taking the ballroom or straits room? my wedding is also in oct 2010. btw, you are siew feng's friend right?

ms petite > if there is a min table requirement, you can still take the ballroom but you need to spend a min of 35 tables.

Yup, what happened in my case was my wife the bride changed upstairs, then had to go down to the lower floor for touching up of the makeup where there is more space. Toilet is also upstairs, I remembered running up and down the stairs the whole day.

I remembered seeing a luncheon at the Grand ballroom having only 20 tables. Wonder if there is a lower table requirement for lunches?

In any case, if you miss the 35 tables by 1 or 2, I believe the hotel can still help waive off, I believe. But if only targeting 25 tables, then its a waste to take the grand ballroom lor (unless got lots of cash to spend). Btw, Ritz Carlton is a mind boggling 60 tables minimum!

There is a lower table requirement for lunches. But we wont be taking lunch as we have friends who worked in the day on weekends.

Have checked with Fullerton. Like what you guys have said, need to spend a min spending of 35 tables, which is equivalent to almost 1600 per table! Its definitely not worth it.

So currently we are considering Four seasons which their main ballroom only requires 25 tables min, or Regent Hotel.

Would love to be a Fullerton bride, but no chance

Anyway, we have decided not to go ahead with Fullerton anymore. Like what Retsel said, if add in the GST and taxes, its so ex!

But I guess hotels like Fullerton and Four seasons, its so difficult to negotiate for perks. Whereas for 4 star hotels, they are more accomodating and flexible, some even are willing to throw in free flow of beer and wine! But I guess we are paying more for the service for these prestigous hotels.

Hi Petite
yeah, I'd guess in Fullerton, u will be paying a premium for the service. I have to say their service was very good. So if u do pay the premium, at least it is worth it.

I just had my lunch banquet at Fullerton last Sat.
It's a wonderful experience!!!!They have good food and service.The ambience is really great and the gd thing abt lunch is the guests will not rush to go off....they stayed all the way till the very last dish.
I don't have the suite but I don't see the need for it...their esplanade room is just as beautiful and cozy.anyway........just sharing my experience. Anyway ya..the min req. for lunch is 25tables.I love Fullerton!