Telok Blangah Tower Flats

I applied first time ever in my life and i was not expecting either..Actually i was applying for punggol but last minute i wrongly select TBT..so now end up ..result is good ..Anyway I am happy..I wish Starrry good luck too

*Faintz* I got 4120. I got 4 chances bcoz of priority and first timers and how come my number so far far away huh? Anyone knows how the balloting procedure goes? 4 chances does not mean I'll get a smaller queue number rite?

Went to buy 4d but kena "eaten"...haha

Hi Karen,

I went to the e-servicese, still require sales ref no.
Last night, bf went home, there was no letter. Wonder if we will get the letter today.

Thanks Farhan for your well wishes, you are really meant to stay in Telok blangah...

Hi Starry,

cannot be . cos i also forgotten my sales ref no too. i used the same way to track down the result

reali doubt the HDB ballot results... stated 4 chances & is under MCP scheme and yet the # is far far away.... sigh.. wat 90% piority given to first timers... & yet nothing....so many ppl ard the area wanna gt married meh???!!! Faintz...

many pple are waiting to get a flat to get married. 4 chances under MCPS does not help much, tat's why they tried to come up with the "brilliant" idea of more chances if you have repeatedly failed to get a unit in the past BTO/ BE

My number is 32..but then he's 29 & I'm 27..so when the flats are ready, I'm like 33 & he's 35..another problem. Haiz have to look for rental hse now.

I don't think those priority are dependent...all these consider luck. We received a letter stating 2 chances as this is the 6th time we have applied since last year till now.

Just keep on applying & don't be picky about the location. GOOD LUCK!!

Hi Jess, congrats,

Seriously, due to lack of ready made houses, its better to take the unit when you can, as you have pointed out it takes time to build and by the time it is rdy, you and your husband would be in your mid thirties. Furthermore you have a very lucky no. To others it would seem as though one as struck lottery!

Sad but true, the property mkt is high right now, those who can wait it out, should wait, but only if you are prepared to move to a new house in 4-5 yrs or more (Average 3 yrs to build, 2 years for sale of land to successful tender/or additional time to wait for economy and prices to go down).

Else other options would be new private housing or resale flats.

hello jess.

congrats! u r really lucky. my hubby and myself have been taking part in 8 to 10 ballotings. we've been getting queue nos. of 3 to 4 digits, till we got a 2-digit no. recently.

key takeaway after yrs of balloting: shd get the unit if ur queue no. is gd. imagine if the flat would be available soon but ur queue no. is bad? u might not fancy anything because probably only the low level units are left.

i've a fren who got a BTO flat and has to wait for 4-5 yrs before it is ready. in the meanwhile, he actually rented a flat from hdb to stay while waiting..

Hi Istarcon & unitgal, thanks. =) I think we are really lucky basing from what my friends & u guy have said.

I don't know how much we have to fork out for a rental hdb unit. This is what I'm thinking of...

As we have another q no. 1000+ from the bi-monthly in sengkang that area... my hubby-to-be would want an unit there if there's one executive unit for chinese quota. I'm not v keen at the area but at least keys are ready already.

Anyway, we will be looking & consider again. Thanks all again. =)

"Yeos Building is a place where they keep urns!" Is that true?
whether this will affect your decision? I have a 100+ queue number, but I am quite hesitate to decide whether I should take. I went there this Saturday, the house(yeo's buidling) looks quite scary to me.

there is a big room just beside the 3 story building(yeos building),I did not see urns, but I saw the a lot "tablet" in the house.I do not know whether they will put urn together with "tablet"?

hi all, i my number is 70+ anyone keen to be my neighbour? :P

anyway, if you need my advise on selecting the unit, feel free to pm me.

cheers,

Juz wonder when they will send the invitation out.
tempfile: ur nos is gd..what advise will you be giving? Choose high or low flr?

hi, i don think yeo's building holds any urns,but I could be wrong. it looks like it is currently used as a moral care home,and a restaurant as well. Not sure what the building next to it is for though.
Hi tempfile, what advise do u have =)

There is a restaurant inside, which is so call "new gillman seafood", it is not a normal restaurant you think, I did not see any customer last Saturday noon when I was there.It looks like a canteen rather than restaurant.

I might be ur neighbour as i have que no 14..Anyway I dont really think that urns will have to do with our decision...Place is nice and once it ready..that area will be highly populated bcs of MRT and IR...so we will have a nice place to stay anyway...

hi guys
my q number is 188. i am still quite hesitant as it will only be ready by 2013 still so long way... I am holding my customary this sep. Anyone facing the same problem?

I went to see the site last sunday, nothing has been done yet, still green grass

Pinky BTB, the project will only go ahead when HDB has more than 80% of the units selected. So by right, the site is still green grass.

The Yeos Building is actually a very peaceful place la. They keep tablets and I sometimes I see pple in white shirts and blacks pants, mourning and a priest performing rites. That could be "transferring" of the tablets or settling the urns. I'm not too sure whether they keep urns bcoz I have nv walked into tt place before. Though we stayed there for many yrs liao bt we have nv visited the Gillman Seafood. Heard from my FIL tt food wasnt tasty at all. The new MRT and KPE is in construction so traffic will be smooth in another few years. Currently, the precinct is undergoing upgrading process and my FIL says that the few blocks in our area will be goin thru en-block but a few days ago, he mentioned tt they will carry out upgrading project instead coz alot of aging population staying in the area.

Actually staying at Telok Blangah Towers is quite convenient bcoz the wet market and 24hr kopitiam is juz beside the BTO project.

Pinky BTB, my situation is about the same as you. we are planning to rom this year & customary next year...but looks like we can postpone our plans a bit to save more. Anyway, where r u going to live temporary after marriage? I'm planning to rent from HDB but it seems not an easy process.

hi jess
i will stay with my parents after my customary but dunno for how long cos have to wait for this BTO to be ready....

my intial plan was to rent from HDB too but my hub check and its say tat rent from HDB is for those whose total income is less the 1500.

Headache right? Jess, wats ur ballot q number?

Hi Pinky
Hmm I tot if we have secure an unit, we will have higher chance to rent one? That's what my mum told me...hmm looks like I've mistaken..hmm..got to plan again.. we definately have a headache if we have to fork out $1K++ for rent alone.

My q is 32..after 6th time applying..

Hi Jess

Haiz so tiring right? I am the 5 time ballot but still good la at least a good number. You confirm will take or your options are still open?
I heard that feb there is another ballot for mature estate (walk in ballot i mean not BTO)

Hi Pinky

We have decided to go for it. We don't want to risk a gd location to ballot (again!)..it's too tiring..considering our age..we definately have to plan for rental.

Can I know u & your hubby age? If u r like 22-23, still can afford to wait 5 years for this one!! Just my tots. =)

hi Jess

Both u n ur hubby side no extra room to stay in? I tot of renting but the cost is so high, my frens told me might as well stay at my mum place cos FOC and still hv home cook food and importantly no need to do housework hahaha...

hi pinky and jess.

hmm.. based on wat i understand, my fren booked a BTO flat from hdb few years back. after she got married, she wrote in to appeal to hdb to let them rent a flat. btw, her income alone is defintely more than $1.5K! she managed to get one near her BTO home.

i also tried to ask hdb about this previously, when i was still looking for flat. was told dat one can only appeal to rent a flat only after he has booked a flat with them. no booking = no case for consideration.

but then, it's a risk, becos they might not approve the rental application after the appeal. need to have backup plans on top of this.

gd luck ladies! =)

Thanks unitgal!! Hopefully we can get one soon!

We went to see the land today... my hubby-to-be simply love the location haha!!

no prob pinky and jess. my hubby and i love the place but are not fated to stay there. just hope to share wat i know to those who at least've the chance to make a choice. =)

rem to have backup plans, becos of the small no. of units meant for such renting by hdb. my fren rented hers 1.5yrs back when the property mkt was not so hot..

all the best! ;p

hv to say tat place is nice. i went to see also. amenities all nearby and the bus stop hv a lot of buses to city. not forgetting that by the time we got our flat the mrt should be ready

Hey unitgal, just keep on applying!! Becos u never know where u r fated to live in future! =)

Hi Pinky, may be become neighbours in future. =)

hi jess. i just obtained my unit at buangkok. altho it's not my dream home, my hubby and i would just make the best out of it. shouldn't delay any further, as AD is at yr end. tried 8-10 balloting since 2.5yrs back but just can't get a decent queue no. for the areas that we like. haha..

tho i'd not be selecting a unit at TBT, i still can't help but look at the forum threads here. *envy envy* sounds so lame.. ahaha..

gd luck ladies! =)

girls
There is another ballot for mature estate like bukit merah clementi n bedok jus launch 2 days ago
Are your heart itching itching wanting to ballot tat too cos telok blangah too far away??

pinky BTB, u mean to say, select flat for TBT, and then apply to ballot again in the balloting exercise?? not quite sure .. e deadline of the balloting exercise is later than ur appt date ?