Taiwan F&E

Im planning to take up this package tour from Hong Thai, please help me go thru & advise if this tour is good anot, thank you very much!

Think the file too big liao!

I shall type here!

Day 1 : singapore - taipei/fishnerman wharf/tamshui old street

Day 2 : CKS memorial hall/martyr's shrine/national palace museum/miniature museum/sankeng tof street/ximending

Day 3 : yehliu/yangming shan tienlai hot spring/chiufen/nanfanau/nantien temple/su hua national road/hualien/ami aboriginal

Day 4 : hualien/taroko gorge/kaohsiung/sin jian jiang nite market

Day 5 : kaohsiung/spring & autumn pavilion/hakka village/tainan tree house/sun moon lake/wenwu temple/feng jia night market

Day 6 : taichung/yinko ceramics street/aboriginal local product/discovery center of taipei/tienlu handicraft centre/101 shopping mall

Certain departure date have additional nite of free stay in taipei

I think is more or less there and also it looks orgainse..but one thing....where is Shilin Night Market? there is no wufenpu leh...are you able to alter the iternary??

So you are travelling to taipei, tainan,etc....this means you will be shifting from one hotel to antoher?

Sorry, i have missed the shihlin market, its at day 1!

There's no wufenpu leh! What's there to see at wufenpu har?
Maybe i can go on my own!

ya lor! shift here & there, no choice cos want to cover more places leh!

wufenpu is where the wholesale market for ladies clothing, accessories and shoes. If you wanna buy cloth, muz go there see see cos most of the clothes in any part of Taipei comes from there.

Hmmm..the disadv of tour package is shifting, cannot do things own time own target...not suitable for me though but i think is worth to go about and see see look look here and there .....

Hey one more..no ferris wheel.

Where is wufenpu? In taipei??
Is it a nite amrket like shihlin?
If in taipei den i can go on my own!

Is ferris wheel in taipei too?

yup all in taipei....remember...i onli go taipei cos typhoon so never travel anywhere....

Wufenpu is near hoshanpei metro station. that place have abt 1000+ shops (like Holland Village) but shop is smaller and compact. selling clothing/shoes/accesories. Dun visit on Monday cos Monday is for traders and stock checking (infor from my cabby).

Ferris Wheel is at Mirama....not sure how to go there cos my cabby drove me there.

YY,

Wow, u know alot sia! Thanks for all the info! Must tell me more hor, so that i wont miss out the important places!

Sounds like wufenpu is more happening than shihlin leh, able to buy cheap cheap clothings!

Halo,

There's some changes to the itinerary that i have posted earlier on.

Day 2 : CKS memorial hall/martyr's shrine/national palace museum/miniature museum/sankeng tof street/ximending

MINIATURE HAVE BEEN TAKEN OUT

Day 4 : hualien/taroko gorge/kaohsiung/sin jian jiang nite market

SIN JIAO JIANG MARKET HAVE BEEN REPLACED BY CIJIN ISLAND/LOVE RIVER CRUISE/ HOBBY MANNBO/ 85 BUILDING

My package comes with additional nite stay but we extend for another nite, so my trip will be 9days.

Any suggestion where we shd visit for the 2 free days??

wah, Angeline, i one week plus no log in, you already have ur itinerary all planned out, so fast!

Btw, ask u gals hor, how do u all know what places to visit one huh? Me have no idea at all except those more tourist places like Shilin nite market and Wufenpu. Other than that, no idea at all!

Mitzi,

No lah, i took up a package tour & extend lah.

I lazy to plan my itinerary so might as well take up a package tour lor

My itinerary does not include wufenpu but miht go on my own lor!

YY,

Heard there's a daypass for their MRT ticket, is it true? If yes, so buy daypass is more worth than buying single ticket, rite?

Mitzi,
I plan where i want to go onli when i am in Taipei. Try to plan so that when you travel using Metro is all the way up or travelling all the way down. example, dun try to visit Wufenpu and then want to go TamShui, is not productive this way as most of the time you will be traveliing.

For me, my plan is not to visit those tourist attraction in my F&E days like CKS memorial hall/national palace museum etc so all those i dun plan but cos i have a guided trip able to go some like Ferris Wheel, martyr's shrine.

So my trip is mainly trying to merge into Taiwanese livelihood and esperience their lives also to do shopping.....

Angelin,
I am not sure what is the ticket i bought but is like our ezlink card. NT500 (NT100 deposite and NT400 for travelling). i used about NT300+ for my 7D stay in Taipei and before i leave Taiwan, I return the card and got back deposit. It works just like the EZlink card in Singapore.

Some of the buses accept "EZlink" card so is convientent lor.

When you reached airport, goto the customer / visitor counter to get brochur and maps you may be suprise to see some discount vouchur which may be handy.

YY,

Oh, that's gd! More worthwhile & easy to use!

Okie, will go visitor counter to take maps & brochure to plan for my 2 free days!

me prb taking Rainbow hotel during my stay wor.. Cos bf saw the hotel before, and say from outside, looks not bad!

Maybe I shld go to agency and ask about their tour package first, but I prefer F&E leh, but don't know how to plan the itinerary haha..

Apple,

Most tour agent now have discount for first 10paxs!

We paid :
1st pax : $799
2nd pax : $899

Usual price : $1099

Price exclude taxes

YY,

I oso want the taxi driver's contact.
Please send to me at [email protected]

Planning to go next mth
Intend to book rainbow hotel, any websites to book hotel from..for recommendation?

pierce, are you in? I've emailed you some questions.

YY, are you silverstar who emailed me the photos? I've some questions too...

Anyway YY, do you know wht's the best plan to get to Sun Moon Lake? I'm going Alishan and then from alishan will transverse back to taichung then taipei (with stops along the way for sights). How can i fit sun moon lake into plan?

Angeline, mi not the one that email u leh.....i think i just post what i did when i am in Taipei. FYI i didnt study on how to go Alishan so cannot really help.

> Day 1 (Sunday)
> Reached Taipei CKS Airport abt 6pm. Transport provided by Agent to
>Rainbow Hotel. Then go Shilin Night Market via Metro from XMD to JianTan.
>After dinner back to hotel and koon.....
> -Buy their "easilink" card (actual name forgot liao) that cost NT500
>(NT100 deposit and NT400 travelling) from Marchine in Metro Station
>
> Day 2 (Monday)
> 9am: Guided Tour
> See change of Guards, Jiufen, Ferris Wheel, Snake Alley (Beitou for
>Hotspring was cancelled by us cos is too hot for me liao). After tour
>ends, I went aroung XMD to walk walk where hubby sleep in hotel cos he is
>sick.
>
> Day 3(Tuesday)
> 11am F&E
> Missed Rainbow Hotel's Breakfast
> Have Brunch at nearby eatery (shops opp Watson)
> After makan, went to
> -Taipei 101 area
> -wufenpu (Near houshanpei metro station)
> -Raohe Night Market ; near wfp behind train station(not able to go NM
>cos was pouring thus took train back to Taipei Main Station)
> -Gong Guan NM (Actually not night market, is a shopping district)
> *note: heard from cabby, WFP on Monday is not open to public so dun go
>on Monday
>
> Day 4(Wednesday)
> 11am F&E [Trip for me]
> Missed Rainbow Hotel's Breakfast again
> After makan, went to
> -Ho che zhan (behind taipei main station) look for handicraft material
> -Shopping at Taipei Underground Mall; playstation accessories are
>cheaper there
>
> Day 5(Thursday)
> 1pm F&E [trip for Hubby]
> Missed Rainbow Hotel's Breakfast again and again
> After makan, went to
> -102 Bike Shop at Xinyi road
> -Take Cab to Bade Road; there is a warehouse selling all computer stuff
>and the streets around there all selling computer stuff
> -Shopping around Sogo (to see the Lift Lady ) and eat at the food court
>
> Day 6(Friday)
> 9am F&E
> Rainbow Hotel's Breakfast (FINALLY)
> After makan, went to
> -Fisherman Wharf (Take Metro to Tamshui then take Bus 26)
> -Take ferry to Bali Island (nothing to see there but got many theme kopi
>hse)
> -Take ferry back to Tamshui Old street;also went into some personnel
>museum to see white crow,mummy and other strange stuff
> (Like the street alot; have massage by the blind there. 30min NT100 =
>S$5)
> -Went back hotel to put things then out again
> -went to tonghua street NM
>
> Day 7 (Saturday)
> 9am F&E (To reach CKS Airport by 4pm)
> Rainbow Hotel's Breakfast
> - Weekend Jade Market
> - Went back to Taipei Underground Mall to buy Playstation accessories
> - Depart from Hotel to a farm where local delights are avaliable for
>purchase (Cheaper than Airport and fresh; Trip provided by agent)
> -Bye Bye Taiwan.
>
> Above are almost all the things I have done in Taipei. Is a relax trip and you may have notice I did not go out early cos in Hotel have 100+ channel to watch and everynight I watched till 3am. Also the shops in Taipei do not open early. Earliest is 10am.

Angeline

Me alreadi back from the trip... i went last week, from 12-18/8. Remember to bring along umbrella and hat, the weather was veri hot last week.

Joy13,

Oic, so how is the trip?
Please share more with me on their food, hotel & itinerary!

Im travelling in mid oct, by then should be cooler, rite?

Angeline

Trip is good. Think most important is the tour guide...both the local n taiwan tour guide is good. Food & hotel provided by them is also acceptable. A lot of time spend on the coach cos travelling from one place to another usually takes at least more than an hour except for travelling within taipei. The worst is 2nd n 3rd days, ie to Hualien...if i remember correctly, it take abt 5 hours but of course the coach does stop for a while a long the way.
Everyday is like rushing from places to places and leave the hotel abt 7.30am. This cannot be avoided cos our itinerary is touring the whole taiwan. I still enjoyed veri much though hv to get up veri early everday.
On the sixth day, we reached hotel abt 4pm n then is free & easy time. Take this opportunity to go to the nite market again cos we were not given much time to roam around when brought there by the tour guide.

joy13,

Thanks for sharing.
Glad that u enjoy the trip!

What there to see at CIJIN ISLAND/LOVE RIVER CRUISE/ HOBBY MANNBO/ 85 BUILDING
How long is the cruise?
During day time or evening time?

Does your itinerary comes with extra free nite?

Angeline

My itinerary is the same as your before you post the changes on Day 2 & Day 4...so sorry that cant give you any advise on the CIJIN Island. The extra nite is only for certain departures day...r u flying by China Airline? Mine is by CX but without extra nite.
on your extra day, you might want to find out whether can travel to Alishan, can also go wufenpu.
Be prepared to bring extra bags if you intend to buy things...i bought lots of food stuff...hehe.
Do u take Royal Jelly? The tour guide will bring you to a shop that sells that n dun worry abt the quality.. it can be trusted. I regret din buy the facial scrub..

joy13,

Oic.

Yup, im takeing china airline & we do have one nite free & we extend for another nite.

How to travel to Alishan? What's there to see over there?? Very nice ah??

I will go wufenpu on our own & maybe go try the ferris wheels too!

Royal jelly scrub really very gd ah? i must try out!

What have u bought?? Care to share?
How much did u spend? A roght guide will do, so that i know how much to change

Angeline

Heard from the tour guide Alishan is nice. u might want to check with Hong Thai or try to surf the NET to find out more.
I spend abt $1500. Bought food stuffs (costs a bomb), clothes and 4 pairs of shoes and bags. The Royal Jelly that i bought is for consumption and cost $375. Tried the scrub on my hand and can see it is fairer.

Joy13,

Oh, is it?
Okie, i will try to find out more!

1.5K, u must have reallybought lots of things!

Royal jelly good for complexion sia, so now ur complexion in tiptop condition!

Angeline,

No lah, complexion not in tiptop condition...
Feel free to ask if you got other qns, i tried to provide u with the info for your trip.

Joy,

May i know what's there to see at Ami aboriginal?

How is the Yangming shan tienlai hot spring?
Do we need to bring our swimwear?

Is Taroko gorge & chiufen nice?

Angeline,

Dance Performance by the A-Mei Zu. After the performance, they will invite the audience to join in the dance n photo taken. Afterwhich, they will sell u the photo.
Really relax at the Yangming shan tienlai hot spring...was given 1 1/2 hr there. Anyway, not advisable to 'soak' too long in the hot spring...abt 20mins will do. Pls remember to bring swimwear and swim cap. if u dun hv swim cap, keep the shower cap provided in the hotel and use that. Do also bring along a small bag to put your swimwear etc when gg to the hot spring.
Taroko gorde is more of seeing the rushing river water cut through the marble and granite. we din stopped long over there.
Chiufen: can buy food stuffs there and walk along the stretch of shops. nice scenery. try the yam ball..

Joy,

Do we get to wear their costume too when taking photos?

Sounds like u really enjoyed urself - hot spring!
Wow, we can stay so long at the hot spring ah?
Do guy need the swim cap too?
Indoor or outdoor? Need to bring towel for shower anot har?
Noted, will bring extra bag to keep the swimwear & cap!

Heard from my fen that chiufen got nice scenery too, really look forward to go there!!

haha...u sound excited as well.

Too bad, we will not get to wear their costumes...just a simple performance..dun expect too much to avoid disappointment.

Yup, the tour guide gif us 1 1/2 hour. actually not veri long..when u reach there, u need to change and after that need to bath. They have indoor and outdoor. I went for the outdoor...for unisex.
Guy needs swim cap as well. Towel will be provided. Dun have to bring soap too cos not advisable to use soap after hot spring. just make sure u wash thoroughly with running water will do...hope the tour guide will brief you all these as well.

ya, ya, im excitd abt the trip!!

oic, so its just taking photos only!

Okie, will take note to bring 2 caps!
Can we opt to go for both indoor & outdoor?

Hi idono, replied to ur msg.
sorry was MIA for a while, too busy to pop in here.

Angeline, nothing much for the love river cruise, juz a boat ride along the river.
hobby mambo is juz a place to sit by and have drinks. something similar to our boat quay but quieter. Cijin island is where u take a ferry across to another nearby small little island, there's a park near the sea front with some structures.

Pierced... thanks! Can understand ur busyness, teacher rite?

Anyway, i've came up wif my itenary for 2-10sep trip. (one of those things why i dun enjoy the planning part of F&E is the time i've to spend online researching). Any comments, welcome

Day 1
Arrival at 6pm CKS -> Bus to Taipei -> stay in TS hotel (somewhere near XMD) -> if not tired maybe go Shilin, if tired, walk around XMD and enjoy a drink in one of the pubs there
http://www.tshotel.com.tw/chinese/01_introduction.htm

Day 2 (guided tour)
Wake up -> if early, go Ting Tai Feng to eat Xiao Long Bao, otherwise, find some breakfast in XMD -> Taipei -> Hualien -> Pick-up at station by minsu owner
(http://www.netete.com/stone/). I’ve already called her, she’ll plan our stay there (2days). Roughly cost NT$2000 to bring us around Hualien sights & taroko gouge. I think rafting is available, she asked me over the phone if I’m interested. I say we’re considering depending on time, so she say she’ll arrange when we arrive.

Day 3 (guided tour)
Hualien & area tour (by minsu owner)

Day 4
Hualien (early early) -> Ruifan -> Jiufen -> check-in minsu long men ke zhan (http://www.minsuking.com/welcome53/h4.htm) interesting name hor…
Check-in is to get rid of my bags -> then proceed to jinguashi -> intend to visit this http://www.pse100i.idv.tw/n/fnknpuwpn/fnknpuwpn001.htm -> if hv time, maybe drop-by Keelung later to eat the nice food there -> back to jiufen -> enjoy the night scenary.

Day 5 (horrible plan for this day)
Jiufen (early early) -> Taipei -> ZhangHwa -> Lukang -> tour around Lukang (with my bags!!!) -> Taichung -> checkin (http://www.zaw-jung.com) -> Feng Jia night mkt

Day 6 (finally wake-up late)
Taichung -> Chiayi, buy train tickets to Alishan -> Alishan -> tour around the area -> sleep early

Day 7 (Alishan sunrise)
Wake up 4am to catch sunrise!!! -> depart Alishan
(still planning)

Day 8 (Plan to stay here -> http://www.grand-hotel.org/newsite/html/c/cindex.htm)
(still planning)
Day 9 (back to Singapore)
(still planning)

Wow, there is alot of info for Taiwan.

I intend to go for Hong Kong Taiwan Trip

26Dec-29Dec HKG
29Dec-4Jan Taiwan (Kua4 Nian!2)

Any good suggestion travel agents? Gonna be cheaper using agents? YY used Wingo in People's Park

Should I book myself thru website better?