Taiwan F&E

dew88

Hi Idono,

I am also planning for Taiwan F&E, need yr advise :

How to go to Hualien from Taipei ? The minsu arrangement, just book thru internet and ask her to arrange the sight seeing ? abt NT$2000 for the whole trip or per person ?

Hualien -> Ruifan -> Jiufen by bus ? Very complicated or not ?

Sorry for the questions, 1st time planning F&E, very worried of getting lost.

idono

Dew,

The minsu arrangement, I called up directly. The lady is Ms Liu, quite friendly.

I think NT$2000 is per trip, so if 4 person is more worth it. But i didnt check in detail.

Hualien -> Ruifan is by train, not complicated, just make sure u got the right train. U can download the schedule www.railway.com.tw

Ruifan -> Jiufen is by bus, the bus stop is in front of the train station. When u come out from train station, there'll be lots of cabbies offering to bring u jiufen for NT$300. Go past this mass of taxi and across the small road in front there's the bus stop. Can always ask the locals there.

jhoo

hi all, will it be too early to book taipei hotel online now if im going for the honeymoon in late jan? worried that payment done, but no record etc when i go over

jhoo

Wong YY, abt 2 months ago when i check the rate online, its $80 per day and now shoot up to $96 or even $106..now worried nearer date will the rate go up further

mitzi

I also haven't booked anything yet. Am going during late dec :D

I'm waiting for NATAS hehee..

Idono, ur link not working leh. Actually hor, me now still deciding F&E or just sign up with a tour agency. At least no need worry about transport hehe.. Bf rather worried about travelling from Taipei to those other suburb areas sigh.. In case we get lost and waste more $ and time

wyy

mitzi
i think if your bf have worry then might as well take up tour. and perhaps you can add some F&E time at the end of your stay in Taipei? Like that you can travel to the suburb area and also have some F&E.

Is better to enjoy your trip there then quarrel right?

mitzi

hihi YY, no lah, won't quarrel one haha.. cos me always shui bian. Be it F&E or tour, same same.

I also have a bit worry if we travel on our own, so might take up tour then F&E on our own loh.

I so wish to try the food in Taiwan haha..

wyy

food is good and unique...

they can cook with things you neber thot of and i think taiwanese really like noodles..cos my hb always having difficulty to find rice to eat....hahaha

for me, i like everything esp they come is small portion. if anything in BIG portion will turn me very off....and TW food i can easily find small portion ones...and the small portion food is nice!

shelyn

i m planning to go taiwan this december.... Am wondering whether shd take up tour or F&E... i intend to go on tour but my hubby says we shd go on F&E...

Is it easy to go on F&E to taiwan?? how about those scenary places like alisan, those mountains and rivers...are they very accessible as well???

mitzi

hey shelyn, me going this dec too!

take note that it'd be winter during that time, nothing much to shop!

idono

oh sorrie,

www.railway.gov.tw

F&E in taiwan not difficult. its a developed country anyway though the public transport to countrysides are not so developed.

The saving grace is that taiwanese in general are very helpful, so no problem, just make sure u plan ur trip beforehand

idono

Alishan there's a transport up and down. Mountains & rivers depends on where u're talking about. Like Alishan, yes, easily accessible. Yushan, then no, private transport is a must. Nearer taipei is yang ming shan, yes, very easily accessible and crowded in the weekends. Rivers & stones most famous is Taroko gourge, very accessible. Seaside is either Kenting or Penghu islands. Very accessible as well. Generally, if ur trip is less than 3 weeks, u'll run out of time before u run out of easily accessible places to visit

idono

Stay for one nite, the most popular reason to visit alishan is watch sunrise. At the point of the yr, this happens about 5+am, so definitely hv to stay the nite.

From taipei, take train to Chiayi. It'll take a few hours, cant remember how long, check www.railway.gov.tw
Then from chiayi, there's either the forest rail or by bus. forest rail takes about 3:30 h
http://railway.forest.gov.tw/index-eng.asp
alternative is bus from chiayi, it takes 2:30-3h to reach

jhoo

Anyone can help to answer to my following qns?

1. How many mins walk is TS hotel to Ximen Station?

2. Any comments on TS hotel?

3. Is traveling by taxi from airport to TS hotel expensive? Any other way to get there?

4. Other than Shiling night market, Taipei 101, underground metro mall, Lover’s bridge, Danshuai Old Market, Sun Yat San Memorial Hall, Ximending, Sogo Taipei Store, are there anymore places I have missed out?

5. Lover’s bridge = Fisherman's wharf? Need to take ferry there?

6. What is Keelung?

7. Are these places at/near Taipei? How do I get there? What do they sell there?
- Wufen Pu
- Jiufen
- Tonghua Market
- Raohe night market
- Gongguan night market
- Feng Jia Night Market
- CKS Memorial Hall

Many Thanks!

wyy

jhoo..
i will try to ans
1) 5min
2)no comment just saw the os of building; din go inside
3)Taxi about NT1200. Other way is by bus (mi not too sure of the bus)
4)I think some others are listed in item 7
5)From Tamshui Metro you can take Bus 26 to Fisherman Wharf (ferry if onli wanted to go Bali Island; to me nothing is interesting there)
6)Keelung is another area. (cant help here)
7)Mostly all places can be reached by Metro(aka MRT) then foot.
a) Wufenpu - wholesale market for clothing
b)Jiufen - old street, seneic (is on top of mountain, can reached by bus/taxi onli)
c) Tonghua/Raohe Market - Night market
d)Gongguan - Is shopping district for uni student (lots of uni there)
e) Feng Jia & CKS Memorial - cannot help

In addition, if you are into electronic stuff can go Bade road where they sellPC stuff. Or if u into handicraft can go the street behind Taipei Main Station.

if not sure of direction can ask around.

Also another night market if you are interested will be snake alley....many strange creatures there and you can try their snake soup.

wyy

actually i bought a map from Taipei Main Station which have all the Metro/Train line and location of attraction ....in English and Chinese.....so i think when you reached the airport try to grab as much infor from the counter esp Maps.

When you are in Ximen Metro, there is another Information Counter for Tourist. For my 7Day stay, i seldom see a staff there but some brochure are still avaliable (english ones are always empty and no one replenish).....

However, ppl there are able to tell u where u want to go. my case, they thot i local so when i asked they looked at me strangly but still they will point me the way.

SO dun worry....you will be fine there.

jhoo

hahaha, yah, we are all chinese and we speak mandarine.

Can, thanks so much for ur information!

dew88

Hi Idono,

Thanks for your advise... but it look like I am unable to go to Taiwan this year.

Anyway, thanks. Do keep us updated about yr trip.

jlwc1974

After reading so many nice postings about Taiwan here , my wife and I have decided to go there for a getaway in late October this year , when the weather is cooling about 20degC and not so much rain … going there for the sightseeing , cool weather and food … so we end up booking the Hongthai package $948 + $118 tax = $1066 nett per pax , travel by SQ direct flight morning 8:00am depart Spore and reach Taipei 12:45pm … stay 3N in 5star (Parkview , Regent, Hyatt , Yaward etc) and 3N 4star and 1N 3star (at Ximenting , where hotel rates is highest) … this package gives quite good meals , eg lobster/abalone dinner , mala steamboat buffet , hotel international buffet dinner , etc etc,… wonder if anyone here booked the group that departs on 22 Oct 8am … when we booked , still need 4pax to confirm the tour

jlwc1974

idono , offer sgd$190 for your nt$4000 can? ... slt , the package is call 'Taiwan touch your Heart' , its 7D6N , 3N in 5star hotel , 1N in 4star and 2N in 3star ... travel by SQ direct flight , need 4more pax to travel on 22Oct (Sun) 8am SQ flight ... good timing because reach at 1pm taiwan got lots of time to travel around taipei city ... and its a sunday , so taipei city will be quite happening .. and on the last night (fri night) , will be at taipei city - grand hyatt hotel , can go chong their nightspot :D , then next morning is 2pm flight back at spore at 6:45pm

cute_koala_123

Hi hi, I plan to go Taiwan early Oct. Could anyone advise whether I should go via tour pkg or just buy the tickets & book a hotel online? Which is cheaper?

Could anyone let me know where can I get a cheap tour pkg or air tickets? I am planning for 6d 5n trip.

jlwc1974

cute koala , confirm package better ... unless u like to venture on your own at extra expenses... try hongthai , the one i book $1000 7d6n with SQ direct flight + 3day 5star hotel , 2day 4star and 1day 3star (at ximenting) ...

pierced22

hi pips, im back here. idono, so how? when u gg taiwan??
there's a prog showing soon abt taiwan rail trip starting 26 sept.

lv120481

Hi Cute_Kooala

I am going in early Oct. Book my tix n hotel liao. Going for 4days 3 nites F&E Taipei via Jetstar...staying in royal castle... This is my 2nd trip to Taipei.

pierced22

idono, oic.yup yup, when itz up, share with mi

mitzi, i only saw the preview so very brief. thk should be on ch 8. 2 local celebs travel TW by rail. should be ard 8pm or so.

flipfreak

yo pierced. i going in oct liao. heard its still pretty warm rite now. u know where are the clubs located? mint, tu, luxy, plush, room 18?

ah_bb

Idono,

I oso want to see your pics, do share with me hor!

Designfreak,

Im going to Taiwan in Oct too, mid Oct!
U leh?? F&E or package tour?