Taiwan F&E

staying in the heart of XMD is not too noisey lah.....cos ppl will be out of the street by 11pm is the right time esp you go for other places to visit....

here is some pic for view...(i did not take alot of pic)

395844.jpg

East Dragon Hotel. Wonstar is just a building after ED to the right.

395845.jpg

The Centre white light is a lamp post in XMD. on the right is Rainbow Hotel and the left is the Coke Resturant on the 2nd Floor.

395846.jpg

I even took a pic of the toilet of rainbow hotel...heehee

395847.jpg

I saw some crew doing some shooting....not sure if its a movie or tw idol show but i saw they doing the pros(wet the floor) and NG

395848.jpg

view of XMD Metro. On the left is the path leading to the center of XMD

395862.jpg

<font color="0000ff">I went to TP main station and i manage to find the Handicraft street.....is really great as the area is selling the same type of things....(hanicraft materials)......here's one pic of one of the shop</font>
395863.jpg

<font color="0000ff">Besides the handicraft area, taipei city mall (underground shopping mall) also a good place to walk walk .

Hubby and i also went to TP101 and Mirama Ferris Wheel....not too bad.....but our fav is Jiufen next is Tamshui old street....NICE!!

On my last day in TP, I managed to go to Jade Market....was too early and most of the stalls not open but i am able toget some things for my family. Is really a nice place to go see see look look....</font>

395864.jpg
<font color="0000ff">Jade Market</font>
395865.jpg
<font color="0000ff">Jiufen Scenery</font>
395866.jpg
This Sotoball soup is good!
395867.jpg
<font color="0000ff">Fisherman Wharf</font>
395868.jpg

395869.jpg

395870.jpg

395871.jpg
<font color="0000ff">Tamshui Old Street</font>

I think i shared too much liao....

Wow YY thanks for sharing really...
no one will complain if you share too much...
the more the merrier...
The toilet looks pretty good for a 3* hotel..

iduno: Im going 23rd Sept - 29 or 30th Sept
Hvnt book anything as well...

TS hotel website: www.tshotel.com.tw
Only chinese version available thou...

According to the website >> http://crazy_azn1.tripod.com/taiwan/id18.html, TS hotel is near rainbow there... but in the TS website, it doesnt seemed to be...

Anyone stayed TS before and can cfm where is it?
apple: do you know?

i think i saw this TS when i walk around on my last day in TW.....is near the Red Building for Opera show....near XMD Metro Exit 1. Is one street from XMD...

The street TS is facing is selling those uniform for Cheer Leaders...also have many shops selling trophy etc....my hubby bought a TW flag from there too...

There is also a Jap Resturant opp it...and i think is nice cos many ppl inside the resturant and the pricing is not too ex.

Is not that near Rainbow compared to ED but is still near XMD. One thing to note is that the area may be quiet at night cos is along a small street and the shops around may be operating only during office hours except the resturant.

i know most singaporean (female esp) is very particular with toilet...I am one of them so i think is impt to share pic of toilet....heehee

wow YY did u try ah gan yi yam ball when u at Jiu fen? heard that its nice also got pumpkins one.

How do u travel to jiu fen.. YY can share with me your itinery when u r back. Thanks

I am back on Saturday...

I have one day guided tour from my agent and they brought me up to Jiufen and many other places to see see look look...but i know there is a bus that goes up to jiufen.

I did not try those yam balls cos i dont like leh....but can see ppl doing the balls....

apple...
me did not buy many things lah....bought those local delights for family and hubby bought some Play Station Stuff....nothing much to buy.

Clothing wise...generally for young ppl so not so suitable for me....

Good to know that you are safe and sound. SMS you, but you din reply. Hence, quite worry for you. 3 typhoon hitting taiwan last week. Did you go to the paper museum?

hi hazel and itchy, have sent u mi itinerary.

designfreak, yup, weekends better, xmd oso more happening. but tourist spots wkday better. not so crowded

apple, i tried the yam ball there but nothing fantastic about it, maybe dun really like it. too many shops selling things there. i still like the muah chee best, like jap kind one.

YY the agent that u sign up with you all go where? Hi all u book the package from agency or DIY. It seems that DIY is so much expensive pls advise.

Wow i see tashun hotel already in the website like so romatic leh

blue ginger..

ya.three typhoon hit TW. the news is reporting it everyday so did not plan anything in advance for those days (or during the whole stay in TW). Was raining most of the time and warning was given not to go near sea.

No typhoon hit taipei but it did hit the other end though. Lots of rain in Taipei and i think Yangminshan did have some typhoon. One thing for sure, bcos of the typhoon, the weather was not so hot as expected. I onli experience the heat during the last 2 days of my stay (when typhoon hit China). Really Hot!

<font color="0000ff">
apple...

mi is 30 liao...

I signed a f&amp;e package with my agent and in the package they have a 1 day tour so i think is worth it. I have spend $800 per pax for the package and I get SQ flight as there was a promotion when i signed the package.

1 day tour incld: Change of guards, Jiufen, Hotspring and Shilin. BUT for me, felt that the weather was too hot for hotspring and bcos hubby was sick that day so we went to Snake Alley instead and i have my foot reflex there too..heehee

DIY was abit ex. so after calculation, i decided to sign with agent better. In addition, the agent will also incld the transport to and fro airport. if not, cab fare is not cheap about NT1200 from Airport to XMD.

eh..one thing to highlight. Mi and hubby very very laid back person so we like to do things slow. We leave hotel to shopping or sight seeing onli at 1pm almost eveyday. also we dun like to travel too much so most of our travelling is done by TW MRT or cab.</font>

Hi guys... have been back for a week and too busy to write... but have been following the posts...

YY, thanks for the photos! 30 is not old la... I'm older than you but I think the clothes are still ok ah... I actually like the clothes alot... Going back to Taiwan again for 2 months next month... can't wait to go shopping and eating again... Did you go to Zhongxiao East Road or Shi Lin night market? But I guess shopping is different for me cos i have lots of time to check out the shops... Btw, did you check out the coffin or the toilet restaurant? Any good?

Btw, if you're on a budget, you can take the bus from the airport to Taiwan, it's about NTD130 a person... and takes about an hour... Not too bad...

One thing very different about Taiwan is you can still go shopping and find lots of things to eat at 12 midnight... Can't find that in Singapore...

correct Kat...eating in taiwan is not a prob....everywhere oso got food and some store open till very late....

me went to those places you mentioned but did not take pic was too busy eating...heehee....

i did not go to those Resturant as in Coffin or toilet as my hubby was sick on the first and second day so was kinda turn off to go places. And on third day when he is well...he wanted to go shopping esp for his playstation stuff.

He managed to get himself a wireless remote and screen for his play station 2.

I think the most happiest day is when i found the handicraft shops behind Taipei Main Station. Feel so good that day cos i spent about NT1000+ for crystals and beads ....wonderful.

For WFP, i think there is about thousand over stall and kinda of confusing cos to me all clothing looks the same. Also the size look so small and mostly body hugging which i not so much into...heehee....me not lady one.....

Also the night when i visit WFP, the weather is terrible....was drizzling then when wanted to go Raohe Night Market, the storm started.....was the typhoon period...3 typhoon was about to "attack" TW then....but the news is good, always updating......

I like those old street like Tamshui and Juifen, i find it very atractive always have surprises almost every corner.

was a good experience in TW to experience their culture.....one thing funny they always mistake me and hubby as taiwanese....hmmmm....

Hi YY,

think next round u might want to visit Lu Gang (Deer Port). Its outside Tai Zhong.

Very very very old town. U see lots of interesting buildings. Much more than Jiufen.

maybe....cos i really like the old town there...but too bad not alot in Taipei

One funni thing, before i reach airport, my agent brought me go see Ah Pian and Ah Zhen..which is pigs...walau i cannot tahan these taiwanese..

my fren came back last sunday and she told me the fodd at food coutrt is not cheap and the food is so so only. Thing also expensive to buy there. She even advise me not to go there for HM haha.

apple.....i think HM can if u are to travel around TW like pierced.....food court food...the pricing is almost the same as Singapore. BTW no need to eat infood court mah....those road side shops can eat one some more taste good.

Abt the things to buy...pricing varies lah. Like those in Wufenpu, clothing price varies and if go shopping at Shopping Center like Sogo etc confirm ex lah.

I did not see things i like in WFP and also those that i like is all from Shoppng Center (which i find the pricing same as Sin) that is why i did not buy anything lor.

BUT i did buy lots of food back to distribute.

hi kat, back in Sin already. so good, gg back there again for two mths. i oso like the stuff and clothes there, quite cheap to buy fr WFP. bought a lot fr there and Shilin as well. their tshirts and bags are the best buys. heh

agree with Wong, never eat at the food courts. nothing interesting there and not so nice, street food much better. shopping centres quite ex the shopping, but last day, spent on a pair of unique leather shoes that cant find in Sin.
did u try the pineapple tart shop opp east dragon?? the tarts there are great! didnt expect to buy fr there coz tot rather touristy but got lots of free samples and very nice so bought lots of boxes back.

Hi YY,
Talked you in August weather not good. either got typhoon (alot of rain) or super hot (stand still oso can feel the heat). OCTober is the best, cooling. How is the feeling of experiencing typhoon? Not that scary after all right? In fact it won't dampen your travelling spirit.

Jiufen old street is getting more commerialize.
The yam dessert I oso think it is normal, but a lot of ppl enjoy it. Jiufen used to be a copper mine. So they have 5 famous place: The factory, the golden seaside, the teapot shape mountain (where there are many entrance into the now closed copper mine), the golden museum (refer to the copper mine) and the very windy road.

Tamshui: Beside the old street which is nice, the university and the red bldg are very old bldg. Saw you yuren matou. very romantic place ah?

Food court food sucks over there. Ex and mostly jap stuff food. Most taiwanese dun favor their foodcourt unless no other choice. Otherwise, taiwanese food is superb, my gang keeps going back to taiwan just becoz of the food.

BTW, anyone knows if there's transport still available if i land at the airport at 1040pm? tht's the estimate landing time if i take cathay pacific

I'm going Taipei with my Hubby this October for 5 days. May I know which hotel is affordable and good? We have booked the air tickets but we haven't book the hotel as yet.

Please also recommend me nice places to go too.

Btw, anybody have the map of Taipei? Can email me at [email protected]?

Thank you very much.

Mayb since DIY is expensive so mayb take F&amp;E package.

But heard and see from newspaper the tours guides suck and demand high tips and also bring u here and there then if u dun buy from the stores they bring u to then they will give u balck face. there was 1 article that say the tour guide just bring them back to hotel and in the end they never travel to the actual place they need to go. So worried leh.

Wow YY, you are so into handicraft stuff eh? What kind of things do you make? All I know how to do is crossstitch, so boring... Do you know how to knit? I've been wanting to learn but never get down to doing it.

Your Chinese must be good that's why they mistake you as Taiwanese... People have guessed me and my hubby to be from HK and Singapore. Can never sound like them... Btw, what's Ah Pian and Ah Zhen?

Idono, what's there at Lu Gang? Do you get to see deer? When are you going to Taiwan? Maybe I can check for you when i'm there, that is if you're not already there.

Pierced, think this will be my last trip to Taiwan... hubby's thinking of changing job... so must go and shop shop shop!
I've been looking around for good pineapple and egg yolk tarts, the one opposite East Dragon is good? Maybe I go check that out...

Lynette, think you can get some ideas of where to stay in the earlier posts, just 1 or 2 pages back...

Apple, it depends on which season you wanna experience in Taiwan. Winter's from Dec to Feb and Spring's Mar to May. And depending on what you like to do... if shopping, then better go HK during their sale time...

Oh btw everybody, Jetstar is having a promotion now. 2 for the price of 1. Started yesterday and ending 22nd Aug but travel by 15th Oct. Think lots of dates have been sold out but can go try if you are thinking of going to Taiwan. If you're lucky, you may be able to get a return trip for S$256 including tax.

kat,
i do handmade acesories. Like Crystal Braclet and rings but i do onli when there is a flea market or some one order. Knit...no leh...dun noe....

Ah Bian and Ah Zhen are PIGS....my agent brought me to a farm where the owner kept 2 pigs and have named it same name as their president...hahahah

apple,

for my agent, the amt to be paid to the tour guide is fixed one pax NT300 (approx S$15). So for me i find it ok.

Actually for my case, tour guide will be provided if there is 4 or more to travel. BUT for mine, onli me and hubby go for the guided tour, so the agent in TW provided me a cab driver who in turn become a driver cum tour guide.

There is not much shops that the guide brought us except to go to a shop selling Lingzi and Royal Jelly. Having a driver cum tour guide to follow is good cos he is not pushy and in fact when reached he told us is free so go and drink those sample provided. Therefore hubby and me just drink sample and left that shop happy without buying things. (not buying cos the person selling said their bees are thrid in the world and their Royal Jelly is good...I mean 3rd so which country is 1st??)

The tour is good cos lots of freedom and actually the driver drove us to places we wanted to go. The actual trip is gg see change of guards, Jiufen, Beitou Hotspring, Mirama Ferris Wheel,Shilin. Amoung those places, I cancelled Beitou and Shilin cos Hubby was not feeling well and instead we went to snake Alley....

Snake Alley cannot take pic cos alot of killing gg on there. I actually saw how a snake died gradually after its stomach was being cut open...YUCKS!!!

yy,

Sounds good to have a cab driver to be the guide!
Liek wat u have mention,they wont be like guide, keep pushing u to buy things!!!

so scary sia, cut open the snake stomach!!
Eeee, i dun dare to see, im terrrified of snakes!!

i have the contact of my cab driver...if want i can find the paper out and email to whoever wants it....

But not too sure how much he will charge but i know from him that my TW agent paid him NT2,000 (approx S$100) for a whole day travelling in Taipei....and i think is worth if charge the same amt.

Some more if gg Taoyuan, based on their cabby chart, the charges is NT2,800 (approx.S$140)to and fro. I did not go cos Hubby wants to re-visit some of the places

ppl, i will look for the paper and email u ppl once i find it

Angeline,
I book agent in Singapore...Wingo Travels at People Park. Actually the package is a 5D4N F&amp;E tour but i extended my stay to 7D6N and my stay in Rainbow Hotel per night is about S$55.

With the 5D4N, the guided tour is included(but have to pay the guide as tips when in TW...pay onli the day is over or when they ask). The transfer to /from Airport is incld.

The cost of the F&amp;E package can onli be cal. out onli when you visit and tell them the airline you want to travel on and the hotel you want to stay.

If gg People's Park, dun go A*a* travel (replace * with n) their rate is not as good as wingo and the staff got attitude...very turn off.....

YY,

$55 is for per nite or per person??
If for per nite, very cheap leh!!

Is it a one day city tour?

Im thinking of taking up a guided tour &amp; extend for another few days, is it advisable?

think is per night per pax... but i will go chk and confirm again.

you want extend the guided tour? you can ask the agent and they are able to advise u

but if you want the guided tour for Taipei alone ....i dun advise cos is so easy to walk about in taipei...if you dun noe places, take mrt to nearest station then take a cab and go. BTW almost all the shopping area are within walking dist.

If you want to travel out of Taipei, like what pierced did....then might as well take a package cos is more organise as in timing is all fixed and all are planned....

i think you can research on the agency's offer and then make a decision lor.

YY,

Im planning to take a guided tour package which include taipei, hualien, kaoshiung, taichung........ den extend another few days in Taipei to racky on our own!

Im not worry abt F&amp;E in Taipei cos shd be easy to travel around but like halien, kaoshiung.... might be abit troublesome cos need to book train ticket.....

hmmm..think you can go to racky the agency....cos they can make arrangement for you here in Singapore fisrt so when you are there you are more to the safeside as all the booking is done.

Sorry i cannot help u much but you can approach our local agency to find out the prices. You may go to mine "wingo" which also provide guided tour for TW. But i suggest you get more quote and compare the pricing then decide.

what i did was, i went to some agent in People's Park, state all my requirements to all the agent and they roughly quoted me a price. Note all the requirement told to agent must be of the same so you can do an apple to apple comparison. Write down everything they say thengo home compare.

Oops...my working habit is out liao....hahahaha

YY,

Thanks, will go racky around first!

Tomolo CTC, Chan bros &amp; SA are having promotion, can go check it out!

Surf net &amp; saw a few itinerary, very confusing on places to visit!

Can anyone advise what are the MUST VISIT places when we go taiwan?
Like taipei, hualien, kaoshiung, taichung, tainan................

Please help!

hahaha..you are like me when planning my trip...kanna confuse by all tge information.

I think Pierced can advise...she move about and i can see she did alot of study....BUT wonder if she is in today....

YY,

ya lor, super confusing ah!

Diff itinerary visit diff places, so blurr sia!
Wnated to book tour oso kena stressed bythe itinerary!

Pierced,

Pls help!

I think of all the places I've visited in Taiwan, if you ask me what's my fav, I'll named 2.

One is Alishan.
The other is Penghu island. Pierced visited Penghu. I believe she hv lots to tell as well.

Then if u ask me about rustic towns (old buildings etc) to visit, also 2.

One is Lugang (Deer port)
The other is Jiufen. In fact I visited Jiufen like 10 times coz if you've transport, nearby jiufen, the hilly area is simply nice to sit and relax.

If you ask me about shopping, 2 cities
1. Taipei
2. Taichung

Taichung is more entertainment district while taipei is more shopping district. Entertainment meaning places like KTV (like K-box, but i've to say 100x better) etc.

Just realise I need some help here. looking at going from 5th - 11th Sept.

Anyone hv TaiChung hotel to recommend? From CKS, planning to take bus direct to taichung so that next morning can immed travel to chiayi &amp; go alishan

hey, can anyone advise how do i go to my hotel from the airport as i'm travelling on free n easy? is there any bus to ximending or mtr? or should i take a cab? thanks!