Taiwan F&E

leibit,
no need break the shell lah..haha..just pop them into ur mouth like M&Ms! hehe

I think the cab fare are quite ok, something like spore standard lah..

taurus,
if u joing tour group, sure will not have enough time for shopping! there's another shopping heaven which is the underground mall at taipei main station..we stayed there for 5 hours there and my hubby was fuming mad! he said he just could not believe how 2 gals (another gf of mine) can stay in the 2 stretch of shopping lanes for 5 hours! hahah...

when i went to fisherman wharf, it was raining and most of the shops are not open, no cruises...so a bit xian..i should have went to danshui lao jie instead for more shopping! heheh..oh yeah, if u're going there, u need to take a bus to go there from danshui bus station. after u get out of danshui MRT, just ask the attendants there..

pebs,
sure. Check your mailbox in a while, ok?

Can share a pic of fisherman wharf? I dun quite get where it is. Is it in betw danshui MRT station and the dutch red fortress?

taxi fare is slightly more ex than SG for the same distance travelled

idono,
dun have a nice picture of fisherman wharf to share cos when we went there it was raining...the place so quite and it was dark. i think fisherman wharf is quite far away from danshui MRT. think we passed by the red fortress before reaching there..

idono,
mm, yeah, it felt far when i was in the bus :P opposite the fisherman wharf, there's land..so, i guess it's the danshui laojie.. if i'm right, it's the opposite lor but then i cannot be sure

i have a sunset picture of alishan! posting here in a short while..

By sheer luck we managed to catch the beautiful sunset of Alisan but the sunrise was disappointing ..The sunset taken outside our hotel (Alisan House).

Anyway, it's a good experience taking the Alisan train ride

289716.jpg

Hi, i need some advice pls.

Is it possible to cover these places (#1-5) in 2 days? And did I get their locations right (I think they're all up north?)

1) beitou spa 1-2 hr (tfr at beitou to xin beitou)
2) shimin nite market & food st (Jian Tan MRT station)
3) danshui (take ferry from fisherman wharf?)
4) fisherman wharf (yu ren ma tou) (how to get there?)
4) ye liu (is this in north & how to get there? What's to do/see?)
5) yang ming shan (is this in north & how to get there? What's to do/see?)

Anyone been to
6) Wulai (near to jian tian)
7) Hualien
8) Jiufen (take train to XXX station, then take a bus or taxi).

What's there to see at #6, #7 & #8 - worthwhile to go, how long a time you req (travel & sightseeing?) and how to get there?

Where/what is Keelong?

Last but not least, where are the good underground malls at Taipei located? Is it near the central station?

Very long email on a monday morning ;p

Hi pebs,

My my my posting gonna be longer than yours i think
Anyway, have i sent my photos to you? So sorry, i can't remember!

Yehliu and jiufen is far north.. Actually, there're many coastal scenic area..you should take a guided tour in taipei instead. It's 800-1000NT per person but u save time! For more info on guided tour, check out Taiwan Tour Bus

For yehliu, you see rock formation. In jiufen (the sad city) , it's a town on hill with a main street full of shops selling trinkets, souvenir and lots of local delicacies. Also, if you have time spend an hour or two at the tea house. Go to the 2nd last teahouse (the one oldest there). Love it! I like jiufen cost it gaves me a nostalgic feeling. The view at the end of the street is superb too! You can easily spend 1/2 day here!

Let me try to rearrange for you..

<u>Day 1</u>
a) Late morning 11am, go to beitou spa 1-2 hr (tfr at beitou to xin beitou)
b) Afternoon, go to Danshui Lao Jie for shopping and makan (Dan Shui MRT)
4) Fisherman wharf FW (yu ren ma tou) (There's a public bus outside Dan Shui MRT/Bus Interchange to take you there. Do ask the attendant there)
<font color="ff0000">**</font> Some say you can see beautiful sunset at Danshui, i'm not very sure if it's at the FW or the LaoJie.

<u>Day 2</u>
a) morning - yang ming shan - Yang Ming Shan
- if i don remember wrongly, there's a public transport from JianTan MRT. Ask the MRT attendant for direction. The bus will bring you to the Yang Ming Shan bus terminal. Once you get down, there's a shuttle van (forgot how to much to pay for unlimited rides) to bring you around the scenic areas. You can get down, walk around and take the next shuttle van to go to the next scenic area

b) After lunch around 2pm - National Palace musuem NPM / miramar shopping centre MSC
Come back to Jiantan MRT. I think there's a bus to go to NPM from JianTan MRT to see all sorts of China Top treasures or you can go MSC to window shopping and take the world 2nd largest Ferries Wheel. I think there's a free shuttle service to go there. We took a cab there from Jian Tan MRT and it's not very far. Can't remember how much though.

c) 7pm: shimin nite market &amp; food st (Jian Tan MRT station)

For Hualien, you need one full day cos the journey to and fro from taipei already takes abt 6 hours! You might want to drop this one if you want to see more of Taipei. Hualien is to see the famous Taroko Gorge - marble gorge!

For Wulai, people usually go there to see the waterfall and also aborigine dances, etc. There's a guided tour from the Taiwan Tour Bus website too.

Lastly, do check out this website which is extremely useful. A lot of information abt tourist places Naruwan

I went to collect brochures on taiwan tour yday. most of the packages does not include the Raohe nite market which you gals has been talking abt. May i know where is Raohe nite market? thinkg of goin on my own since is not included. What can I expect to buy at this nite market? is it cheap?

Have you gals heard about Feng Jia nite market &amp; Liu He nite market? most of them had tis in the itinerary. but tis 2 nite markets dun seems to be as popular as shilin.

jetasia has quite good timing and cost abt $600+ for a 6D5N. china airline timing not good. moreover, will cost abt $200 more. anyone took jetasia before? I have never travel on budget airline before so dunno how it it like? but i understand that there wont be any meal provided on board.

hi taurus,

if i could rewind my time, i would have taken a totally different approach to visit taiwan all together! I would take a 7/8 days guided tour from Hong Thai travel (during NATAS fair, they offered the best value package in terms of accomodation and places of interest) to go around taiwan and to cover as many places as possible and then extend 2 or 3 days in Taipei just for shopping!

So, you might want to do just that
Btw, RaoHe Night market is walking distance (ard 15mins) from HouShanPi MRT. It's near Wu Fen Pu as well. my gf and I find that shoes at Roahe the cheapest. For the same design u see in Shilin or Ximenting, the shoes are at least 100NT cheaper in RaoHe. They also have clothes, but more in Wu Fen Pu. <font color="ff0000">Oh yeah, night markets close early on Sunday!!</font>

We took Jetstar to Taipei too but only cost us SGD404 per pax inclusive of tax. Yours is perpax or for 2? But i guess different period they offer diff rate. Yes, i also noticed jetstar has the best timing between SIA, China Airlines and Cathay. The seats are a little cramp if you compared them to SIA seats but other than that it's ok lah.. Food on baord is not so expensive. You can get a drink (soft drinks/coffee) and a meal for SGD10. You can even bring your own food up if you don't want to order from them. Since the flight is about 4 hour plus, i recommend you bring a book along or cards to pass time..

Feng Jia nite mkt is in TaiChung. Its v. big, I would say its bigger than Shilin. Its a nite mkt for youngsters being located near the Feng Jia University. So youngsters may like it better. Its long and narrow type of nite mkt, unlike shilin where its a wide area. You should take a cab from TaiChung train station, cost almost NT$300. Quite far so taking bus will take u an hr.

Liu He mkt is in KaoShiung. The eating area is pitched up along the streets. A little bit like our Shanton Way there that one. Lots of stalls.

Shilin is still more popular as most short trip tourist visit taipei rather than taichung or kaoshiung. My fav is still Feng Jia coz caters more to my needs..heh heh.

Oh, another one. Keelong is the northern most port of taiwan. There's a temple there and besides it are lots of fantastic food. (hmm.... when i think of taiwan, i can only think of food..haha).

If you self-travel by bus to yeliu, u can do the loop trip. Bus to yeliu starts/ends at Danshui &amp;&amp; Keelong.

I had just came back from Taipei. Really enjoy it. Worth to go there again. I went for 7/8 days tour but still not enough. Manage to go to beitou spa(tfr at beitou to xin beitou), danshui Fisherman wharf FW (yu ren ma tou) , hualian, shilin market (2 night), Wu Fen Pu, 101 shopping center, shi meng ting, Ren Feng, jui fen shan, Jacky Wu live enteriment show ( Guess, Guess, Guess).......

I travel there by Jetstar and was pay $310 inclusive of tax. Food on board was too salty that my huddy and I give up the food. When i was back from Taipei,I was quite surprise to hear that one of the crew ask us not to bring up own food in future cos she say buget air do provide food which is delicious and afforable. But we chose to ignor her and contious eat our own food. Has anyone experience this before?

argh i realized my post got lost *sob* let me try to recall...

Yehliu and jiufen - better to take coach or self-travel as I intend to go FW, Danshui &amp; Keelong after (since all around same area). How to do self-travel (take mrt/bus where?)

Yang Ming Shan - worth to go? There's a shuttle bus to go around so neednt walk alot right?

Hualien &amp; Wulai - worthwhile to go?

Where are the good underground malls?

How long does it take to travel to wu fen pu &amp; raohe?

Thanks ladies!

Do the various night markets sell the same thing? How abt the underground malls - do they sell the same thing as the nite markets? Also what are the operating hours for the underground malls &amp; nite markets? I read that nite markets close early on sunday nite...

Oh, where are metro &amp; central underground mall; and huaxi nite market located?

I think for gals, there's no such thing as "same thing"...haha.

Yehliu is not easy to self travel unless by car. Waste time waiting for bus. There's a bus from Danshui MRT to Keelong that'll pass-by Yehliu. Its easier to find the bus from Danshui MRT. If you try from Keelong, 1st timers might be caught up by the taiwanese messiness...haha. What u can do is take MRT to danshui early morning, take bus to yehliu, hv fun in the late morning, seafood lunch at yehliu (a few restaurants and eateries there), then wait for bus to Keelong. And hv afternoon tea snack at the nice finger foods at the temple area.

Oh, you got to ask the bus driver to let u know when to alight for Yehliu. Its not so obvious stop.

Idono,
hahah... may be you're right..

Pebs,
Seriously speaking, underground mall (think opens around 11am, closing time not very sure) and Raohe sell the same thing shoes, bags and clothes. For clothes, just go to wu fen pu. If i'm not wrong, from taipei - houshanpi may be takes about 20-30 minutes by MRT and then walked for another 15 minutes. Closing time for most night markets between 12-1am for everday except Sunday(ard 10pm). Things in Ximenting and shilin market are the same. If you have time, just go there to jalan jalan..

Yang Ming Shan has many scenic spots.. Check out the website i posted yesterday, ok? You can choose to drop at the scenic spot and walk around there and then board the next shuttle bus to go to the next one. You don't need to travel on foot from one scenic place to another..it's far! One round around YMS non-stop took us 40 minutes already..

Heard Hualien is worth going..but it's really far..3 hours from taipei to hualien and 3 hours back.

Huaxi nite market is at longshan temple MRT..they sell snakes there!

snow,
You attend the Jacky Wu live entertaiment show ( Guess, Guess, Guess)???! wow, i wanted to do that but in the end couldn't be bothered to find out. So, you got the number to call to secure tickets? How did you do that?? it must really an eye-opening experience! Did he point you all out in the show?? haha.. :P

hi mrc &amp; idono, thanks very much for all you advices and suggestions.

hi snow, you went for 7D and travel by jetasia and is only $310, so cheap? the $310 is only the airfares and accomodation is separate, rite? which hotel did you stay? how much total (airfare+accomodation) in all? may i know which tour agency you book? is it good?

may i know how to go about watching the live Jacky Wu show? where to get ticket? me very very interested also. if i have a chance to watch, its goin to be a wonderful experience for me.

ya, im also keen to know how to attend jacky wu guessx3 show.

thanks ladies for all the travelling tips. I may try idono's bus route between yeliu, danshui &amp; keelong. Is Jiufen near yeliu/danshui/keelong? Is it possible to cover jiufen within this day, or shld I plan jiufen &amp; beitou for another day?

Basically, all the areas are around Taipei outskirt. The main problem for tourist in taiwan is that outside of taipei, their transport development for tourist is VERY VERY poorly done. So there's no bus from yeliu to jiufen. There might be a bus from keelong, but u need to find out the info, its not that readily available. U'll hv to surf taiwanese websites.

For the live Jacky Wu Guess 3x, is my huddy friend booked for us ( Booking or calling the siscit, is just in case they last mintues change the time or day for filming). We went that together. Actualy from what i know, we went there on Monday ( cos only every Monday filiming) (Tuesday is Zhong Yi Da Ge Da). Got 3 section. Time 11am, 4pm and 7pm. We went for 11am. We went for the 11am but have to wait until 12.30pm++ then they start fimling cos they arrange the seat area, test audial system, beilf us what to do and not to do...bah bah things.. Sit until my legs cramp..But that day, quite a lot of ppl attend, even jacky Wu was very surprise. Cos usualy is not full house. Maybe that day got K1, Fan Wei Qi, Mi Xue, Xie Jing Yan.... coming. As for the detail, I will post here once i got the information. Really worth to see. You can laugh until ur stomache cant take it.

Hi Taurus,
Yup $310 is only to and fro inclvise airport taxes. As for the hotel we stay at Mei Shuan hotel at Tai Yuan Rd. But you dont expect it to be like hotel 81, exterior ok, interior room not nice but enough to sleep. We pay NT800 per night queen size bed. Consider very cheap as compere to Rainbow Hotel at Xi Meng Tin ( Very popular hotel) per night around NT1500 onwards.... double the price. Is depend on what you perfer. I go for F&amp;E, I will take the cheap cos i can spent on other things. As i only sleep around 2-3pm and wake up at 6-7am depend that day jourony. Just a few hour of sleep so not need so gd hotel.
My huddy and I bring $1800 in total to taiwan for 7D/8N for taveling, eating, buy things, hotel, play games.....My huddy friend booked everything through internet and tel. No through any tour agency.

Hi all, i returned from Taiwan Taipei last thur, from a 4D3N stay on Jetstar Asia.

Some afterthoughts, which i hope will be useful for people who intend to visit Taipei, n using budget airline:

* As what Marilyn has said, Jetstar indeed has the best timing. They have only 1 flight to Taiwan daily, so most prob u will reach ur hotel by 7pm latest. The rest of the airlines have weird timings, which i dun really like. Jetstar has new planes, n the food served r ok. Of coz not that fantastic. But when u r hungry, well, it's not that bad after all.

* U can bring ur food up to the plane. But i suppose, u have to do it discreetly. Eg. dun pass ur food around to share w ur frens. Just sit there n eat quietly, they wont come n disturb u then. At the most, u can order a drink fr them, cost only S$2.

* Service-wise is so-so. Can see that some of the staff r rather new to the job. So they can be quite forgetful at times :P There r some nice ones, who r rather cute :-) The senior ones can be more stern when they try to explain things to people, esp if they hv to explain it numerous times. N we caught them using Singlish....heehee....not that Singlish is bad 'lah', just that we happen to notice it more since this is a service industry.

* 4D3N is much too short a trip to Taipei, if u want to shop several areas, eat more, sight-seeing, n go hot-springs. I would think 5D4N will be better in a way, as u can take ur time to relax too :-)

* Shihlin market sells lots of nice clothings n bags. I didnt notice much shoes there. The food is nice, n cheap. It's rather big, i think it's bigger than the HK Mongkok mkt. I enjoy shopping in Taipei, tho the things r slightly more ex compared to HK.

* Taipei Undgd Mall sells lots of cheap shoes! Must buy!!!!!! N the shoes r very trendy too. :-)

* Ximending sells very trendy clothings n accessories. But they r quite ex as compared to Shihlin n Undgd Mall. H/w, u can try the outer streets of Ximending, can catch some cheaper stuff there.

* Taipei 101 and Xin1 Guang1 San1 Yue4 is just like our Spore version of Paragon n Taka. Only diff is theirs r bigger, n has more variety of things over there.

I didnt get to Danshui, as my boy happened to vomit on that day. So sad......Sigh. I will want to go to Taiwan again, hopefully end of this yr, to go to the different parts of Taiwan for sight-seeing :-)

Anyone been to Taiwan in end Nov/ Dec b4? Can share how's the weather over there like?

Thank you :-)

hey gals, im planning a trip to Taiwan and i found the info given here v useful! have printed them all out for reference keke.

one thing i want to ask is, is there any way i can travel from Alishan straight to Mount Hehuan? if can, how do i do it? can i hire a cab to drive over, or got bus that travels the route?
Thks in advance!

Hi iamcow,
Not too familiar with that. Try posting this question in Virtual tourist (Taiwan link). There are members who're staying in Taiwan which might be able to provide you the advice.

hi mrc,

sorrie, guess i am probably the 100th person to ask you for your itinery to taiwan...you think can PM to me at [email protected]?

planning to go this nov, for approx. 2 weeks (or more if got the $$$)... u think it is too long?

hi yolanda,
you're going around taiwan right? I think it's should be fine if you intend make one loop around taiwan. i went there for 8 days - only taipei county and alishan..hehe..

ok, i email you the itinery in a short while

sigh sigh, im to depart for taiwan on wed, but now typhoon...not even sure if can go. SQ dont allow change to tix coz its promo. so its forego, or proceed...

1 Q - taking bus in taipei, do u buy the tix on the bus? does bus driver give change or we need to prepare lots of coins? for MRT its the same as Spore rite? buy at the machine?

mashy - me on standby, by tmr shld know if our flight is affected. They're postponing today's flight from 8am to 8pm!! I doubt they will cancel, coz they still nd to get pple out from taipei to spore.

Taurus - dont worry, I think by tmr, everything b ok. U shld be hearing from jetstartasia tonite if there's any change. I just called my hotel in taipei - they said taipei now rain &amp; wind already slow down. everything be back to normal tmr..*fingers crossed*

tmr I shall call my colleagues in taiwan (coz today they no work) &amp; check with them. Hopefully can post the reply b4 u fly off.

hi pebs, i juz called the agency and they said if we ourselves wants to postpone then we will have to pay liabilities of $200 per pax leh!! not unless Jetstarasia not flying lor...

so now got to wait till tmrw morning around 9pm to know if they are flying or not. my flight is 12.30pm. Even if they are flying, i dun think will be good travelling there cos everywhere will be flooding. sigh... really spoil my holiday moon leh... so sad

taurus - at least u can pay $$ to postpone, SQ dont allow us to postpone even when I offer to upgrade to normal fare!!!

Oh u're flying out late tmr. my flight is on wed morning 8am. Are U going with frens? what do they feel? postpone or go ahead?

As for my fren &amp; I, so long its safe (no danger), we still go, flood or no flood. The most we dont explore outskirt, spend time in the malls! hah

Ano colleague was saying, aiya U shld be there during the typhoon - dont get such experience in spore. Errr, no thanks, I still want to come back alive &amp; get married

i just got back today, was there from last wed. Weather is hot &amp; sunny. out of the 5 days I was there, only 1 evening of rain.

i just got back yesterday nite. was there since last tues. weather there is quite hot, around 33 to 34 deg.

hi peds, how's your trip? enjoy? me find it so-so only. things there is abit exp. a skirt can cost around $80 at nite market. i think with this price i can get nicer ones at spore mango. didnt really buy alot of stuff except 2 prs of shoes.

ladies,
you all got buy travel insurance? i got mine from AIG. I think they cover for cancellation of flight due to natural disaster.. I lost my phone in taipei and it was covered too.. Managed to get back 70% of my cost.. better tha nothing right..

taurus,
$80 for a skirt in taipei nite market?? which nite market is it? so expensive... the clothes that i bought in wufenpu usually ard SG10-15 dollars leh...

taurus - i find shopping so-so only. stuff cost almost same as spore. at wufengpu &amp; nite mkt - all cant try. at least in spore still can try. Only bought 2 pairs of shoes from underground mall, and some tops &amp; bottoms from wufengpu &amp; nite mkt &amp; some street stalls we saw.

Tried lots of food though - mostly snacks. but their noodles/rice are quite saltish &amp; oily.

Jiufen &amp; danshui was nice. yeliu so so only.

Mrc - didnt buy travel insur. Wufengpu got ex stuff too. saw some nice skirts that cost $50 &amp; more. But the current style I dont like - casual &amp; young, quite funky, not quite my type. But I noticed taiwanese are quite jap &amp; experimental in their dressing &amp; like layering.

to who just back, pls tell me how much is your F&amp;E packages &amp; from which agent coz till now i chk from agent is very expensive!!

And which hotel is the best one? Cosmos??

TQ very much!

i book the SQ promo online $288 + $95 (tax) 2 ways. Departure Sin 8am/Taipei 7am (PM return flight full).

Hotel booked directly by calling Flowers Hotel ($1920 approx S$100). Its abt 5-10 mins walk from the bus station (take Guo Guang bus to/from airport) &amp; Central MRT &amp; Train station. Hotel is ok - clean &amp; quite safe as its along a street with a few 24-hr minimart. Walkable to Xi Men Ding.

I'll be taipei on 13 sept. will likely to take jetstar. Hotel Cosmos. Can anyone comment about this hotel. to ximenting, wufupui, YMS is it v convenience. Can anyone guide me beside taxi by MRT possible to reach YMS (say starting at taipei station)

I be there to do my photoshot. Wondering YMS is it blooming beautiful flowers at this moment or Sept. My BS suggest to a flower landscape which need 1.5 hrs from taipei. Name like da hai hua niong (big sea flower farm) anyone heard of this?

Taxi to YMS a bit ex leh... coz got a direct bus to YMS. There is a direct bus from bus stop near Taipei train station. I think you can inquire from the train station pple. Or ask hotel pple, they should know. Do try to go early like 7am. It'll be about 1hr trip. If you go a bit later, it'll become a 2hr trip.

If you go YMS to do photoshoot, need to pray for good weather. Dunno is it I suay or what. but ALL 3 times I've been there, always shrouded in mist!

Yes, your BS will know best. Let them pick the location for you. There are a lots of location with beautiful flowers. No need YMS. YMS is too touristy IMO.

MRT is only available within taipei city area. There's 2 operators for MRT, the eastern line and the western line. One looks like our MRT while the other looks like our LRT. Both do not venture outside the city except the western line which travels to outskirt furthest to Danshui.

Idono,

Thanks for the info. I will communicate 1 day before with my Photographer b4 PS. Yeah I planning to go hotspring beitou follow by danshui, heard evening is most beautiful. U have any places can recommend me visit in the morning beside YMS. Know most shop opens only 11am. how bout WuFePu is it full day till night. You know any market(morning) heard they sell lots tibits and baizhang (dumpling)

I don't stay in Taipei, so not that familiar with wht goes on in the morning. yes, danshui evening is pretty beautiful. Go to the river mouth to enjoy the sunset