Taiwan F&E

anne

sgn, the weather is about 8 deg with a lil of rain on Friday evening when I touched down. Saturday was between 10-12 deg during day time. and 6-8 deg at night with rain.
Sunday was clear but cold..it stays around 5-8 deg till Monday.

queenster

hi sgn,
you on Free n Easy trip?

You can actually check the net for weather forecast. Quite reliable e.g. http://sg.weather.yahoo.com
however, if u bring insufficient sweater, y not enjoy their "winter" clearance sales. Lots of nice coat, sweater, shawls, gloves & boots on sales now. Boots on special offer are less than S$20.

I was there last week. Under the condition of 6deg + very windy can be "torturing".

anne

ya sgn, what Queenster shared is rite..don't bring too many clothing there..can shop till u drop

I bought a lot of stuffs there..shoes,clothes, jackets, fashion bags at cheap price

Queenster, r u on Free & Easy?
Where do u shop? I plan to go again somewhere Aug if my hubby got biz trip there..keke

queenster

hi anne,
yup. 100% F&E. :-D

Most of my stuffs are from Shi4Lin2 Night Market & Gong1Guan3 MRT station. I prefer the later cos less messy/crowded. Things are similar in both places.

Shi2pai2 & Dan4shui3 there can shop too.

I din buy anything at big dept stores such as Xin1guang1san1yue4 or sogo... cos for the same stuffs n price, I rather buy in singapore.

Did u go to Hong2Shu4Lin2 ? I manage to catch nice sunset scenary there. Dan4shui3 too. Can go "pa-tor" with ur hubby.

anne

Queenster,
I went Dan4Shui3, ate the green mussels there..yummy
Also taking the boat cruise..like our Spore River cruise, nothing fantastic..haha

I did some shopping at Shilin night market..but don't really bought alot of stuff there..very crowded eventhough it was raining.
I like GongGuan MRT and Taipei main station underground and also wholesale market that local bring me there. What a great shopping spree for me. I bought shoes at S$10-20 a pair. Fashion bag at $5-10 for one, good buy ah!
If I gonna stay there longer..I think I have to buy one big luggage before I can come back to Spore..haha

anne

Oh ya, no point to shop at Xin Guang San Yue, Sogo, 101 and Taka..all the same as what we have in Orchard Rd

I was there to visit 101 tower lor..since ppl keep talking about tallest building in the world.

BTW, Queenster, where do u stay there??

queenster

Oh. u went yu2ren2ma3tou2? I thought quite nice scenary too? Romantic spot leh!

hee... ya lor. I only buy things tt r really cheap. Else can buy here. Nice nice accessories are cheap too. If u dun travel often, no need to buy big luggage. Can just get a nice n thick carton box to contain those non-fragile items & bind it with masking tape. From wat i observed at changi airport arrival hall, many ppl actually checked-in this kind of "DIY luggage" esp those who return from BKK.

101 tower nothing much leh . . . but i saw a line of 5 tourist buses outside.

I stay First Hotel cos someone transfer 1 night stay to me. I won't recommended this hotel thou.

anne

Hmm..I travel alot. Usually I will tag along for few days to a week when my hubby go on biz trip.
I only need to pay airfares, the rest is covered by my hubby..hehe..so I can afford to go here and there

I went TW with 2 luggages, one empty..but both come back with full load..haha..
Is true that can use caton box for those non fragile items..but bare in mind that Spore custom might stop u if u bring a few cartons back hor.
Unless u willing to pay GST..hehe..I rather bring luggage..easier too..usually what I did is put small luggage in bigger luggage.

Do u intend to go TW for shopping again?

queenster

hi anne ,

wow! so nice! can travel around. envy *o*

For this TW trip, I only carried a travel bag to contain clothes for a week's stay there. Shopping wasn't in my plan as I heard that things are expensive there. who knows.... kekeke...:p

Actually it's ok to check-in 2 cartons. medium size one of course. I dun think will be stopped by custom cos you are not bringing prohabited stuffs or bulk import of goods.

anne

Queenster, ya..if it is only 2 cartons shdn't be any prob. Usually I see those chinaman bring a lot of cartons and they r those that always got stuck with the custom officer at Changi Airport.

Usually I will not bring that much of clothing if I know the place is meant for shopping

rosken

We are thinking of bringing our 8-month old baby along to taiwan for a short free and easy trip. Any recommendations on where to go ?(preferably baby and pram friendly!)

pinkdolphin

Hi all, need some help here...

I'm going to taiwan for a week during mid of Apr, F&E...
Since it's my 1st time there, i have no idea of what to prepare...
Hopefully, someone here can help me.

Like to find out is it cheaper to book a hotel from internet or shd i just walk in a hotel when i reach there?
Any recommended hotel in Taipei, huelien, taizhong?
Where can i go within the 7 days in taiwan?

anne

cherly, I might not able to help on this.
Usually I will tag along the hotel that my hubby stay during his biz trip. And all these hotel r like 5*

cherly

idono,

Have just booked a hotel in Taipei. Just need to find out more info from you that, where should we visit during the stay?

We intend to visit huelien, alishan but not too sure how to go abt it. Beside the 2 places, where else can we go? We are going there for 8 days.

idono

oops, too many questions which I no confidence to answer
Let me go and find back my tour guides to refresh my memory ... (PS, I'm pretty bias kind of person, so tend to recommend places which I've good memories of and TEND to avoid touristy places)

btw, since we're on taiwan. Photos on a very memorable but silly activity which I enjoyed during the 15th day of CNY way back in 2000.

http://www.dcview.com/gallery/showmsg.asp?msgid=406158&select=1&posit=2

idono

btw, dcview is not a R(A) site, but taiwanese likes to take picture of gals, sooo....err... dun mistake me hor...haha

Pictures tell a thousand words. Some pics of SunMoonLake in central taiwan (if u take package with Alishan included, this is highly likely to be one of the destination). SunMoonLake is best visit during the early hrs of the day (ie morning, anything after 10am is boring)

http://www.dcview.com/gallery/showmsg.asp?msgid=405382&select=1&posit=10

idono

HeHuanShan is anr "scenic park" in taiwan. If you visit Alishan, its only anr hr drive UP the mountain to reach the highest peak in taiwan. Package tours usually dun include. Its the only area in taiwan that may snow during winter

http://www.dcview.com/gallery/showmsg.asp?msgid=404676&select=1&posit=18
http://www.dcview.com/gallery/showmsg.asp?msgid=404023&select=1&posit=28

This set is wif a model (not my pics
http://www.dcview.com/gallery/showmsg.asp?msgid=405705&select=1&posit=6
but it shows how central mountain looks like in taiwan

bugs

hi anne@ i'm back from TW, the place very nice i enjoined the food and went to Yang Ming San, Yeliu, JiuFen and visited 101 building.
manage to sakura too.

dawn45

hi sgn

wheer did u see sakura at?
wanna check with u where is 101 taipei located at ie which mrt station to drop at? heard there is a new york new york. did u go??

Anything to buy there? Are they still selling winter wear now or spring collection is out?

anne

sgn, good that u enjoyed your trip.
I think TW worth visitng..and things r not too expensive too!

dawn, Taipei 101 is opposite NYNY and also near World Trade Centre, or Hyatt Hotel.
Basically is high-end shopping centre, just like our Paragon or Ngee Aun City at Orchard Rd.

queenster

Hi Dawn,

To answer your question ...

Taipei 101 is not exactly nearby to MRT. Got to walk about 15-20 minutes. Anyway, the nearest MRT stn is Taipei City Hall. Not difficult to locate 101 since it's soooo tall.

Around 101, there are NYNY (not hi-rise), Warner village cinema (this building looks a bit like yishun10), Xin1guang1san1yue4( really large scale Jap dept store. at least 2 or 3 branches ard 101 alone)

Yes. Lots of things to buy.
On 2nd week of March, saw some spring collection "new arrival".

dawn45

Hi Queenster and anne

Thanks for yr replies. Wanna check with u gals, how much u all change yr currecncy? Cos not too sure if there are a lot of things to buy?
Will be going for 5 day 4 nites, so not sure how to plan my own itnerary?

any advice?'

queenster

Hi Dawn,

It's hard to advise you on this cos different ppl has different spending habit.

I changed S$500 here that lasted for 5 days only. I drew another NT4000 (around S$200) from ATM machine there with ATM card. hmm...I believe there's a small fee imposed, but not sure how much thou. few dollars bah. But this fee is much higher if u use credit card to withdraw $.

hiphip77

I'm new in this thread. I'm going to Taipei for a 5days/4nights free & easy trip.

This's my first trip to Taipei and I'm really looking forward to it! I intend to go there to shop and eat and also go to a hot spring if possible.

Can I know where can I do shopping? I intend to go to places that sell nice and cheap stuff like clothes, accessories, shoes, etc; I dun wanna go to those shopping mall that sells the same things with the same price as in S'pore.

What about places that sell good Taiwanese food? Also their 'Tu(2) Chang(3)', where to buy?

Anyone know of any good hot spring in or near Taipei?

deathstar

Hihi....

just like hiphip, i'll be visiting taiwan next month with my wife, baby and in laws.

can tell me where to shop and eat good food???

babywong

I've juz came back from Taipei over a 5 days 4 nite trip. Its sure a great place for food.

For Hot Spring, depends on whether u guys trying real authentic one or those privatised one. We went to one authentic one at Yang Ming San. Its a free and separate guy n ladies one but inside all old man n women. We din try tat one n instead took MRT to Xin Bei Tou Station n once come out of MRT station on the right of the garden, theres' quite a lot of selection. We chose one of the prettier one. Got a couples room for NT1000+ for the use of 1 hr. Quite good.

For good food, u can try all the nite mkts there like Shi Lin (Take MRT to Jian Tan MRT), the biggest mkt. Its directly outside the MRT. Every food was NICE!
. The other mkts tat we went were not near MRT but its still quite easy to find as usually takes abt 10-15 mins walk. Can ask pp there, very friendly.

Din buy much shopping there coz the things more expensive n prefer to buy in S'pore if u r referring to shopping malls. But the shoes at the nite mkt are around NT390 per pair so abt S$20+ still ok lah.. Or if looking for youngsters stuff like those in Bugis, can try Xi Men Ting (Take MRT to Xi Men). If go on sat afternoon, maybe can catch some chinese pop stars. (We managed to catch 5566 n Guang Liang)

If going F&E and on budget, would recommend stay at hotels near MRT. If planning to go to a lot of places on 1 day, can buy their one-day pass for NT$150.

Hope tat helps!

babywong

I've juz came back from Taipei over a 5 days 4 nite trip. Its sure a great place for food.

For Hot Spring, depends on whether u guys trying real authentic one or those privatised one. We went to one authentic one at Yang Ming San. Its a free and separate guy n ladies one but inside all old man n women. We din try tat one n instead took MRT to Xin Bei Tou Station n once come out of MRT station on the right of the garden, theres' quite a lot of selection. We chose one of the prettier one. Got a couples room for NT1000+ for the use of 1 hr. Quite good.

For good food, u can try all the nite mkts there like Shi Lin (Take MRT to Jian Tan MRT), the biggest mkt. Its directly outside the MRT. Every food was NICE!
. The other mkts tat we went were not near MRT but its still quite easy to find as usually takes abt 10-15 mins walk. Can ask pp there, very friendly.

Din buy much shopping there coz the things more expensive n prefer to buy in S'pore if u r referring to shopping malls. But the shoes at the nite mkt are around NT390 per pair so abt S$20+ still ok lah.. Or if looking for youngsters stuff like those in Bugis, can try Xi Men Ting (Take MRT to Xi Men). If go on sat afternoon, maybe can catch some chinese pop stars. (We managed to catch 5566 n Guang Liang)

If going F&E and on budget, would recommend stay at hotels near MRT. If planning to go to a lot of places on 1 day, can buy their one-day pass for NT$150.

Hope tat helps!

hiphip77

Hi Babe,

Thanks for the info! These helps in my planning esp the hot spring part.

How much did you spend there (air ticket, accomodation, expenditure, transport, etc)? Which hotel did you stay?

Sorry for asking so many questions...

babywong

Hi Hiphip,

I din spend much on shopping so all in all, our total expenses was approx. $780. Well we saved on airfare by taking budget, splunge on hotel by staying at a 4* (Santos) while remaining were spent on food n transport.

Costs abt the same as Spore for food or slightly more expensive. 1 meal at the Food Court in 101 Shopping mall cost me abt NT158. But of coz sm things eat at the nite mkt all less than NT50.

For transport, 1 bus trip abt NT15 while MRT depending on distances cost abt NT20- NT45.

Hope tat helps.

pinkdolphin

Hi Babe,

Can i check with u abt the santos hotel?
Is the location good? Is it near any MRT?
How's the room like?

Sorry for so many questions...
Thanks for helping!

deathstar

Hi people,

anyone happend to know anywhere that offers the best xchange for NT $$??

would it be better to change our money in taiwan instead???

Went to people's park over the weekend and they're offering 18.80

marilyn_chh

hi Babe,
I'm planning a F&E trip to taiwan this may too. You mean both of you spent only $780 for 5 days 3 night? or is it each person spend $780?

May I know much is santos hotel rate per night? Did you book thru the net or the travel agent here?

I'm thinking of booking everything by myself. Try to cut down budget so that i can shop more..hahah..

babywong

Hi pinkdolphine n mrc,

$780 is per pax n I've stayed for 4 nites. Santos is a 4* Hotel. Its approx. 8 min walk fr Ming Quan Xi Ru MRT in the North. Its not the only one near tat MRT. The other one much smaller but I cant rem its name.

I've book it through Chan Bro at S$135 per nite. Note that the cost may vary depend on season n other reasons. The place ok only lah. Most impt is where u wanna go. Suggest u find the MRT map (See http://home.trtc.com.tw/EINFO/eroutehome.asp)
n if u wanna shop at shopping malls find somewhere near the east side or stay near Taipei Main Station.

For me, I prefer quiet place n going to places like Tam Shui n Xin Bei Tou n Jian Tan (Shi Lin Mkt) so prefer to stay north.

We've met another Sporean couple in Taipei who stay at think YMCA or some hostel for S$40 per nite at Xi Men but they splunge by taking SQ. So its yr choice. But I heard fr my Taiwan fren Xi Men at nite a little bit unsafe.

babywong

Btw, the hotspring tat I went to is the Sui Mei as featured in this www.sweetme.com.tw. We wanted to take the Ri Yue but have to wait for 1 hr. so no choice took the Single (Hot) one for the 2 of us. U've got to bath first then soak in the pool. The hotspring water supposedly a bit smelly one but i think we have too much normal hot water so jus like normal bath tub.

idono

Hi deathstar,

Usually, I patronise the money changer at Suntec. There's both and their rates are usually v. competitive. My dad swears by those at Pearl Centre area though I've my doubts.

If I'm not wrong, the hotspring at Beitou area is sulphurous, hence explain for the "bad smell".

Taiwan tend to hv freak incidence, I just saw news ytr, some hotspring patrons kenna hit by a huge rock tht fell. It was in Hualien area and is an open area. The rock killed one and injure 10 others. For unexplainable reason, during my time in taiwan, always hv freak accidents one..haha. Like the famous GuangHwaShanChang near their computer / electronics area, famous for 2nd hand comic books, seems like forever hv fire tht kill pple one. So end up whenever i go indoors to pubs or KTV, my 1st reaction is always to mentally note the fire exits and try to get rooms near the exits... hhaha.

deathstar

thanks for the info again, idono.

Anyway, any of u ppl happen to know what's the climate, temperature there during end april/early may period??

Will be bringing my 1yr+ daughter there during these period and not sure of what kind of clothings to pack for her.

deathstar

by the way, how much should i change for the trip?? Going there with wife, daughter and in laws for a 7 days fully guided tour.

Is 1000 enough for all of us?? Basically, we're just planning on eating all those yummy 'xiao chi'. wun be buying much stuff as I've read that the stuff they had over there is comparable to what we had here.

marilyn_chh

hi babewong,
thanks for your info. My preference is to stay near places that sell cheap clothing (you know like the petaling street in msia or the chatukcat marketin thailand). If i go shopping, think i won't go to shopping mall lah since i'll probably find similar things in spore shopping centre. But i'll go to shopping mall 101 though..just to see the building itself

mm, may be i'll consider Santos. There're 3 of us, so this price is quite reasonable leh...

I'm planning to book the hotel stay and airline by myself. Thinking of taking jetstar, probably cheaper right? but not sure it's safe or not and whether comfortable or not..

i don think i'll stay in YMCA to save money to fly SQ lah...I'll prefer a more comfortable stay in taiwan..hehe..

babywong

Hi mrc,

Ha! Taz the budget airline I've taken. Guess we haf the same mentality. Juz rem to bring loads n loads of entertainment to keep u busy on board. Their main course cost abt $8 quite reasonable lah but bring yr water cos water coz $$ too on board. Seats space as sm as those economy class of big airlines lah. My trip is quite safe, not bumpy at all.

Cheap clothing.. hmmm u have to try the nite mkts.