Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

felixp

Ah Faith: For my friend's wedding, she doesnt have enuff malay guests to fill 1 table, so she arranged for the 1 malay guest to sit with the chinese guests and the hotel serve her things separately. Is Wan Hao halal-certified? Maybe can ask yr malay guest if she mind?

I havent contacted the printer cos my AD in May, havent even finalise the guest list... i will contact them once I have meet up with Michelle ... btw, when should i meet up with Michelle? Mine is 21 May, so shld meet up her in Feb after CNY?? Or earlier?

Lish: u must be damned excited and stressed now... stay cool & all the best!! Share with us your experience later =))

felixp

Ahfaith: Just to add on, i think ur malay guest won't mind sitting with other pple as in the 1st place, u alreadi told him/her it's at Marriot? He/She would have already know it's a chinese restaurant.. Afterall she is there to bless u and ur HTB... =) So dun worry too much =p

ah_faith

Felix, I also wont have enough Malay guests to fill 1 table and I will probably arrange her to sit with familiar people. Think she will also request to sit with her acquaintances. But not sure if 11 pax per table will be too squeezy?
If I'm not wrong, Wan Hao is not Halal-certified.

I have only met up with my coordinator once together with my decor personnel. Dont think that considered as a meeting I guess. I'm abt 2 months away from my AD though. =)

Lish, congrats in advance!

felixp

Hi Ahfaith, i think 10+1 is okay lah... unless all super fat (which I dun think so lah ;p)... But Marriot already told u they can provide halal food ah? If so, maybe highlight to your malay guest 1st that not halal-certified but its no pork, no lard kind.. to prevent any unhappiness later.. =)

I think hoh marriot will charge the confirmed pax/tables + Halal/ Vege sets (as extra costs) and not calculated as 9 + 1 ...

U sourced for your own decor personnel from outside ah? Hehes... so fast now only 2 months... =)

ah_faith

I tink Marriott will charge 10+1 too coz seen some weddings with such arrangements for vegetarian and Muslim guests. Fortunately, my friend is not very strict with Halal certification thingy. As long as no pork no lard then it's fine for her. =)
Yeah I sourced for a balloon decor company. =)

Left 2 more months and my guest list not done yet. Quite a lot to do. Cant wait for the day to come quick! hehe

candycandy001

ahfaith> If she doesnt mind, mayb try veg menu?

I m so 2mths away, my hubby sms me just now said his ex-boss called him, asked him must rem to send her invitation card. Ha... so "you xin". Now my hubby ask me when the card will be ready... Ha^^ I need to speed up now.

troides

Thanks ladies ..

Oh dear, Lilart takes 10 working days to print the inserts.

ah_faith, can share the contacts of your printer? Just pm-ed you.

Anyone has any fast (and reasonably priced) printer to recommend?

giraffe~

ah_faith --> heyo... u putting balloons as a sculpture, balloon arch or loose balloons? i was thinking of loose balloons for the reception area. but ceiling not that high, the strings may get in the way of the guests =( which balloon company u getting?

giraffe~

felix --> i haven;t top up anything. haven't really asked the hotel florist abt extra decor. think actually it should be good enough. perhaps will DIY some extra decor like photo display, maybe a wishing tree, and balloons in the reception area. paying money to get stuff done professionally is really exp! i'm using simply flowers for my church decor. their banquet venue decor package is $1000 over!!! way out of budget.

giraffe~

candy --> thanks for the info on the exchanging the card cost for other stuff! i'm definitely not using the hotel cards. so hopefully can like "upgrade" my favours! i'm going to give chocs, definitely. i don't like inedible favours. anyone getting chocs too? any idea what the box looks like? i hope i can use the extra cost to customise my box a bit.

arranged for food tasting in early jan!! whee~

felixp

Hi all, I am abit confused abt the wedding card printing. My package is 70% confirmed wedding cards; if say I need print 100 cards, 70 cards will be foc but I still need to print the inserts which marriot is charging 80cts, ie. 80cts x 100 plus the printing of the remaining 30 cards? Correct?

ah_faith

Giraffe, I'm engaging wowparty for the balloon decor. I will have sculptures & arch but no loose balloons. U can check out its website, WWW.wowparty.com.sg

Felix, if I understand u correctly, 70% of ur confirmed guests worth of wedding cards will be given. Let's say u have a confirmed 100 guests & u will receive 70 cards only. The printing of inserts should not b included unless ur contract states so. U can print with lil art thru the hotel but it will be chargeable for those 70cards. If ur contract allows u an option of complimentary printing, then the hotel will pay for ur 70 cards foc. Best to check with ur coordinatoron this.

felixp

Hi Ahfaith, thanks! Hehes, wat u said is right, ie. 70% of confirmed guests without inserts. So the 80cts that pple are talking abt here is just the cost of per insert or 1 entire card + inserts?

ah_faith

Not sure if there'll be difference in prices on print directly on the card or print on an insert. From what I know, some printer companies charge printing & the insert paper separately. So I'm not sure if 80cts per card refers to just the print, or the print + paper.
The printer company I'm using is charging the print and paper separately though.

candycandy001

Felix (felixp) > If you are refering to my comment on 80cent per card for marriott printing cost, it is applicable when you are not taking your 70cards (based on 100confirmed guests) from marriott (not the insert), = $56. You may use the $56 saved to upgrade favour, exchange drink, additional chair sashes (these 3 examples are quoted from shishi's replied last night).

Anyway, I think I will still using the Marriott card since I only have 8 tables, lazy to upgrade/exchange.

For printing insert is another cost, may check with Marriott vendor Lil-art or use own printer/TNT/T-dragon etc.

* (giraffe~)> I dont know Marriott free favour doesnt come with choco leh... Do you know how much need to top up? If exp, I may go for free one as b4 the lunch, most probably I will prepare choco/snack during the cocktail reception.

giraffe~

i haven't checked with michelle yet. feel paisei to keep emailing her. i just want a standard 2 chocs per box. and i want a plain box. then i'll print a little label to personalise it. that time, annabel said shld be no problem to let us have chocs, but now michelle is my coord, will have to check with her. i don't like to bring home objects from weddings... i won't use cos got someone else's names on it. so i'll probably give edible favours. alternatively, i am thinking of giving a pen. something really really useful, that everyone can use.

oh ya i asked michelle abt serving canapes before dinner... it's abt $85 ++ per plate of 50 items which include samosa, tempura prawns etc. just in case anyone wants to know. i may be getting that.

giraffe~

wow ah faith, i saw the balloons website! really nice!! is it expensive?? but u gonna put it where?? outside the doors? or backdrop for stage

ah_faith

Giraffe> Personally, it exceeded our budget for decor purpose. But it's still cheaper than getting an external florish to decorate the place with flowers. The balloons will be at the reception, ballroom, arch of the ballroom etc...

felixp

Hi Candy: Thanks for your explanation; i got it now. =) Hehs.

Giraffe: Ur coordinator is Michelle Fong? Mine too. I think its okay to email her on watever things u wanna to clarify/ask afterall it's an impt event to us, I am sure Michelle will understand..
I emailed her several times a day when we are nego on the contract thingy... btw, when is ur AD ah? ;p

felixp

Ah faith: The wowparty really very WOW! How much are you spending on this? The pictures look so nice! Their wedding packages are 450 up, haizz.. dun think my hubby will approve loh ..

ah_faith

Felix> Yeah I was very impressed with their services and designs. Initially had a budget of abt $500.. but our expenses way exceeded the budget... =S since it's once in a lifetime event so splurge a little more on this as we saved some $$ from other areas.

shopaholicjuan

>felix Are you also looking for wine consignment? I plan to check out Denise Wine Cellar soon. My co ord is Michelle. I think she responds more quickly to phonecalls. Haha..I keep emailing her but sometimes she doesn't reply too.

Anyway she is quite flexible and managed to waive the cakeage for me. Phew. Cos I ordered a croquembouche for my wedding. It can be a focal point for photos and served as dessert too. Haha..

felixp

Hi Christine: Yes, I be getting wine consignment.. Thinking of Barwerks.... I jus emailed Michelle abt the cards n favors..
she was quite fast; replied with pics of the cards n favors.. I oso called lil printer and checked the price of the inserts - very expensive leh.. All the prices listed on their website.. So I think I may be getting my own printer for the inserts..

My cockage already foc as in my contract.. Let me know how's Denise wine... ;)

giraffe~

felix --> my AD is 26 march, dinner @ Marriot on 27th march. michelle will probably give u her handphone number closer to your AD. so far she's okay la, quite fast in replying my emails =)

shopaholicjuan

>felix Sure I will update you! Hee it's cakeage, not corkage. I am getting this cream puff tower from The Patissier.

Oh you managed to find another printer? Any recommendation?

felixp

Hi giraffe: hehes! U must be busy preparing now. Yah, I just emailed mich yesterday on the cards/ favours, she replied quite fast

Hi christine: heed, pardon my spelling *corkage* how much Is ur cream puff tower? Ahfaith shared with me her contacts for the printer, the charges for the insert are much cheaper than lil' printer, can't pm u, can you email me at [email protected] ;)

candycandy001

Ha... ok le, thanks Christine...

Shishi sent me wedding theme photo for Legacy suite, but only 2 photos, I guess I only have 2 to select, either red or light purple+white. Ha^^ I like the purple theme very much but afraid difficult to match. What AD evening gown should I select? purple/blue kind? Actually pink can or not? I know red gown is definitely out of the picture (unless I choose red theme)

ah_faith

I thought should choose a gown that suits ur skin tone the most? It'll be better if u can suit the wedding theme but most importantly u must feel comfortable and like the gown.

ah_faith

Lol Candy, my AD is in late Feb. Will only be choosing the AD gowns in January bah. Ur AD is in March so can still choose after CNY. Relax relax! Hehehe!

candycandy001

Actually I wish I can complete all preparation earlier and can "jia diao" myself anytime. Ha^^ Something pending everyday (although got something to look fwd), not feeling so gd.

ah_faith

I also understand how u feel but some things cant be rushed de. Recently I also have no mood at work. Kept looking forward to my AD. But what to do? Dont worry, time will pass by very soon and before u know it, it's ur AD! The last time I thought about my AD was in 6 months' time and now, it's about 2 months' time left! Cant help feeling panicky too! =\

giraffe~

candy --> is the purple theme limited only to the legacy suite? i was hoping for purple decor cos my gown is purple and silver.. i want my flowers to be purple and white to match! =)

felixp

Hi Ahfaith & candy: I can totally relate to that!!! My AD even later, in May, but I am really super gan chiong but there is so many things pending my parents and inlaws' decision haiz... plus my hubby busy with work no time to think abt our wedding yet... So i am the one planning this and that... just hope that time will pass faster haha =)

candycandy001

* (giraffe~)> I dont know leh... Below are the pictures they attached to me.
1601827.jpg

1601828.jpg

Felix (felixp)> Mine is 2mths b4 urs. My hubby also no time for wedding stuff. I decided most of the thing... let's Jiayou together^^

felixp

Candy: yup let's jiayou together!! Initially i tot do lunch will be simpler but end up oso need so many things loh.. wow, the decor looks nice! Which one r u choosing? I tot the red one looks grand n got the 结婚气纷...

troides

Candy, in the purple photo, the carpet is red, but appears purple. I think the photo is discolored. It's better to confirm the actual color with Shi Shi again

candycandy001

Felix, Lish> I haven't decided the AD gowns so will not decide the theme so soon. Wait till shishi chase me for confirmation la. Ha^^

Merry Christmas!!

felixp

Hey all, I dun have a boy/guy to 开车门... I hears can ask close friend but I dun wanna ask my friend come so early to my place.. Okay if the groom open the door by himself??

Also, anyone doing the 过大礼, need to select the dates? From who or where ah? ;)

ah_faith

Felix> U have any brothers/siblings/cousins to do it? If no choice but to ask ur friend to come early, then give him a bigger ang bao to 'compensate' the time taken to reach ur place. I have not heard of grooms opening doors themselves though. Perhaps u can consult a Feng Shui Master?

I'm doing GDL and AC which the dates are given to me by a Feng Shui Master. I engaged Master Tong aka David Tong from SGbride forum. =)