Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

felixp

Candy: Hmm... dun spend too much on the pre-wedding party though... save the $$ for your honeymn instead or as contingency, cos maybe there are other nitty gritty stuff need spend $$ for your AD. Btw, u gers already prepared the stuff for 过大礼. How abt for 喜饼? U gers got ordered?

Actually we wanna a lunch so that can cut down on the things and keep things simple, in the end, still sama sama wakiki... cos still need to have all the traditional things ;p

ah_faith

Felix> Coz mine's a weekend dinner, minimum table is 40... =\ Have not start on the guest list yet but had sent out save-the-date msges to all my guests and most are positive replies. Kinda lazy to list them now...

I have not prepared for GDL coz mine's late Jan... I will be getting cake vouchers for GDL as it's more convenient and agreed by both families.. Have not start to count the no. of vouchers needed yet...=S

Just notified that my wedding cards are ready for collection and probably by next two weeks must get the inserts printed. Also bz with my DIY table numbers and ang bao box... Argh... like many things undone yet! =(

candycandy001

ahfaith: May go Bukit Tinggi, Malaysia. If have more budget mayb a F&E Taipei again.

Felix> Your MUA has to reach 3.30am, tat's early. Any additional surcharge? Europe bagpack is very interesting, also spend a lot bah?

My schedule:-
7.30 am: Arrival of MUA
8.30 am: Departure of groom
9.00 am: 接新娘 + bride's parent tea ceremony
9.30 am: Set off for Groom's parents' place
10.00 am: Groom's parents' tea ceremony (& eat dumpling?)
10.30 am: Set off to Hotel
11.15 am: Reach Hotel/change tea dress/MUA touch up (2nd hairdo during 2nd march in)
12.15 pm: Tea-Ceremony (Bride's & Groom's relatives)
1.00 pm: Lunch commences

felixp

Ahfaith> U so many tables... hehes... but good thing is that marriott only has 1 ballroom so didnt give me a smaller one just becos i have fewer tables ;p. U very onz leh, DIY-ing the table no. and ang pow box.. last time i used to make the ang pow box when i was jiemei for my buddy, now i very lazy liao, will just buy bah. Cake vouchers oso a good idea. Actually I am thinking of doing away with the 喜饼 totally cos my mum says she is cool abt not having 喜饼 but who knows last minute she may change her mind and wants?!

How many wedding cards u printed and spent how much liao?

Hi Candy: I think go M'sia oso very nice. Very relax.. We backpacked 2 weeks, spent abt 12K including air tix, so no very broke liao. ;( It was very tiring but funz... Its my advance honeymn loh.

I oso dun know if my MUA will charge me more if need to come arrive cos the 6am timing is only tentative. But i did tot her that i am teochew so likely will be early...

Ur MUA only needs 1 hr ah.. cos for my rom, my MUA uses abt 2hrs for makeup + hair, so i am estimating will need starts at 3.30am if the 接新娘 is at 6am. Ur tea ceremony at 12.15am issit too late ah? How many pple u need to 敬茶 to? I was still thinking wanna be ready by 12.30pm so that i can go and mingle/take pics with my guests..

candycandy001

Felix (felixp) > I have few relatives only. Abt 4uncles + 2-3 aunty only. Last time my sister-in-law also start ard 1215am. I m not going to minge ard b4 the lunch as wan them to feel "wow" when 1st march in, ha.. joking.

I have 1.5hr for makeup. If cannot then adjust for 30min more bah... My aunty said I already gone thr trial make up with her, should be quite fast liao.

I din change makeup but touch up only as I dont think there is a need. but I prefer to do the 2nd hairdo during 2nd march in, 1st march in most probably with hair bun up.

ah_faith

Feliz> Yeah I like Marriott as it only has 1 ballroom and will not clash with another wedding/function. Lol yeah being onz will bring me more work to do... but what to do since I wanted it this way haha! U are also very onz to have helped ur buddy do the AP box. But then again, nowadays AP boxes are readily available in forum or in shops so long as u can find one suitable to ur theme.

U have to be careful of what ur mom says at this point of time... I kanna from her when previously she said no need to take ang bao... then later she said need... tis is because mothers will tend to discuss wedding preps/stuff with relatives and will come up with all sorts of funny requests... so u must make sure ur mom commits to her words... best to ask same question 2 - 3 times on different occasions...

I will be printing abt 320 cards' inserts... have not decide on a printer company but probably by nxt Monday will be able to decide. Will update u girls on the cost. =)

felixp

Candy: Hehes, thanks. I have yet to go for my trial. I will ask my MUA when i see her next year.. I oso have friends telling me bride dun come down so fast one... but i scared during lunch wont have time to talk to them and take pics =( cos some of them very difficult to meet up and dun want just ask them come and then didnt get to talk to them..

Ahfaith: EXACTLY!!! My mum is super duper "soft ears"... sure will get influenced by relatives/etc... dats why now she said she dun want 喜饼 , i only take it with pinch of salt... sure later got new things coming up...

Ok okies... u know the price liao let me know so that i can budget? How come so many printers to choose from ah? Not that marriott only have 1 printer ah... or we need source the printer on our own ah..

ah_faith

Marriott has its own printer: Lil-Art (u can google and check out their prices). I am looking out for cheaper alternatives to print only the inserts...
Be sure to check with ur mom several other times on the same issue to see if her first decision wavers... Coz it's difficult for us during the planning stuff... Hard to say to my hubby's side too on any last minute changes. So far, only 1 incident from my mom but I'm mentally prepared now. =x

Btw, my hubby only allows me to show my appearance only during the march-in. So I'm "forbidden" to come down to the recep area to mingle and take photos with my friends/relatives... =( He said he wanna keep guests in suspense... =.="

candycandy001

ahfaith> 320 cards is a lot... How many tables do you have? If you have a lot of relatives, normally 1 family give 1 card only, right? Last time I attended my friend wedding, she didnt even give me a card, but fb invite only. Ha^^

I will have 1 SG banquet and 1 JB banquet, I will minge ard while waiting for my JB banquet, reason1: more friends are invited; reason2: 2nd banquet, less formal, not even wear the WG but EG only; reason3: guests tend to be much "later", attended my cousin wedding last time, my big uncle family (1table, 10pax) late for more than 1.5hrs

Felix> My parent also somehow change their mind along the preparation. At the very begining, they said everything goes simple, let us decide, no banquet also can. Now asking this, asking that. I am kind of not very happy lo. So now I tried not to discuss/tell them my plan, just do wat I wish to do.

ah_faith

Candy> I have 40 tables for my AD. Yah I have many relatives which will only be giving a card each. Despite having 320 cards, I'm still worried that it may not be enough coz 40 tables is just a rough guide. I was told that the no. of guests will definitely increase when the AD is nearer... =\ If ur friend is very close to u or u're the jiemei then no need to give is still okay. But nevertheless, I will try to give all my friends, including jiemeis and brothers (if possible) wedding invites =)

My 2 cents worth of thought, I feel that u should still consult them on ur plans bah coz the elders like to be in the loop on the wedding preps. So must really state the terms as detailed as possible. My hubby's female cousin had a big row with her own dad that both husband and wife are now like enemies with the dad over some ang bao issues... So it's better to let them know some of ur wedding plans...

felixp

Ahfaith: Ur hubby so cute.. make u sounds like a pressie like that... but sounds funz to let the guests "wow" during the 1st march-in. Maybe I will follow u ah .

Candy: Wow, u have 2 dinners.. Must be tiring for you.. I have many friends from JB as well, for simplicity, i will ask them come singapore attend ah cos i also have relatives n friends in singapore. My hubby's side got a lot of relatives from Kluar or Muar (dun know the correct spelling), we will cater a bus to bring them into singapore and back. Dats why we have lunch, so that they can leave on time and wont reach home too late.

Yah, thats why both sides are saying now "Simple loh, u 2 do watever u wanna do, we no preferences.." This type of statement very scary, i rather they tell me wat they want so that i can plan in advance. Now ask them the timing and invite list ready liao, they oso replied "havent lah, so fast ..." ;( Haha, u best, i shld learn from you and not ask them better... ask liao more headache leh... already i am the one doing everything, like booking PS dates, changing the dates, photography, etc... sometimes very frustrating...

Btw, u gers settled ur songs liao?? We only need settle the 1st march-in, 2nd march-in, 1st-dish songs right.. Marriott would have their CD to play their own songs during the rest of the lunch, unless we specify right?

ah_faith

Felix> Yah lor... I jokingly told him that he wants to be the centre of attention before the dinner as once I appear, his glorious moments will be snatched by me! Hahaha!

I have not settled the songs yet. Will ask my coordinator for the list of songs that will be played during the dinner... Hopefully they'll have a long list for us to choose.

Both sides' families also haven tell us on their guest lists even when our wedding's like 2 months away. That's why the guest list may increase nearer to ur AD.

candycandy001

Felix> Ya, when I asked my parent last time they also said still long time la, say later, blahblahblah...

ah faith> Your hubby is cute... I wil still try to 'hint' them wat I m going to do. Actually I very respect my parent and very 'guai' de (compared to my sister). If they asked I sure will try my best to cater for their need, but I dont like the way they said dont need/nvm, then I planned liao as me to change/qns me why. My parent do not need to pay any single cent and JB banquet AP is all kept by them (I already decided and told them, they should be more than happy to accept, ha^^)

You bring all your Msia relative here? Either they are rich or you may suffer great loss. I cannot afford to bring them in...

felixp

Candy: yah u really very guai daughter n 好xifu liao. U already giving them all the APs..
I hope ur parents/ inlaws won't last minute give u more instructions.. Not all my relatives in m'sia; it's my mum-inlaw, she has 7 sisters in m'sia so need cater bus bring them + their families in.. If really lugi money also no choice cos my Hubby is eldest n this is their 1st wedding in the family.. So must surely invite them..

I also not taking the AP for the 5 tables for my mum; she initially said dun want take, but we insisted give her better..

candycandy001

Felix> Thank you... Your hubby also not bad la. Since no choice., 7sisters in Msia open another banquet also difficult, rather settle all together...

Most of my relatives are in Malaysia, so no choice for me and dont wan to let them feel too stressful for AP if come Singapore for hotel banquet.

candycandy001

ah faith> If I m not wrong, the std insert provided by marriott printer is 80cents? Hav you found the printer for your 320 inserts? If you dont mind, black and white, you may go to normal printer (kodak/fujifilm), I think 1 A4 is abt $0.06, they can cut for you but you need to arrange and prepare the wording etc. A lot of btb go JB city sq T&T, can get similar svc provided here by 50% cost saving.

I am trying online, which is postcard type 5"X7". You can get it at U$.29 per pc (http://www.artscow.com/photo-gifts/card) + free shipping if you order by 16Dec. I am still drafting, hope can settle it within this mth

felixp

Candy: u really very resourceful!! I think may go jb print if cheaper by so much
as my bridal is also at city square..

Btw, for ur photoshoot, did u gers wear the same shoes mean for yr AD? Cos I wanna buy just one pair of wedding shoe n my Hubby says sure will get dirty during outdoor so ask me get a separate cheap pair for outdoor.. True?? Txs! ;)

felixp

Oh btw, is there anything special items u bring for yr photoshoot? I have 2 days, 1 day indoor/outdoor jb + 1 day @ desaru.. Other than makeup, drink, tissues, shoes, wat else to bring?

ah_faith

Candy> I have not found a printer company yet. Already got few contacts but need to find the cheapest though. I also thought of going to JB to print but then I thought the time and money spent is almost the same if I print in Singapore. Last week I collected my cards from the hotel and it was super heavy! Lol! The kind concierge guy was still asking me if I can handle.. =) Fortunately my friend was there to pick me up. =S

Felix> I wore the same shoes for my ROM and PS (indoor and outdoor). I wore slippers for my outdoor but only when the shoot started, I changed to my heels. I am intending to wear it for my AD too as my gowns will be covering the heels so I see no point in getting another pair. Those bling bling shoes aint cheap also!

For my PS, I brought along props like soft toys, masquerade masks, handheld fan operated by battery (as the weather was pretty hot!)and bubble blower.. Bring some things that are meaningful to both of u so the album will be more meaningful =)

Bring along a pair of slippers for easy walk abt when u're between PS locations. Tink for ur hubby, he needs to bring his own belt, socks and probably shirts too.

candycandy001

ah faith> 320pcs is a lot, sure heavy...

Felix> Yup, slipper very impt, I didnt bring last time, even only 2-3hrs outdoor JB I already almost broken my leg. Ha^^ You may bring some props like toy/cardboard/ballon/bubble/kite. I m lazy, I only prepared cardboard (something like "we got married") but I didnt use at all. I hope can reuse the PS shoe but not sure can or not bcos my PS was in May, but AD in Mar the following yr, if it is kept in gd condition I may consider. My PS heel is super high (for me, abt 4") so I only use 1time and kept in store room now.

ah_faith

Candy> $0.80 for each insert is very expensive. I just called a printer company and was quoted $115 for 320 inserts. Almost cheaper by half. Will most likely be considering this printer company. =)

Btw, where u bought ur shoes de? So far, my ROM was in Nov 09 and my PS was in Sep 10 and it was still in pretty good condition. I believe I can use it for AD also coz the heels only served for my wedding purposes... Probably after AD can wear for other functions too =)

candycandy001

ah faith> I bought the heel in JB, somewhere near my BS. I dont know wat is the condition now, ha^^ after PS, I packed it into shoe box and throw inside the storeroom. If can re-use will be the best as I dont wish to buy another pair of high heel which I wont wear again.

Can share the email address/contact no for the printer company for $115 for 320 inserts here? I think my friend still haven confirmed with the printer also.

choco_ice

I got Shi Shi as my wedding planner and I think she's a dear. She's so kind as to get information I wanted as soon as possible.

She told me that I could customize the lunch package as I wished and they would try to accommodate me if possible.

I felt comfortable discussing with her. Unfortunately, the date that I am looking for is taken ... Thinking whether I can change the date now because I like Marriott...

choco_ice

I agree with you Candy.

Regrettably, I have no chance to work with her due to the ballroom for the date that I want has been taken. No choice, have to source other hotels liao

pieceless

Hi Candy > How many tables did you booked? I'm still in dilemma whether to contact Shishi. Michelle is very rigid and she still refused to provide me a day use room or a space for me to touch up make up, put our stuffs etc. She insisted me to book the room for SGD400plus. I'll be renting the poolside for solemnisation and wedding lunch at the function room for 6-8 tables. My package doesn't have a complimentary one night stay which i don't mind not having that, i just need to have a day use room is all i asked for. I am meeting her on the 26 Dec to view the venue.

candycandy001

confidential (ilovepat) > I visited the place while they are having a 8 tables banquet, looked ok to me. The max capacity (from the brochure) is 9tables. Actually I intend to have 9tables but shishi told me will be too packed, 8 tables just nice. If I wan a stage, can only put 6tables.

candycandy001

Hi, I have clarified with my colleague, he said the 80cents per card is the cost tat Marriott print the card. If we dont take the Marriott card, we can get 80cent per card to exchange other things such as additional cost for veg menu etc.

giraffe~

candy --> hey, sorry, just to clarify... so if i'm printing my own dinner invites, i can ask marriott to offset some cost for the dinner is it?

felixp

Hi giraffe, how much u need to top up for the extra deco? Mine is a lunch confirmed 25 tables, my coordinator - Michelle said i can only have the blue theme decor unless I confirmed at least 30 tables else I need topup abt 600 if I want the other theme.. I'll try to nego w Michelle, top up on deco like quite ex! Can save the $$ for something else I think ;)

ah_faith

*giraffe> My dinner will have balloon decor in the blue & white theme. =)

Felix> Have you check out with the contact I gave u? It's quite cheap compared to the rest. Or u can print in Msia too.

candycandy001

Hi all, 80cent per card, e.g. if you are given 100pcs = $80, if you dont take the hotel wedding card, if the $80 can be used to exchange other things. I counter checked with shishi le, she told me cannot offset the final bill but can exchange other thing. I haven checked out wat other thing can it be, maybe upgrade favour? Ha^^ My colleague told me if we need to order vegetarian menu, need to top up, can use it to offset a bit.

troides

Hi brides, I haven't been here for some time, it's getting lively here.

Only 1 month to go for AD, and I haven't print the inserts yet. I'm running out of time, so I'm going to go with Lil-art.

ah_faith

Anyone knows if
a) A Muslim guest is able to sit in with other Chinese guests in a table whereby the Muslim guest is having Halal food; or
b) The Muslim guest has to sit in a table which only caters Halal food?

If option a is applicable, do I have to pay the full payment of 10pax Chinese + an additional 1 pax Halal food? Or I can pay 9pax Chinese + 1pax Halal?

Aiyo, not sure if this' confusing but does anyone knows?

candycandy001

ahfaith> My friend with Holiday Inn last time, she paid 10pax chinese + 1pax veg. Normally ppl will consolidate all "special rqmt" ppl to sit at same table to save cost. But my friend thought like tat her friend will be very bored as they hav to sit with strangers so she paid the extra, let them sit with same grp of friends.

I m not sure abt Marriott practice.