Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Felix> Yup, even a simple wedding also costs a lot... My inlaw house still ok (4bedroom),my hubby's elder bro married and seldom come back.. We currently stay in my hubby's tiny room, after AD, will move to bro's room, bigger... so AC etc will do it there, dont need to sleep on sofa/floor for 1wk, ha^^

$1k deposit is really a good deal... I need to save for reno as well, super ex, you take the reno loan from bank? I have no $ for honeymoon liao. Ha^^ but still wish to go for many a small one.

Candy: aiyah its like that... $$ always not enough!! Yup we took renov loan from rhb bank... The lowest interest rate from wat I know. Cos ours is a resale we had to redo the kitchen n toilet.. renov abt 30k+. But for new flat, u probably dun need do so much, heard my friends did theirs for around 15-20k+.

Of cos must escape from Singapore to go somewhere, else very stressful.. Even go m'sia oso happy

Felix> Hee... Yup, I bought my own WG but will still get form Printemp la, I still need EG and teadress. Plan get suit+vest for my hubby online too, need to wait for next pay day.

I oso dun know leh.. I never think abt dat at all, ha... I only tot of things I need to buy for myself.. U have any good recommendations?

Hi, my hubby has a lot of shirts leh. Ha^^ Normally G2000 bah... For shoe he normally bought from departmental store, but last time for PS, he urgently bought from a men shoe shop in JB City Square (bcos my BS is there also), think will use back...

I bought 1 gown for myself, 2 CS for my mum, like buy nothing for him a bit unfair like tat. Ha^^

Candy: the cs u bought for ur mom, tailor made? Where? How much leh? I think my Hubby already got white shirt.. N shoes he prob buy himself...

So u confirmed ur wedding card layout Liao? Does marriot have the map to be inserted. How much u spent on printing?

Felix> I haven confirmed the printing. But plan to do it myself bcos I only hav 8 tables, mainly relatives, so many 30pcs will be enough. May buy those classy/transparent paper and go kodak/fujifilm to print. Marriott card didnt provide map, but you can check with their recommended printer, they should have some 'pattern' for you to choose. but I heard tat to include map normall will charge higher. My other friend told me 1 of the printer quoted him 80cent per pc, normal printing only.

My hubby seldom wear white shirt, he has a lot of dark colour/with line de. But he said will settle it himself. Black tuxedo suit + vest + pant cost me U$186 (MTM), just placed order last night.

CS for my mum is not custom made, I bought online by size (but havn received). I brought my mum to CS shop to try, then I saw the design is very similar from the online store, but price is abt 50% cheaper so I ordered online. Will update you once I received. I bought 2, ha...

Hi Candy: Oic. Then u can personalise the cards. Mine cannot loh. Wah 80ct per pc like very ex.

U also ordered the tux suite from DHGate? Yr BS package doesnt inclue that or the ones u saw there not nice? US$186 for MTM is very reasonable.

Hehes, okay. Let me know if the stuff u ordered is good. =)

Having fewer tables also allows u mingle with each and every guest, making it more memorable. =)

Felix> My hubby will still rent from BS. I bought him the black one, maybe he can rent white suit and chinese suit (if I wear kua, not confirmed yet). Will update you once I received it. 1st time I do the measurement myself, hope everything is correct, ha...

Btw candy, how long did it take for you to complete the album from PS date? Cos our PS is in feb, were wondering if will be able to finish by our wedding in may.. :p

Felix> I took super long... My PS in end of Mar2010, till now havent collected album...

10days to select photos after PS but my hubby does not free so delay till 1mth later. After selection, wait 1 mth for the layout; after confirmation of the layout, another 1 mth to print... However, when I went to collect album, I saw something need to be amended, then BS took back and re-do. Intially they committed to deliver by end of Nov but till now still haven done. I dont know whether bcos my AD is in Mar 2011 so they take their own sweet time or this is 'normal' practice esp when I already made full payment.

omg!!! Sounds very horrible! Somemore u didn't top up thinner album shld be faster how come they so inefficient!!! Haiz.. My case no choice cos my Hubby work shift work in dec n Jan n nov he on 1 mth reservist.. So cannot reschedule to earlier slots... I guess I have to chase them like crazy!!

Felix> Maybe I m bad luck la... Normally my friend can get it within 3-4mths. Just follow up closely with them, rushing may not have good result...

How many pages do you have? I dont think is an issue la, bcos they sent the softcopy to vendor to print de, 10-20pages also 1 printing. Maybe they dont wan to waste the trip, consolidate few albums then send for printing together...

Candy: Thanks for sharing with me... but u not bad luck lah... i think they know ur wedding not near yet so dily daily... when i called to book the dates, they kept asking me how come dun want book early... i told him if can i also want, but cannt.... I oso dun want rush.. but i hope everything will be in time. Anyway, i think will try to arrange to have it in early Jan... keeping my fingers crossed hubby's work schedule wont change again..

My contract is for 12 pages 30 poses... When they present the 1st draft layout to you, did u make alot of changes? I heard of pple having to wait for a long time cos each time they see the layout sure got someting to be amended...

Sometimes i think pple in services related to wedding/etc should be more attentive cos afterall this is an impt event for their customers... but then again, i also know the staff might be 'jaded', afterall, its just a job for them. =)

Felix> Depend on wat you wan la. My package is 11pg, 30poses. I only remove the unnecessary wordings. Didnt really change the layout. I dont know how to make amendment also, just feel like ok then go ahead. I change my bedframe photo from 1 to 3in1. but I m lazy to wait for the new layout so I just pick 1 pg from those already design in my album to bcon the new bedframe layout. So far so good.

Good luck for u

confidential (ilovepat) > Thank you.. This is my understanding also, but my colleague said last time he checked need 80cents per card exclude printing, surprise me. I think he misunderstood...

Feb gg to select gowns, photoshoot shld be in June,AD PG and animation booked already.. haven buy heels, ties those nitty gritty details lo.. still got wad else to prepare ah?

Hi, just to update you all, if you need additional room(/night) for chujia or for helpers,etc. the discounted rate is abt $268++ (w/o breakfast).

Hi Candy, Thanks! U taking additional room? Hmm... Also, you be ordering snacks for ur guests who arrive early for the tea ceremony? =p

Hi Candy, any idea how many discounted rooms can we have? The room will be about S$313.56 in total wor... Does the discounted rate applies to weekends?

Felix> My parent staying in Msia, I planned to chujia from SG, easier. However, I didnt take additional room as I found better place. Moreover, my hubby dont feel like fetch me from Orchard, he scared will jam. I haven ordered snacks, still hestitate whether to print invitation card (postcard) outside, shall see how much budget left... Any lobang from you?

ahfaith> I dont know how many rooms, but should be ok for 1-2 bah? must check with coordinator again. This price is for Sat, not sure will it be cheaper for weekday, need to book thr coordinator then can get the price.

Candy> Oh the contract stated 2 rooms max. But I may need more than 2... Not sure if coordinator is able to give me more.. But things haven confirmed yet so I will probably check with my coordinator when AD's nearer. My AD is on a Sat so i guess the price should be it.

Hi candy: I see... Even 250 oso quite expensive... All these loose items sure burst our budget.. I think maybe not catering snacks cos soon will be lunch Liao so I think shld be okay... But if the relatives really hungry then ask xiong dis go Marriott lounge buy bah... Wat u think? If cater oso need spend money n if cannot finish how?

Ahfaith: according to my contract, says can book up to 2 rooms at discounted price... But I think if u need more, sure can nego w hotel.. Btw, when is ur AD?

Hi candy: I see... Even 250 oso quite expensive... All these loose items sure burst our budget.. I think maybe not catering snacks cos soon will be lunch Liao so I think shld be okay... But if the relatives really hungry then ask xiong dis go Marriott lounge buy bah... Wat u think? If cater oso need spend money n if cannot finish how?

Ahfaith: according to my contract, says can book up to 2 rooms at discounted price... But I think if u need more, sure can nego w hotel.. Btw, when is ur AD?

Felix> My AD on 26 Feb. Will check with my coordinator once I can confirm the no. of rooms needed.
Any one print their wedding cards using Marriott's printer company? I emailed them twice on Tuesday but so far no reply from them...

ah_faith (ah_faith) > I didnt read the contract. Ha^^ If only for rest/put stuff, maybe squeeze a bit is ok? My AD is on Sunday, the price stated is for Sat night but I think Sat & Fri nigth should be similar price. ShiShi mentioned price may change, e.g. if booked now for Mar2011 is this price but booked in 2011 for same date, maybe more ex? Unless there is SARS/special promotion, dont think room rate will drop from yr to yr. You may check with your coordinator 1st whether they can fix the price for you 1st then you confirmed final no. of room required in later date?

ah faith> You are talking about 'catering'? I dont think I will do it as hotel already provide the lunch/dinner. Max I will buy small cupcakes/choco bar etc, wont order catering... You have XDs so good, I dont have, only 1 sister, ha^^ she would be very busy on tat day, need to sit at reception, also need to help me change gown. I didnt invite any friends for my SG banquet (limitation of no of table)...

Hi candy: by 'catering' I meant ordering of cupcakes, snacks etc... The last u checked coffeebean/ Starbucks right? So how, u ordering from which one? How much ah? Hehes, actually II will have 6 jiemeis n siongdis.. Alot hoh... I think they will be quite zhor boh cos mine is lunch oso nit much time/ thing for them to help... U only have 8 tables right? Then 1 powerful jiemei can liao bah..

Ahfaith: yrs so fast! Must be counting down... Mine is on 21 may.. But already counting down can't wait for it to be here soon... Hehes..

Candy & Ahfaith: share w us ur experience once urs is done hoh... Ahfaith, who is ur coordinator? Shishi as well? Anybody's coordinator is Michelle Fong? Share w me her style/pattern...

Felix> I bought coffee bean b4 (all my friends/colleagues like it), $26 for 1 box of 20pcs. Add $10 for delivery... My Jiemei = my younger sister, hope she will 'zi dong'. Ha^^

My AD also very soon, less than 3 mths le (6 Mar2011).

Candy: $26 only ah... I tot need 100-200... Saw on their website .. U mean the chocolate delight or cheesecake sampler? I think the chocolate delight looks more yummy! Wah liew their mini pizzas n mini quiches look damn yummy too! They have stores at ion orchard, orchard central n paragon... Maybe can get someone to collect them on the day or u gg to ask got delivery? Hehes, maybe I will order 2-3 boxes for my JM/XDs n the relatives who came early for tea ceremony..
txs for the recommendation!!

Urs so fast! I help u countdown!! Dun eat too much during CNY so u will be pretty n slim on ur AD!

Felix> Yes, I always order the choco delight. Nice... Dont need fork n plate la, but serviette is impt. Yup, you are having lunch, right? Do you request early check in for the complimentary room?

Candy> Yeah will try to confirm the no. of rooms required asap to book early! XD
Oh ur AD is like 1 week after mine!

Felix> I'm like 2 months away from my AD and I've already started havin jitters since like 2 months ago? About the same time as u! hahaha!Btw, my coordinator's Christine. She's very responsive to my emails and she'll even reply my emails at 10pm+ or 11pm+!

I cant wait for my AD to arrive too! Cant wait for the turnout of the decors! =D

Hi candy: michelle told me can check in at 10.30am.. Is this early enuff for u? Or u need to check in earlier? I think I might also ask Michelle if possible to check in at 9 or 9am cos my 接新娘's timing is 6am.. If cannot chk in earlier, dunno wat to do... Maybe go take pics?

Hi Ahfaith: hehes... I am just hoping my AD will come soon n I can settle things cos now it's just waiting for the time so dat can proceed with things...
glad that christine so onz..

Morning!
Yeah i am also hoping that my AD can come faster... as I await to go on Honeymoon! Not sure if there'll be spare cash left after the AD or not.. I hav not even booked my Honeymoon trip.. u girls book le?

Felix (felixp)> I also check in ard 10am. I anytime 接新娘, so may ask my MUA to arr ard 730am, groom comes at 9am. Then go his place to hav tea ceremony to his parent and go directly to hotel ard 11am. 12pm tea ceremony to relatives at hotel and start lunch at 1pm. Simple simple...
Do you have gatecrashing? last time my sister-in-law also 接新娘 ard 6am, but only come back to groom's place ard 9am. Maybe they take a lot of time in playing...

ahfaith> Yeah! Mar2011 btb... I haven booked honeymoon also as afraid no $ le. Ha^^ My hubby is studying, if confirmed going also need to wait till July.

Since I booked a resort for 'chujia'. Now itchy hand wish to have a pre-wedding party there. Ha^^ $~~

Candy> How's ur preps so far? It seems tt I haven do a lot of things! T_T Where u intend to go for ur honeymoon? =D
Shouldnt be a prob to have ur pre-wedding party at ur resort but then such parties will end late de and u have to clean up the place to prep it for "chu jia"... must consider wor

ahfaith> Ya lo, afraid my parent dislike also. Let's check out the catering price 1st. I wish to go LA but my dear said cannot touch our saving. If I need to save money now, not even enough for round trip tickets >.<

Candy> go for some neighbouring resorts as a "sugarmoon" first.. when u have more savings, then perhaps can go for an official honeymoon?

Hi Candy: Mine will have gatecash... maybe limit to 30mins.. so they need reach by 5.30am or even earlier cos the groom must successfully 接 me by 6am. So my schedule is something like:

3.30 am: 1st Makeup session
5.00 am: 上头/ Get ready for Gatecrash
6.00 am: 接新娘 + Praying
6.30 am: Set off for Groom's parents' place
7.00 am: Praying @ Groom's place
7.30 am: Set off for Couple's place
8.15 am: Set off to Hotel
9.00 am: Reach Hotel/ additional photo-taking
10.00 am: 2nd Make-up Session
11.30 am: Tea-Ceremony (Bride's &amp; Groom's)
01.00 pm: Lunch commences

See how loh.. my hubby not really keen on gatecrash... so in the end dunno if still have or not.

I planning to go Guangzhou + HK + Macau cos we already went europe backpack this year ... cos we know maybe next year after wedding may not have $$ left... havent book tixs yet cos hubby may be changing jobs so in the end may not even go for a honeymn.. we'll see how loh.

Candy: I oso wanna go LA ah... Yah US tixs very expensive!!
even with the weak currency...

Ahfaith: U have how many tables? I got 25... then 5 tables goes to my mum... so we sure lugi $4k++ liao.. i oso think relatives sure give lesser... keeping my fingers crossed that wont lugi alot.

Candy: Pre-wedding party sounds like a great idea... ;p