Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

twinkles

Hi Irene

Like what twinkleangel describe ... the red roses were made into a ball and really look like hanging lanterns on stage. It doesn't create the romantic atmosphere at all.

twinkleangel

hi rin,

u think so 2?
i thot it looks rather obiang...
finali i remember the word to it...
the 'ball' of roses remind me of "xiu4 qiu2"
stephine showed me the pics...

oops, i forgot 2 ask her rgding the complimentary use of projector... is it 1 or 2?
i mus remember to ask her when i mit up in jan...

twinkles

Hello twinkleangel

Totally agree with you. I find the whole set-up looks very chinese new year...too ang kong kong..hahaha.

usually they give complimentary use of one projector only.

hi Rin,
Seems like the red raph doesn't sound nice. i thought its gonna be romantic, with lots of red roses. Seems like garden of love has a much better atmosphere.

kitty_li

Hi twinkeangel,
Yah, agree with you. Angela showed me the pictures of the red rhasp theme. I didn't know how to react when I saw it! haha. Could only keep a staight face and move on quickly to the next picture. hehs...I thot it looked very cheena, more cheena than the Oriental Charm theme. hahaha.

But, the colours may not be as red as it seems. Pictures vs actual thing can be different. Esp the pictures are printed out on paper...gotta give some discount to the printer machine also. Dunno if anybody will take the Red Rhasp theme, then at least we can see the real thing.

phy_o

Hi elmo,
I didn't get free flow of beer. Though she did top up my beer for another 10L and I'm choosing the 30L beer as one of my wishes. Really not a good deal.

yzml21

Hi elmo
My package is 728nett (40 nett off per table).
free flow beer
Corkage waiver
Helpers room subject to availability.

I think I can quite happy with the perks but actually menu wise I think its not v fantastic. But since I like the ambience and location so much that I have to close one eye :p But think as long as the Chef can make simple dish taste good, it does not matter. Most important is both hubby and me are happy. I nearly sign up wz M hotel too, actually I like their menu, lots of ala carte menu to choose fm but they also not v flex, they dun wish to barge in free flow beer even though mine is a wkday package. So in the end I chose Mariott over M.

Hi Rin
That time when I talk to my coordinator, she mention if I choose Montage, she will give 2 projector leh...hmm think I better confirm wz her again, in case I need to pay for the other one.

snow_baby

we got 12 btls of wine complimentary from mariott.. as for teh remaing btls of wine we need to get it from them and thus will hv corkage waived..

yzml21

Hi CSI Fan
12 bottles complimentary are fm the wishes. I think I am going to choose that too. I be choosing the video montage and the wines. Believe they are the most ideal compared to the rest

Did anyome manage to get 2 nights stay at the bridal suite for wkday package?

kitty_li

Hi RainZ,
Thanks! oh I see...oh well, if can neg for 12 btls complimentary + the free flow beer, wah, that would be so shiok, rite! then can "save" one wish for something else. heehee...

leiatsh

Dear Mindy,

I also found the frige magnet interesting. Btw, how much did they charge you for it? Yiwen told me it is $1.50 each.

pinkdolphin

Hi mindy,

Me too... most probably will top up for the theme.

Hmm... gals, any idea for lunch, ard how many bottles of wine will be sufficient?
If get the wine from marriott, do they give better price than $22+++/bottle? :p

Baby snow & Rainz,

Tout Marriott is only offering 6 bottles of wine per wish in their wedding wishes. Can you share with me how come you are offered 12 bottles leh ?

leeing

Hi.. everyone.

I'm new in this thread. I oso intended to sign up with Marriott. Meeting Angela this coming thursday. I'm actually interested in their latest promo of $688nett package.

I wish to press for more thing.. can anyone teach me your professional nego skills.. hehehe.. all of you out there are very good negotiators..

Gift.

yzml21

Hi Shermaine
Sorry...mine is 6 bottles :p.

Hi Gift-of-God
Welcome to the thread. For me I dun have v good nego skill lah, basically I just tell them what I want, start with the most important thing example) Like Waiver of Wine Corkage, better price for their in house wine, extra helpers room etc... OR if you have another hotel in mind, can tell them they are offering you this or that and see if MAriott can give you the same terms.

Sometimes, they may not be able to grant all the things you need so guess both side have to give & take
Compare what you like on the few hotels you choosen and then decide again which is the best deal u have
Hope this is useful

augustina

hi gift of god,
welcome u too!!
compare other hotel's perk n marriott perk. n see what u really want then nego with them your requirement.

augustina

forgot to add on, some hotel allow the couple to bring their dog into the hotel rm, but i dunno know whether marriott allow or not..
as for me, i m more concern abt the food wise.i wan the hotel to serve good food and got good service lor.

micong

Hi Gift... Welcome!!
i guess main thg is to try to cut down hidden costs like beer and wine and lcd projector.

Actually Marriot's in-hse wine quite reasonable compared with other hotels... prices start from $22+++ (which adds up to abt $25.7/bot). So unless u can buy really cheap wine (less than $15),if u get own wine plus corkage,sure to exceed $26. So better off taking wine frm Marriot.

Maybe wat u can do is to negotiate for free corkage for ur own wine (I've got waiver for 10 bottles)...guess u can ask for more bottles free?

U planning to sign up the $688 package? Heard frm Stephanie dat not much dates left and it's before June 06... so better act fast!! =)

Hi rainZ...
I din log on for a while.. stressing out abt which BS to sign...thanks for ur advice. I signed up with JB Venus liao... i was there a whole day trying to decide... i muz say their gowns really cannot make it... but the lady boss reassure me they will help me look for similar designs that i've in mind. Main deciding factor is the photography and price (very competitive).

Can share with u abt my package...
Cost: S$2k
1 WG / 2 EGs (all OTR)
One 30" x 24" frame (s'pore BS onli offer 20" x 24")
One 12" x 15" crystal frame (s'pore BS offer 5R/8R frames)
and the main factor is they r giving me a 30-page digital album with 40 poses! Hope that would be enough for me,no need to add on pages liao...

micong

Hi RainZ...
forgot to ask how's ur trying of gowns? Ur BS is Sophia rite? Ur gown is MTM or OTR? I guess s'pore BS gowns all quite nice...so OTR oso ok...

yzml21

Hi mic
Nice to hear fm u. Oh so finally u decided on yr BS! hmm...I went for my 1st fitting last Thur and managed to confirmed on my wedding gown, yet to confirm EG and Outdoor Gown. Am going to select again this Sun, may wan to chg my wedding gown also if hubby dun like it cos he wasn't there last wk. What's yr email add? or u have MSN? tell u more on my package then

hi mic,
my friend also signed up with JB Venus. Her package abt RM$3388 or $3788. Can't rem but less than S$2k. Similar to your package but only 36 poses, not 40. Her pics are all v nicely taken. There is one purple cheong sum that she wore which looks great!
I will be meeting marriott this evening to discuss on my banquet details. Already signed up contract with them early this yr. But my terms are not really attractive. No waiver of wine corkage leh.

leeing

Hi RainZ, agustina, mic..
Sorry for my late reply. been busy with works lately.
hey..thanks for your useful tips. I'll be meeting angela this evening. See what I can work it out with her on an attractive deal from this $688 package. heeheee..

will share with you guys tomorrow after the meeting.

Tks.guys.. Gift

micong

Hi irene...
thanks for ur assurance...glad dat ur fren's pics all nice... i din get to see any purple cheongsam when i was there...the lady boss said some gowns jus returned to them, so still at the laundry... act i wish to wear a purple evening gown on AD...hope can find somethg i like.

irene n gift...
hope both ur meeting with angela is fruitful... "tan pan cheng gong"!!

leeing

Hi Irene

Ya,i've been there to see her yesterday evening. She told me she's meeting one couple to finalize..hehhee.. ha! we arrived there around 6, too bad we left early around 6.40pm. I guess she's must be rushing to see you after that..

So, have you finalize with her? We are still considering. But very likely will sign up with her liao..

gift.

leeing

Hi Mic

Thanks. I think we should be signing with marriott. Cant find such a good deal in $$$ for a 5-Star hotel liao.

corkage was waived for wines that we bring in. free flow of beers too. but not including projector, this is an extra. Actually this doesnt include extra room for helpers too, not even for a half a day, that after nego with her yesterday le....

When is your AD with them, mic? and when is yours, irene??

Gift.

snow_baby

ladies,

I chose the wine from the wedding wish..
the wish only has 6 btls complimentary..
But we negotiated for 8 btls .. and finally 12 btls.. mine is a thursday package in lunar 8th mth

hi gift,
i reached Marriott at 6.45pm yest. Didn't get to see u... Yes. already finalized with Angela on my theme, contract signed early this yr already. No waiver of corkage though. But i get to use free projector cos i chose the video montage as one of my wish. The other wish is the 6 btls complimentary wine. my AD is 8th March 06. I will be using the oriental charm. Dun really like the red raphsody (cos of the red flowers in the shaped of balls). The grand canopy for garden of love looks weird on stage.. Maybe must view the actual layout cos pics may look different.

piggy_in_space

hi gift

i also heard abt the 688 package but it is only for jan-may 06 rite? i am considering June onwards leh. when is ur AD? u ok to share with me wat u managed to negotiate for in the package?

if you not comfy, you can email me @ [email protected]

=) piggy

leeing

Hi Irene

Congrats.........
sorry for my late reply. I'm travelling during the weekends.

My AD was on 22feb, but she only left with 05March. Date was fully booked on feb,March, April&May. So, most slightly we will be signing up on that day. No choice liao.. cos i want a ballroom and grand ambience. So, price and place were there, right for me..

Actually, irene, Angela told me that she still pending for some other new themes to come out. Why not waiting for it? You might like it. I will probably use one of their theme and do a little changes on that. Not sure they allow or not... ya, you're right, it's rather difficult to gauge from the pic she shown us.

Btw, irene, where do you go for printing? do you use their recommended printer? I do not have any contact for good printer on wedding invitation card especially phrasing the words.

Gift.

leeing

Hi piggy..
I'm not sure June is still available or not. Cos' according to Angela (banquet cord.), it's until May only le... You probably like to nego with her for further extention of the promo itself.

My AD is on 22feb. but our families are all Ok to take up the date of 5March as our wedding dinner day. Actually, I'm not good in nego..heheheh.. I just follow some of the advices given by our fellow "Marriott" members here in this thread.

Ok, my package was something like this:
-1 night at bridal suite
-free flow of beers, chinese tea, soft drinks.
-corkage waived for wines bring in personally or buy from Marriott directly. (we'll probably get it from them as it's not on consignment base, whatever left you just return to them in the end of the function, which I think it sensical and resonable too).
-food testing up to 10 persons

hope it help in your nego.. if you interested to sign up with them.

Gift.

leeing

O..piggy.. sorry, for $688 package, there's no "wishes".., no extra room for helpers, no projector.

see.. even though price is attractive for a wedding dinner in a 5-star hotel. there bounce to have a lot of "hidden" NO.... heheheh..

gift.

leeing

Hi.. W,
few days ago, our fellow "Marriott" members welcome me.. hehehe..
now is my turn to welcome you..

Welcome on board..

Ya, my $688 package was with wine corkage waived, as what i described to Piggy above..

But if you interested, you need to act fast to at least put a name there to reserve..
I think all weekends have been booked up till May already. Very popular package!!..

Gift.

katoom

Hi Gift!
Tks for ur response...
HOW DID U GET them to WAIVE THE WINE CORKAGE for wine brought in??!! miraculous! Pls advise!!
ur dinner is on Sunday somemore ya?

leeing

Hi W,
Actually, wat I said is, "Can you waive off the wine corkage?" Then Angela said, "No problem".. that's all and that's how I get the deal..

believe it???? as simple as that!!! Me & my hubby didnt said much actually, she's the one that talked the most to us promoting the package. Maybe they are in some kind of an incentive scheme for staff to close as many deals as possible.. that's make them look good with all of the dates packed with weddings and functions..
really...we didnt say much though..

Gift

hi gift,
i used marriott's printer - lil'art. They have the wordings. I didn't change their wordings though. The printing cost is $100 for first 200 pcs of inserts. additional inserts at $10 for 50 pcs. These are normal printing, not hotstamping. I asked Angela for waiver of corkage but she's nt willing to. And my package was $738 nett - free flow beer, food tasting for 10 pax, carpark 20%, cards 70%. For projector, rental is chargeable, thus i video montage as one of my wishes, so as to get free use of the projector. I'm getting wines from Marriott. The other wish that i took was the free 6 btls of wines. U got a really good deal! So lucky!

Angela didn't mention abt having new themes though, other than red raphsody & garden of love. Chosen the wedding favour - magnet. Cos its really cute!

i'm also quite lost in wat sort of preparation is needed...

kitty_li

oh, prep-wise can't help u gals there manz...coz my AD is only end 06...heehee...So i'm only at the BS shopping stage...
In fact, I think I may be turning to u gals for help next time! heehee...

leeing

Hi Irene,

Ya lor. I would think that this's the best deal I can get in town liao.. Orchard 5-star hotel somemore.
Basically, I do not have any wishes for my package. but rather the rest of the thing is similar like yours. 20%for carpark and 70% for cards too.

OK, I'll check out from Angela on the upcoming new themes this coming thurs when I go down to see her for finalization. I let you know by then whether is there or not any new themes... hehehe..

gift

katoom

Hi Gift...sorry i keep harping on the wine corkage thing. can i just confirm that yours is the $688nett package and that when u bring in ur own wine, they actually DO NOT charge u any corkage?!! that's like WOW~
cos' she refused to waive mine! urs is a weekend ya? and cards? 70%? wat abt parking?

w

micong

Hi Gift...
Sorry for late reply...was outta town..
My AD is 7th May...n WOW...
kao_drool.gif
...ur package sounds fantastic! GlaD that our tips are useful to u!!

i din manage to get waive off wine corkage... stephine only agree to give us 10 bottles waiver if we wan to use own wine...guess i'll get the rest frm Marriot too...quite cheap compared to other hotels i chk.

btw u going to sign ur dine in march? Hmm..looks like little time 4 u to prepare...have u sign up BS/ take photos liao?

Hi w...
kao_welcome.gif

saw u keen to sign up the 688 pkg...u muz move fast coz like wat gift said,onli limited days left to choose...n if u havent take ur photos yet, it may be quite rush. i juz started lookin for BS dis mth n lotsa BS said my AD in May,so it's very rush for them esp if i wana sign up MTM pkg. heehee, but i sign up w JB Venus liao...their gowns all OTR...so not dat rush.