Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

eternity

i have my wedding dinner at marriott last nov and i must say i have a memorable wedding dinner there. my relatives are very particular abt food and they have always been very critical. But according to my mum, a lot of my relatives all commented that the food taste quite good and the serving is big. Even my collegues commented that the serving is big and they had 2 servings of the sharksfin each. They commented that the food is quite good too. My friends & collegues commented that the service is good too. When u have finish ur drinks and u need to refill, in normal cases, the waiter would just come with a jug and refill ur drinks. but for marriott, they will bring away ur glass, and replace with a new drink for u. so i find this service rather good. On the whole, i din really hear any bad remarks for my wedding dinner. My family and relatives are happy and pleased abt it, so i find that the money is really well spent. Hope all these info helps

curious

Hi Hazel

What did the Marriott people say when you highlighted the poor quality of food during the food-tasting session ? If it is so obviously frozen fish, I would have been very angry becos that is simply unacceptable.

Would suggest that you ask for clarification from the sales manager directly.

Am still evaluating my choices but have sort of put Marriott at the back of my list, given the mostly negative feedback regarding the food.

Curious

smartie

Hi 2oo3bride

Have you finalised your banquet arrangements? Looks like we'll have to pay more for next year becos of the additional GST (provided it is approved by parliament).

worried

Thanks, Eternity!

appreciate your feedback. I do agree we shd highlight it to the manager/co-ordinator that the food had not been satisfactory. Hazel, have you spoken to Sheena yet? Perhaps i shd drop a line to Agnes as well.

Hey Eternity, come to think of it, can you share your experience, & what were the dishes you had? it wld certainly help to calm our nerves.... ;p

maryann

Dear Marriott Brides

Just some feed back from my relatives who attended a wedding dinner last December. I was overseas and could not attend my cousin's wedding. Well the feedback was the food is horrible but ambience quite OK. You know, older folks will look in to food. I can imagine the look on the bride & groom's parent's faces when they heard about the comments on the food. I was quite surprise too myself as I do eat at Wan Hao. One reason may be that the Chef is good for a la carte cooking only - restaurant style but not banquet style - quantity cooking with quality.
Please do hightlight this to your wedding coordinators and hopefully they do look into this matter seriously. If the food tasting itself is not up to standard, what more about the actual dinner ? It sure scares me if I'm to have my wedding dinner at Marriott. Ambience alone is not good enough, food has to be Ok too, especially for the older folks. They love to compare and gossip even when your dinner is over already. Sigh !
Please take note and ensure that the food is OK.

regards
Mary

slavetolove

Oh nooooooo! This is really disheartening. Had really envisioned a lovely wedding at Marriott. Hearing all these negative comments is now getting me very worried. Really hate to have my wedding spoiled by the food turning out bad.

I find it hard to understand that a 5-star hotel will serve terrible food. Shouldn't they have some standard or reputation to maintain?! Sigh...

Not sure if it will help, but shall we all call our Marriott co-ordinators and express our concerns? We should highlight to them the comments we received and get their confirmation that they will address our concerns. Hopefully with pressure from more people, they will do something.

Sigh...

2oo3bride

hi smartie

have yet to finalise banquet plans yet. but it's either marriott or conrad. I'm going to do booking in May (next mth) I don't know whether will we be affected badly by the GST, hopefully early birds got special priviledge huh

Hi worried

don't get so worry. I guess everything will fall into place as the day comes. No matter what Marriott is still a reputable hotel. Actually we are paying more for the hotel's name, location and ballroom, so really food is secondary (to me) If I'm looking for good food, I would then invite my guests to those chinese restuarant where they can charge less than 500 bucks per table , right?

Anyway MOST ballrooms dinner serves not up to standard food, so I guess not to worry. and food such thing is very very subjective. so far my sister and one of my friend said the food is nice in marriott, but pple here all said not nice, what to do? so you really have to psycho yourself about it once you made up your mind on it.

eternity

i agree with 2oo3bride. We are actually paying more for the name, prestige, location and ballroom if we are booking a 5 star hotel. So, food to me is really secondary. Anyway, no matter how good the food is, ppl will not really remember it. For me, i have never regretted holding my dinner in marriott as its a reputable hotel and the ambience is quite nice. I have been to weddings in restaurants and i really dun like the ambience there, so what if their food is good. (sorry, no offence to those holding their dinners at restaurants. sorry). I have a free lunch at Wanhao after my wedding and i found the food really good. So i was surprised that i found so many ppl in this tread complaining abt the food in marriott. For my dinner, i chose those "standard/common" dishes, which i feel more comfortable with. If u choose those dishes which are special, uncommon and funny like eg ribs with coffee sauce, it definitely does not suit the taste bud of most ppl. So my advise is, just try to stick to those common dishes and things will not go wrong.

smartie

Hi 2oo3bride

good luck with your decision-making. Ultimately, the final choice depends on what you want out of your wedding. Afterall, it's once in a lifetime.
So take your time and decide - just make sure the shortlisted hotels keep the date open for you.

Smartie

junie

I attended the wedding dinner on a weekend at Marriot. I don't know if the waiter that served our table was a part timer or not.

I heard a lot of bad comments being passed about the bad food that night. Almost all the dishes were lousy..like I mentioned, sharks fin soup, vegetable dish a little wierd tasting (either too salty or sourish), the dessert dish was tepid/tasteless and sea cucumber dish soapy and very spongy to bite. I'm not a fussy person where food is concerned, but ..frankly, ..I would have thought Merriot should serve food of so much better quality. The food tasted as though it came from a lousy chinese restuarant.

I'm being frank here..not out to scare you guys or sabotage the hotel.

hazel

Hi Curious & worried,

I have yet to feedback to the wedding coordinator, thot i'll do so when we hv our discussion in May... guess it's better to speak to them face-to-face... rather than over the phone...

will keep u gals updated!

maryann

I agree totally on the above comments and it's really up to the brides to be to decide on what's their priority in choosing the hotel. Of course, food may be secondary but it has to be of average standard too like other hotels. I don't expect the banquet food quality to taste the same as Wan Hao but it sure is disappointing to hear that the food isn't up to expectation?
Well, yes you are paying for the ambience, location, etc.... at a 5-star price, but food is not up to 5-star standard ? Waht a waste.
Please do consult your wedding coordinators about this. It would be excellent if they can assure on the food would not be like what it's describe here. Otherwise, no amount of monetary compensation is able to cover the disappointment on the once a life time big day.

Mary

2oo3bride

Hi smartie

I've finally come up with a decision after comparing all hotels from different angles. I'm more or less now decided on Conrad like you. How you done your booking? Marriott is good with the location but ultimately I had problems with the tables coz I dont have that much guests for standby.

you can email me at [email protected] for discussion.

hazel

Hi worried,

Just an update..

Sheena called me this afternoon to arrange for a meeting... so I took the opportunity the discuss my disappointment abt. the food tasting.. she's veri nice and have offered to talk 2 the chef, willing having me to request for it... she oso asked abt. details of the dishes I wasn't satisfied wif even though she oredy knew from my written comments.. overall, feel she's as always, veri professional and she's veri willing to help...

Will update u again when I meet up wif her...

niway, how's ur wedding preps?

worried

hiya!

i've been tied up with my work...haven't done anything yet. but our parents finally sat down for din last week...and i felt so unhappy after tat!

not sure if i'm being sensitive, but my FH's parents kept pushing my parents for their REQUIREMENTS thro' out the dinner, like what they want. made me feel like i'm some commodity to be exchanged. even the day after the dinner, they mentioned it to my FH, who then asked me why my parents never bring up their request, as agreed. i mean, this is the first OFFICIAL meeting between the parents... i had the idea it was more to get to know each family better, more than anything else! besides, the wedding is still some time away. is it really critical to know what my parents want now? we're not asking for some emu eggs or anything, and i do believe my parents are reasonable pple so they're not going to ask for the sky!

sigh...really dun feel like preparing anything anymore...i thot my FH is more understanding than this. i'm so sadly disappointed. and i fear meeting his parents again, coz i really dun want to hear from them, asking me what my parents want again! i really dun want to displease anyone, but i thot this was my wedding, but it sure doesn't look like it... i had to explain to my parents why my future in laws are behaving this way...even when i dun agree...sucks!

but, the disappointment aside...i haven't really done anything ;-) so not much for me to get worked up or 'kan-cheong' abt yet. probably later, when i have to rush! but for the time being, i really have no time lor ;p hee! hope to hear more goods news fr u ;-)

hazel

Hi worried,

pls dun get so upset... dun stress urself up... mebbe ur FPIL are juz concerned dat ur parents are too paiseh to request for anything, dat's y they kept asking mah...

oso, it being the 1st meeting, they might not hv a common topic to tok abt. , except ur wedding, probably they are trying to start some conversation? think on the brighter side and u'll feel better

dun worry too much, okie?

sweety

Hi worried

This 'official' meeting is the right and only time for your FPIL to ask your parents for their 'requirements'. They are being respectful to you and your parents.

The old fahion way is for the groom's parents to 'ask' and get a list. Not for the bride's parents to 'request'. There has to be questions before answer right? This is just a old fashion way. They will send a matchmaker, or personally meet to ask the parents of the bride for her hand in marraige and their request. You are valuable in their eyes. You should feel very good about this. They may need time to prepare, this shows that they are very interested. It is in good faith and practice. Don't feel otherwise.

If all the time they meet and not ask anything but talk about the weather and the meal, You or your parents will feel worse. Your FPIL have a purpose for the meeting, that is to discuss their son's wedding. They might even be wondering if they should feel insulted that you or your parents or at all interested to discuss the wedding plans.

worried

HI!

How's everything running along, Hazel? i've just decided on my WG & EG. since they're OTR, they need to make some slight changes...my next appt will be in july. wow! finally some things are moving along....

guez wat! Marriott's had another offer/price-cut for their package! now i really feel like asking them for more freebies! ;0 greedy hor?!

btw, i'm still hunting for a actual day photographer... any recommendations? i've spoken to hilarion, but i thot he's pics a lil' too glaring/loud. albert fr everafter's taken, altho' i really like his style...how?

hey, aren't your pics suppose to be ready by now? can share? thanks! cheerios!

hazel

Hi worried,

glad to hear dat u're progressing well in ur wedding preps...

i din noe abt. the marriot promos though, wat freebies are they giving?

my photos are ready, but hv not scanned them yet.. if u would like some recommendations for actual day photographers, u can drop me an email.
i shld b veri free after my wedding's over, ie. from 10 jun.

marriott bride hopeful

Hi worried,
I'm new here, was just browsing thru the thread for marriott 'cos i'm also considering having my banquet there... i like the cosy reception area, very nice for pre-dinner cocktail, and the ballroom looks pretty grand too!

If you dun mind, may i ask wat is the offer/price-cut for their package? I received their quotation by email 2 weeks ago, but as my FH is busy with work, we didn't get down to meeting the marriott managers... Wonder if the quote they gave me was the revised one? $688/738 for weekdays, $838 for weekends (excl sat), $848 for sat. Prices are nett for year 2002, so i guess must add another 2% for GST for year 2003, right?

Thks!

delannie

Hi all ladies, pls refer to this mth Her World Brides as Marriot is having a promotion -
Wkday - $588 nett + free flow
Wkend - less $30 off each table + free flow beer

jasia

Heard they have very creative & dedicated wedding planners for their new ballroom. Any comments.
Heard they even tied up with a Home & Decor package?

worried

i've just been told last week that my wedding co-ordinator had quit and left -- do u think there's a cause for concern??

i've not spoken to any one replacing her, altho' my din is in dec, so i still have some time to iron details out...dear hazel, how was sheena? think i shd speak to her & get her to co-ordinate mine as well?

hey jasia! i've not heard anything abt this home & decor package? wat info do u have?

hazel

hi worried,

dun worry, sheena is veri nice and easy to talk to... she's the mgr, can make most decisions on the spot w/o hving to check... email me if u need more details, I can share wif u my experience.

cutie

Called Marriot to enquire about the wedding banquet today and spoke to Sheena. Sad to say, she wasn't very helpful.

Understand that Marriot if having some promotion for wedding from now till end of Dec. Asked her whether it would be applicable for 2003 wedding. "No". That's all she said.

Asked whether there's any promotion for 2003. "No". Her reply to me.

Very unfriendly! Was pretty put off. Did she get off the wrong side of the bed or wat????

hazel

Hi cutie,

I'm so sorry to learn abt. ur unpleasant experience. Well, if u're still interested in marriot & wld like to know more abt. it, do drop me an email, i'll be glad to help u if i could.

curl

Ihave booked a package with Mariott for a Sunday wedding in May 2003.

My sis did hers in Marriott as well 4 yrs back.

The reason why I took Marriott was becos of the location & ambience.

Heard abt their food std & service as well. Butl like what 2003bride say.. we pay for the ambience, not so much of food. End of the day, its my big day, u cant prevent pple from talking & commenting, so if we cant please all, why bother?

My personal good fren is working in Marriott & she introduce me to Agnes. Not to worry, she left for a career advancement in some other hotels. I must agree she is great person.

Sometimes it some luck.. i am prepared for all the worst comments in Marriott to happen as well. But I am also prepared to complain if they cant live up to the stds & price ...

As for the disct on the magazine, it is a strategy by them, i guess, to try to fill up Yr 2002 weekday slots .. All weekend slots are fully booked & it is not applicable to Yr 2003..
not so nice a tactic though ...

Also, if i am not wrong, nett price is actually inclusive of all taxes, so Marriott shld bear the additional 2 % next year .. correct me if i am wrong ..

May03Bride

jj

Final selection Hilton & Marriott cos both fitted our pockets(less than 650 for Hilton & Marriott less than 600 for wkday!!)

Any advise which is better?
Marriott's ballroom is really very nice with the different lighting & it's pillarless & its look is pretty new but heard bad comments abt food.
Hilton is old, with pillars but food is better. Anyway, my guests won't really be blocked by pillars cos the max is 50 tables & I hv abt 40 tables.
Dilemma now, pls help!!

Thks
JJ

cheerios

hi JJ,

i think Hilton is a bit old looking, Marriott looks much better, i.e if u think the ambience and looks of the hotel is impt. if u like Marriott, then go for it. like wat the others say, u can't please everyone and taste is veri subjective. i hv 1 relative who strongly recommend Marriott to me as he thinks the food is fantastic!!! personally, i hvt try before but finally did not go for Marriott.

all the best!

curl

Hi JJ

Think Hilton is really too old though the ballroom is also pillarless.

Marriott newly renovated ballroom is very nice & in, esp with the versatile lights effect.

You can go down & check it out.

I understand that prices for 2003 has been revised up becos they give u nett quotes. After the GST revision, they revised their rates.

Call them & check it out.

dol_phin

The quote I had states 688/708 for weekdays amd 800+ for weekends. Is this the revised quote?

Does anyone have the revised quotations and how much is it? I'm considering Marriott because the price was quite reasonable. If they aren't going to absorb the GST increase in their nett price, maybe have to consider other hotels now. :
( (I did think that nett means they shld absorb the increase and only apply new rates for 2004.)

cheerios

hi JJ,

i finalised chose Pan Pacific Hotel after obtaining a few quotes from other hotels.
now, my wedding is over liao. heehee ...

all the best to u!!

jj

hi curl,

Hilton's ballroom still has 3 pillars.

hi Cheerios,

gd for u, everythg over...mine still long way to go, now abit sian liao...:p

Hi dolphin,

so u taking marriot? when's yr big day?

curl

Hi Dolphin

I understand that Marriott's rates is 878 for weekends in 2003, so u maight wanna check out again cos my friend just sign with them at this new revised price.

Cheerios,

When is ur wedding?

Curl

cheerios

hee, feel a bit weird coming here as i'm not a Marriott bride.
hee ...

JJ, now u may be worried abt how the wedding banquet will turn out, costs etc ... but the wedding will be over one day and u'll feel a big load lifted by then, and be proud of yourself that u actually made thro. when's your wedding going to be?

hi Curl, my wedding is over in May. so more than 2 mths ago ....

dol_phin

Hi JJ,

Mine'll be June 03. Not signed with them yet, meeting them soon (first time) to discuss package.

Hi Curl,

I'm not sure about package price. Will meet to see lor. But mine's weekday so it won't be 878.

jj

Hi Cheerios,

my wedding still far far away.hehe , oct nxt yr..:p
but now just take my time in comparing hotels & bridal boutiques..

juzme

Greetings everyone

I'm new to this thread. planning to hold my dinner in Jun'03 (weekDAY).

Marriott is one of the few hotels that i've shortlisted. i have got a quotation from them recently: $668/$708nett (8/9 course) for a weekDAY banquet.

i understand that they are having a wedding show on 13 Oct (sun). if you sign up with them then, you will get free flow of beer for 4 hrs, and $30nett per table.

i have yet to meet and discuss with them.

Hi Dol_phine, I would be interested to hear about the outcome of your discussion with the co-ordinator

worried

I have just booked my dinner with Mariott. But judgin from the mix of responses, I'm really quite apprehensive how things will turn out.

gem

Hi worried,

I am going to book with Marriot too! No worries... one of my fren had wedding there this year Feb. It was very well coordinated, service good and the food was great too. Think taste of the food can vary from time to time due to the changes in chef or recipe. There has been mixed reviews but no point worrying. Dun make yourself unhappy on your big day.

Do you mind sharing your deal??

eternity

Hi worried bride,
there is no need for u to worry as i held my wedding there last year and me & hubby are very happy with mariott. Service, ambience, location are all 5*. Food is so so... but then who cares. I am sure the reason u go for marriott is becos of the prestige, location & ballroom. If thats the case, no worries, and stay pretty for ur big day to come. Wishing u a happy matrimony

worried

Hi Gem and Eternity,

Thanks, u can email me at [email protected] for details. Location of Marriot is indeed good, wonder if it has been spruced up. Any freebies or things to look out for?

bit less worried

baydec

HI marriott brides & brides-to-be!

just to avoid confusion, i've decided to highlight to all that i've changed my user name to "baydec". a case of one-too-many "WORRIED"s, & under the same thread too!

Dear WORRIED, i was "WORRIED" earlier, and had posted threads some time back in Apr. as you can see fr the feedback, it's really a case of differing opinion, and priorities. my wedding din is scheduled for dec...maybe u wanna refer to your other thread for my comments! cheerios!

Oh! and thanks to all who provide feedback to us! ;-) the initial worried.....

siva k

I have recently attended my frn's wedding, the ambience was fantastic, the new ballroom with their new lighting was great! Perfect for wedding.
The food is superb.. one of the nicest food i have tasted for a wedding dinner.
Service was wonderful too....
Don't understand why ppl critise their service.

dolphie

Thanks Siva!

I am on the verge of settling with Marriott! Your post has strengthened my gut feel towards the service and food.

As for pple criticising, maybe it's a "one man's meat is another man's poison" case.