Silhouette the Atelier

rokko

yes i do have my own design. So far though, none of the shops that I visited can tell me on the spot that they can make it. All have to check with their craftsman. Apparently, none has made this kind of design before so not very sure if it can be done.

anyway, keeping my fingers crossed that carat club can do it.

hellos!!

bubbles
i'm getting the kua from silhouette. but it's thrown in FOC, since i took the whole package from them (WG, WG, man's suit). sorry, so i don't know how much the rental would be for your case...
i went to allure charix before. their designs are quite nice. so your WG is from there? when's your AD? got your WG already....

cutepigs
so it sounds like carat club was a better experience than larry's/je t'aime/fairy's inc etc? i'm sure somebody will be able to do the design. then it'll turn out unique and lovely!

rokko
good, keep it up! me also trying to travel more...see the world. before i turn into a "huang lian po".....(i think once i have kids, it'll be a lot more troublesome to travel).

tintin
wah, friday nite chong at zouk...you must still be very young...full of energy. nowadays, all my kakis are married and many have kids. all have mellowed on me....man, i miss the "old days"

<font color="0000ff">blush</font>
yeah... carat club is indeed a better experience. keeping my fingers crossed. very personal service too. something that i find most jewellery shops don't do.

btw we also took the full package but minda only mentioned to me lending my fiancee the kwa for the photoshoot. You mean the kwa also lent for AD?

Hi Blush,

my AD is 8 Oct 2005, i am super kiasu!!haha..
just saw the gown, fitted nice, does not make me look fat, $450, BUY. ahaha..anyways EG/CS more impt, 'cos i am not having a church thing, so think most of my guests will see the EG/CS more than the WG.;)

cutepigs
i didn't need the kua for the PS, i only wanted it for AD...hmm, never occured to me that ppl may have it for PS. wah, i better remind Miah then. or is anyone going to silhouette anytime soon?
for my PS, i am intending to take EG and WG only. if got time for one more change, i will wear my cheongsum. i'm planning to tailor a cheongsum for the tea ceremony also. i'm not wearing my WG for tea ceremony. (yes, i'm weird. lots of friends have told me that already)

bubbles
haha, it's ok to be kiasu when it comes to wedding! i booked my dinner venue more than a year in advance...
$450 is really a good price for a WG! so what's your gown like?

Hi Blush,
mine is an ivory duchess satin bustier, dropped waist, ballgown, with about 2-3 inches of embrodiery/beading at the top of the bustier which lines the entire top(including the back). Its sorta contained like a big horizontal stripe, not the streaming down type...eh you get what i mean? haaha..i will get AC to add details to the hem of the gown, maybetop up 100plus, still a good deal!

Hullo!!
it has been a crazy day at the office..

hope that everyone is having a better day then me!

rokko - Yes! am replacing the cheers part with a tequila pop
hahaa.. maybe will be drunk after that then! heheh..

Blush - am going to Silhouette this saturday.. my design session with Miah. but not quite sure what to expect..he told me to bring pictures of gowns that i like. Sil brides - Got any advice for me? tks!

dear steph
i just had mine done 2 weeks ago
bring your girlfrens and magazines! i tried the gowns and my girlfrens basically helped to give opinions regardign every single part of the gown...etc...hemline..details..colour..material..i didnt know i had to be so detailed. in the end i spent 3 hrs at Sil with Miah..but it was really fun and felt so proud when i was done

enjoy!!

cutepigs, orrr i see... so the good pple at caratclub are going to check whether ur design can be done eh? i'll keep my fingers crossed for u, let us know the verdict yah?

bubbles, i hvnt personally popped by allure charix, but i've heard plenty of good comments abt their WG and in particular, their CS... im thinking of asking miah to do a CS-style inspired EG for me, i'll see what he says, otherwise i may prob pop by allure charix to see their ranges of CS!!! how is their CS like? any advice/comments?

steph ah, u starting ur designing already? so exciting!!!! do u have any design in mind already? if not, do flip thru mags to have a feel of what tickles ur fancy - lace? embroidery? beading? and what silhouette style u like - ballgown? mermaid? and even what neckline u want - halter? spagetti strap? bustier?

and also, if u hvnt already gone to this very informative website, do! click here to go to theknot website! plenty of WG styles and designs for u to choose from! but be warned - u may end up being *more* confused than ever! hee

jeanz, hey i've got a *really* terok memory, did u share how ur designing session with miah go? can share how ur WG/EG is looking like?

bubbles
hmm....i can imagine the gown. sounds good! and definitely good value for money. so will they do any alternations for you for size?

steph
wah, your wedding sounds so happening! you know, one tequila, two tequila, three tequila, floor.

but yes, read plenty of magazines to get some idea of what you like. then let miah judge if that design suits you, or how to tweak it to personalise it...
while trying on gowns (before signing up), miah managed to convince me on what i look good in, which is different from what i was planning initially. but after a few more gowns, i must say i agree with him....indeed expert's advice.

jeanz
i asked my friend yday, she says she's not in touch with you...so we'll just have to play the guessing game as to who rokko and i are!
rokko was from ncc, and i was from LDDS...not sure if that helps...
good to know that you enjoyed your designing. i have yet to set a date for the appointment!

rokko

it was fun especially u can also chit chat with Miah
What i did was try on the WG with the design closest to what i have in mind and modify a couple of stuff..point here and there to Miah (who is so very sweet and patient)My design is a bustier ballgown with lace on top half and layered organza on the bottom with slightly long train..OTT eh? but the organza really won me over..and since my usually expressionless FH said "wow" i guess the design was it

nevertheless i had to alter some details which do not flatter me eg. waist level..bustier outline etc..so always good to bring girlfrens along for opinion. As for my EG its a 2046 kind of cheongsam ..(as Miah coined it)actually the EG was difficult to design or choose cuz there so many designs and colours etc..

blush
guessing game? i very bad at them leh..oh well i just have to find my yearbook somehow then..easiest way

hiyas!!

hehehe..more about my gown designing..me and Miah have talked about the type of gown i want, the rough design..i tried on one piece WG that i really love, so i think i will more or less stick to that style. On sat, he said he is going to bring me the material to feel and perhaps the type of neckline that would look good on me, the train, long or short.. the design on the bodice..hahaha.. so many things!! yes, good suggestion on bring my gals friends! they can look out for me yah? so excited.. wanna to see Miah again..hehe..

Hi rokko,

Actually they dun really have many CS(when i went)..they have a lot of EG that will fit either the bride/bridesmaid/ a formally cheonging night..;p..i bought a black tube with purple retro-style dots with black tulle layers..;)..

their number is 63237868, heard their new collection will come out early next year, maybe you can ask them? 'cos i heard much of their present collection is already gone..

Hi Blush,
they do alterations for length for free, others for $30.

i went down for my first visit to Sil yest! Very happy with Heath, think he is quite relieved 'cos both FH and i dun mind low cut, high slit stuff with drama..;p

present idea is to do something like the green kebaya on the manneqin, lace top and satin long train skirting with lace trickling from the top to the top of the slit and around and upwards from the hem..;p..either green on pink, or pink on green..beading-dunno yet..FH really loved the idea, and gave many suggestions..

glad that the price of the stuff i want is really reasonable too!;) will bring gal pals to see the week after..think i am set on Sil!;)

WOW...
I just went on course on one day and there's so much to read !

bubbles
Welcome to this tread, oh behalf of the members of Silhouette fan club would like to extend our warmest welcome and hope that your wedding preps will be an enjoyable experience for you and your future husband *hugz*

Silhouette Fan Club Member's Details as at 19 Nov 2004, 10.30 am

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dinner venue</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church / Solemnisation</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Designer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PS Photog</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD Photog</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Sweetpea</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">15/01/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raffles Hotel </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wesley Methodist </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Edge </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Edge </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Steph Ho</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">23/04/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Conrad </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Conrad </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">NIL</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bedok</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">jeanz</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">30/07/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Barkar Road Methodist </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">River Valley</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">rokko</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10/09/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Andrew's</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">NIL</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hillview</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">cutepigs</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18/09/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Marina Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> St Mary's of the Angels</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Minda</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> Utopia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> Kalydescope</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> Bukit Batok</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">bubbles</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">08/1005</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Heath</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">blush</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">19/11/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Ignatius</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Chris Ling</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Benny Ang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bishan</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">tintin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10/12/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Marriott &amp; Siloso Beach</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Vincent De Paul</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Heath</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends of The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends of The Pond </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holland Park</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">busybee</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">16/12/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Regent</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ChrisLing</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hurricadia </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Seng Kang</font></td></tr></table>

rokko
His gf is the one that is a reporter in the business times yah? Are we talking about the same gal?
How did you know her? Same school?

jeanz, thanks for sharing, girl! ur WG sounds gorgeous leh! what with bustier with lace and layered organza! rather hard to visualise and not too sure if the picture that's popping into my head comes close to the real thing, but it certainly sounds GORGEOUS!!! and ur EG is a 2046 kinda cheongsam?? eh that sounds like smtg im looking for also leh!!!! heheee... im thinking of having a cheongsam kinda EG, but no ideas in head yet, will discuss with miah on details... hey can i find out how did u conceptualise the cheongsam style? did miah design it, u showed him pixs or u tried smtg there and miah conceptualised it from there? eh thanks for much for entertaining my qtns leh... i've no idea why but im a little anxious about the designing part!

and im not sure if u know me lah cos i was v low-profile save for being part of the noisy bunch of ncc girls.. hee - they used to call me tan-tan (that was my nickname in sch)

steph, glad to know ur session with miah went well! sounds fun leh, try here, try there... hee... but im sure miah will be able to design the WOW gowns for u!!!
so when r u next going down to see him?

bubbles, thanks for the info! yep i think i'll prolly go in when the new season come in then... perhaps jan? im in no hurry anyway, and good to wait - i need to whittle that waist down to a decent size first!! hee

hey tintin, yep yep she's the one! she's quite a babe isn't she?? she has these v big doe eyes that i've always envied! hee... she's a fren's fren but we were in the same church (i've moved to join A at his church), but she has been working overseas for the longest time so im not v close to her - she definitely knows me... hee... say hi to her for me next time yah? ;p

*big hugz* back to TT, rokko and blush...that's kinda late yah? but BB is still buzzing around harrassed and dishevelled. *sigh* my day started at 7 in the morning and i'm still here at my desk. my zombified colleagues and i are just going about our jobs like robots and quietly waiting to knock off at....say, 11pm? nah, not that it's some display of stoicism. more like batteries flat.
gotta report tmr at 8 too.....would be walking into a wall soon.

Hi Rokko,
Yes she's quite a babe
Many men look at her one. She look like "yang wa wa" type. Didnt know she was from NC. Yes will say hi to her next time I see her at some photo opening or wedding or party...

Hi Tintin,
thanks for adding my details in..heehee..now can't stop thinking of what my EG will be like..;)..think i will MTM a teadress CS somewhere else..a pale gold CS with striking blue lace appliques..heh..

Hi rokko,
i will be going down to AC next week to collect my cocktail dress and ask them about adding details to the WG, will look out for CS, and get back to ya!;)

Hi Bubbles,
No worries... welcome to the club. I'm sure your gown will turn out beautiful

Will Vern be going down AC with you? Can I like tagg along coz I looking around for my bridesmaid dresses...

Hello Superbunny,
Weekend was spent working... and tomb sweeping... How was your weekend?

Hi tintin,
he went down the first time, but wants my gal pal's opinion, since we basically have the same opinion. I will be going down with my pal this saturday at 3pm though, i can pick you from the east;)

Silhouette Fan Club Member's Details as at 22 Nov 2004, 12.30 pm

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dinner venue</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church / Solemnisation</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Designer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PS Photo</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD Photo</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Sweetpea</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">15/01/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raffles Hotel </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wesley Methodist </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Edge</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Edge</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Steph Ho</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">23/04/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Conrad </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Conrad </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">NIL</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">FabianLim</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> Bedok</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">jeanz</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">30/07/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Barkar Road Methodist </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">River Valley</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">rokko</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10/09/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Andrew's</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">NIL</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hillview</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">cutepigs</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18/09/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Marina Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Mary's of the Angels</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Minda</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Utopia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> Kalydescope</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> Bukit Batok</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">bubbles</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">08/1005</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Heath</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">blush</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">19/11/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Ignatius</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Chris Ling</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Benny Ang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bishan</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">tintin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10/12/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Marriott &amp; Siloso Beach</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Vincent De Paul</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Heath</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends of The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends of The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">FabianLim</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holland</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">busybee</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">16/12/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Regent</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Regent</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ChrisLing</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hurricadia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Seng Kang</font></td></tr></table>

0.8 ct means 0.8 carats (which is also called a 80 pointer). That's the weight of the diamond itself.

F refers to the color of the diamond. D,E,F belong to the colourless grade.

VS1 refers to the clarity. The highest is IF i think which is internally flawless, followed by VVS1,VVS2,VS1,VS2.

Basically the above are the 3Cs of the diamond. There is still one more C which is the cut.
The four of them combine determines the value of the diamond.

Hope i get the scale right.

Announcement : Silhouette Annual General Meeting

Date: 27 Nov 2004

Time: TBC

Place: Coffee Café @ Level 1 Stamford House

Please revert on availability to attend. Thank you.

hullo!!

Thanks Tintin for all the arrangements for the AGM
This sat should be okie with me. Let me know what time alright?

princesswong - Enjoy your appt with Minah
Am sure you will have a wonderful time!

I just spent my sat afternoon with Miah on my appointment! wow.. it was totally fun
and we really went through all the details..just like what you girls have been telling me! Am so excited now, can't wait to see my gowns..hehe..can't sleep at night cos kept thinking about them. What can i say, Miah is wonderful!

Hi Tintin,

i can prob pop by for a while for the AGM since we are both going down to Sil this sat...but its a gal pal saturday, so i plan to shop and eat and go for a movie later in the day--from around 5pm.;)

Hiyee

Steph Ho, thank u. Me excited too cos I m gog w my FH n my gf.

Dear Sil Btb, remember to pass me a wink if u gals are there at Sil area.hee hee

FYI, I have fixed my appointment at 3pm, coming sat....

See ya girls have fun during AGM.

oh! oh! AGM this sat?? i wanna go!!!! but im rather tied up in the day... have got a lunch dessert party thingy and then meeting a fren for tea after that... but dpding on what time, if u ppl are meeting later in the day (tea or late tea) i'll *definitely* join in!

argh....i'm flying off this sat!!! erm...any chance of making it a brunch thingee? :P puh-leeze? i'm leaving on a night flight, but need afternoon to pack.

princess
i'm sure u'll have lots of fun at sil this sat!! drop by the AGM on your way there...
we are looking fwd to u joining our fan club!!

cutepigs
wow, looks like you really know your diamonds! *impressed* your FW is a very lucky girl!
i think for cut/shape, there's the usual round (good ones are round brilliant, i think), there's marquis (which is kinda like the shape of an eye), there's princess (which is square), etc etc
when i got my engagement ring, the general concensus was that the ideal cut was the best...altho nowadays there are others which claim to be more sparkly cos they got more facets...
also, check the certification body. some are most prestigious/trustworthy than others...

ok here is somemore of what i know...

round brillance is considered the best cut for engagement ring because it is mathematically calculated as the cut which enables the diamond to have the maximum brillance. And in order to obtain the maximum brillance, it is also calculated that 58 facets would be required.

Lee Hwa destinee diamonds (which is what my fiancee is wearing, for those who are interested), has 57 facets for all their diamonds. They remove one facet from the bottom so as to make the diamond more brillant. However the downside to this is this makes the diamond very sharp at the bottom which means that extra care must be taken when setting the diamond else it is easily damaged. The upside of this is that the diamond does indeed sparkles with more brillance even in dim light.

Let's talk about soo kee's higher end diamond... the brillant rose. It is a 66 facet diamond because they cut an extra 8 diamond facets on the top of the diamond. This lets in more light into the diamond, making it look much whiter than other diamond. If i am not wrong, this kind of cut is not under brillant cut but is under fancy cut, just like a princess cut. Anyway, the downside to this brillant rose cut is that while it looks very white, it does not sparkle with much brillance.

Then there are also a lot of high end diamond. Take for example charlotte atelier. Their diamonds are 108 facets. This makes the diamond sparkles with a lot of brillance but in my opinion, there is too much brillance. What i mean is when i look at it, the diamond does not have a clean clear brillance, rather because of so many facets, I feel that the brillance is rather non-crisp but there is a heck of a lot of brillance there. Anyway, I think it is real difficult to make 108 facets on one diamond which probably justify the price they charged.

As for certs, I heard of 3 kinds - the GIA, HRD and AGS. If i am not wrong, the AGS cert is the most strigent of the three as it not only grades the color, clarity and carat of the diamond, it also grades the dimensions of the cut.

wow cutepigs, u are THE expert on diamonds!! u must have put a lot of thought and effort into selecting the perfect ring for ur fiancee! ur fiancee is indeed one very lucky and blessed girl!!
i know NUTS about diamonds leh... one fren asked whether my engagement ring is 4 or 6 claw (is that whatcha call it?) and i didn't even know what she meant! only when she explained then i realised what she meant (and so simple somemore! told ya im terok at this!)... hee

princess and bubbles, hey u both will see each other at sil then, since both of u have appts at 3pm!!! hee... mebbe i shld make an appt wif miah at 3pm and then we might as well have our sil fan club AGM there instead, with miah, minda and heath as the board members!! hehee

blush, eh i hvnt replied u yet hor, but i will do so in a jiffy! watch for my mail!!!

tintin, thanks dear for arranging the AGM! but i think timing might be a problem, since blush can make it only for brunch while i can make it only for tea/late tea - eh blush ah we are mutually exclusive! hee... well we'll definitely all try to meet...

cutepigs
wah!! u really are the expert. must have spent ages doing research...
hmm...i wonder if actually men know more about diamonds than women, cos they are the ones buying engagement rings...so make sure they know what they are paying for. whereas we just receive them. look nice can already...hahaha

rokko
yah lah...i wait and wait and wait....neck long already! :P okie, will watch out for your mail!

tintin
hmm...since sat is so packed..can we put it one night after work? maybe tomorrow nite? or do u already have appts at the studio?