Silhouette the Atelier

starlight

Pinkapple, I was there in the afternoon. Think I am not 1 of the brides that you saw.

I like my gown and makeup. My makeup artiste is Freddy. He is a funny man ... make me laugh throughout the trial makeup session.

lingz

hmmm, thanks pinkapple & mzbee...more assured now..

hi Starlight, me using Freddy too..

Hi fish,

Heath is actually one of the pioneer designers of Silhouette. He left to help a friend at Allure bridal and now he's back in Silhouette. My friend worked with Heath a couple of years ago and she told me that he's very nice. So now I'll be working with him for my wedding prep after Amanda leaves.

As for Amanda, she'll be taking a break before she decides again.

I kaypo a lot today when I went for my fitting. :p

sep03

Me went down to Sil today...was attended by Minda coz Miah was busy...

Have got a qn here...I brought pic of gowns that I thot I would like printed from the internet...drama type as in laces and beads...so Minda let me try gowns which are of the this type...

From your experiences, did you all try all "types" of gowns b4 finding out wat you like and suits you?...

I understand that Sil does not "specialise"...if you have seen their laces and beads embroidery...any comments on their quality?

BTW, do the designers sew the gowns themselves?...and does the package come with a can-can to make your gown "pong-pong"?

Appreciate all responses...THANKS!!!

pinkapple

Hi Sep03,

erm... I dun think I tried ALL types of gowns. my designer's minda. on my 1st visit, she just let me try those which she thinks fits me. n that's of cos after finding out my venue, looking at my physique, etc.

find that she make good recommandation. neckline, length of trian, etc, suited me. those which my bf liked didn't really suit me.. hee.. so if u trust her judgement, I think save quite a bit of time.

but of cos since u already told her that u like those drama kind. then she'll let u try those lah.

I dun think u need to try ALL. waste time n energy. if the designer has good jugdement, don't have to make u try everything. of cos if the customer wanta try everything then I guess the designer will allow oso lah.

I've seen their laces, beads + embriodery. but I think I'm not a good judge of quality + workmanship. all I can say is that they look v nice n classier than those taiwanese style boutique loh.

those gowns which are meant to be pongpong will come w the cancan. I dun think any bridal shop will not provide cancan lah.

eh, designers sew the gown themselves or not har? eh... like I mentioned b4, I saw Miah sewing on the details for an evening gown lah. as for the gowns themselves, I dunno. then again, sometimes the helpers do some sewing + alterations too.

sep03

Hi pinkapple,

Thanks so much for your reply!...felt a bit more assured... ;-)

I'm jus that type that must make dead sure that I've not missed out other design / style that might suit me better....think maybe I should let her suggest (meaning dun show her the pic?)

BTW, how many boutiques you visited before deciding?...is 5/6 ok?

pinkapple

sep03,

wah 5/6 ah? that's quite a lot.. hee...

me didn't really visit many lah. cos I actually book with other bridal shop some 3 years ago liao. but then I like the look of Silhouette.. (on the outside) haha. so I decided to go in n take a look.

then after reading the forum comments, I decided to pay a visit to Kevin Seah too. oso went to Julia Wedding News. in the end still decided on Silhouette.

so I reckon i visited 4 altogether.

cldc75

Hi, I am oso curious whether Silhouette will be having any bridal show soon? anybody can advise here?? Thnx!

starlight

Hi Pinkapple, my wedding is on 13 Oct. Now busy wif wedding preparations and house renovations ....

Hi Flowy, have you gone for your trial makeup ?

sep03

Hi pinkapple,

How do you find Kevin Seah?...I first saw the french laces he used on the gowns he displayed...but I didn't try coz it was lunch time ;-P

Ever since then, I'm swooned with laces embroidery...but can't decide if Sil can do laces as good as him... ;-)

lt

hi, sil will not be doing any bridal shows this year. spoke to miah before and he said super busy with business so not time to organise!

pinkapple

Hi Sep03,

eh... I dunno howta jugde who do better lah. Silhouette oso do laces. my gown is lace one...

I chose Silhouette over Kevin cos Silhouette gowns give me a more grand feeling... n Minda considers the overall of my wedding. I feel that Kevin is more into details... not only details on the gown itself.
eh, of cos Silhouette do good gown details oso lah.

my bf chose Silhouette for the same reason oso. + Kevin is more X. haha. bf's the financial guy for our wedding

starbright

Hi, I am also a Sil bride.

I will be going for my photoshoot in July and my photographer is Chris Ling. I was told by Amanda that the entire photoshoot takes only a day. Is this the norm 'cos I heard from my friends that a few of them took 2 days for photoshoot ?
Also, I have not decided on the hairstyle, hence my makeup artiste said that on that day, he will show me the different kinds of styling and I can choose from there. Wonder how so much things can be done in just 1 day ?

Can someone enlightened me ? *blur*

disappointed

Is amanda really leaving? I was juz about to sign up with them. Took a long time deciding but felt amanda still the bes. Sigh....now have to decide again.

piglet

Yep ... photoshoots are usually one day. Enough to do both indoor and outdoor. Not to worry ... also will have enough time to do hairstyling and makeup touch in between gowns.

pinkapple

yah starbright,

no worrys. I just had my fotoshot last week. one day gao-dim.

usually those taiwanese style bridal will use 2 days. local fotographers one day. I u want 2 days must pay extra.

starbright

Thanks, Pinkapple and Piglet. I feel more assured now. Also called up Heath to check it out and he said most of the brides in Sil can complete the photoshoot in 1 day. Also, there will be extra charges and the amount is not little. Guess I will stick to a day.

nite gal

Hi Cherubies

Can't help but notice that your big day is 26 July 2003.. mine too! Will be having the church wedding and dinner recep on that day. Perhaps we could update each other on the progress of wedding preps. I'm currently cracking my head over which bridal packages to select and will be paying silhoutte a visit soon.

Meanwhile, happy planning!

cherubies

Hi nite gal,

yeah!!!

ya ya, come join me in july 2003 thread!!!
i'm having my church at chijmes, no dinner tho!!
u too happy shopping... will be fun but tiring...

priviledged

Hello Silhouette brides.
I'm a potential Silh bride too. Went there yesterday and fell in love with the gowns. Heath was SO enthusiastic about designing a kebaya style EG for me. He's Peranakan too, it seems.
But the prices are a little over my 3-4K budget (after adding photography).

Still, I am tempted. DOn't know if it will be the right decision to stretch my budget like that or not.

Before Sil, we have seen 3 other salons. We'll still be looking at another few places before finally making the decision, but don't know if I'll find anyone else willing to design a kebaya for me!
Should I settle for a cheaper place and compromise on the EG (and the good service)?

Any words of encouragement?

priviledged

Hello ladies again,
I'm still deciding, after visiting about 9 other bridal shops already, and trying on countless gowns(!), Sil is still on top of our list.

I'd just like to find out if there are any hidden costs with Silh, such as 'false eyelashes' for the makeup and the enigmatic 'ampuoule' that many other people talk about. What about dry-cleaning?

Thanks in advance for your help. I'm looking forward to signing up with Silhouette, but just want to be really really sure so that MIL and mother don't grumble about the cost etc.

pinkapple

Hi privi,

only cost u'll have to pay on top of the package is the dry-cleaning. ard $50 I think. can't remember lah.

u don't have to pay for the fake eye-lashes or any other makkup stuff.

other cost that u might incur is when u decide to develop more fotos than what's in ya package. but then again, that's b classified under the foto package cost. not Silh's cost. =)

I think ah... 9 bridal shops is really a lot! think by now u'd know what u want liao rite?

hope the info's useful to u.

sep03

Hi privi,

Me oso sourcing for bridal studios....also beri interested in Sil...can u share which 9 bridal shops u have visited?

priviledged

Sep03

I've been to a range.

Univerasal Bridal Studios in Toa Payoh
Fame in Tampines
Graceful Image
Lezen
Emanual B.
Le Galleria Doreen Chee
Julia Wedding News
Ted Collection at Bugis
Wedding Concept

as well as some we walked past without going in, especially in the Tanjong Pagar area.

Still want to see X-Zen, and this is going to be the last stop. We'll probably make an appointment with them this week.

poki2412

Been to Sil, agreed wif you gals, their svc is good & not pushy....their gowns are nice & i like it very much....

Been to a few bridal shops, still prefer Sil... BUT the px is a bit steep, incl photography can come up to S$6K.... Now still considering....

pinkapple

Are your fotos ready?? Can share with us??

poki2412

pinkapple

can i see your fitting foto?? Fail to access the website posted by u earlier.

Thank you...

pinkapple

ha. so happen that I've been to quite a number of those bridal shops that privi went to.

let me share my experience..

Univerasal Bridal Studios in Toa Payoh : pushy. super pushy. the lady spoke ill of all many other bridal shops so I didn't like her. anyway, don't like those gowns on display. She refuses to bring me to see the gowns b4 I commit on the package. so OUT!

Fame in Tampines : 2 of my cousins had their package there. so I went for a trial makkup since I couldn't find one. by then I was already w silh so didn't try their gowns. but they made a very nice gown for my cousin. makkup....? *sigh*

Graceful Image : same experience as Universal. fortunately my bf was not w me at that time. so I can get off the hook easier.

Julia Wedding News : Best taiwanese-styled bridal out of those I've visited. but didn't like their gowns. they try to persuade me to take OTR cos their gowns all OTR from taiwan if want MTM... I think better don't get them.
My bf was very tempted by their offer ( gave huge discount cos I keep refusing to sign them. ) but I reckon at that time I was already memerised by Silhouette's gowns. ha.

Ted Collection at Bugis : They made my ROM gown. didn't turn out to be what I wanted but everybody else said it's nice. so ok lah.

thedevil

i m not silhouette bride lah, juz busybody...hope u all dont mind.

sil is 1 of the bridal boutique i shortlisted ...its my FH idea coz i told him b4, i saw the pricess-like gowns in the window display when i was a teenager n told myself i want those gown for my wedding!! hey...n its sil when it used to b at tudor court!!!

so he say i shld give sil a visit n its my vry 1st boutique i went
..then, i visited kai, margaret brides n Divine too....now i m a happy Divine bride.....its a pity i din use sil coz its my 'teenagehood' dream.

y i din choose sil...hmm due to the beadings n embroidary, it makes me look more mature than my FH (who is vry boyish looking). and my FH dont like sil gowns' "pongness" which i love alot.... i respected him as i feel i'll look big bside him if my WG is so big. and its a waste to sign sil if i dont wan embroidary n grand ballgown!!

then my FH like Divine alot...n i like their back design n simplicity...heehee n their 'bareness'...still i think sil is great too

priviledged

pinkapple,
no, I didn't get to try Universal's gowns, but she did show them to me. Not very nice, I thought, also so few to choose from, and all very ordinary looking. She was quite pushy and tried to get me to book right away. FH was away, so gave her that excuse. She called me on my hp a month later to ask me if he'd come back yet(!!). Fortunately not yet. She hasn't called since *phew*.

Graceful Image gowns were quite nice, I thought, but I still didn't want to commit yet.

Then I went to Lezen. The service was very good. Not pushy. At that time I thought the gowns looked alright on me, although the cutting was not altogether flattering.

Then, I went to Silhouette... and the gowns were magical on me! Plus, the service and some things that I mentioned above in my first posting.

Went to the others and the only other one that had gowns that looked quite good on me, and photos that we liked, was Julia. But thought they were rather hard-sell. So didn't dare to commit. The price they quoted was more expensive than Sil! The new designer Tiani even rang yesterday to ask about my decision.

I guess I'll wait for X-Zen and then decide. But I feel VERY biased now in favour of Silhouette, so hope I can be objective and keep an open mind.

priviledged

Sep03 and poki2412, the other aspects I also started to notice in my visits was the quality of the workmanship and materials used in the gowns. Some of the EGs were downright obiang IMHO, and the WGs sometimes had rather tacky applique in place of lace or the beading designs were not very delicate the way I would have liked it. Still, it's a personal opinion. Just my feelings.

Somehow, I never shortlisted Divine or Kai or Ted Wu. Don't remember why.

sep03

Hi gals...
Jus to share my experience at 6 boutiques (confused enuf...so no more for me ;-P)
Sil (good experience, but not sure if their lace embroidery would be nice...and i LOVE pong pong gowns), Divine (was advised not to take a bare back gown...sad...if so, then won't go for divine, coz their signature is low and back back!) and Ted Wu (he, still unsure whether i like embroidery, they are definitely beri nice) are left on my list after visiting Kevin Seah (too exp even though i lOVE their couture gowns - $5700 excl photog), Kai (bad experience...not too impressed for the price of $4800 excl photog) and BV (didn't like crystals and was not offered to try any gowns)....

sep03

Hi pinkapple...

Pls share wif me your experience working with Minda...and your gown is lovely...wat is it that's on you WG?

sep03

Hi pinkapple...

me now a little confused....which WG u have (thot i saw 2????)... and your EG not from Sil?...(even more confused)....

BTW, where and when would uyou be holding ur wedding?

;-D

pinkapple

Hi Sep03,

I believe u mean u saw 2 different gowns from the "studio preview"?

the one w the crystals around the chest is loan to me for fotography by minda.

the one w the long train is my WG.

what's on my gown?? lace.
the other one'd b crystals.

as for my EG, yah. it's not from Silhouette. It's from Allure Charix. I only got the WG from Silhouette. cos I find Silh's evening gowns all too kua zhang for my setting.

My wedding's at St Andrew's Cathedral (hence the long train) and dinner's at fort canning. It'll be this coming Dec.

yours?

pinkapple

hi thede,

Silh have A-line gowns too. but I reckon u're rite. if u're not going for the grand ballgown, a waste to go Silh.

pinkapple

erm... girls....

something to warn u 1st...

actually I'm not entirely happy with the service at Silh. mayb it's bcos the postings here made it appear that the service is soooo fantastic. but it's just ok.

minda is ok lah. initially she's like always trying to help me save $$...
all I can say is that she's rather busy so mayb sometimes neglect me loh.

but she's v generous. loan me a kua and an extra gown for fotography... though I say I dont' need the extra gown. end up quite nice.. that extra gown.

but at the end of the day, the gowns are really nice... and the service's not bad.. so ok lah

bijou

Can anyone advise how's worksmanship for their man suit? is it worth getting it from them?
Also, how's their otr wg and eg range?
And anyone took up utopia's package? I visited them last mth and they dun have the album and exact package from utopia.

poki2412

Sep03

I ve been to BV too... dun like their svc....left us alone to go thru the fotos & package px list.... never get to try & see their gowns
...so OUT...

Been to Divine...like their gowns also...Helen, the designer is friendly & easy going, feel very comfortable talking to her....my FH prefers Sil......that is his opinion but i ve to decide cos i will be the one wearing the gown....dun neo leh....difficult to choose.......

We feel Sil a bit ex...dun mind paying extra but nen shen zhe shen...FH suggested to shop ard first....

pinkapple

Thanks for sharing. Agreed wif Sep03, your gown is lovely... like your hairdo also.....Freddy is good rite?? He did my ROM makeup.....

Just kpo, how Minda neglect you?? Thot must make appt for discussion & fitting....Dun tell me appt had been made & still dun ve all her attention...

pinkapple

hi poki,

actually I didn't have a good experience with freddie either. despite all the good comments abt him. mayb it's just me. cos when I see him trial with other brides. they're all happy him.

u see... I was late for my apptm that day and I think he was going to somewhere else after my trial so he's like in a rush...

in the end I chose another makkup artist.

as for how minda neglect me.. I can't remember much lah. only remember there was once... my 2nd fitting... she just left me w the makkup artist and the assistant. She was attending to another bride. got come over now and then lah. that time I wanted to add something to my gown... she just left it to the assistant loh. it was a sat. I guess it's peak hour loh. so I'm ok w it now. initially a bit upset... now ok liao.

mzbee

Hi there!
Just to voice out my personal experience. My designer's Miah. So I have minimum dealings with Minda. Even then during fittings she would come over to 'help out' abit. She even came over to enquire about our photoshoot when I went back to return the gowns. So I find that she is a friendly lady.

Of cos there will be times that the designers are busy. During the fitting Miah wasn't around me every minute although he was there to explain what he's going to do for me, the detailings, etc. Theresa was the one helping me since she is the seamstress and would know the adjustments to be made. She even told me to add scallops on the train of my EG as it would look better. I was also kept waiting for almost 30 min even though I made an appointment to see Miah to collect my gowns for photoshoot cos the couple before me took an extremely long time. I guess such things happen all the time. Some things are just out of the designers' control so have to manage one's expectations and be accomodating abit loh.. I'm sure they also want their clients to be happy mah.

Had Freddie to do my makeup too and he's very funny. I left him to decide what to do with my makeup and hair styles and he was brilliant. Managed to give me a variety of hairstlyes that was flattering..some elegant, some havoc..*_^
In all we all go through a stressful time preparing for wedding. No matter how much planning is done no one can ever guarantee that everything will go your preferred way. So just take it easy, relax and have as much fun you can!!! Wedding only come once.

purlyn

Hi Pinkapple,

I know exactly what you mean! Perhaps Minda isn't very accomodating when you have your own ideas. I'm sad to say that she was very discouraging whenever I had any suggestions then. But hubby advised me to tolerate and not upset myself over this. All i can say to you is to hang on. Afterall, you have paid up right?