Silhouette the Atelier

ccteott

Hi Trolly
No probs, good stuff must share share what right?

blush
I just realised you dont be around this CNY... last chance to collect Ang Pow...and you going to miss it... next year will be giving out Ang Pows liao...

Whaa BB
You sure are busy like bee arn't you? So how are you surviving with the new bunch of Musters? Have you been arrowed more dirty jobs by our dear shark lady? ;)

pettie

I'd like to sign up with SIL after meeting with Minda and trying their gowns. Minda quoted me around $5K for MTM WG, MTM EG, MTM Grooms' Suit and O Studio as PS photographer. Is the the quotation on the high side? As I have a tight budget, I hope to choose a bridal package that is both good and competitive.

In addition, when I called to make appt, I was supposed to meet with Miah, but Minda attended to me as Miah was busy then. So, can I still opt for Miah as my designer? The reason I asked is that I saw many praises for Miah and am tempted to choose Miah as my designer if I really make up my mind on SIL.

Many thanks in advance for replies to my queries. If I signed up with SIL, how do I join the fanclub?

applet08

Hi Cheong,

Dun worry, whether is minda or Miah, i think Sil designers r all very professional..
You can read thru the threads, some of the brides have minda too and they have gd remarks too!

hmas

Hi Cheong,

I had the same concerns that you have. I had been attended by Minda whom I feel very comfortable with and was very impressed with her. After reading these wonderful comments on Miah and Heath, I was wondering if I could switch. On the Femaleonline forum, I was told that Minda is also very "news worthy" and she is more experienced that the other 2.

At the same time, you can also try Amanda Lee - heard she used to be from Silhouette. Also very good.

I am like you...have not decided on a BS yet!!!

hmas

superbunny

hullo everyone!!

Hi from sunny Australia
its pretty hot here down under... popping by to drop in a line or two to all the lovely brides of Sil. Am on my 2 weeks holidays and have been eating non-stop! Not so good for my dieting plans yah? somemore first fitting is on in late feb.. sigh. but the food here is just fab!

Hope everyone had a good new year's holiday. And hi to all the new sil club members.

superbunny

pettie

Hi js,

Thanks for your response. It's very assuring to know that all of SIL's designers are professional and that I'll be in good hands if I sign up with them

I was very comfortable with Minda, and will most likely choose her as my designer if I made up my mind on SIL

I'll update on you gals!!

ccteott

Hi Steph,
Sounds like you having a wonderful time in down under... I've been checking out the Target website but no kid bikini ley... Its ok lar... no need to get bikini for me. Thanks for the offer anyways...

Hi Cheong,
I'm sure regardless of whichever designer you choose, you will be in very good hands

pettie

Hi hmas,

Appreciate your response... kinda eliminate my reservations about choosing her as my gown designer.

I've been to Amanda Lee Weddings. I like her personable service and her gowns are very nice too. However, SIL has been my preferred BS as there were two gowns that Minda showed me which I simply love!! I love those embroidery and beadings on the gowns. Amanda uses more colour and lace, plus some embroidery. Their style differs some what...

Which preferred BS do you have in mind now? When is your AD?

cheong

blush

bb
wow, u are indeed a busy bee!
no worries, just pop in once in a while to "see" us...

tintin
CNY...still not confirmed if i will be here or not...hopefully will not leave on next trip till after CNY. anyway, some ppl say first year can still collect ang pow! :p

steph
wow! aussie land! it is a nice place. i just came back from sydney a couple of weeks ago, weather was lovely. and of course...food!! i can totally understand. its absolutely fantastic!! i couldnt stop eating too....

J Tan
yeah! congrats congrats. give tintin your details so that she can update our fan club table...

cheong
your package sounds reasonable by Sil's standards. you do have to keep in mind that Sil's prices are generally on the higher side, and there are many boutiques that offer cheaper packages. but you pay for the quality, service and peace of mind. i felt very comfortable with them, and no worries that they are out to cheat me. and the designers are fantastic people....i guess it's down to a personal choice. if you feel it's above your budget, you can talk to your designer to see if there's anything you can cut out, or swop to get a cheaper price (eg. RTW instead of MTM)....

busybee

hey TT, my timetable for the year is absolutely amazing....non-stop class hopping from 1120-1630 daily. methinks the day might come when i'd be conditioned to live a life without food and toilet breaks.

i'm just fresh into term1week2 and desperate for a break already!

anyways, though i'm gagging from the workload, i'd still find time to drop by. blush, i promise.

cutepigs

/b{TinTin}

Hi! Thanks to you I finally be able to confirm on my wedding rings. You are right. Sangeetha is really patient and I would definitely recommend those who are seeking to custom made their wedding bands to make dropping by carat club to have a look a must.

cutepigs

HI TinTin,

after going through many agnoising of designing and throwing out many ideas in the process :p... we finally settle on something doable and nice. Think she would probably remember me as the toughest/fussy customer.

haha

rokko

hallo everyone!!! hee... im too lazy to scroll up, so thought i'll just say a general 'hi' to everyone!!!

BB, hey r u on 5 day week now?? joy and jubilations!!!! my timetable this semester is crazy.. can u beat having 7 hours of teaching in a day with students who half the time try to zone u out?? hee ;p

cutepigs, hey happy for u, that u finally got ur rings done, after such a long search! congrats man! i suppose this means it's not exactly like wat u designed right? it's with some modifications?

tintin, hey i gotta thank u too for recommending carat club to me.. FH and i met sangeetha last sat - lovely lady! she's supposed to get back to us re. quote for our customised rings (remember my design? heh)... but all in all we had a most enjoyable time meeting with her!

so members of the SIL club, shall we call another club mtg?

busybee

rokko,
ok, let's complain about our bad bad timetables....
5 day work week = longer working hours, with little or no lunch and toilet breaks.
only diff is now i can truly be happy on fridays....except saturdays are spent vexing over the work done by my contractors from hell.

TT,
forgot to tell you that sharky has managed to con me into mc-ing for all 3 of her receptions. told her i've stage fright but she thinks it's pure crap. oh well, after all these years of sisterhood, man....
eh, must tell ngiap heng dun take me pics yah? so stressful....

ccteott

BB...
I can tell you its not possible professionally to not have pics of you... Come on... your're the MC and the photographer has no pic of her doing her speech...? We will be put out of a business then wouldnt we? :p kekekeke...

superbunny

Am back from holidays in aussie.. sigh, missing it already! very badly!! Have to get back straight into work, and that's the really tough part

blush: boy are u right about the foodie part... came back home and my mummy says i have to diet! tsk tsk.. me have been a noti noti girl w all that food from down under...

have just got back and immediately got back online with broadband..miss it while on holidays
seems that u gals have been mighty busy! glad to see that the sil club is alive and kicking!

bubbles: martha steward mag came out with a new 10th anniversary edition.. wanna see?

cheers to everyone!

hmas

Hi Cheong,

Good for you that you have made up your mind and have found something in SIL that you like. I met Minda today again and this time, my quote was $4400 just for WG and EG both MTM. Frankly, it is on the high side considering the fact that her first quote to me was a $5000 package.

Still need to work on my sums... my actual day is 8 Oct. What about yours?

hmas

eejean

Hi gals..

i just put down the $$ for confirmation! glad that most of the things for the wedding are kinda settled..just need to lose 2-3kg ..argh! first appointment will be late feb!;)

the weekend is here!!

pettie

Hi Blush,

Thanks for your advice. I guess I've to agree with you that one pays for quality. I won't want to compromise on quality, service and peace of mind for my big day
Your suggestion to amend the package's contents to cut costs could be workable. Thanks!!

pettie

Hi Ruigal,

My acutal day is around March 2006. Still a long way to go, but start planning now because I want the process to be relatively stress-free and not make hasty decisions due to time constraints. In addition, the longer preparation process allows me to have better control over expenses, having had a good idea of how much I will be spending.

I supppose your quote $4400 doesn't include MTM Groom's suit? Is it OTR or your FH have his own? Is that how you reduce the quotation?

Cheong

marthastewart

I's terribly difficult looking for Silhouette feedback on this thread. I went there the other day, Heath is wonderful, strikes me as a realleee nice and helpful guy, and he's so gay, i love it! I am wondering if I should shop around for more bridal boutiques like The Wedding Present and others not cheena type one. I won't be going for full package so could anyone give some comments and feedback on Silhouette to help me in my decision-making?? Thanks a mill!

marthastewart

hmas - you only took an MTM wedding gown and evening gown and it's already $4400??? how come? thought their package is abt $3988 with all the other items? are your gowns very intricate? do let me know as i will be going 'a-la carte' as well. THx!

fifidoog

martha,
i think almost everyone here are happy brides to be of Silhouette. I just signed up like 2 weeks ago. saw quite a few gowns which were almost what i had in mind and of course heath was really really sweet. so yeah, that was an easy decision for me.

hmas

Hi Cheong,

I am going a-la-carte as my FH intends to get his tux done in KL or buy his suit OTR. The $4400 only includes MTM EG and WG to rent. My dream WG is a classic ballgown with beaded bodice while EG is fully beaded or laced. Minda did say that it is due to the material that I like which will cost a lot.

I visited Camellia Haute Couture. She quoted me $2000 for the same thing. And Nicole is really friendly, young and creative so I am considering switching over to Camellia now.

Martha,my gowns are really quite intricate. I like dramatic gowns with lots of beads or full lace. If that is something you are looking for, you can also try Camellia Haute Couture. The designer, Nicole is young and is starting out so I guess that explains why she charges so reasonably.

Her shop is at Peninsula Plaza Level 3 (near the toilet). She's extremely friendly so if you are deciding to do a-la-carte, you should visit her.

Thanks ladies!

ruigal

krisjon

Hi everyone...

I am thinking of signing up with Silhouette but it seems hard to fix an appointment to meet them...

Normally how long in advance do you have to fix an appointment with them?

ccteott

Hi Kirstine,

They unfortunately are very busy at this moment.. but if you give them a ring and speak to the designers... ask them when is the earliest date and time they are able to see you. They should be able to provide you with the info and you can then fix an appointment with them.

superbunny

Hi!!

Its like the middle of the day and productivity at work is at its all time low

How are all the Sil brides doing?

Bubbles - hehe..how about say, next weekend?? wanna go for tea?

steph

eejean

hi steph..
better to be ..next thursday? eh weekends are usually reserved for the Mr..haha..

we can go for chocolate cake.hhaha in the east.

krisjon

Hi Tintin,

Thanks for your advise, I will call them and check with them the earliest date.
Anyway, does anyone here have any pics on the WG and EG? Keen to look at it.
Are we allow to try on the WG in Silhouette even though we had not sign on their package?

superbunny

hi bubbles..

next thursday sound good! wahh.. choco cake! i also want..but cannot eat leh, must diet! Tin tin - u want to join us?

Krisjon -
Have you checked out the Sil website? there are some pictures on it. and if u have the latest edition of female brides, there were quite a number of gowns from sil featured. Yes, you are allowed to try the WG and EG
they have no problems with that. Do call them for an appointment

marthastewart

hi guys, thanks for all your info...besides hmas, is there anyone who went a-la-carte with SIL? I won't be having fully lace or beaded gowns, just the usual simple type...has anyone done this with them? It will be great if you could let me know how much u are paying so that i can ascertain the costs....see if its worth it...altho heath is really nice!

superbunny

hi!

i also went a-la-carte.. am only taking the WG, EG and the makeup and flowers. Hubby is doing his suit in australia so am not taking it from Sil. My gown is satin, not fully lace and just a little bit of beading on the train
it is a simple design. My designer is Miah and my package was $3400 (i think.. can't remember liao) Feel that the price is worth it for the workmanship and the design. Am not doing photography so actually it is just the gowns. Sil is very flexible and they have really got very nice gowns!

perhaps u can tell heath what u want and see what is the price quoted to u?

ash_

need some help.. heard that sil has 3 designers. can someone pls enlighten me on their individual style - wat each of them specialise in?

thanks so much!

Hi Tintin,

Does sil ties with photographer for the studio photos or they provide in house photographer one har?

eejean

hi martha,

i am also taking a-la-carte from Sil. Evening gown(lace and satin), suit, make-up for 4 sessions- $2200. from heath. the cost of the EG is $800, which is a good price considering it requires a see through tulle top with lace appliques and beads covering the necessary..it will be round the back as well and on the satin train.
;p

Hi Steph,
ok..set next thursday okies..i am so stressed! taking my GMAT tomorrow and its quite tough!

Oei tintin,
joining us?

ccteott

Hi Rainne,

Sil have some photo studios that they are linked up with. They dont have a in house photographer.

Bubbles...
What's happening on Thursday? The cake eating session izzit? Where and what time?

superbunny

hullo!!

Just came back from lunch and what can i say.. productivity at work again at all time low!

Yes, next thursday got cake eating session in the East ... how's about siglap?? or we can always go stake out the awfully choco shop! in the evening can?

steph

eejean

Hihi tintin and steph!

siglap is good..think the awfully choc shop- is it like the one in cluny? no sit space and only selling whole cakes?

if so think we go coffee connection or cartel better?

hee..evenings is good for me..around 7 plus i just nice jog first then meet you guys..;)(yes i have been put on a strict exercise regime by my vanity);p

marthastewart

hi guys! thx so much for the info. So i can see that without men's suit, the price is reduced by abt 600 bux considering their usual package is $3918 or something like that. As for bubbles, hers has no WG and flowers so she pays a lot less...SO MEANS the WG costs a lot a lot hor....was thinking of doing flowers and corsages myself cos some of the ones in Martha Stewart Weddings are so nice and seems so easy to do! Car decor also...

So should I go with Silhouette or check out Dang or Wedding Present...hmmm...im so lazy...

ccteott

Bubbles...
You jogging alone? Bring me along yeh?
Are we having choc cakes for dinner???

Martha...
You should make and appt to go down to Silhouette just to enjoy <font color="0000ff">The Silhouette Experience</font> even if you dont end up signing up with them... the experience alone is worth your trip down... Enjoy !

superbunny

Yo yo!! Bubbles and Tintin..

talking about having choc cakes for dinner..that sounds like a great idea! Although, erm..i just had brownies! oh no.. i think i need to jog with u gals!

Martha : Can guess why ur nick is marthasteward
me also a big martha steward fan! have u got her latest 10th anniversary mag? it has great ideas inside there and really, if i was good at arts and crafts, i will DIY. Thinking of DIYing my ring pillow

Like Tintin said, u should really experience the Silhouette Experience, even if u dun sign up with them in the end, it is definately worth the trip down!

rokko

hey steph, ur martha steward mag sounds great! could i have the title of the mag (if any!) so i can check directly with the bookstore staff? i have a borders voucher thingy and i cant think of what to buy with, so i may just hop over to borders to get this mag! thks girl!

blush

Hellos all!!!
sorry, MIA for so long.....been busy with work, even though i'm back in singapore! sigh...

rainne
I know Sil ties up with Andrew and Chris Ling. Not too sure about The Edge...If you go down, they have albums there for you to see, or any of the designers should be able to help you.

tintin
are we having our next meet-up session for the fan club anytime? i'm going off again sometime in february. san francisco this time...

rokko
oi! woman, where are you? i never get emails from you.....i guess we'll never see each other until we can both turn up for one Sil fan club meeting eh?

steph &amp; bubbles
yummy...i just had the awfully choc cake the other day....very good!!! hmm...hungry just thinking about it.

superbunny

hullo!!!

rokko - u can get the martha steward mag at borders ..pasted the link to the online site here:
http://www.marthastewart.com

go to the site and search for the wedding mag under all their magazines okie? Otherwise can call borders and ask for the Martha Steward Wedding Magazine ... the online site has some tips as well!