Silhouette the Atelier

junio

I am going for my first visit this sat.. I hope they can WOW me..

Currently in love with Bridal Veil wedding gown only.. HAHAHA..

mimichan

I also think that those who are interested in Silhouette's package, should just ring them up or visit them, as every package is more or less customized so there is no point asking here..

Cocotin, sarah, pinklove, I just had my wedding in Dec and absolutely loved my gown! I received many compliments too, and will bring the gown to my overseas wedding too!

I also did an a la carte. I didn't need makeup, photography, flowers etc, as I already sourced for those. I only did a tux for husband and my WG, and did a MTM for the bodice (top) part. I kept the skirt as it was, as that was the unique part. Kenji was my designer. He completely understood what I wanted for my bodice part and did a fantastic job. I was soooo happy!

Sarah, I didn't do my EG with Silhouette (did mine with another designer) but their gowns look good, the workmanship seems good too! You can discuss the design with your designer, so if you want the quirky sort just tell them what you have in mind, they can come up with a design for you =)

Jun, bridal veil is also very nice, theirs are rather simple and clean, classy too. I loved their gowns too but in the end I just fell in love with my very gown, so I had to take it.

I loved what Kenji did for my veil too, initially I thought of having a mid-length veil but he did a very long one instead, and the effect was wonderful when I walked down the isle in church.

sarafie

coco:
thanx for the info~ actually my problem is that as much as I'd like to MTM a top with them, I can't seem to make up my mind! I seem to have a straight figure - with my waist being "not obvious" so i'm really worried whether the top can make me look slim..any advice? do u think u could send me pics of ur gown? >.< rawr! oh and my designer's kenji too.. he's really good.. and most importantly patient - i'm someone who cant make prompt decisions but he puts up with me and still smiles haha...

pearl:
er they have some OTR EG..but selection not a lot.. u MTM two EGs with Sil? how much was each MTM? hehe.. will u be taking photos with the gowns? =D do let me see the photos~~~~

mimi:
thanx for sharing! is it ok if you sent me pictures? currently I'm also in love with the bottom of a gown, and am thinking about doing a MTM top.. but seriously worried it will turn out weird o.o i guess my quirkiness has a limit too haha...and congrats on your wedding!

oh right..btw, my email's [email protected].... really hope to see all your gown's pictures.. >.< 1, it will put my fears of MTM top to rest, 2, it'll put my fears of the EG to rest.. and 3... i get to ogle at your gowns! yeah.. i'm kinda a gown freak..been oohing and aahing at the magazine corner in borders.. pretty sure people there felt i am a freak hahahaha........

and thanx in advance again~~

Sarah: dont worry. for tulle gown, defintely can see ur waist coz it the bottom will puff out at your lower waist so it can hide big hips like mine and ur waist will stand out. Sorry I dont have pics of my gown for now coz my gown is not yet completed. U should trust Kenji, he is very experience and professional. I am also a bride that worries after the fitting when i start thinking too much and end up smsing him to do this do that for me and he has no complaints at all.

pearl_chin

sarah: I had my wedding in Nov'09...hence at that time, all evening gowns were MTM and the package starts at $4.5k without photography. Includes 1 WG, 1 EG, 1 Suit, make up and flowers. I cannot really remember the cost of my 2nd EG...its about $800-$900 which is very reasonable.

choco_ice

Jun, my friend had Minda as his designer and he's satisfied with Minda.

At the start of searching wedding gown, SIL is on top of my list. However, after being given different price quotation by different designers, I was put off a bit. Then I requested for third viewing for one WG that I liked so much. however, I was told that that WG was not available since last year even though I did try that WG.

Because of that, I decided not to take SIL. It's a pity because their tulle gowns are the best in my opinion. But good service is more important in my opinion.

junio

Minda keep on putting on her idea what she think nice for ne but she did not use what I want..

I fall in love with Amanda Lee wedding tulle gown.. It look aol dreamy!!!

dinobros

I am in the midst of shortlisting my BS and would be very keen to make an appt with SIL. However, I understand that the one at Stamford House has moved and the unit at Amoy Street has not been answering my calls nor email.

Could anyone help? ;(

Teri

choco_ice

Andrew &amp; Teri, Congrats on your upcoming big day!

Perhaps they are busy. Their phone no is 63279117

Have you tried to call around 12 noon?

dinobros

Hi Latte,

I tried serveral times since last week. Just called again as well and this time is engaged. Sigh, they did not reply my email as well.

Teri

dinobros

Hi Latte, Would you know of any other ways of contacting them or shall I just pop by? Thanks so much for your assistance earlier!

Teri

dinobros

I have mananged to contact SIL and book my appt!!!

May I know wat should I look out for AD without photography? Anyone can email me her package details? Thanks!

Teri

dinobros

Hi Cocotintin,

My appt is on Monday, 14th Jan. I do hope so too! so excited! This will be the first BS that i will be going, thus not really sure what to look out for and have been trying to read the forum for advice. Also, I am very skinny, so as much as I love the tulle, but worry if it will end up "carrying me" instead of I carrying my gown! hahaha...Any advices? or what to look out for?
You are collecting your gown next week? so excited for you as well! Hope it will turn out perfect for the photoshoot!

Teri

sarafie

coco: thanx for the reassurance~! i've decided on the gown le ^^ yay~~~ as u said, thumbs up to Kenji =P i keep changing my mind soooo many times.. i really wonder how he manages to keep his cool.. he's like a big brother bear that kinda friend =D but ya.. cant help but worry o.o since i havent see the final product yet.. a bit scared that it will turn out weird since it's kind of my decision to change the top of that gown o.o..... fickle minded me =(

btw, which photographer are u using for the photoshoot? any recommendations? =D

pearl: was the second MTM a to keep piece as well? sounds really good! hehehe.. nowadays i think the price went up.. i see the bill i really feel like fainting sometimes.. but i really love the gowns there.. feel like just sneaking all the gowns home sometimes lol....

teri: may u find the gown of your dreams!one thing to note though - although Silhouette has a package offer (duno whether they still have it now - but they had it for christmas 2010), the amount of items they offer is vastly different from the other bridal shops >.< btw, their tulle is really gorgeous.. i think Kenji did mention that if we do not want too big a tulle gown, they can take off a few layers so that it wun look too overwhelming.. maybe u can consider that option? =D

dinobros

Hi Sarah,

Thanks for the suggestion! I will take note when i go down on Monday
I will also be going down to Amanda Lee and TWP for comparisons.... hee! Anyone has any comments on the other two BS that i mentioned? thou this thread is on SIL.....

Regards, Teri

Teri, as what Sarah has said, if u find the tulle too overwhelming u can opt to remove a few layers otherwise u can opt for a smaller cancan or no cancan inside your tulle so the lower part of your body will not look too big. But good thing abt a cancan is that it will be easier for u to walk. I personally feel that removing a few layers of the tulle is kinda waste since they are famous for their generous layers of tulle (though u pay a price for that).

After visiting SIL, u will find that no other BS beats their tulle. I went to TWP after visiting SIL and that is the time i knew SIL is the choice i'm gonna make.

Sarah: when is your big day? hv u confirm your design with Kenji? u took which package?
i think sil ties up with a few PG u can check out the package with them. I engage lighted pixel for my PS and AD photography. I was also afraid that the gown i mtm (the top) will turn out differently but i guess u just got to trust Kenji and have an open mind. I was abit worried during my first fitting but during the 2nd fitting i guess he gave me what i initially requested for and i felt better now. hehe.. looking forward to see the final piece next week.

sarafie

teri: my first experience with ALW was at shangri la wedding show..i liked their gowns and that was when we decided to hunt for a nice gown.. but my subsequent experience with ALW wasnt too good.. when i called them to make an appointment, the person who picked up (I'll call this person A so as to leave this person some face) was really quite phony... i was asking about the validity of the promotions that they had (i dun think there was any wrong in asking if the promotions were still available or if there were an extension for the promotions). Person A was nice on the phone, saying that the promos were over but they would be so glad to have us visit ALW.. so I booked an appt.. at this time, due to some "my mum call me, i picked up but my mum hung up" event, i somehow ended up listening in to person A's conversation with colleague (apparently, A din hang up the phone properly). i was sorely disappointed.. A was complaining about me in the rudest way (the tone), saying things like even if they had extended the promotion, i also wouldn't have gone to their shop and so on.. i was really upset at the phony-ness of A.. but i told myself to bear with it since i like their gowns =( my fiance knows about this as well and was upset.. but we still went for the appt with a smile (cox we want all wedding prep experiences to be pleasant).. but was disappointed at the selection of gowns.. mayb it's just me.. but they dun really have a lot of gowns.. and what gowns they have.. din really wow me except for the piece they had for shangri la's wedding show..one thing to note.. if u r a fan of tulle gowns, den amanda lee wouldn't be the right place for u.. they are known for adding colours onto their gowns.. =) in the end we guai guai went back to Sil (Sil was the first place we saw) and were very happy to go back >.< we visited A LOT of shops -_- but Sil's tulles are really v puffy and dreamy and nice~ though i must say that divine couture comes quite close as well =D

Din go to TWP as I heard about how they are overloaded and are unable to provide their brides with too much services >.<

so much for sharing.. i think i ended up complaining about ALW lol.. but to be fair, i guess they could have nice staff as well.. i was unlucky enuf to hear A gossip about me.. but not all brides will have the same experience as me.. and not all brides will be complained about as well.. sighs mayb it's just me that they dun like? =(

Coco: Big day on the 23rd Oct 11~ the design i oso not sure leh.. leaving it up to Kenji.. cox i like the bottom of one dress and the top of another.. >.< so kenji's gonna mesh them up for me~ and sleeves gotta be added cox my church requires it o.o i took the 1 WG (tulle) 1 EG 1 suit, makeup, bouquet package..

ooo lighted pixels! how many images will u be getting back from them? it's a bit confusing cox Sil and the photographers are offering different info on the combined packages they offer.. duno which one to listen to o.o

hahahaha.. excited for ur viewing of the final piece~~ >.<

junio

Hi Sarah:

I had a great experience with amanda lee. The first gown i tried with amanada lee is tulle gown and i fall in love with it.. Even think about it while watching tv.. I tried SIL tulle, it did not really compliment my body..

Amanda herself did the gown changing for me. Felt so honour!

I also like Bridal Veil Tulle. But Amanda Lee make me fall in love with french lace tulle..

Teri: You can choose Miah from amanda lee for your appointment. he is really nice to chat with and understand what you like.

Price wise: Around the same both SIL and Amanda Lee

Sarah: maybe the designer i visit was minda and not kenji.. Minda keep forcing me to think that i need simple gown as i am marrying to an ang moh!

Miah: Corporate what i like and make me look slim even it will be a dreamy look..

sarafie

Hi Jun,

ur designer is Miah? seems like u have a lot of great comments about him o.o

i got that "go for simple gown!" comments as well.. but it was from divine couture.. haha!

what's french lace tulle? sounds really nice =D

junio

Sarah: A lady pick up the call but i called back to request for Miah for my designer appointment.. Sarah, he is soo nice to talk with.. You can talk to him from gown to food and anything u want. We off track alot..

Full french lace at the top and tulle at the bottom area..
Mine does not have colour.. not sure if i want.. but i don't like embodery on my gown.. i like wedding gown to look simple but detailed! hahaa... and i am a lacey person! hahaa..

Miah is the senior designer.. Miah and Amanda start up Amanda Lee wedding..

Simple Gown: Yah man.. the one i tried.. super simple.. ivory colour with nothing on it and only good thing is that it is soo easy to walk! but Minda said wanna put some stuff on it.. not sure how it was gonna look like.. so not my dream gown..

It is great you got your perfect gown.
i am now in the process to get more idea what i want my gown to be like..

wow your is oct and did u had your first fitting or still designing?

Yeah i know we all want the best for our gown.. hahaa.. my solemisation also need to have bolero but now i give up.. too expensive for 30min affair.. gonna wear traditional stuff for solemisation which is cheaper than bolero! hahaa

choco_ice

SIL is also the first bridal I went. And I immediately fell in love with their tulle gowns. Even though I am petite, but I still can wear tulle gown and look nice. Furthermore, I don't need cancan to enhance the puffiness. I've been to TWP, ALW, and DC; SIL tulle is the best.

ALW - not much selection of gowns, but the duchess satin ones fitted me nicely though at SIL, I did not look nice in satin ones

TWP - the tulle is very plain. I asked them whether can add this and that on the tulle and they said it would not turn out nice... hmmm

DC - I like the service and they helped me choose my tulle gown. I do not like simple gown and they cater to my request. End up signing up with them

I was almost sign the package with SIL if not for small incident. haiz

my AD is june 2011... still not having my PS yet
*panic mode on*

junio

Latte: How come you fall in love with SIL gown and sign up with DC?

i fall in love with ALW and immediately the next business day, i went down to sign up with them..

sarafie

Jun: Wow.. er.. well i guess u're lucky? =) cox the person A i mentioned is Miah o.o but u r right, he really can talk =) and your gown sounds nice! =)

er ya in June.. havent had first fitting haha..

Latte: the tulle gown at DC - is it the one that they described as the "plain canvass" gown? i tried a tulle gown from DC as well.. and it was a really nice fit.. i must say that kim really does understand a woman's curves =D For some reason, Sil doesn't really have tt effect o.o

junio

Sarah: I am sorry to hear that.. I am sorry about that.. I guess everyone have their gossip side bah.. Unfortunately, you heard it..

I told him i like lace and tulle, that was the first gown he let me try and amanda herself think i look nice in it and it is ivory white.. it make my skin look glowing..

I can't wait for the final design.. I need to do homework on my gown and wedding gown! I wanna miah do to some work that will make my arm look smaller! hahaha..

I am uncomfortable with my big arm..

sarafie

Jun: =D yup~ that's y i also suan le.. people will always gossip de ma.. i guess miah's oso suay enuf that i somehow listened in while he was gossiping about me.. lol.. but i think he does have good ideas about gowns.. sometimes i still think i would have gone with amanda lee - cox i wan a "fairytale poofy drama gown" lol.. and i think they can do that.. it's just that.. the silhouette poof captured my heart (lol) so i guai guai went back =D

but it's good to noe that u're happy with them =D if u do find a way to make the arms look smaller, let me know.. i think my arms are flabby =P (yeah exercise would probably b my best option >.<)

jiayou jun~ hope u get ur perfect gown =D

hey girls, if u know how to make our arms look smaller pls share. I also want smaller arms, too flabby. and i'm afraid exercising will make it look it even bigger coz might gain muscles frm the exercise.

junio

Sarah &amp; Coco : exercise like swimming or opposite position of push up but put your arm at the bench or sit area and use your body weight to go up and go down.... on the gown.. i wanna put some details at the arm area.. So people see the details and not looking at my arms.. Miah trademark i think is feathers effect..

Thank god Miah did not charge extra for french lace!! every bridal shop will charge $500 or more for french lace gown!

When i wore Bridal Veil gown, i did not notice about my arm as my attention was at the gown! hahaha.. Was soo comfortable inside it..

I have seen alot of big size bride with big arms.. i find it not nice and i don't want to go through what they go through.. u know what i mean.. maybe they don't mind but i mind about my arm alot.. i also got stretch mark at arm area.. Amanda said i should apply some thing to cover my stretch mark..

Sarah: I am sure your gown will be princessy drama! What is your gown like? tulle and what about the top? Minda told me that if i want the tulle, i need to top up $1K with the package!!

Jun: maybe u can check with ur MUA and see if she can cover up the stretch mark with concealer or something? try wearing higher heels to look slimmer and ya, u can add some details on your gown near the arm pit to cover your arm. You can consider toga, can divert the attention on your arm maybe.

bebelee

Hi Jun!

When i went to taiwan, i bought some kind of a body make up back. It's called 'shui fen' and it's about 5 dollars for quite a big bottle. Once u apply on ur body, it will make you look much much fairer and cover blemishes. Maybe u can try to find it in singapore.

Jun: my WG is a sweet heart tube gown with lace and beaded with crystals and beads. the top is translucent. EG is a tube modern mermaid cut gown from vera wang maids.

choco_ice

Jun, I think there's not much relationship with SIL. I feel comfortable with DC. Their tulle gown is nice too! I can ask DC to add this and that on the gown, while at SIL, they just told me that not much details could be added on the gown. need to top up... I was just not comfortable with the way I was served at SIL.

choco_ice

Hi 1112bride, yes SIL offers ala carte. Depending on your chosen WG/EG, the price ranges from 2.8k. I was told 2.8k is for a simple WG.

bzbz8384

latte! i gotta thank u...for making a comparision between SIL, TWP, ALW &amp; DC..it was then that i got to learn about DC...i too feel very comfortable with Kim of DC..so i guess i pretty much will be signing up with DC soon! =) Kim gives good advices...and with her experience, she knows what will look good on u...and wat don't work on u...i really needed that kinda advice...as i'm swamped with fragmented ideas...i need someone experienced to help piece them tgt.. so thank u once again hee

choco_ice

bzbz, I am glad that my comparison is helpful for you

Every bride-to-be deserves to be pampered and listened

I went through several bridal shops at first. some with my fiancee, some alone. At least alone I just told them I would discuss with my fiancee first. hehee

I too got lots of advices from my friends and this forum. If you needed my help, feel free to let us know

hey girls, i just had my PS yesterday and am looking forward to the photos from my PG soon. Last sat when i collected my gown, there are so many btbs trying out their gowns and doing their fittings. Looks like last sat was a busy day for Sil.

Hows everybody coming along with their bridal shopping and fitting? Am gonna return my gown this sat for dry cleaning, I hope there aint any tears on the gown coz i have not check on it yet. :p

1112bride

Hi Latte,

Thanks for the info. Last sunday went to Silhouette but was closed. Didn't do my homework before going down. Sigh... I know nothing abt all the terms of gown design/style etc..

Anyway where did you find all the info on the types of gown etc? Last week went to see a bridal boutique (its shop name is barred from this forum!) too but the service wasn't good. But I find their gowns nice too. Thinking of gg back to see their gowns again haha!

choco_ice

1112bride, normally, bridal shops are closed on Sunday

Don't forget to call and set appointment. Saturday is a busy day for them. It's better to set on wkday after work because you can slowly choose your gowns.

Oh, about the price, I went down to ask. it's better that way because then you know what kind of gown tagged with what price.

For the bridal shops recommendation, I asked few friends and based on my impressions on their wedding gown, I shortlisted severals and just focus on that. If really can't find the gowns that I want, then I will broaden the search.

Also I read forums to know how good the bridal shop is.

1112bride, you need to research first (websites, readings) before you call to make appointment

Last Sunday, I went to see Regent wedding show and Sattine bridal shop was there. I find their gowns are nice.

I am quite lazy because I only went to 4-5 bridal shops. I even did not buy bridal magazines because I prefer OTR. heheee

1112bride

Latte, I'm very lazy too.. Maybe gotta try out diff gowns.. But some I went dont allow me to try.. (giving me some excuses) haiz...

choco_ice

1112bride, I think the shops that do not allow you to try will be quite commercial. You're better off without signing up with them.

1112bride

Thanks Latte. Shortlisted Amanda Lee, Dio Gio and another boutique which the name is barred from this forum. Guess you know which I am talking abt haha.