Shoes

emilia

Hi scooby,

I had my shoes made at RicciNo, because my tailor said their designs are more modern than at LL. I am not sure if this is true though... depends what you want I guess. The easiest is still to buy ready-made shoes - Tangs has very nice ones, but they didn't have my size anymore, so I had to custom make.

I paid S$150 for a pair of closed toe slingbacks in offwhite Thai silk. I provided the fabric so that it would match my gown. I think it takes 2-3 weeks to make them. Mine took a bit longer because they had to redo the front part because I didn't like it at first. But they were very nice and patient about it and they even went to buy more fabric for the new parts without charging me extra. The price is not cheap but I am quite happy now.

scooby

Thanks Chin Leng and Emilia for your inputs!
30% discount is quite a lot yah...think i'll make a trip down to Ram's this weekend : )
Emilia, I kinda agree with you. I've been to LL once and found their designs rather dated. Doubt i'll go back to them...

angelia

Orchard Point, 2nd level.

u won't miss it. it's the first shop u'll see when u come up from the curvy escalator...

sky

I've just had my wedding.

I found my shoes at "Darling" in Parkway Parade. They cost only $39.90 (or was it $29.90?). They were a pair of heeled sandals with abt 2 inches height. They looked elegant too although not made of expensive material - a little like Thai silk with silver threads weaved into white ones. My gown designer liked them too and thot at first glance that the silver weaving were sequins. The shop also sells platform heels which shorter brides can consider, and other normal height ones with pretty elegant designs. I was choosing between the white and a paid of matte silver sandals. The matte silver had a slanted cut in the straps which shaped my feet more elegantly but I went with white since I only had a wedding gown.

A fussy person like me didn't complain abt wearing them for the whole day (my wedding was in the day, lasting from 9am to 5pm). I'm fussy partly because the front of my feet are broad (protruding bone at the side of big toe), and I don't like covered shoes because that means wearing stockings or getting blisters. The wedding day was the only day I had the shoes on for so long. Other times were just during photoshoot and fittings. My photoshoot took only a couple of hours because we only wanted to do a portrait.

I was not prepared to pay a lot for a pair of wedding shoes mainly because I only needed something white. I'm very bad at coordinating colours of shoes and clothes so I anticipate very little use of the white shoes later on. Silver or gold ones would not be practical for me as well for similar reasons and also I don't go dinners or functions much.

So in my case, even if I don't wear my wedding shoes again, I won't feel that much of a pinch.

I enquired at Leapin Lizard too. No membership mentioned. Different material shoes start at different prices, with PVC being the cheapest at $48. If you want to add platform, or use a different buckle, or add on beads/crystals, it's about $10 extra each category except the platform, which goes by height (like 6cm so much, 8 cm so much etc). You choose patterns from the pictures they supply, heels and other accessories from the samples they have. You can dye the shoes black later on for $15 if you prefer to wear them that way after the wedding but it can only be done on the fabric type shoes. You can request for the beadings etc to be put back after the dyeing. The insole they use is of standard PVC material and skin colour. So for e.g. if you want to make a paid of PVC shoes with some crystals on the shoe front, no platform, change the buckle to something you like, and dye the shoes black after wedding, it'll cost abt $83 in all for normal service. There's no white leather, only ivory or coloured ones. Other materials come in all sorts of colors. I think it's not a bad choice to custom-make if you have specific needs, able to afford the cost, or are too lazy to shop around.

happibridie

I just went down to Waverly Finn for my kebaya first fitting. Learnt that they are now having their Annual Clearance Sale.

Bridal/evening shoes are now LESS 60%. each pair below $50. Really good buy.

Can check if you can find your wedding shoes there.

Happy shopping!

playful

I have a voucher to buy shoes from Paradox , 20% off, but I need to buy 2 pairs (they cost abt S$250 a pair), anyone interested to buy a pair... the shoes there are really nice.. Swarovski cystals with duchess satin .. the sales gal said won't get blisters because of the good quality material.. ...

how how.. anyone?

oraia

hi pauline,

is it the female wedding mag voucher?
am contemplating buying paradox shoes but all of them seem rather high...
when is the latest u need to get ur shoes? cos i can't buy shoes yet cos i haven't decided the shade of white for my gown.

playful

hi, i am thinking of buying it in April.. would that work for you?... yes, the shoes there are rather pricey but i think the designs are pretty unique .. been looking around and nothing has caught me eye so far..

oraia

hi pauline,

oops, i think april is prob too early for me..
sorry!

did you try waverly finn? or some times tangs has pretty nice white shoes...

playful

the greedy side of me wants to just buy 2 pairs of Paradox shoes for myself.. *wink*...

anyway, i think no harm checking out my options first..

where is waverly finn? I am actually looking for silver shoes with crystals etc.. easier to match both WG and EG...

oraia

hi pauline,

waverly finn is in holland v.
actually i think there are alog of places with silver shoes w diamante crystals tt are heaps cheaper. tangs, hue (in scotts) etc.

can try and source around.

btw, do u know where i can go to see a full range of paradox shoes and their prices?

playful

i think they have an outlet at Palais Renaissance. i went to the one at International Plaza cuz it's near my bridal boutique. Not a very big shop at IP. Suspect they probably have a larger shop space at PR.

thks for suggestions, will go and check them out.. =)

newcomer

Hi playful, I have searched through many shoe shops in singapore, still think that PAradox offer the best looking heels.

Have you bought your heels?
Have you visited Paradox at at Palais Renaissance? does it offer wider range?

I am interested to check out the possibily of sharing your 20% voucher.

DO we need to spend a minimum amount to use it?
Need the shoes for my PS in early Jun.

fleurg07

Hi all, just to let you all know. I tot i found the perfect shoes at Prautes in Tanjong Pagar. But I am completely disappointed in their professionalism. Very disappointing. Decided to not even buy the shoes from there anymore despite loving the shoes alot....not worth the humiliation.....they have put me in...

Hello CT, wow, i must check Paradox out. Are the heels high? Most of the places i have checked seemed to have like only 3 inches, am looking for at least 3.5"

anne

anyone here who know any place where I can get flat shoes for my WG and EG?
i'm not able to wear heels..me taller than hubby :p

peeper

hi anne...

i'd the same issue as u... i'm of the same height as my husband. i've bin scouting around... saw a few nice ones at pretty fit (simple), taka n those big dept stores. its not very difficult to locate one if you're not too fussy..... mine is slightly more difficult to decide now as my AG is ivory n not white.... good luck...

when's yr wedding and PS?

hazey

Dear Angeline,

Prautes is located at 100 Tanjong Pagar Road.It is along the same row as House of Etiquette.

Hi Fleur,

May I know what happened I actually placed a deposit with them for a pair of shoes.
I noticed their Service is not as impeceable as Essex (paradox) , but the shoes fit much better and is only half the price.

fleurg07

Hello Angeline,
Was looking for RicciNo as well...they make gorgeous shoes, but i heard they have closed down...what a pity

Hi Hazey,
Let me guess u put down a deposit for the diamante one? well it is very ironical , I was actually impressed with both the shoes and the service by the Temp Staff two times i was in the shop. However, the phone call i got from the perm staff i think her name is dorkers or something, was extremely not professional.
I made a reservation for the shoes in April without putting down the deposit, and the guy who served me (good service) offered to contact me before the increase in the price, suggesting that it will give me more time to decide (wondering whether this is the shoe i really want (200 bux and seems like alot of people also order) , anyways last saturday, i went to my BS, so brought hubby Prautes (opposite), and becos Prautes has yet to call me, told hubby to go take a look. Hubby saw and agreed that if i like it so much, i should go ahead and buy it....anyways i saw the price has increased, so i asked the girl in the shop, that i did put a reservation in April, and if i placed the deposit on Sat, will i get it at the original price or the new price...so being kind and courteous, she confirmed that since i have already ordered it in April, it should not be a problem. My explanation was that , if I have to pay at the increased price, then i might as well look around somemore since I will only need the shoe in Nov, but if the old price is applicable then I will place the deposit......after her assurance... i went ahead to put the deposit after getting the confirmation. Next day... I got a call from this girl called dorkers. First she was extremely rude on the phone, second, she actually told me the 50 bux deposit was no big deal..third, she kept insisting that, my name should not be in the list in the first place (claims her temp staff made the mistake) fourth if all customers comes in and did what i did, the business will make a loss and she needs to protect her company , fifth, told me that if i am not happy they are happy to return me my deposit ie, pay the new increased price or pay 195 and get the old quality.

My point to her was, 1. The principle is wrong
2. They did not brief their staff properly , they should bear the consequences and not let the customer bear the consequences
3. It is not the 50 dollars or mere increase in the price that is important, but the principle behind the whole issue.
4. They made me sound soo petty over a mere $50 dollars increase in the price of the shoes... I don't think that is the right attitude for customer service.

Further more in the end, to shut me up...she went " Ok..SO U WANT THE SHOES at 195 with the new and better quality diamonds Right...that is all u want right... ok ok... if that is what u WANT... we will give it too... we will make the exception"

It was extremely humiliating,and i guess it was a double blow to me.... becos my first two visits to the shop... I was extremely impressed with the service and the shoes.....and to get someone sooo unprofesssional to call...was a shock loh.....

What was also frustrating was that, I am a shoe fanatic...and a sucker for service. I think basic courtesy is very important loh. If Prautes had been more professional, i think i would have been a loyal customer. However now, i am sorry, no matter how nice the shoes they have, i dont think any paying customer deserves such kind of attitude...does it mean to get nice value for money shoes, i have to be seen as a cheapo person?

anne

hi no-time, my WG also ivory. I'll go taka and pretty fit to take a look then..probably will try to scout for EG matching shoes. I might want to have champagne gold colour shoes to match my EG gown. If u happen to know where to find "heeled" men shoes, let me know.
U can email me at [email protected]
Thanks thanks...

peeper

hi anne...

i juz got info fm another girl (puffer) tat her husband got his from Aldo. can oso get cobbler to add into inside soles of the shoes. hust windering if it makes his walking difficult?

the funny tings abt bridal shoes... is tat when i started scouting around these few days.. i realised tat "suddenly".. like actualy almost everywhere oso selling diamante kindof bridal shoes! juz tat its tougher for me cos i cant get high heels

puffer

Hi Anne & no-time,

Juz happened to come into this tread.
Need to clarify myself on adding of sole..
what I meant is that to add rubber sole at the base of the shoes.. sorrie for any confusion.

fleurg07

no time
Kekek i have the same problem with u.... Just saw one which is rather nice in Nine West... maybe u wanna go check it out.....

I have yet to see another one that can wow me....as yet.....

slow

Fleur, You should not be too bothered by Prautes' salesgirl lah
As long as you find the shoe you like and that you have the budget for it, then enjoy the whole experience of your wedding lor.

The most the next time you are there, you throw daggers at that funny sounding named salesgirl lor!! :D

If you do like shoes a lot, maybe you should try Che Che New York - they carry very nice bags! They are at Wheelock Place 2nd storey.

chocolateberry

I'm shopping for shoes for my ivory WG but couldnt decide to go for covered shoes or open-toe shoes. can give me some opinion? thks

fleurg07

Sharon, kekek...i know i beginning to regret alittle...but hubby say hahha...if i buy the shoes...then on actual day... i wear it right..alamak then i get upset....But then i think i will write to Prautes Management... becos their image is badly spoilt by just one person...a pity...

Che che nice ah...okok...i will go see... usually buy alot from Hue, on the pedder... but kekek..now must save for wedding

Chocolate...
Most important , some advise from my BS and friends... what are u more comfortable with. Are u a open toe person or a covered shoe person? (your day to day preference) Don't forget on actual day, alot of walking and standing... so must be comfy.... However, it is very important that if u are looking for high heels, the advise i got is make sure u don't get slip ons.... must have strap around ankle one... cos your WG.. u won't really be able to see the floor...esp stairs... so u cannot afford to allow ur shoes to slip off halfway...kekek....

Hope the information helps....

peeper

hi choc...

i agree wif fleur... comfort is more impt... doubt anyone really bothers abt your shoes! gown, accessories, make-up and hair n stuff wld b more eye-catching den shoes tat prolly get covered by the gown.....

but i hv tis feel tat covered ones will look for glam... less casual.... noe wat i mean? but tat is my opinion lah..

HUE, On Pedder and Che Che NY is out of range for me! dun usually spend so much on shoes anyway.. hehe....

fleurg07

no-time,
true, that's what everyone is telling me also loh... that i should concentrate more on the accessories...etc....

anyways...if anyone is interested and is short like me (about 155) and has a tall hubby... i bought this typical platform heels 5" kekeke...for me to wear with my WG. so that i look taller keke and can have longer train.... bought if from a shop in Far East Square....saw similar ones in Parkway Darling shop...though i understand it is a dying breed..i mean design...

angelinetan

Thanks for ur inform. Pity that RicciNo has closed down, that meant another choice is gone.

Another expert gave me this advise, maybe u can also take note beside the comfort. If ur gown is in lace or soft materials, its better ur shoes is free fm buckles or tiny diamante or crystal as it may accidently spoilt it when u r moving or walking.

Me headache now...continue looking.

peeper

hi gals!! good morning...

i was at NineWest Raffles City on Sat... tink abt 5+ or so... saw an athletic-looking gal trying on very high heels.. tink its for wedding purposes... is tat gal any of u here? hehehe....

fleurg07

no time...hahah i was definitely at NineWest Raffles city trying some shoes around that time also... maybe slightly earlier... ...but i am definitely not the atheletic- looking girl....kekekekke...did u manage to buy anything? i kinda like the one at the entrance...with pinkish diamantes also..... but the heels alittle tooooo low

peeper

Fleur, i cant find any at nine west. heels cant be higher than 1 inch.... tough... =(

u might wan to try Z'oe shoes... available at metro paragon.. both my husband n myself felt the shoes r so nice n glamorous! too bad i cant wear them.

slow

Hi Fleur,
Yep write to Prautes management and demand for an explanation. That's the way to go!

Anyway, you tried Che Che yet? I saw some Che Che bags at Isetan Scotts. With all the Great Singapore Sale going to happen this week, think you will be spoilt for choice!! Stake out at Tang + Co - they should be clearing their stuff at HUGE discounts!!
Yay!!

fleurg07

Sharon...hehe thanks for the support...but now still looking for their mailing addresss.... and will cc all magazines as well....

No lei...have not seen Che Che yet..will go look see... Yup...i cannot wait for the GSS to start.... hahahhaha probably will be spoilt rotten....

No time...got got got ...SOOOOO many GORGEOUS low ones....... U can check out isetan....HOYO.... and ninewest had the diamante one...... sooooooo glittery and nice...and lowwwwwww..... ohoh i also found this shop at Great World City...NOVO...the places looks like its got great potential....kekekeke *eyes light up* spent 5 minutes in there i already like saw 3 to 4 pairs i like to buy.....but hubby was there....so cannot kekekekekekkeke.... promise him I will be cutting my habit of buying shoes:p

YAY!....can't wait for GSS to Start!!!!

slow

Fleur, the GSS started liao lah. When I went jalan jalan a bit in town, seems like all the shops outdoing one another BEFORE the GSS starts! Think all kiasu and scared once GSS starts, then no more novelty lor. Nothing at On Pedder though - think their customers don't care for sale type.

anne

Hi Fleur..I'm looking high and low for low heels or flatten soles shoes.
Let me know where u spotted them...

no-time..keep me posted if u found any place selling ya!

thanks thanks..

fleurg07

anne and no time..kekekek ... haiyah...talk about shopping only....i sure very excited one hahahah...

Oh... saw a couple of really nice flat diamante ones at Tangs Studio in Millenia walk lei...got sale somemore...Go Go Go seee....... if i not so short...i surrrrrrrrre buy one kekekke

Ninewest at Raffles City also have.....
Sharon...arnor....they all snotty one lah... on the pedder....and the sale is usually very very private one....suddenly one shelf in one tiny corner on sale only:p Who says pple who buys shoes there dun like sales kekekekekke...just sometimes boh bian...when u r in love with one of it...kekeke and with little will power like me...we succumb.... and hor suffer for the rest of the month

slow

What about Stuart Weitzmen at Paragon? I see the shop always empty nobody type but the shoes are pretty and sparkling. Wow!

Think the prices should also be very 'sparkling' also lah.... Hahah

fleurg07

Sharon...kekekekek definitely dun even dare to dream...hahahhahaha anyways now i am on a very very very very very tight budget...and i promised hubby that i will keep to budget already....soooo no whimsical buys....

newcomer

Hi FLuer, have not been checking on this thread since I bought my shoes about 3 weeks back. You may want to check with Blurq if she is still interested in Paradox shoes.
She contacted me for the shoes before.

BTW gals, I know how anxious & frustrating it can get running all over Singapore just to find the ideal shoes.
I went to RicciNo shoes (building next to OG at centrepoint area)too, can't find the shop then, just realised that it had closed shop from your postings.

Almost bought my WG shoes from Paradox.
Then went to Tangs & Metro Paragon & got both EG & WG shoes there respectively.

No-time, my WG is from Z'oe shoes, glad that it looks good enough..

FOr flat shoes, can try Taka, they have some very nice beading shoes from this brand Marx fr new york.(can't remember exact spelling) YOu may want to check it out.
Wanted to get tat as WG shoes, but heels not high enough.

Tangs & Metro paragon may have some too.

Good luck!!

fleurg07

Hello CT,

Thanks ... Will go and check Paradox out though i heard they are better with covered types.

Yah heard that Metro has a couple of nice ones...have yet found the time to go look see...i need to get at least 1 pair before my PS in July..... cannot decide....actuallly subconciously still compares it with the one at the stupid shop.... oh welll.... i need to learn to let go...kekekek

jumbo

hi ladies, help needed!!! Does anyone now where to get budget big size wedding shoes, I'm size 10 or 42. Have been shop around quite sometimes but have not spotted any yet. Anyone can help?