Sheraton Towers Singapore Hotel

sweetestagape

Hi Andie,

My MIL had it at the grand banquet hall leh... and hers was 10 to a table, thats why we felt it weird.. not sure abt the table size tho.. thanks in advance for sharing ur food tasting experience!

anzel

Hmm JiaJia...I really have no idea then. Check with your wedding coord? I am meeting mine this weekend, got tons of things to ask, but if I remember this question, I will ask her that too...

Joy, nope haven't. FH and I wanted to discuss theme i,e. linen, lighting, wedding favours etc., but coord say only need to finalise few weeks before the wedding or smtg...I wanted to chope the shotglasses! I like shotglasses! ;p But oh well, not exactly that particular if it runs out or what...heh. Hope you have fun at your card selection!

I am settling my wines at the moment. Still not sure how many bottles to cater for 32 tables. 1 per table likely not enough right? What about beer? Right now got 2 barrels. Very hard to gauge consumption preference of guests too. Any of you any suggestions?

weddingjoy

Hi Anzel, I did read the estimation somewhere in a bridal magazine. It reads to estimate 2 bottles per table. Whichever table consumes less wine will be brought over to the tables that drink more. But since you have 2 barrels, perhaps you want to encourage your guests to take more beer. Since beer unconsumed cannot bring back, wastage. But any remaining wine you can bring back or sell to other brides. Just my 2 cents worth...

Just to share my coordinator just drop me an email that she is leaving. Will pass me over to LK...haizzz. Kinda sad and worried....

weifung89

Joy, why dun take Jimmy. I think he is not bad thou..
Im also settling my wines now. But I have no idea what kind of wine taste good. Sighs

weddingjoy

Weifung, im not sure if Jimmy is a wedding cordinator, what i knew was he helps with the paperwork and scheduling appts for my cordinator. Just correspond with LK via email. My impression is she is efficient and professional. Did answer my several enquiries promptly, so kinda assured.

Haahahaa, hope to help but me no expert in wine. Why don't you go to one of the 2 winery shops proposed in the contract and seek their help? What i know is good wine definitely cost more.

anzel

I checked about the tables. My wedding coord (LK) told me there are 5-ft (10 pax), 6-ft (12 pax) and even 7-ft (15-16 pax, but I think will be cramped, 14 pax better) tables. The price and servings portion will be adjusted accordingly. Just let the hotel know what you want.

Joy, LK is ok. She was a little sticky about the wedding cards, but other than that, she is always polite and cheerful. Don't worry about it. So far no complaints about her.

Weifung, the wines from Excaliber are good. Even the lowest priced ones. However, you may be able to get cheaper wines elsewhere, so just go places that allow you to taste and decide lor (since you are so lucky to get corkage waiver ;p). Can't go wrong with Chardonnay/Sauvignon Blanc for whites and Shiraz/Cabernet Sauvignon for reds.

weifung89

Hi Andie,

I agreed that Chardonnay/Sauvignon Blanc for whites and Shiraz/Cabernet Sauvignon for reds are great! But I wonder if 2wines per table is enough thou. Btw, does anyone know if Sheraton is considered 4stars or5stars hotel?

weifung89

Green Planet, sorry.. I abit SK ah. Cuz when I told my friends Im holding at Sheraton, some of them don't even know where is Sheration.

greenplanet

Sheraton is under the same hotel management group as St Regis, Westin etc...

Did you sign up during promo at Sheraton?
Good offer/perks?

sweetestagape

haha alot of my friends also dun know where it is.. Sheraton is a bigger brand overseas. Not so well known in Singapore.

Green planet, whats the difference between 5star and 5star+ deluxe?

weifung89

Nope, I signed up before the wedding show cuz the date Im wanted and only can use only left with Sheraton. So no choice, got to book fast.. But the L-shaped ballroom is giving me troubles thou. Sighs.
The perks now are better. Got free flow beer & wines.

greenplanet

When is/was the wedding show promo with free flow beer wines?
Now still got free flow beer & wines?
- the website current 2010 package seems no more free flow beer and wine.

occty

Can anyone advise when do we need to visit the florist for ballroom decor? My AD in June so when must I do that?

FOC right?

occty

Thanks Weifung!

I've yet to discuss anything with my coordinator. So what's the step? I juz go florist choose my flower then later stage advise coordinator on my theme?

If my AD on 4jun, when should I confirm my wedding favours? My coordinator tells me meet in may but I hope to accomplish something first leh...

Btw, where do we choose the wedding favours?

weddingjoy

Hi OCCTY, u seem to have the same questions as me too....mine in Aug. Hopefully someone helpful to answer our questions.

Similarly, it seems all stuff comes at the same time, so i too hope to space out preparations by doing something first.

By the way, i thought the flowers provided are pretty standard. They may have certains themes catered so its a matter of choosing. If you want some other flowers other than the ones provided, you will need to top up where necessary. Correct me if i'm wrong...

weifung89

OCCTY: Wedding favours chose at hotel. Make an appt with your florists and go down choose. ST provides us a list of florists as well. :)

occty

Thanks weifung!

Sheraton only gave me 1 name for florist, somewhere at LCK!
So far! Sigh. Will visit them soon bah..

So I guess I'll choose my wedding favour when I do food tasting in april.

jol_eeyha

Am considering Sheraton due to the attractive package and location. Only qualms is the grand ballroom being L-shaped.. Can our guests view our march-in and stage, is the view block?

dash80

They have a live feed video to project your march in for the guests to view thru the big screen, you can check with your coordinator....

And trust me, with the other small screen set up, it is difficult for your guests to miss your entrance...

dash80

Hi Andie,

Nope..

For my Live Feed, I did not provide anything, Sheraton provided the live feed with its own built-in camera...

anzel

Bryce, thanks. Who was your coordinator? Mine was LK and she said I needed to contact my Videographer for it. Did the live feed project both your march-in and also the champagne pouring on stage?

stargazzing

Im new here. Congrats to all ST brides (incl me
). SO happy to see so much valauble reviews shared by everyone.

Anyone coordinator is Irene. Read along the thread but no luck. Hope she will be as good as LK. Met her once, nice to talk to but im not good with bargains so i guess i don't have lots of perks like you guys do. Good for you all.

Will try to schedule my FT soon then update you all. Same goes for wedding favours.

anzel

I have been an active member of this thread (scroll up ;p) and this is only why I am posting here as well on my Brand New Omazz King-Size Mattress for Sale.

- Authentic TalaTech Latex (U.S. manufactured Talalay Latex) & spring system from U.S.

http://www.omazz.com/why/index.htm

We are selling because the bed is a little too big for our room, and we are temporarily going to buy a Queen size bed for just a couple of years, so not going to use such a good one. It's really great. I would buy back the same model (or newer model) when my place is finally ready. =)

Leave me your email/contact no. for full details on where you can try the mattress and see the bedframe. Or email me at [email protected]. I promise no gimmicks. Invoice of price we paid to show we are giving a genuine discount for brand new goods.

junkiegal

can anyone share which dish they find it nice during the food tasting? i'm going to select my food tasting but not sure which one i should select for the "meat" and "vegetables" category.

princess123

To all brides to be,

I was told to use original cds at sheraton from now on.. This got to do with compass license. So we can't bring our burned cds anymore, or else if caught we'll be fine..

weddingjoy

Hi Princess, thanks for sharing.
You got the info from Sheraton? So if we got our own original cds, we can still play it through the night? I guess, everyone is headache over the Montage songs...haizzz

mamit

I seriously dont think its a big deal. they do not raid hotels. they are more concerned with people who upload montages/music to youtube. dont worry.

weddingjoy

mjm: u might be right. But im just afraid hotels may stop u from doing so since i heard the hotels are being fined as well as couples if caught.

Well, i guess i need to sort this out with my coodinator.

mamit

hmmm we checked with the coordinator...we will be playing everything from our laptop. my advice is think positive and dont stress over this. if you read a thread on the forum, i quote: someone called compass and asked them bluntly if they would raid hotels. the representative laughed.

weddingjoy

i nearly fainted when u quoted the thread in the forum. i mean....hahahahahaha. sorry i cant help it.

actually i agree with you but my htb was extremely uncomfortable after seeing the news on this music issues. He doens't want any last minute hiccups and we not having any backups should anything happen.

if ur coordinator is fine with the arrangement, i guess it's ok. Who's ur coordinator by the way?

mamit

my coordinator is I... hmm, i think its fine as long as u use music not covered by the record labels represented...and a lot of them are not covered especially most english songs. yeah the threads are always a pleasure to read.

i have a belief that singapore news like to scare singaporeans, becos we r all v. kiasee. those companies have been around before the news article. they probably publish it to scare people so that less people do it.

unless u r fine with using music from 1960 (or before) or whatever ST provides (which is not a lot)...then go ahead. if not...just do what u want and hope for the best!

princess123

Hi mjm, who's your coordinator? We can't play songs from laptop too, only original cds. It's best to clarify with the hotel's AV manager. Maybe your coordinator did not check with him...

princess123

Hi Joy, yes you may bring your original cds. Hotel is able to play the original cds for you..
Fyi, i ever asked the AV manager previously regarding any technical or music issue..

weddingjoy

mjm> i think if ive not guessed wrongly, my coordinator is same as yours.

Princess> acutally i do not have much expectations on my music selection for the entire night. Since i be going for the black/red theme, i might as well go for a shanghai theme. So thinking just pop by a music shop and pick up a cd on the shanghainese music. Ha! As for march-in music, i shall see if i like any song provided by hotel.

summer_dream12

i am one of ST brides. i asked my coordinator before, she just say this can talk to the VideoGrapher.. that hotel will not care so much abt the MUSIC...

can someone advise me??

summer_dream12

Hi Princess123,

my coordinator never say Hotel will charge us any fees on the MUSIC. she just asked me to liaise with the VG thats all. so i guess the HOTEL won't really get involved. it is the VG that we need to look for regarding ant SONGS issues.. =)

mamit

ok lets not get too carried away. i think everything will be fine and just do as per normal because no one is going to get into trouble.

btw anyone having their wedding this coming june?

occty

Hihi!

Yes yes, me holding wedding @ ST in June. ;) Yours?

I've not done my food taste, not even met up with coordinator yet to choose favor or theme. So many things not done yet.

Any idea which veg is nice? Very limited on veg dish... Fish should go for cod or garupa? Which sharks fin is popular?

Anyone choose your own flowers for the set up?

I've asked my coordinator on the music, if you've video or photo montage, the person who did that video/montage has to pay for license fees to use the song. If you don't have video or montage, you don't have to bother abt this. Hotel doesn't charge. It's a charge by Compass to the company who used the songs.

As for march in songs and songs for the night, as long as they are original CDs, no problem at all.