Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi all, have been MIA too cos busy settling into new job. Now v busy in preparing the wedding. V scared that not enuff tables cos my family suddenly said they want 17 tables, and my bf family got 15! Tried to change to siloso, but another couple had booked it. Aniwae, we really prefer pavilion..so everybody have to compromise-cutting down on guest list..

Hi moonmoon, how much did u pay per card for printing?Im still sourcing out for cards..

I asked my coordinator abt the valet svs and she said dont have leh..Anybody can cfm this?

sther,
i love pavilion so much.. but too bad it booked by other couple... i also didn't see ani valet svs when we are at rasa.. they just tell u full.. pls park at beach carpark... sianz...

*WaveWave* who is the one who is taking 15 june 08 also... if u happened to have sudden increase of guests and wish to change pls let me know.. hee.. i most willing to exchange with u...

i was there the last time somewhere in May and i when to the carpark to count the no of lots.. then i saw a counter and a few staff siting there and was told that they are there cos' the there is going to be some wedding event that nite and they wl help the guest to park their car to the beach carpark if rasa carpark is full...

now i am confuse too...

they don't provide valet parking services while i was there for 2 counts of wedding.
they will only "direct" you with their "glow" baton to the free lot..

hi Blue Blue
When are you having your ad?
Is there any other things for me to take note of cos i am having my ad on 11/11/07 @ the ballroom

Quite concern and gan cheong over the details don no my coodinator will go wrong?

Wow, Chris&Veron, yr AD is tml!!
Congrats congrats...Do tell us more abt it. Hope everyting goes well for u..
~Cheers~

tml got 2 wedding in rasa sentosa... who taking the ballroom... would like to see the deco... how u all do the deco of stage.. look very plain hor...

oh by the way anyone ask to change the table cloth to other colour... seem like all white very boring...

i'm considering rasa as venue for wedding dinner coz we really like the pavillion. Is entrance to the pavillion outdoors? any problem if it rains that day?

by the way, anyone considered using the lawn as wedding venue? any feedback?

I am new to this forum....would appreciate any tips and guide! I am thinking of holding my solemnization cum dinner at Rasa Sentosa in 2008. Am open to any date between 1 Apr -30 June...May I know what is their wet weather programme like?

dear brides,

i am writing here to share my wonderful experience with rasa sentosa last weekend (while everything is still fresh in my mind) to allay your concerns (if any) about choosing the hotel as your wedding venue...

my coordinator was shirlene (and tiffany was learning the ropes from her..she seemed pretty nice as well). These gals were great in every way..

from my 1st interaction with shirlene in getting the wedding proposal and stuff...she has been very responsive and patient with my every single request...and i would say very flexible..
knowing that i am interested in the cod fish dish, she gave us the option of paying extra to upgrade to the weekend menu.

as for the actual day, my wedding went well smoothly on a Friday. cocktail started at 7pm. dinner started at 8.30pm.

1. transport...
I would say don't worry too much abt that. Mine was on a Friday. and yes, there were in fact two wedding dinners on the day.. though parking at the hotel space was a problem.. parking at the beach carpark was not..
and not to mention, the hotel coaches came in very useful for our guests too.
of cos one thing to learn.. perhaps can have a fren at the beach carpark to help direct guests to take the rasa bus. a bit of confusion there.

2. think the place is value-for-money with the quality food and portions as well.
guests love the herbal chicken dish that i had.
and not to mention the free flow of beer..it helps.

3. ambience
nothing beats the resort feel of the place. and the sunset during cocktail. view of the sea from the pavilion ballroom.

pavilion ballroom lighting may not be the best..but the "open-ness" of the room makes guests feel good abt the place.

i admit i was worried abt the floral decor (or lack of it) initially...but shirlene did help me by finding out what i like..and as i like white roses..with blue stuff .. she suggested to the florist to design floral decor with blue ribbons and stuff..
and the banquet cordinator was able to cater to my last-minute requests e.g. having rose petals for guests to "throw" instead of laying these on the march-in aisle...

4. flexi hotel
i know of many hotels which do not allow pple to cater from outside etc. but the hotel was quite flexi, allowing me to cater my cocktail stuff from another company as long as i signed an authorisation form. i thought that was very sweet.

last but not least.. i think the hotel was different from others cos of the exceptional service rendered from the sales staff, frontline staff, banquet staff..they were excellent...(making up for the disadvantage of a slightly further location)

not to mention.. i loved the room! and the in-room breakfast after the overnight stay in rasa sentosa..and we get to spend a bit of getaway time on the island..sun tanning/kayaking..it really felt like a holiday.. i was tellin my hubby that i would never have been able to do that if my hotel was one of those in orchard.. cos i bet i will spend the next day shopping/movie just like any other day.

i am not selling rasa.. but just sharing my experience with you gals.. and for brides-to-be who have signed up with rasa..to know of at least one (if not many more) very gd experience.

p.s. i guess it helped that it din rain that day.

oops forgot to add that my wedding was for 32 tables. and the other wedding was abt 30 tables too.. in case you are wondering..
you may email me at [email protected] if you hav any queries.. i will b very happy to share my experience with you.. (despite my very unhappy experience with my bridal studio)

hello stacy!!

*phew* glad u manage to answer our darkest worries..

and good to hear everything went well!
for the beach carpark ushering.. do u think it wld be good to put signs or direction there instead of putting helpers there?
thanks for sharing!!!!!!

Dear brides to be,

I'm back from my wedding at rasa sentosa.
Please do not worry too much about the location,food & timing.
My guests commented the food is nice and the portion is big. As for transport, my guests had no issue as well because most of them took the coaches services we provided.
Throughout the dinner, everything is in order and the banquet-in-charge(Afande & tiffany) made great effort to ensure the banquet runs smoothly, guide us along the banquet and keep us updated of any wine/beer consumed.
I & my wife had a great time during the dinner and we have no regrets to hold our wedding banquet in rasa sentosa, esp. with perry as our event manager.
Perry has put in great effort to accommodate to our requests. He is a patient and easy-going guy.
Perry & his team had did a great job and make my wedding a successful and enjoyable night for me and my wife, not forgetting my parents and guests.
Thumbs-up for Perry, his team and Rasa Sentosa!

congrats to the 2 newly-wed couples (chris&veron and stacy)! glad to hear about your good reviews...

just to confirm... is the beach carpark very far from the hotel? so for guests who park at the beach carpark, they have to take the public rasa bus to get to the htl?

Wow, i must show my bf the 2 posts to allay any fears we have..i agree, signs placed at the beach carpark is easier than placing helpers. Those helpers will be so ke lian, they wun be able to attend the first part of the wedding..

Im having my solemnization in the pavilion before my dinner and im afriad that guests might not be there on time, cos my pastor says the whole ceremony will take max 1 hr. Thinking of starting at 7.30pm ( cocktail at 6.30-7) then dinner at 8.30om. Stacy_yx, my dinner will be on a friday too. did guests arrive very late? as in at ard 7.30pm, was yr guest attendance abt 75%?

Thanks Truff(spacebar)

To Truff(spacebar):True, there is a distance between beach carpark & hotel but the bus is cater just for guest to the wedding dinner only so i think there is no big issue,Waiting interval is 10 min if i am not wrong.

To Sther:I do not have any helper placed at the beach carpark to direct them.but wat i can say is most of my guest arrive on time.

DO NOT WORRY ABOUT THE TIMING AS COORDINATE WILL TELL YOU WAT TIME TO PRINT ON THE CARDS JUST VOICE OUT WAT YOU NEED TO DO AND ASK FOR THEIR ADVISE

HI Chris and Stacy!

So glad both of u have enjoyed ur wedding... my is coming 21st Dec Friday also... hopefully everything turns out as great as us... tks alot!

BTW can advise where is the location of the coaches at the beach carpark? Issit easy to find?

Hi fashionista diva... added u in...

So the next wedding will be FAITH!!! Hw's ur preparation liao?

08/12/07 - Faith - Pavilion
14/12/07 - Natalie - Lawn
15/12/07 - Jingzjingz - Siloso
16/12/07 - Charlie cat - Pavilion
21/12/07 - Moon Moon - Pavilion
28/12/07 - Kiki - Pavilion
29/12/07 - Mignonne - Pavilion
05/01/08 - Ms Volcano - Pavilion
10/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
19/01/08 - IceCherry - Siloso
27/01/08 - Noreen - Pavilion
22/02/08 - Libra_Ger - Pavilion
21/03/08 - Jenny Lau - Siloso
28/03/08 - Sther (sther)- Pavilion
21/06/08 - Ryane (stanryane)- Siloso
07/09/08 - Lovely Pooh - Siloso
XX/10/08 - AJ Wech - ???
07/12/08 - Jasline Tay - Pavilion
xx/12/08 - Karen - Pavilion
XX/XX/08 - Fashionista Diva

Congrat to Stacy and Chris! So glad to hear your good review on Rasa.. hope our experience with them will be great too!

Initially, I tot there is valet parking in Rasa.. so i wasn't worried.. but now that I noe that there isn't... i am very worried. cos my snr mgmts wl definitely be driving and possible to be late... how can i ask them to park and take bus to Rasa? Would be unpleasant for them leh... need some recommendation here... can we reserve parking lots for them?

hmm.. i realised that mine wasnt included in the list.. strange.. cos i remembered me included myself in the list before. well, maybe it got lost somewhere. anyway, here goes!

10/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
22/03/08 - truff (spacebar) - Siloso
XX/10/08 - AJ Wech - ???
xx/12/08 - Karen - Pavilion

hi chris,

just to clarify, so this bus that you mentioned is not among one of the coaches that are included our package right?

hi libra_ger,
i think im feeling as worried as u (regarding the carpark thingy).
as for me, i am planning to do a recce trip sometime next month.. when i go collect my invitation cards + finalisation meeting... i seriously need to check out the carpark situation before i send my invites. so at least i know what to pre-ampt my guests regarding the parking. will update again!

To truff:No,the bus that fetch guest from beach carpark to hotel is from rasa when there is wedding dinner then the hotel will make the arrangment.

Sorry for being straight, for me,i didnt care much about the ppl driving in cos my concern is the people taking the coaches will be late or not,did they miss the bus or did they get the boarding location right cos once drive in,either you get to park at the hotel itself or u will be direct to the beach carpark via signboard

hi gals...i think what my guest feedback was that..after they parked at the beach carpark. they didn't know where to head to take the bus (which is in fact just up there whre all the buses are)
i think there were already signs put up. but still they missed it i guess..
so was jus thinkin it may help to have someone thre to guide =)

can anyone share the "projector" experience at pavillion or if there any photos taken. cos wanna to know where u all engagge the rental and how is it been position during the dinner..

Heyo, i have changed my date to 30th Mar, sun at the siloso ballroom. Reluctantly gave up the pavilion cos too many tables..=(

hey gers, anyone's wedding co-ordinator is perry? I had a very extremely hard time getting hold of him for help.. Is it just me?? getting stressed up!! seems like I haven't done much for my AD with Rasa... super stress now..

sorry for being MIA for quite some time. was busy with exam n wedding preparation. so hows everyone's preparation?

one more mth to my AD...alot of miscellaneous stuff and GDL stuff not started yet...stressed!

can any kind soul advise whether it is a must for guests to bring along the invitation cards to our weddings. will the bus drivers or security at sentosa entry really demand to see the cards???

i've reminded my frens to bring along the cards but just in case they didnt, dunno will they hv a hard time going into sentosa/boarding the buses.

Hi Yun

My Co-ordinator is perry,although he is busy,but he will call back once he is free,do not worry much.
during my wedding,he is also busy with handling other wedding but i have no problem reaching him.

just give him a call if you have his mobile or call the hotel and ask for him.

Hi Kiki

It a must to take the wedding card

Chris Chua

Hi Kiki!

Me also too busy to log-in... hee... very fast 15days more to my AD then urs liao... hahaha.. have my GDL tis coming Sunday... guess is the GDL stuffs that's stressing all of us up... dont worry it will be over 1...

I wish to be more relax for my AD.... wow....

hi chris&veron

finally met up with Perry. He actually very helpful.. hahaa.. looking forward to my big day. seems to have alot of undone stuffs.

hi Chris...ok thanks!

hi Moon_Moon...ya everyone (esp most of us are dec & jan BTBs) is busy with wedding preparation...this tread suddenly becomes quiet.

my GDL is next coming sun...bought most stuff but still feel many misc stuff not done.

dun even hv time to go facial yet...hahaha :-P

i'm interested in having my Dec'08 wedding in Pavilion.
I saw that the cocktail area is outdoor. What happens if it rains? Any experience / tips to share?

Hi gals, congrats to all upcoming BTBs

updating my date for next yr. 12/12/08

10/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
22/03/08 - truff (spacebar) - Siloso
XX/10/08 - AJ Wech - ???
12/12/08 - Karen - Pavilion

Hi ladies!!!

I'm back.. my wedding is over!!! So glad the weather was gd except before wedding dinner starts slight rain.. is already... everything fall in place....

May all of u have a wonderful wedding also.

Hi Ladies!
how are everyone of u? guess BTBs whose wedding are coming soon are busy busy now.

my wedding went on smooth n well on 28th...now still relaxing at Rasa :- ) glad that everything went well and smooth.

Best wishes to all BTBs!

Hi Moon Moon,

great to hear your wedding went well too {",)
when are u going for yr honeymoon?

Hi CN,

the march-in in Pavilion is about 1 min or so. depends on how slow/fast u walk.

Hi Mignonne,

Hows yr wedding? I was at your solemnization ceremony at the lawn. hehe...me busybody went to take a look...hope to see u the pretty bride but only manage to catch yr backview :-P

To all Rasa Brides & BTBs,

Happy New Year 2008!!!
Hope everyone hv a good and fruitful year ahead.
And wishing everyone marital bliss.
Enjoy the Countdown tonite :-D

kiki (",)

hello kiki,

HAppy new year to you too!!
times really files fast...ur wedding is over and glad everything went fine for you..

yah.. the rest of us are realli busy now... hahaha...with the guest list and many other little things..... looking fw to our big day too.. =)

happy 2008...
kiki and moonmoon, glad to know u both enjoy your special day... so how is the parking problem? me got 4 more months but still haven't start anything... sianz...

Hi Onie (CN) & qianqian,
ya time really flies...we are turning from Miss to Mrs...hahaha

on my wedding nite, there was another wedding too plus heard tat SM Goh was at Rasa for an event too. was worried abt transport & parking. fortunately my guests & bosses were able to park at rasa's carpark.

hey gals, enjoy the preparation process and all the best for your weddings. oh...i still missed the days when we were busy preparing for our wedding (",)

I just had my wedding in Dec07. It was fantastic. Inspite of the Zouk out on the same night >> lack of parking space, everything went on well. The good was food! My guests gave praises. The banquet manager and service staff are very helpful. My wedding coordinator did a very good job to ensure everything went smoothly. The bridal suit overlooks the sea! It was very nice. Everything was good. It was really an unforgettable day for us. Want to thank Rasa Sentosa, Shirlene and her team for the great job!!

Hi Faith, congrat! glad that everything went smooth for you. We hope our day wl b as successful as your! btw did u had it on weekends? we upgraded our menu to weekends menu... hopefully our guest will like it too.

did u use rasa favours or you had your own?

btw, Happy New Year to all Btbs...

we were indeed busy tat i didn't hd time to come visit this site for a long time...

Hi Moon Moon & Kiki, wow times really flies.. n u gals already Mrs..

Mine is 1 month plus from now and this stage of planning was really fun, i am infact enjoying the progress... getting well wishing msg from friends & colleagues hee hee

hope mine wl be successful like yours.. n u gals gave me more confident to run our show... tks ya

wish u blissful marriage and "zhao shen gui zi"!

Hi rasa brides,

I am new to the forum. Adding to the numbers, my wedding date is on 20 sep 08 at Siloso.

Just like to check how much you all pay for using the lawn or beach for solenmatisation?