Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

hi CN,

hmmm...most likely i'll get my GDL stuff at that shop too.

oh i hv get my printing company to print my inserts double sided...one side chinese the other side english...then insert + map/transport details + car pass all slot into the card case lor.

i rem my prev coordinator said becos of some disputes with couples over projectors not functioning issues so rasa decided not to provide projector service anymore.

huh.. then how can we be sure that our projector wl be functioning and compatible if Rasa themselves hv that issue... think really need some help here...

i remember seeing previous thread that the projector can be rented at $80 including delivery..

Hi Kiki, ur card is very cute!...

Hi Cn, where is the GDL shop u mentioned? i was told to go to beauty world for cheaper stuff.. btw, i hope for the cards that we r doing on our own, we won't lost the classic image of Shangrila Rasa Sentosa.. is Rasa giving us their logo for hotprint?

hi libra,

u remember which thread? hmmm.. i gotta do some homework soon.. for the projector..

i dun have the exact address.. i will drop by one of the weekend then i will get the contacts and send to u..

i tried to went to T-dragon.. and the price they quote me is realli "dragon" price.. hahaha.. i can throw in another table for the price of the quote..

so going to JB this weekend... if realli too $$.. just got to take the RASA cards... =(

Hi Cn, just checked.. it is the thread archive on 14 Jul 07.. somewhere in the middle by clueless..

How abt Favours? u decided what to get already?

Tks for checking on the shop!

for the favors, i have a problem with the china side.. now still cracking my head for alternatives.. really thought of flying to BKK to the wholesale place and get it once and for all.. but then the air tickets.. doesn't make sense..

i am still dreaming of getting the magnets... if worse come to worse, i just get the chocolates which is more practical bah...

u wanna to add in the RASA logo? i am not sure leh.. cos the design that my FH drafted out, we din put the logo.. jia lat.. forgot about the logo.. haha..

Hi ladies !!

i need some help !!! i am in the midst of negoitating with rasa, i am trying to negoitate for cheaper rates for subsequent beer, but they are not willing to do so.. Do you all get charge full rate for children below 12 years old as well ? ( i am having a dinner buffet).

as much as i like to book with them, but i need to watch out for our wallet.. very much appreciated !!! Thanks alot !!!

Hi AJ Wech, my is chinese dinner.. so cost is by tables. i didn't manage to get discount from Rasa too cos i didn't book during the bridal show..

Hi CN, me too.. also hope to get magnets.. how possible now.. as for the invites, i wanna include rasa logo leh.. but dunno if they wl provide ... i am also considering going JB to check out the cards this weekends

Hi AJ,

mine is also chinese dinner, what i know is if u sign up during the wedding fair, u might be able to get more perks. btw, when is ur AD? is it very urgent?

hi libra,

haha.. scully, we will see each other in JB.. haha.. btw, are u really interested in the magnets? can give me ur email? i send the pictures to u that i have shortlisted.. if both of us combine (for the same item) the qty, we might be able to get it cheaper..

Hi CN and Libra-Ger!

Ya Sin printer are costly... me going to JB this Sun also leh... maybe we can see each other. Kekeke... we dun intend to spent too much on cards as my hubby and mum say.... pple see liao and throw... for the logo u mean printer can add in? Dun need extra cost?

thanks to Moon MOon , CN and Libra Ger !

my AD is next year Oct.. but want to finalise the venue asap lor.. we wont be able to attend the wedding fair..so...

we need the beer lor.. hahhaha !

so when are all your ADs? this year ? next year ?

Hi AJ!

Tis is the list of dates for our wedding... u still got a long way....

27/10/07 - Pastillies - Siloso
11/11/07 - Tssr - Siloso (Lunch)
11/11/07 - 1Chris - Siloso
08/12/07 - Faith - Pavilion
14/12/07 - Natalie - Lawn
15/12/07 - Jingzjingz - Siloso
16/12/07 - Charlie cat - Pavilion
21/12/07 - Moon Moon - Pavilion
28/12/07 - Kiki - Pavilion
29/12/07 - Mignonne - Pavilion
05/01/08 - Ms Volcano - Pavilion
10/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
19/01/08 - IceCherry - Siloso
27/01/08 - Noreen - Pavilion
22/02/08 - Libra_Ger - Pavilion
21/03/08 - Jenny Lau - Siloso
28/03/08 - Sther (sther)- Pavilion
21/06/08 - Ryane (stanryane)- Siloso
07/09/08 - Lovely Pooh - Siloso
XX/10/08 - AJ Wech - ???
07/12/08 - Jasline Tay - Pavilion
xx/12/08 - Karen - Pavilion

Hi AJ,

Mine is early jan next yr, dun worry if u cannot attend the Wedding fair on the actual day. u can just sign up with then few days b4 the fair.. they will still give u the perks if their policy din change... their wedding fair is ard feb to mar..

Hi CN, yes.. really keen on the magnet.. can multiply me or email to me at [email protected] tks ya..!

Hi Moonmoon, i wl also b going on Sun.. hee hee.. cos most hotels invites comes with their logo.. so i dun want to miss Rasa out too.. hv to check wz the vendors loh... also to see their samples..

Hi AJ, wl u b booking Pavilion or Siloso? think perks can b negotiated... they should give u bonus since u book early.

thx CN, i really hope i can get rasa for my wedding... by the way is there and coordinater that u would recommend.. maybe i will just give them a call.. they seem like ignoring my email... or maybe they have too many email to reply... sobsob..

Hi qian qian,

just give them a call... faster, when is ur AD? if u can afford to wait .. then wait for the wedding show next yr..

i wan in next year june.. so i think its very rush.. hee.. cos next yr.. for weekend i'm only given 2 dates.. either 15 june or 06 dec... sianz... now muz really pray hard that the date is available... i will ask my hubby to call asap.. thx...

yeah, just called them... 15 june is available.. will go down next week to view the place and place payment.. heee... so happy... me going to be a rasa BTB.. lolz... pray everything went smoothly...

hi everyone....

has anyone attended a wedding at rasa recently? need some feedback about them. would really appreciate any comments - good or bad especially if you have had an outdoor solemnization at the beach.

i've actually signed up with rasa early this year but a few well meaning people have been telling me to change my mind due to their unhappy experiences. just want have more feedback to see if what they experienced is the norm or just unfortunate incident.

can also email me at [email protected] if u dun wan to post here.

thanks =)

don, wad unhappy experiences your fren encountered? but i got feedback from my fren that overall it very romantic but the food is so so only.

ya.. food wise, think all hotels are the same.. if there's any bad encounter.. i can only guess of the location and parking issues only...

hi don, do share wz us so that we can also do something or feedback to the hotel that we don't wan this to happen to our guest.. hv not been there since jul and have not heard anything abt it..

i m also hvg my rom at the lawn..

hi qian qian, wl u b taking pavilion or siloso? me too also didn't get the deal during bridal show

guess we all wan a romantic experience tat y we chose rasa despite the limitation in favours, wine, invites, parking & location :p

i dunno ehich ballroom to choose.. i like the siloso with high celling and grand but the march in very short... pavilion have a more natural setting, will be romantic.. but dun like the pillar. haha.. think will go down choose.. maybe go down on 11/11 to see.. there there will be 2 wedding on that day.. but i hope that on 15 jun 08 there will be only one wedding.. so my guest won't have to park at other place...

anyone know how many parking lots is available at rasa sentosa

Hi qianqian, think it is abt 200 i suppose.. they also hv valet service.. if lots really run out, the guest can engage their service and they will help to park at beach hotel.

thx libra ger for your info... if 200 then if that day have only one wedding, it should be enough.. by the way is the parking chargable.. do we need to get the free parking ticket from rasa.. how many % u all manage to get?

Hi qianqian, parkig in Rasa is free but parking at beach carpark is chargerable and think tipping for valet parking may b required... it come on 1st come 1st serve other than VIP lot which 1 wl b secure for each wedding.

thc librager... oh by the way anyone of u having your dinner earlier.. me got this idea of having my cocktail at 6 or even 5.30pm instead of normailly 7pm.. then my guest will have a chance to enjoy the beautiful sunset and mine date is on sunday ppl may wan to go back early.. if i bring forward 1 hr.. then the wedding can end at 10 instead of 11pm.. is it workkable.. but i afraid ppl have this concept of coming to wedding around 8... then how?

honestly i am not optimistic given the local trend.. u have ppl reaching on time or earlier but also ppl coming in later.. so if 1 quarter of the people do not arrive on time, then u don noe to commence per schedule... that is the problem with we local ppl :p it wl b worse on weekends cos there r more time stretch before 8 and u bound to have ppl dilly dally..

Still I think u can indicate something like tat in your invites and personally let them noe if possible.. at least you minimize the late comer.. i wouldn't suggest that u just indicate in ur invites cos we all always takes it for granted and come at the usual timing..

so r u going to hv ur solemnization on AD? Good to hv solemnization at 6pm or even 5.30pm and ppl wanting to attend ur service wl come earlier

Hi all, i just went to see the RS last week and planning to book the solemnisation cum dinner at the beach. Anyone doing the same?

So far, how has the service from the wedding coordinators there been?

I having my cocktail starting at 6pm and guests be seated at 630pm. Trying hard to remind the guests during RSVP to be early so they can go back early

Hi Don,

I am so far very happy with the experience, especially with my coordinator Shirlene. She has been very hospitable and accomodating. E.g. I do not have enough invites and she has kindly sent to me 2 times. When we went down for discussion and phototaking, she brought us to the restaurant for light refreshment. The service has been good. But I have yet to have my wedding. Keeping my fingers cross. Just concern about the carpark, guest arrival timing and food quality. Cant comment on that yet. What did u heard bad about Rasa? Can let me know so I can keep a look out for that. My email add is [email protected]

i saw some of you are concerned abt guests coming in later due to the location..

jus wanted to share my experiences - i dont have solemnisation by the beach on that day, but still managed to 99% guests seated by 745pm. it was a sunday. by 8pm Everyone was ready to start but we tot it was abit early, so waited another 10min before we started.

everything ended at around 10pm. jus as what we planned cos it was a sunday and monday is a working so 10pm is jus great.

i guess the trick is bcos we both had reminded our frens again and again that we need to start early as it is a sunday. WE reminded them alot of times and though their comments were "aiya others sure late one la"...but we werent concerned. i was surprised too, when on actual day, 80% of the guests arrived and i am still not ready yet. haha...

as for family members, we have coach to fetch them to and fro hence the entire family all came altogether in the coach...so ok, no lateness there.

as for their wedding coordinators, from my experience, i will say that i expected this "person" to be more professional. everything was great, except the service of this coordinator. service is not just about the smiles and acting cute, it should be more abt being attentive and helpful and detail orientated. i took a look at all the coordinators and u know what, all are jus as young and inexperienced. although my coordinator have been working in the hotel for a long time, she is still not as pro as the other mgr which i met from the other hotels. that was 1 let down.

regarding carpark - amazingly, that sunday i think there is only 1 dinner hence there was enough carpark slots by 6pm as the hotel guests would mostly move out already. but my frens did say it can get quite "competitve" at 7pm...haha.. so if there are going to be 2 dinners on the day of your wedding, it is CONFIRM your guests will need to park at the beach carpark. you will really need to verbally instruct your guests driving in abt the beach carpark. let them know the situation first, dun expect to give them a "lousy" surprise when they reached and see no slots and dun evn know where the beach carpark is.

we also have brothers to take care of "VIP" cars by our bosses. LOL we reserved a couple of slots for my hubby's bosses. this needs quite abit of "plotting" cos carpark is first come first serve "no reservation" allowed...but we cannot expect his bosses to park at the beach there, henc this one needs a lot of coordinating by your brothers.

listen - it really needs a lot of coordinating by your brothers, no joke. i have heard from my frens wedding[which i couldnt attend at that time] that there were guests who lost their way and only turn up end at the dinner "sian".

the last and only lousy comments from my colleagues were - that the staff were quite "looking forward to end everything fast and go home asap" so you can see they serve quite fast and was actually chasing my guests to eat faster so they can clear". i was shocked to hear this but am embearassed that such a "class hotel" can have such service.

hope it helps!!

my parents went to a wedding last mth..the guests commented the food taste awful..the prawns, chicken not fresh..

If yr guests did not give any comments abt the food, u are able to imagine how it taste..

personally i never been there..there's this uncle who sit with them at the same table are complaining throughout the nite..end up most of the food they did not finish..

how much per table it cost actually? tink the food margin must be very low..but i tink ambience should be quite nice.

my mum even say the food at Raja Boon Lay taste better..

Hi Ladies!

I'm back... sorry for MIA so long as was busy preparing my exam... finally over!!! So nw can concentrate on wedding preparation.

I have printed my card at JB... not T&T leh.. the shop opp T&T.... reason Y I chosen tat cos the envelope is nicer and cheaper as compare to T&T. Of cos T&T speed is faster lah but I think quality I get also impt. Kekeke.... nw in the process of finalising the layout... everything ok liao can print! Horray! Hope can collect my mid Nov.

Hw are u ladies? Wat have u done?

HI Trix!

Really appreciate ur comments... tks! We all will bear in mind!

Hi Blueblue!

Tks for your comments also... think is a reminder for all BTB... Mmm... but I always have this thinking is hard to PLEASE everyone loh so just open 1 ear close 1 ear.... tat day is our impt day dun let all these affect the mood!!! ENJOY!!! Agree ladies? Hee....

Oh... just a little info incase u all need it... mine is a Fri but I'm starting the cocktails at 630pm. I encourage my guests to come str fm work... told them we wanna let them enjoy the nice sunset so pls be early... hoping to start the dinner latest at 8pm.... hopefully I can get in all right. Hee....

me will be going down to rasa later... just to check do we have complimentary entry to sentosa.. or we have to pay as usual.. and i understand that rasa carpark is for thier hotel guest and wedding guest only... so are we allowed to park there too.. pls advice...

hey gals, how much rasa charges for the special room rate for guest? mine is 220 for the cheapest.. issit expensive.. cos i remmeber seeing 170 one somewhere in this forum..