Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi Moon Moon,
Sorry I dun have the GDL list... am also looking for one... anyone can share the list with us?

My PS has been set on 2 October... hope the weather will be nice...

Hi CN..my ps at rasa is on 24th sept..but i will only go there after taking my indoor photos..at rasa i m only interested to take e bridal suite...cos next day i m gg bintan for my outdoor ps..

Hi qian2

me and bf also lookin for rasa sentosa dec 08 package..BF already called up..its ard 768 nett
for yr 08..if yr 09 every package will be additional 30 bucks

Hi Ryane,

really ah.. so qiao, we both having the same PS!!

do we need to pay for the suite? if we want to use their premises?

Anybody manage to get day use room on AD? my jie meis needs it to get ready for the night event leh.. wonder how much rasa charge for tat.. anybody noe?

I think Rasa offers rooms at a special rate as part of the package (i.e. $190 per room). But do try to ask for it from your coordinator...depending on your package they might give it to you...

Who's your coordinator?

Yes, mine also S$190 per room per nite. but if using for the day, some hotel quote half price. Did u hv day use in ur package?

My coordinator is Shirlere

Hi CN,

dun tink we need to pay, only borrow to take photos mah..help them advertise free also leh..if frens sees the pics n like their suite..rasa will haf more customers loh

Just wanna to ask.. if we get our own projector... where will it be place? directly infront of the stage or???

cos i still cannot visualise where i can place my projector and do i have to place my laptop there? hmmmm seem out of place leh..

imagine my sister sitting there in the middle of the aisle and control the montage.. would it be very funny?

mine is in pavilion...

Hi CN,
me too, can't visualise where the projector n laptop will be at. as we have to march in via the red carpet, if the projector n laptop are in the middle, doesn't this sounds weird?
can ex-Rasa brides advise us?

Hi Chris&Veron, i am a Hakka too. but not sure whether Hakkas have our own xibing???

i went for my food tasting last nite.
hmmm...feel that all dishes are quite cold. not sure is it bcos the chef prepared too early in advance. mine is weekday menu, find all the dishes ok. the only one that i like is the fragrant rice...and dessert --- Ice Cream with Chocolate Sauce!

hi kiki,

which items on the menu did u choose?

haha.. see if we got the same dishes in mind! cos mine is a weekday menu too =)

hi CN, my menu n my comments as follows:

1. Rasa’s Wedding Appetizer Platter
(Prawn with Fruit Salad, Seafood Spring Roll, Marinated Top Shell with Thai Chilli and Cilantro Leaves, Chicken Money Bag, Pancake Wrapped with Roasted Duck and Scallion)
- all ok, esp the money bag. pancake too thick but duck meat is tender.
2. Braised Shark’s Fin Crabmeat
- nice with lots of shark's fin and crabmeat. but not hot enough.
3. Golden Roast Duck with Vegetable Crackers
- duck is nice n crispy. portion is big.
4. Steamed Live Seabass with Szechuan sauce and Cilantro Leaves
- quite ok but most of us feel seabass goes better with soya sauce so we r changing to "Steamed Live Seabass with Superior Soya sauce"
5. Wok-fried Prawns with Butter and Scallion
- doesn't suit most of our taste, maybe too oily hence changing to "Boiled Live Prawns with Chinese Hua Tiao Wine"
6. Braised Fish Maw Fried with Black Fungus, Bailing Mushroom and Spinach
- portion VERY big, spinach and mushroom r nice but my MIL doesn't like this so changing to "Yam Ring"
7. Fragrant Rice with Chicken & Chinese Sausage in Lotus Leaf
- the BEST dish in the menu, not too salty, got lotz of chicken bits (VERY tender), sausages and mushrooms...YUM YUM.
8. Single Scoop of Vanilla Ice-cream with Chocolate Sauce
- shiok and cooling! (",)

Overall, food is ok and all portion very big. however, food is abit cold.
taste wise depends on individuals. the above are juz my own views.

anyway CN, what's yr menu??

Hi kiki,

most likely we will be getting amost the same dishes

except for

2. i changed to fish maw
3. i will choose chicken (herbal)
4. choose superior soya sauce
6. yam ring
8. hahaha.. think the elderly won't approve if i choose ice-cream.. think i will choose the tang yuan..

but i am keen to try the wok fried prawns.. never try b4.. but most likely will end up with the hua tiao, as more or less i already taste it before..

did u manage to take any photos of the dish?

Hi Moon Moon, did anyone revert to you on the preprepared MC speeches?

I need one for my friends whom will be helping me out on that night.

Any ex Rasa Brides.... pls help.

hi kiki,

i was ex-bride of rasa. i used the pavilion too for my dinner dec23 2005. well i used the projector before the walk in, and was removed by the staffs. didnt used the projector during the dinner, as our MC provided a well coverage programme for our guest. the projector has to be at the middle of the aisle.

hi adeline,

thanks for sharing.
i intend to use the projector b4 and after the 1st march-in. in tis case, seems like to staff at rasa gotta help me move the equipments around.

hi adeline,

so it means that the laptop or player got to be at the middle of the aisle too? cos it's usually connected..

hmmmm.. abit weird ..

i am playing the montage before the 2nd march in.. so the staff gotta set up for us? i am scare of some technical failure issue..

hi CN,
for me...maybe will arrange a rehearsal a week b4 AD...with the laptop, projector, music etc.
but might be quite hard to rehearse with the staff cos i guess banquet staff are mostly part-timers.
anyway, juz trust the staff at Rasa cos they hv so much experience in banquets and seminars.

ya.. hopefully.. cos dun really trust part-timers...

btw. do u have any check list or table layout from rasa? i dunnoe when i shld arrange for the food tasting..i still have 4 months away..

hi CN,

i hv a checklist given to me quite few mths ago. as for table layout, think our coordinator will only pass to us closer to the AD when we can confirm the attendance.

maybe u wanna get a checklist from yr coordinator?

hi CN,

i guess you have ask the coordinators to help you with that arrangements. hmm ... cross yur fingers hopfully they will be professional and get it done nicely. i believe other ex-brides could have done it your way.

Ladies I'm back... busy with my PS lah... do u all miss me? Hee...

Welcome Natalie! Urs is 07 or 08 leh?

27/10/07 - Pastillies - Siloso
11/11/07 - Tssr - Siloso (Lunch)
11/11/07 - 1Chris - Siloso
08/12/07 - Faith - Pavilion
14/12/07 - Natalie - Lawn
15/12/07 - Jingzjingz - Siloso
16/12/07 - Charlie cat - Pavilion
21/12/07 - Moon Moon - Pavilion
28/12/07 - Kiki - Pavilion
29/12/07 - Mignonne - Pavilion
05/01/08 - Ms Volcano - Pavilion
10/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
19/01/08 - IceCherry - Siloso
27/01/08 - Noreen - Pavilion
22/02/08 - Libra_Ger - Pavilion
21/03/08 - Jenny Lau - Siloso
28/03/08 - Sther (sther)- Pavilion
21/06/08 - Ryane (stanryane)- Siloso
07/09/08 - Lovely Pooh - Siloso
07/12/08 - Jasline Tay - Pavilion
xx/12/08 - Karen - Pavilion

Hi Ladies!

My hubby went to check the projector rental... cos the screen is 10x10fit.... the projector cost abt $250 leh... so ex... rem when renting projector need to tell them screen size!!! remember har ladies!!!

Hope tis helps...

Hmm? No leh... it should be on 14th Dec. Just paid deposit for the date.

Anyone went/going for the buffet menu? Any comments?

hi moon moon,

we dun need to rent the project screen right? remember that shirlene told me that we only need to get the device, they will provide the screen...

Hi CN!

Yap... we dun need to rent screen only the projector.... me still trying to see can borrow from frez onot loh... save $$. Hee....

Wow... KIKI... u had ur food tasting so early? Mine will be 9th Oct... suppose to be 1st Oct but too busy lah... I will be upgrading my weekday menu to weekend loh...

CN & KIKI.... I also worry the projector will stand the way cos me also have screening before 2nd match in... hai...

CN & KIKI... hw's ur preparation so far? Me had my photoshoot done last weekend.... was super fun thou is tiring cos we have to take bus all the way to JB... but still thumbs up loh.

hi moon moon,

how much do u have to top up to weekend menu? and you took ur photoshoot in JB? by taking bus?

btw, how's ur invitation card search in JB? any lobangs?

hi Moon_Moon,
ya...cos only free in sep so had our food tasting early.
my photoshoot is next monday...lookin forward to it...3 days more :-D
i believed u must hv enjoyed your PS, mst be really fun (thou' tiring)...but still worth it right...hahaha

Hi Kiki and CN!

I'm so sorry that day I went JB too busy to source for the wedding cards but they give me a rough quote... to print the insert is abt RM100 for 250pcs... reli cheap leh. Which mean if u take Rasa Sentosa card den inside u can go JB print.... I think SIN abt $120 leh...

I maybe looking for postcard type of invite... tat day I saw but no time ask for details cos quite late and we need to rush back... Sorry.

Me going in 30th Sept... will ask and if possible take some pic or samples...

Hi Kiki!

2day ur PS right? Hee... guess u will be very tired but sure to enjoy!!! I and my hubby have enjoyed both the JB and Sin photoshoot...

Too bad yesterday raining in the evening so never manage to take the sunset at Rasa... hopefully actual day can take... me love sea + sun + sky.... hee...

Hi Moon Moon, Kiki, CN, and everyone else interested to print your cards/inserts in JB,

I just went to City Square with my hubby and we went to T&T Printing - shop front may not look like much but the service is excellent! And it's really affordable too. For us, we have alot of things to print as we're having two events in KL and SG - invitation cards, additional insert for church service, and inserts for the dinner in Rasa.

After searching for printers everywhere, we found that our costs would be significant - and finally we decided to go to T&T. Not disappointed at all. Paid RM80 for the inserts, and everything else were customised (I had a design in mind and all we did was to select the paper and they created a sample for us to see with our preferred colours etc). Saved more than half of what I would have to pay if I were to print in Singapore. It's not just the cost; the lady who served us was really patient and friendly (even though I had all sort of minor changes to make) and they were able to create a sample for us to see on the same day of our enquiry (only had to wait about 1.5 hours...I was happily shopping in the meantime so it's not hard to wait at all).

The only drawback is that they don't have a large selection of paper and design. But if you're just looking to print inserts (only 2 types of paper to choose from - cream/pink, and gold/red printing), or have a card design in mind, I'd recommend them definitely.

And they're pretty fast - I can collect all my cards and inserts by this weekend already. Let me know if anyone wants their contacts.

Hi to all Bride To Be

Hope it a new lobang(Axxa Design & Print Pte Ltd),rush down last friday to discuss on the setting & design i want for the 3 fold wedding cards and found out that they do not charge extra for the extra 1 fold,2 cute icon and gold ink printing on the cards itself.They are fast as they had email me the first draft with minor typo this evening as they do not work on weekend.
Printing 380 pcs of cards for S$1xx only.(think cannot find,able to complete within a week subject to comfirmation).Just some of my comment-Worth going down to try them out-thumb up

(",) tdy was both tiring and yet a fun day! juz came back from my PS at sentosa! very lucky tdy's weather was fine, no rain, sunshine was not very glaring. had gotten nice romantic sun-setting shoots & had fun playing along the beach...and will be viewing my unedited photos tis thurs :-)
anyway rasa only managed to provide the panaromic exec room (seaview) for us. thou not the suite but our photographer had gotten quite a number of good angle shoots making use of the fixtures in the room.
now PS over, can relax abit and concentrate on other preparation stuff liao...

hi CN...so coincident, your AD is 1 week after mine...same for yr PS too...so next mon is your turn to hv fun.

hi Moon_Moon & Natalie,
thanks for sharing. wow...the printing charges at JB is almost half the rate in SG...save cost :-D