Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

hi bonnie,

the china doll chopstick rest was the original wedding favours that RASA provided when we signed the contract. but something screwed up n they dont hv the dolls for our wedding. in the end we din get the dolls.

hi catz,

hey the anniversary voucher has an expiry date!! if u are planning to go Rasa for yr anniversay, quick search for the vouchers. its a 1 month grace with yr actual date in the middle of the period.

aiya...i was juz consoling myself by telling u the TOP is early 2004 coz the official TOP is early 2005!! the agent told us it'll b ready early 2004 so i tell myself tt is the top date hehe.... we dont plan to do much reno...cant wait to move in immediately. anyway everything will b in, like wardrobe, kit cabinet, oven etc... also can save money mah.

hmmm u going England for yr 1yr anniversary? hehe is it coz u know yr hubby there? for me hv to go east coast europa liao...coz tt's where i know my hubby hahaha.

hi everyone..

it sure looks busy here! I still haven't had much contact with my co-ordinator.. wondering if it is still early to bargain for things or wait till nearer the date?

BTW... the keeping of the wedding cake till 1st year anniversary is pretty much a western thing... I think. I heard from my Caucasian friends that they keep it to commemerate their sweet wedding or so. That's why most of the time it is a fruit cake. Sometimes... they will also faithfully shower it with some brandy from time to time to make it last longer and taste richer!!

I have requested for a chocolate cake 'cos I dun like fruit cake and I like chocolate! hehehe! So I dun think it would last pass one year! hahaha! Maybe finish on that nite itself!! hahaha!

I was actually wondering... if anyone traded their one year anniversary stay for something else? I was thinking of doing that.

Hi thedevil,

ARGGHHH!! I'd better go and dig it up.. Hope it hasn't been misplaced in the move from my parents' place! We rushed off for honeymoon on the Sunday right after the Saturday night festivities so left everything in a big box. :p

Europa huh? Hehe..
At least it's cheaper to re-enact the good ol times. Yup, we met while we were in Uni so we're going back to visit old haunts and good friends/relatives out there. Can't wait!

I bet you can't wait to move into your new place in 2004. Don't worry.. time will pass really fast. It's good that you got a condo - all you've got to do is install lights, put in your furniture and soft finishings and get a professional cleaner to clean the place from top to toe and you're done!
Don't worry.. time really flies. I really can't believe I've been hitched for 1 year already. We're still acting like honeymooners. Hehe.. *blush*

Hi hals,

Elaine is on mc till 25 nov. and i was kust talking to syafie about certain clauses in the contract.

Hmm..seems like now right , the management might not be giving away free car passes as the entry fee is only $2.
also no exchanging of wine...seems like they have a change in managemnet and it's seems more difficult to baragin for stuff.

only thing i get is to check in early.

so lucky, u get free flow beer.Sigh.

juz finished my actual wedding dinner a few days ago. Juz a word of warning: 30L + 30L of beer is not enuff for my guests! The barrels ran out by 10 pm! And we didn't serve beer during reception! So, from 8.20 pm - 10.00 pm, they actually drank 60 L! But of coz, I didn't want to satisfy the thirst of these drunkards! Hahaha!

Hi..

ya though i couldn't get a lot of stuff but i still like the place what to do.

Oh no 3 Inch dun rot tongue, you got 30 +30, i got only 30+20.... huh, then how..worried.

Anyway, how many tables did u have.

seems like they really did not standardize a lot of things.

anyone knows how much is their in house beer.

Hi totoro

check with you, when you say 30+20 you mean they give you 30 little complimentary beer then on top of that they give another 20l complimentary?

how should i ask for that if i already sign the contract?

I have 35 tables in total. Their beer glass is those tall types, maybe that's why they are able to refill much faster than expected.

hi 3 Inch dun rot tongue

How did you manage to persuade them to increase the number of litre of beer?

pls advise

hmm........ I guess it's up to your own persuasion skills. Very diff to relate what I said to Elaine then. But I used the example of free flow beer during the DBS promo then to argue my way through, as the promo came shortly after I booked (abt 1 month later I think!). Then she brought it up to mgt, then I got it!

Hi Totoro

At least u got 30+20L..I only got 20+20L(cos i booked the Sun weekday pkg)Did u book the weekend package?

I heard that the next Rasa wedding show is in Mar next yr or something like that...Do u think that they r going to give free flow beer? Then we can use 3 Inch dun rot tongue's tactic also. Heehee.

BTW, 3 inch dun rot tongue, did u have a lot of drinking guests? I think my final table count may also be 35 althou i only committed 30(scared to over commit)

Dun think I have a lot of drinking guests. Majority of my friends dun drink. But there is this particular table of parents' friends that drinks. They drink beer like water! Then also one of my colleagues table also drink. Quite diff to estimate how many drinking guests. But those who drink really drink a lot. So, you got to know who you are inviting.

Hi bonnie,

i heard rasa do supply their own wine at ard $25 per bottle. i find it rather cheap.

i understand we cannot bring duty free wine in only hard liquor. so maybe to save on corkage charges etc, you may want to take wines from rasa.

Hi 3 inch dun rot tongue

yah...it's really hard to estimate. I'm quite surprised that your beers finished so early despite having few friends who drink cos Elaine was telling me that 20+20L(approx 80 glasses rite?) was going to be 'more than enough' for table of 30 thou I thot I could go with more. heehee, me greedy. Did the staff inform you once the barrels finished and asked u if u wanted to continue pouring?

ya that;s what they agreed with me b4 i signed the contract. they said they will pour into an empty bottle and fill the glasses for us at no corkage charges.

hi fang

But i tot in the contract they indicate that we can only bring in duty paid liquor?

did your contract indicate that you can bring in duty-free liquor?

i think all contract is the same.
i dun noe. Let me talk to her during the meeting session and once confirmed, i let you guys know.

Hi fang

i got a bit mix up, your coordinator is Ethel rite? you are actually entitle free 2 nite bridal suite and i anniversary rite?

Hi bobomagic and quistions

I got 30l plus complimenetary 20l...mine is on friday...considered weekend....yap spend some time convincing her..

i have not sign the contract. elaine is on mc

Hi fang.

I quite worry abt the transport.

My friend told me she went to the wedding last week, the deco she cliam was real lousy as she said that the flowers tied together and ribbon seem cheapo..
worried!

Hi Totoro
Do you mean the flowers(like corsages) that they hang near the bridge leading to the poolside. They also have small little flowers by the railings if u are having your recep at the balcony area. I remember Elaine telling me that we can also get our friends to do up some deco if we want something different or theme-like. But I feel the simple flowers used are quite suited for a garden recep, light and uncomplicated. BTW, did u manage to preview a wedding setting when u went down?

HI Totoro...

I think they use plastic flowers but I tot they still very sweet. Maybe 'cos I like sunflower... yellow gives a very happy feeling.

But yeah.. Bobo magic is right... you can select how you would like it done up. Ask for Elaine for a preview.

I thought the flowers were real? I had the little flower bunches on the bridge, leading to the swimming pool and they weren't plastic leh.

Hi Totoro n Bummer
Yah, i believe they used real flowers too. Was there the last time to discuss with Elaine on the contract n she arranged for me to go down on a sat when a wedding was going to be held...took loads of pics n even close up on the flowers they used for decoration...got to even see monkeys that climbed up to hotel rooms...heehee know i a bit kiasu...quite trigger happy...if u wanna see the photos on the wedding settings i can email to u.

Hi bobomagic...

pls email me the pics too!! think you should start a forum just on pics!! hehehe!

I tot the flowers were plastic. Didn't touch them but they were really huge sunflower. Too good to be real...lor...hehehe!

Hey... would like to ask, I think there is no signage at the stage to indicated our names. are you pple going to get someone to do it or just leave it alone?

If yes, any ideas?

hi totoro,

u need not worry abt transport.
now carpark space is expanded to 400 plus.
and it is only $2 per entry. and taxi extra charge had been waived.

so i believe for transport, you can heave a sigh of relief.

Hi Fang,

thanks.. Relief ah!!

anyway, will be signing the contract this sat.
anyone booking on 21 June 2003..i am trying to change the date to 21 /6 or 22/6 ....hmm..
so sad!

hi totoro,

so u signed on finally.
wat did they gave u? did you asked for extra night stay? did you ask them if hard liquor duty free can be brought in? share wif us your package leh..

hi fang,

they give me 30 + 20 l of beer, no exchange to wine. sigh

no extra stay cos peak period i guess :o(

free food tasting for 20 tables.... ;o)

early check in :o)
then for photograpghy session, will provide a room and free entry :o)

Think thats abt all..
u have anything to share.

Hi totoro,

free food tasting for 20 tables????
or are you saying for 20 people?? *blink*

did you ask them abt bringing in duty free paid liquor?

Hi Totoro,

Who is your coordinator? Is it Elaine or Ethel. BTW are you paying for the new package or old? New package, 20 tables @ $658 nett and old package @ $638.