Shangri-la Hotel

Cactus,
Mine was Seow Yong and Swee Noi. They're great too! I think all of the instructors know each other cos they're fr the same church. Where is ur PMC at? Ours was at Tampines which was very far for us, but very enriching...

Faith,
Which condo do u stay in? Cos FH's parents just shifted in to their condo too and their condo mgt committee sounds quite "on" as well... Hope u manage to resolve the problem with ur renos soon...

Hi count, our PMC is at Serangoon area.It's far for me cos I live in the east, but FH stays in Bishan area.

hi faith

SERS is selective en-bloc redevt scheme.

hi cactus
You live near Simei?

hi everyone *waves*
Sorry this shang thread is going a bit towards 'housing' but just wondering if anyone knows what is the optimum loan period to take.

Initially, my fiance and I were very keen to bite the bullet and take a super short (i.e. 10 yr) loan on our resale flat. Cos if we stretched to 30 yrs, could mean paying the bank a lot lot lot more interest. And just thinking that months and months of my salary could be going to the bank (ie. I'm working for the bank indirectly!) just makes me

but recently we received advice that actually, it's best to keep more buffer in CPF and bank accounts (keep a more comfortable margin of liquidity) and take a larger loan, esp if we are not looking to stay longer than 5-6 yrs in the current flat.

I'm not sure how long I intend to stay. Initially we thought it could be very long term (i.e. 10 yrs or more) since the space will be sufficient, which is why a shorter loan would be cheaper in terms of interest. Just that our monthly payouts would be higher (but CPF can still cover).

However, my friends who intend to sell their flats as soon as they qualify to (2.5 yrs without grant and 5 yrs with grant) have opted to take 30 yr loans. Is there a rationale to this?? Something abt passing on the loan to the next buyer? But that doesn't really make financial economic sense to me.

twinkle, mabbe can consult the banker ladies in the thread.. are your friends using CPF monies for investment? If they are, it may explain the need for buffer.

faith, which condo is tt? why so nigao one? And did you check w them beforehand on the works that can be done? I tot your place was landed property cos the sf is so huge!

speaking of coordinators, mine is Veronica. Anyone liaising w her here?

Btw, how many helper day rooms did u gers ask for on your AD?

haven't heard of veronica is she new? mine is jean.

I got one day rm, 2-8pm. didn't ask for more cos don't think will need more...

hi twinkle,

personally, I think it all depends on your needs. its true that taking a longer period of loan will means paying more interest. you can go to any bank website to use their loan calculator. they will tell u exactly the interest and principal you have to pay yearly. From there you can estimate what is best for you
In a way, having liquidity margin may be a good thing if you use the money to invest in other areas which might bring higher return in that sense. hope that helps

<font color="0077aa">Hi Gals, my coordinator's is Melanie.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Twinkle, are you taking a HDB or bank loan? If you are taking a HDB loan, the interest is fixed at 2.6% p.a.currently, if I'm in your shoes, I'll stretch it over a longer period and use the spare CPF funds to do investment. That's provided you are familar with investing cos if you invest over a longer term , the return could be quite attractive. If you are taking bank loan, then that will depend on the interest rates charged. For myself, i stretched my loan over a longer tenor and use my spare funds for investment. It'll be better to have some buffer in your CPF or cash holdings just in case you decide to switch job or stop working for a while, the CPF/savings can sustain the loan repayment. You can always pay partial lumpsum once you accumulate more savings or when the interest rate increase.</font>

<font color="ff0000">Hi pishako, i've only got a day rm for helpers from 2pm to 8pm. What abt you? Any other perks you managed to get, eg. waiver of corkage for wine, etc.?

I've got a renovation permit and permit to hack walls and install a polycarbonate ceiling. But I didn't get the permit to tile my wall. I didn't think it was necessary, tiling the wall is similar to putting wall paper, just that the material is diff. I really don't understand why they are being so inflexible. Moreover, the wall is within my property. The MC at my previous condo, though mostly ang mos, are much more flexible.I always thought ang mos are more difficult to deal with.</font>

faith, i forgot. need to check.. jus upgrading a dish n din manage to get waiver off corkage. but my fren is saying it's better to convert some wines to beer and bring in own wine.. cheaper in the sense tt u can get more alcohol in total. hers was at shang and they used 3 barrels n 12 crates!

pishako, did you negotiate for the swop of dish and swop of wine to beer b4 you sign the contract? Can we do it nearer to the wedding cos i'm still not sure how much beer or wine we need. I'm just afraid we'll have lesser bargaining power after we sign on the dotted line.

Hi gals, didn't negoiate with Mel prior to signing the contract cos tot it's too early to decide on final dishes or qty of beer &amp; wine. Hopefully, can still change when the day draws nearer.

Faith,

Yup will be applying for a HDB loan, but not that investment savvy, so might not be able to guarantee making above 2.6% loan interest rate. An option of course, is to park excess CPF funds into SA (Special Account) for a start, and transfer excess OA (Ordinary Account) CPF funds into SA to earn higher interest rates of 4% guaranteed. This will only fund retirement though, and cannot be taken out to service the loan.

Pishako,

When was your friend's wedding and how many tables did she have? 3 barrels is quite a lot! I'm thinking of foregoing Shang's wine cos heard that it doesn't taste great. going at market rate of $15 outside when their price list states $45. Totally insane mark-up. Might be more worth it overall to forego their free wine for corkage waiver.

which dish did you exchange for btw? I've heard some ppl have exchanged the cold dish...

smurf, for us, we think it's better to est frenship w coordinator before demanding for things.. cos on our end, we made a lot of requests aldy.. so we will wait till later

twinkle, i changed one of the seafood dishes. Her wedding was in early 06 and she had 60 tables. she was also the one who told me it's okay to request change at a later date. their wine tastes okay.. it's 38+++.. not 45 leh..

faith, don't worry. i m sure they will change for u.
my fren did the same.

Pishako,

Hmm... the wine list inside the wedding info folder lists their red and white house wine as $45. I guess even if it's $38+++, it works out to $44 after adding the +++ (16%). Outside it's selling for around $15 with no +++ leh... oh well, I suppose that's just the premium that hotels, or restaurants for that matter charge for consumption on their premises.

Faith,

Don't think we have to negotiate number of barrels of beer even nearer the date. It can be decided on the night itself whether to open another barrel, depending on how quickly the first barrel runs out.

Hi Pishako,
I haven discuss the details w my coordinator yet. maybe should not demand too many things like you said
Have you hold ur ROM yet? Anyone holding the solemnization on the same day?

twinkle, i know the wine is cheaper outside. My FH and I are avid wine lovers.
corkage of 20++ and the cost of wine works out to be abt the same.. we are not too concerned w our guests say abt the wine.. cos after all, wine is a subjective thing. furthermore, out of so many wines we drank before, we had worse ones tt are alot more ex @ cellar prices.

smurf, i will be holding my solemnization after all guests are seated. i didn't want to do ROM separately cos no time to plan.. i will be doing up a theme for my wedding banquet.. so want to concentrate efforts on tt.

Hi smurf,

there's a table somewhere in this tread that shows our rom and AD. Think it's archive thru jun 21st. I had my rom last March.

Hi Pishako,
oohh you are holding it just before the dinner? will it be too rush? I thought of holding it in the afternoon but the rental of the place near the waterfall is 3k without deco and food. abit off budget.

smurf.. no. I am doing it after the 1st march in.. going to make my hubby play 'canon' on piano and then walk me to the stage for solemnization in front of all the guests. hehe

Hi pishako,

that's sounds real romantic.
Perhaps you can consider to have the solemnization when all the guest are seated but prior to the dinner. Cos when the dinner start, you will have to do the toasting, 2nd change, photo taking, etc, might not have time. Just my suggestion.

smurf, yah.. we will get someone to tune definitely.. jus scared piano collapse before my AD. haha

faith, definitely before guests start eating! My programme for the night is abt 70% done up. Not to worry.. I am an events pax. Rem, i am in marcom.
Plus, my jiemeis are mostly in marcom/advertising/events one..

yah.. need the guests to be punctual. My jiemeis are gg to help me call everyone to remind them to be punctual. Can only pray..

I am not sure sure where pavilion is.. you going to do your PS there?

Hi smurf,

I'm not sure where pavilion is? Perhaps you can check the web site. I'll check my agreement tonight and see if there's any map attached. Will let you know if there is.

Hi pishako,

your jiemeis are really nice to do the coordination for you. How many jiemeis will yu have? By the way, is it true that married woman can't be jiemeis? Cos i have a few close frds who are married but i wld like them to be my jiemeis.

faith, it's 8 after rejecting 2. :x
I think it's up to your preference abt having married jiemeis. Personally, I think it's okay (as long as they don't bring their kids).. cos they are supposed to be looking after u -- not their kids.

Hi pishako,

Why did you reject the two? Anyway, i don't really mind having married jiemeis but heard it's not auspicious. I'm now considering if i shd proceed. You know sometimes it's better to listen to the older folks just in case anything bad happen. I don't want them to come back and say:" I told you before...... but you don't listen"

By the way, will your jiemeis be wearing the same color? Or did you custom make the dress for them?

faith.. cos too many aldy..! *headache* All of them just want to come..

And not custom making dresses for them - I rather spend on myself.. hehehe. But prob will get smth for them as gifts..

pishako.. not doing PS there. don't know where to hold the solemnisation. read from previous thread that someone held it there and seemed like its not too bad but i guess its outdoor. FH says he will melt :P haha..
wah! you have so many jiemeis. but its good! i heard from my friends that you need to have good jiemeis that can help you coordinate so that everything will be smooth.

faith.. I also heard that its not auspicious to have married jiemeis. But i think i will just proceed cos quite a few of my good friends are married. Maybe don't need to custom make dress for them, just ask them to wear certain colors?

Hi smurf,

th pavilion is located at the back of garden wing. It's quite far away from the tower ballroom. The garden wing is located on the left of the Shang main lobby. It a seperate building. Hope this helps.

Hi pple,

I haven been in this thread for quite some time already. Need to update (eh...I cant really rem who is the one collating the table) that I have changed my banquet venue. I will no longer be a Shang bride. I have changed to fullerton instead and the date is still the same...15th Dec 2007.

Just wondering did anyone here sign up for that date already? cos I think they would most probably have released the booking...though they never call me to follow up after sending the contract to me.

Nevertheless, I still pop in this thread to read on the things everyone here is sharing...its really fun and thanks

Pishako,
I'm impressed - ur AD is almost done?! Mine is still a work in progress and very very sketchy, and my AD is earlier than urs!

So sweet of ur jie meis to help u with the guest list. This shd free u and hubby up to do the other things tt crop up...

Btw, i think Shang charges $120 for tuning the piano?

Littlebabysmurf,
Welcome! When's ur AD? Pardon me i've been out of the loop for a long time cos of work. Have been slated for court hearings for more than a month, so out of office for the whole day and can only do work after office hours. So tiring!

Adeline dearie,
No prob. U are always welcome here to chat chat!

Regarding the wine, any of u have gd contacts? How much will it cost and is it a hassle to coordinate the wine being brought down to Shang?

Hi faithz and pishako,

Ya...initially my guest list is about 550 pax but after calculation after calculation by the geomancer, he told us 15 Dec 2007 is the best date for us (the initial date we wanted is in Nov). That period is the holiday period hence worried that the attendance will fluctuate badly and thus may be risky to book island ballroom after some consideration. But the main reason I chose Shang initially is bcos I like the island ballroom thus we decided to switch to fullerton instead.

Initially we did not consider that hotel bcos the max is only 48+2 tables. But now, considering the attendance may shrink cos of holiday period and being more selective in guests, prefer that place ba.

The few main reasons why I change:
1. The loft suite is nice (the one at shang they only offer us the horizon club premier room for the package I chose)
2. Convenience location
3. Nice centerpiece for guest tables (cos Shang only allow 3 blooms if I am not wrg)
4. Comparable reception area as the one for island ballroom
5. Personally hospitality of the coordinator better haa...
6. And lastly...a few of my friends married at Shang so maybe a diff place will be better for the same circle of friends ba

Thats mainly the reasons ba...actually we had a tough decision cos really like both hee...but can only married once haa

Anyway...thanks for all the well wishes

New to this thread and i'm considering having my banquet at Shangrila.
Have spoken to Melanie a couple of times and was wondering how we can negotiate to get a better deal. Not very sure what to bargain for...
Can anyone give advice and share with me your contract with Shangrila?

Thx!

adeline, who's your coordinator for fullerton? think you are lucky to hit off well w fullerton.. it was my first choice but the coordinator's svc was pretty bland..

and vice versa of yours, my circle mostly attended weddings at fullerton.. haha.. so we tot Shang would be a variation for our guests.

have fun w your preps too!

my experience with fullerton's coordinator sucks too! the coordinator did a very poor follow-up. perhaps they did a change to the coordinator.

Hi Adeline,

my experience with Fullerton is quite good. Coordinator was Shue and she was quite proactive in following up. I do agree the bridal suite is very nice.

However, one of my frd held her wedding at Fullerton last yr and provided some negative feedback. It's not really nice to post it here. Wanted to PM you but you don't accept pm.

Anyway, i really hope u have an enjoyable &amp; unforgettable wedding.

Hi trinx,

My wedding coordinator's Mel too! She's very nice and pretty accomodating. Just tell her what you want, i'm sure she'll accomodate if she can.

When's your BIG day and which ballroom u r looking at?

what a coincidence!

We were considering Fullerton too, but not so keen on the shape of ballroom as well as steps. Plus they charge $30 more per table for Saturday (compared to Sunday), kinda strange. Ultimately it was the guest numbers that swayed. A bit too squeezy.

Actually went for the fullerton bridal show so would have gotten the rolls royce thrown in for the day if we'd signed up! that would have been NICE! hee.

All the best Adeline! Would be lovely to take pix - I like the Fullerton building's external architecture.

twinkle, it's more than 30 bucks.. sunday is 888+++ and sat is 968+++.. for the same set of menu. It was pretty not worth it, in our opinion.. plus must have min 40 tables which wld be quite squashy ..

but i agree the exterior is darn nice..

we found the loft suite so so... but we might be using the savings on the table to get a valley wing suite!!