Shangri-la Hotel

hi audrey,
yup, paid deposit alr.. that's why germ & i were saying we dont think we can get anymore stuff now.. heh. hey, ive not decided on BS too.. so you & choc cowgal got to keep me posted too ya!
err.. as for waterfall terrace.. think cannot negotiate one la.. got to pay.. it's like pavilion.. so if ure on a tight budget, then function room's good enough. DONT think abt it anymore.. hehe

hi cin,
ops.. think u can ignore the question in my mail.. got the ans here alr. too many posts in this thread, overlooked it.. heh

hi choco cowgal,
haha.. im thinking the same thing..
have a safe and enjoyable trip, wherever ure going! *hugz*

hi novgal,
thanks for sharing! to answer ur question, yes, shang provides one-to-one service - at least that's my experience so far.
anyway, u be holding ur wedding there too?

Hi novgal,

Wow....the dinner sounds very diff and nice. I can imagine red roses in Island ballroom...very grand. The centerpiece sounds gd, did u friend top up for those flowers?Tink the interval takes a longer time cuz its being apportion out 1st b4 serving. How is the wine?

hi ashie,
dun mention.. that's what the forum is for

that's what i thot so too about the one-to-one svs but it doesn't seem so during the dinner. cos i see different faces of the waiters serving at my table.

i'm with conrad

hi germ,
will u be holding ur dinner at island ballroom as well? i think she topped up for the flowers but not sure how much. did not try the wine.. nonetheless it must be pretty good as the guys at our table had quite a few rounds of it (3 - 4 glasses each, no kidding!)

Zanne

the wine my event's manager Melanie gave me was the Shang's house wine named "HARDY'S STAMP MC LAREN VALE' for both red and wine. its selling at $41 before tax.

All my guest has very good comments abt the wine.

Hope this helps >.<
Congratulations in advance and have a memorable wedding

Hi novgal,

Ya, l will be having my dinner in Island ballroom...l'm sure she topped up alot for flowers. Pleasance commented that the wine is gd 2...wonder what brand of house wine Shang is using now.

Conrad is nice 2, love the ambience there..l will be attending 1 dinner tis mth there.

Hi Pleasance,

How much did u pay for the wine? Dun tink shang will charge u corkage if u buy the wine from them rite?

Pleasance,

thanks for the info! hey, check with u, how many change of clothes u had? one WG and one EG or u had more?

germ,

no corkage charge one leh if u get from hotel...corkage charge only on non duty free wines u source outside

hi germ n nov gal,

i saw a similiar set up by in shang ballroom last mth.also a chinese theme with only red roses, wooden stand n lanterns. very beautiful!!esp the roses they used is dark chilli red and its those 3/4 bloom type. i have spoken to the florist (sebastian) abt that decor. if i am not mistaken, the couple topped up another 2k for that effect.

Hi choc_girl
as what ashie said, i will try not to think about switching to waterfall terrace or pavilion, just stick to the function room..
have a good trip. will talk when you are back.

Hi cin,
yeah, i believe i will have to top up a lot more cos i love the ballroom to be filledp with flowers. where is sebastian from? you think it's worth to spulge on flowers, i think so but not my FH...

Hi ashie,
let me know once you have decided on the BS.

Hi pleasance, "HARDY'S STAMP MC LAREN VALE' , shang selling at $41, i am trying to get it below $13, hmm... that will save me quite a bit, gals.. i have to prepare about 130 bottles for 400 guests, hopefully less.

Hi novgal, thanks for sharing, i like the idea of old shanghai too, very nostalgic, i bet everyone enjoyed the night.

Hi germ, i have not chosen my menu yet, but i know that i will have the flexi by swopping dishes from diff menu. that i will leave it to my FH, he is the negotiater ;P

Hi germ, have not decide on my menu, i have the flexi of swopping dishes, the negotiation part leave it to FH, he is good at it ;P

Hi Cin, i like to have lots and lots of flowers to fill up the ballroom, might have to top up alot, gosh... not sure if it's worth to spluge on that.

Hi choc_cowgirl, I THINK ashie is right, i just have to stop thinking about the waterfall terrace, and stick to my function room. hope i won't bore my guests.

Ashie, happy sourcing for your BS.

Hi pleasance, "HARDY'S STAMP MC LAREN VALE' , i am trying to source for outside supplier, below $13, shang $41 too ex. but have tasted the wine, really good.

Hi novgal, thanks for sharing, i like the shanghai feel too very nostalgic, must be a great evening of 70s music...

Hi zann

i have 4 outfits ..i have one gown for the ROM ceremony which is before the dinner in a seperate room. a wedding gown evening gown and a choeng sam (tea dress) for the dinner.

Hi germ
no cockage charge if wine is ordered from the hotel. per bottle is $41 x 1.16% X 52 bottles

Hi Audrey
when is ur wedding date?

Hi cin

Shangri-la took away 1/3 of my space area remember? so with the 2/3 i cannot do a straight walk-in so melanie suggested its best to do a L-shaped walk in. so i took the advise.

zann
btw, just a gentle reminder, if u wanna play any clips or video during the dinner, pls test the hotel player first. i din test mine...my guest commented that the video was noisy and it was a bit jamed.

at first i tot was my disc problem, but when i took the disc to play it during my wedding dinner in KL, the disc was perfectly fine, my jie mei's and relatives all agree that its shangri-la's player problem.

Hi novgal,

Do u hve any pics of ur friend wedding?

Hi cin,

2k doesn't sound ex but the qn here is is it worth it to spend that $ on flowers? Hmmm.....must reconsider. What theme are u goin to hve for ur decor?

Hi Audrey,

U mean we can switch from all menu or juz a specific menu given by ur coordinator? How much must we pay for corkage?

Pleasance,

so you have EG for 2nd march in? then when u change to your cheong sum? i can't seem to slot the 3rd change in..or rather dunno where

hi audrey,
yes.. the dinner was pleasantly surprising with the nostalgic atmostphere

hi germ,
sorry but i dun have any pic of the wedding. perhaps u can check with sebastian whom cin mentioned?

Pleasance,

hmm tot i post this msg but din see it on the thread. i was asking when you change to cheongsum? i thinking of changing cheongsum but dunno where to slot in the schedule

Hi Zann

ya i did my 2nd march in with my evening gown, i took pictures with my tables ( meaning all my friends and relatives etc which i place them on the left side of the ballroom) after which i changed to cheong sam and take the photos with my husband's side tables ( his friends + relatives etc) and i go straight to sending guest still with my cheong sam.

Thanks, novgal....maybe will ask my coordinator and see whether she has any pics.

Hi Pleasance,

Do u have any pics of ur CS? I'm tinking of making 1 too. Thanks

Hi Pleasance,

Tat's a very nice CS. Where did u made from? Looks very ex...and what material is it? Sorry for askin so many qns.

Pleasance,

hmm mind to share with me your wedding dinner schedule? Previously i told my coordinator i want to 1st march in WG, 2nd march in EG then take pic with half the ballroom with EG then change CS and take with other half but my wedding coordinator was telling me might not have enough time. Like to see le your schedule if possible what time you start dinner and how you manage to have enough time? thanks!

Hi pleasance, mine AD is next year end july, and i have not chosen my BS yet. That's very nice CS you have here, striking and bold.

I am also thinking of changing to my CS for the third round during the photo taking session, but i guess the timing is too tight. Not sure if it's possible. I think i will wear my CS during the solemnization.

Hi germ, heard from my coordinator that we can swop some dishes from the same weekend menu if the prices different is not too much. Which banquet dinner menu you took on?

Hi zANN, COUNTING DOWN TO YOUR BIG DAY!!

hi Audrey,

yeah :P
hey you were asking me to send you info abt MUA in another thread? u want the pic link or u want the MUA contact? i was asking in that thread..but u havent reply

HI germ,
The back is even nicer..wahha..its bared back.This CS is from Ted collection. errr..i have no knowledge in material so can't tell u wat material but its comfortable.But its definately valued for money! the guest from the other wedding keep peeing at my gowns instead of their bride's.>.<

Zann,
i din bother to plan schedule leh..whahha my gown designers help me control my wedding timing. But mine was rather rushed cos i changed my hairstyle when i changed into my evening gown.

Hi Audrey,

I'm taking the Gold menu. Wat abt u?

Hi Pleasance,

Wow....very sexy CS. I'm not surprise that u are the center of attraction tat day. Must go down and see Ted's CS.

Pleasance,

ok, err but no schedule...quite unusual hehe..
cos usually got programme sheet ..:P
what time yr dinner start?

germ,

my CS also low back one leh...ai see mai...but now i got 2 CS dunno which to wear if got time to wear keke..

zann
want want!! i wannan see!

err ya whahah..i have no time to plan for my wedding. 3 days b4 my wedding i just back from beijing from meeting.

the night b4 my wedding i'm still trying to finalise my guest list..whahah

my dinner started abt 8:30pm
roughly this is how my dinner goess..

8:30pm - video of photoshoot highlights
8:35pm - 1st march In &amp; cake cuting

9:00pm - exit to change hairstyle and gown
10:00pm- video of morning highlights
10:05pm- 2nd march In &amp; champage pouring
10:30pm- photo taking

germ,

need yr email addy leh...

Pleasance,

also need yr email add leh...
thanks leh, so sweet of you to share~
but wei....what time u change to cheongsum...u roughly know boh?? and then yr dinner end what time...

Pleasance,

then the number u give yr hotel coordinator is the same as after u finalise yr list boh...if yr final list lesser then the number u gave yr wedding coordinator how?

zann..
you're sooooo pretty!! woah.. i went 'wow' when i saw your first photo you know! hehe.. your CS very sexy leh.. you look really very good in it!

ashie,

thanks for your praises...heehee! but that last pic showing the low back, eyes a bit sleepy haha

germ,

thanks for your compliment! :P
yeah, i purposely ask my steamstress do low back..

hi zann.
if u dun mind, can u send your pictures to me too?

ladies,
which shop or tailor did u gals brought your mum to for her evening wear? did u get someone to do her her n make up too? if so, can share the contavt?