Shangri-la Hotel

germ,
oh btw.. regarding the acquiring of permission for photography on the hotel's premises, there is a note written to us that can be found in the folder given to you (the one with the contract). i think it's one loose page that's found amongst the other documents.. it contains the procedure for getting the authorization.

Hi ashie,

Me signed up with Chris Ling during his open house. They are abt the same price...the only diff is wat they give in term of nos of pics etc.

Guess u are the last bride for 2005. Its gd 2 cuz by then we were hve given u our feedback and u can still make changes.

hi germ,
oh i see.. ok thanks so much. oh, so u with chris ling too.. actually i just realised they having a open house this dec.. so u mean it is a better deal if i sign up with him on my own? cos i thought usually the BS will be able to link us to the photog at a discounted price.. can u kindly clarify if u can? cos if it's not true then i'll cons signing with them at this coming open hse.. tks so much! =)

hehe.. yup, will be riding on all your experiences n advice by then!

Hi ashie,

For mine, its better cuz in TW package he only gives pic in 8R but my package with CL himself, the pics is in 15R. There is also more pics given than in TW package. I'm not sure abt now..maybe u shd go down to TW 1st then walk over to CL to compare their package.

Germ
I think it is possible to negotiate for valley wing room cos room cost is not that much for the hotel, besides the rooms are not always taken by other hotel guests. That's why can also negotiate for extra night's stay.The good thing about tower wing is that it's closer to the ballrooms.

Yes, they will give you the key to the VIP holding room. That was where we changed and got make-up redone.

snoop
our solemnization was a church ceremony. walking down the wooden staircase was okay cos the steps are not too steep. we used canon for the processional.

the view in the waterfall terrace is nice but only prob is that the pillars tend to block the view, so less chairs can be put in

hi girl,

The changing rm near the ballroom, i thot is only for those who held dinner at Island? For Tower, can we use the rm too?

hi germ,
ok.. thanks.. mayb i'll ask those who have signed with TW.. thanks so much girl, ure a great help

hi girl,
hmm.. but i rem someone tried to nego for valley wing suite n cldnt get.. hmm.. plus we all signed package alr.. u think can still negotiate? maybe all we singaporebrides pple shd go down tog!! haha.. =D

Hi girl,

When were they give u the key? We need to return the key once the banquet is over rite?

Dun tink they were give cuz l did mention that the suite is kind of small and my coordiantor didn't say anyting after that. Like wat ashie said, we alrdy signed the contract...so it is harder to nego for tings.

ashie,

ops..now then i saw yr msg abt gonna miss me after my AD ...heehee..so sweet hor :P

no worry leh, after my AD and honeymoon, will still log in, then can share with you gals my AD and PS pics..hehe..

Sorry, have not replied as I was away on honeymoon.

To the questions, i can't really tell you how big is the serving as I could not see the guest tables. But guests commented that it was more than enough, the amount of sharksfin was also more than what they have had in other hotels' dinner.

As for the deco, nope, the florist din help me to coordinate with my gown as they dun know how it look like. My decos is mainly the crystal theme, with crystal trees and crystal stands alternating along the aisle. Added the bird cage becos I find that the setup looks very much like an enchanted garden (something like the one in Lord of the Ring), could almost imagine the elves running admidst the stands
Anyway, the stage deco is very garden like too, and I thought it would be refreshing to hear the birds chirp as the guests enter the ballroom, sorta like a welcome.

Sorry, no more photos to share as my photos are still under processing

Hello everyone,

I'm new here, a new 05 Shang bride here. Glad to have decided on the venue, as venue visiting is quite tiring!

I need to ask you gals as I'm not too sure what other perks I can negotiate into the package. Pls advise, I also feel quite paiseh to ask my coordinator for more perks.

Hi Ashie,

Been busy with dealine... Just paid for my initial deposit with shan, phew! one thing off my mind. Have not decided on my BS, prob TW or Amanda Lee, what's yours?

Hi chocloate cowgirl,

Welcome to the thread... its nice to have another 05 bride here. Request for more wine, that is what i did. Have you decided on your BS?

Hi Zann,
when is your AD

hi chinnie,
welcome back!! hehe.. this thread is so quiet now.. zann must be busy prep for her wedding.. email also never reply..
anyway evthg looked v nice in the photo u shared.. mayb aft uve processed the rest can share with us too.. =)
so where did u go for ur honeymoon?

hi choco cowgirl,
WELCOME!! nice to have u here..

u can nego for an extra night's stay, more wine/beer, extra day-room for helpers, lcd projectors (if u need).. errr. think that's all.

hi audrey,
i havent decided on my BS yet.. still got time for me.. heh. im considering TW too.. love his gowns. was quite set on it until i saw the latest orchid collection.. dont reali like it.. cos personally i dont like orchids.. so v disappted

hey.. u havent signed yet?? ur AD's in july right.. thot will need 8-9months?
zann's wedding's next week

Welcome all new Shang's brides....

Hi zann,

Have u decided on ur decor? I went down to see yesterday wedding in the tower ballroom. No flowers used at all...tink it more like a autumn feelin kind of decor...it uses the high centerpiece, not sure abt the VIP cuz they are having a briefing.

Hi ashie,

Ya, saw TW orchid collections in the new her world bride mag...dun tink l willgo for that...still prefer the classic.

Hi chinnie,

Thanks for ur feedback...glad to hear that the serving is reasonable..so afraid that our guests will not hve enough to eat and they will rem u for the rest of their lifes..haha.

Audrey, I haven't decided on my BS yet. Actually I have not even checked out any!
The venue was my first decision! I was going to settle the videographer next, what do you girls think? Any recommendations for BS or videographer?

Are you all getting your own wine or buying the wine from shang?

Who are 05 brides here?

Do you think the shang coordinators check out what we say in this forum??

hi germ,
agree.. i much prefer TW's classic gowns too.. maybe we're not daring enough.. heh. anyway dont think zann loggin in anymore.. she must be busy.. wedding next weekend!

well zann, IF u happen to read this before ur wedding.. then here's wishing you a lovely & memorable wedding day.. *hug*

hi choco cowgirl,
most of us are 05 brides

sorry, havent settle neither BS nor videographer yet.. so no comments. btw, when's your AD?
haha.. im not sure but i dont think so.. why? u got any secret u wanna share with us..? *wink*

ashie,

hmm rather i was busy checking out lighting and curtains for my new house..
but i have replied liao :P

i saw your well wishes liao...thanks!!

germ,

havent...i busy with other things no time to think abt the decor...

Hi germ,
You were at Shang on Sunday to view the ballroom? I was there too, attending a friend's wedding. I had the same feeling too, the ballroom is kinda bare, and with minimal flowers deco, it's such a waste for a big ballroom like that. I am glad though the servings are big, more than enough for guests to feast out!

Hi Zann,
Mine is next July, but kinda excited about working on the ballroom deco. What's your deco theme? What are the things you left to prepare? Kindly share?
ANyway, if you read this before your wedding day, have a blissful marriage and memorable wedding *smile*

Hi Ashie,
I was at TW yesterday, 3rd visit, tried his latest collection, don't reaaly like them, i think i might decide on Amanda Lee, meeting her today for the 3rd time... hopefully things goes well... You can try consulting her, she is very creative.

Hi ashie,

U manage to nego for more wines and beer....how much more? Maybe its true that we ae not daring enough, haha.

Hi zann,

Wishing u a blissful marriage and enjoy the day ok.

Hi Audrey,

I do agree that the ballroom looks kind of bare...maybe the couple are not flowers lover. Realise that they did not used alot of flowers for their car decor 2.

Is the serving really big?Its not like Fullerton...1 person 1 prawn rite? Which is your fav dish that nite?

hi Audrey,

quite a number of things...havent confirm gown...ballroom decor also..need to get back to hotel one week b4 on things..and also my house things and others...

thanks for your well wishes and wish you happy preparation!

hi germ,

hi germ,
hmm.. aft u asked then i realised.. act i didnt neg for more wine/beer.. i read audrey's advice so just copy it into mine! wat i did was i changed the 30l beer to 20l in exchange for 12 bottles of wine, cos more of our guests are wine-drinkers.. how's ur deal like?

hey audrey.. care to share how much more wine/beer you managed to nego for?
n thanks for the tips on BS.. pls share more wif me ok..? i could do with more advices!

zanny!!
u still busy wif reno?! oh dear.. hope evthg falls into place soon.. yes, like wat germ said, ENJOY YOUR BIG DAY!! *hug*

hi zann

Hows ur preparations??
just to let u know, the wine i had for my dinner was good.all my guest liked the wine, both red and white,...all my reserve wine set by the hotel was finished even b4 the dinner ends..wahhah so u gotta ask for more reserve.

ashie,
My AD is Nov next year. When is yours?

Am pondering whether to stick with pavilion for solemnisation (but I think it is a bit narrow, though it is more private with less hotel guests wandering around) or whether to change it to the waterfall terrace. I want a march in with flower girls and all. What do you girls think?

Hi germ,
I believed that they probably had negotiated more wine and reduce the cost for flowers that's why it's kinda bare. I like the sesame chicken and they are very generous with all the servings, 5 prawns per pax, does it consider big or small serving?

Hi Zann,
when do we meet up with the florist? I have made my initial deposit 2 weeks ago, what's next to work on with Shang?

Hi ashie, i managed to negotiate for another few bottles + the initial bottles that they provide and will try to bring down the price of their wine if i purchase from them. What's your package like? I will keep yu posted on my BS.

Hi choc_cowgirl
The pavilion is the function room? I like the waterfall terrace, but the price is kinda high for a 15 mins solemnisation, so i think i will just stick to the function room. Have you been looking around for BS?

Hey Andrey,

The pavilion is the intimate venue of which there are 3 of them: waterfall terrace, garden terrace and pavilion. The little colonial building on the premises. Not sure if it is the same function room as the one you are referring to.

I haven't looked at any BS yet. Yourself?

hi pleasance,
welcome back! hey.. share with us a bit more abt ur wedding!

hi choc cowgirl,
mine's in dec.. pretty near to yours! great.. we can exchange tips

sorry, dont know abt solemnization in hotel.. gonna haf mine in church.. but ive heard a lot abt the waterfall terrace - that it's beautiful. a few other gals here having it there.. wait a bit more, they may come in to share with you..

hi audrey,
woah.. u managed to nego for few more bottles more than wat they offered you?! darn.. silly me din even think of that.. i just took watever they offered me.. hmm.. germ, now we know cld haf nego more.. but sign alr.. *sigh* audrey.. smart move! =)

Pleasance,

oic...thats good to know! what wine u using?
can share how many tables you have and how many bottles is enough for the tables you have?

Audrey,

You mentioned yr wedding in July 05? hmm then not so soon leh. Meeting florist is like 1 mth plus 2 month b4 your AD. In fact, the florist will tell you is not too late to confirm yr decor even one week b4. But you can visit them some weeks b4 your AD. The hotel coordinator will tell you when is time to vist the florist. if your wedding is still months away then at the moment nothing much yet, till like few months b4, then the hotel will contact you to meet up to discuss things. Then from there, more things will come.

Hi ashie

My dinner is at tower ballroom, mine was L-shaped walked in. so i used the side wall as the stage. i used mainly crystal trees on stage and along the aisle. All my guest like the deco.

Hi zanne
i had 32 tables...my guest finished up 52 bottles even b4 the dinner ends...
errrrrr.sorry..i dunno wat brand my wine is, but everyone comment that the wine was really good.(should be the common wine they give to wedding dinner?).If u really wanna know...i can ask melanie, my co-ordinator.

Hi ashie,

My deal is like urs...couldn't waive the corkage charges. We shd hve done sth like Audrey...good work,audrey.

Hi Audrey,

Sesame chicken...hmmm..l do not hve that on my menu. Which menu did u take up? 5 prawns per pax...that's quite generous. What is the prawn dish and is it nice?

Hi choc_cowgirl,

Pavilion is a gd choice if u prefer sth that is private and cosy. Waterfall terrace a gd choice if u like sth diff or maybe modern / classy.

Hi Choc_cowgirl,

i'm having my solemnization at waterfall terrace.
Yap, like wat germ said, i think pavilion is very cosy but it's too cramp for the march in. That's y i chose waterfall terrace instead, though it could be a bit noisy since it's beside the pool.

How many guests are u expecting? prob u can arrange the seats so that it won't be too crowded in pavilion.

Hi zann,
all the best n have a sweet memorable wedding!

hi pleasance,

wow.. crystal trees sound v nice! were there flowers too?
hey your guests really can drink huh.. 52 before the dinner ended! goodness.. that's more than 1.5 bottles per table..

hi germ,

yah.. now that we've signed, cant really nego anymore..

Pleasance, I'm also having my dinner at tower ballroom, but a bit disappointed when I was told cannot have the cascading fairy lights for the background of the stage cos no horizontal bar. Using the side wall as the stage can put fairy lights? But will an L shape march in be strange?
What is the max tables if the aisle is arrange in L-shape?

Hey germ and snoop,

I really like the 'privacy' of the pavilion with the little courtyard and pond/fountain thingy. I was shown a pic of the set-up of seats in the pavilion for solemnization, but it was only 4 seats on each side of the aisle and perhaps only abt 4 feet for the aisle. I'm not thinking of having a super-pong gown that will take up more space, but I'm wondering how my dad and me can walk down that aisle, and whether we would be too close to the guests? Am thinking of having at least 60 guests. What do you think?

hi chocolate girl,

u have brought up a good point regarding the pavilion. yeah it might be too close to the guests esp if i walk down the aisle with my uncle. anyway i will be seeing wendy this sunday. will let u know the outcome.

u having your solemnisation at pavilion too? when is your big day?

hi gals, what do u all mean by L shape? i am having my wedding next mth at tower too. i thought the moment the door open, we just walk straight up to the stage? what is this L shape thingie abt?

hi cin,

think this whole L-shape thing started from Pleasance's post (scroll up a lil bit & u'll see it):
"My dinner is at tower ballroom, mine was L-shaped walked in. so i used the side wall as the stage."

but if ure using the usual set-up of the ballroom, the stage will be facing the doors, so it's a straight walk-in

Hi choc_cowgirl
Do you have to pay to use the pavilion. I am having my solumnization at the function room, to save cost. Have not decide on BS yet, will keepeach other posted yeah.

hey ashie, you still have time to negotiate more stuff, paid for deposit?

hi germ,
i think it's the weekend silver menu, the prawn is drunken live prawn really nice. Have you decided on your menu?

hi zann,
thanks for the pointers, think am bit'gun cheong' with the deco thingy, haha.. typical singaporean, i believe. big day coming, sleep well and be the most pretty bride to be *wink*
i need a good facial course to perk me up, gals, any rec?

Oh dear, now am so tempted to negotiate for the waterfall terrace! darn, ashie, i din managed to ask for that... argggh...

Yup ashie, our weddings are quite close together, we can get more kan cheong together closer to that time period!

cin, I think they will show you the same photo they showed me at the hotel. A view of the setup in the pavilion with the seats in theatre setup...I think the aisle looks wide enuff for a bride, but may not be wide enuff for a bride & dad/uncle. Mine would be in nov 05. When is yours going to be cin? Right now I have already arranged my solemnisation to be at the pavilion, but I'm told I can still change to waterfall terrace as long as no one else has booked it that day lor.

Audrey, yeah have to pay for the pavilion - rental is 2k and then per person still have to pay for a little reception after the event. Shang is a bit ex , what to do. Anyone has a better deal pls share!

Going off for a short trip...so I think I will be quiet here for a week, but I will be back to read your replies once I come back!

hi audrey,

dun be worry abt the decor. shang being a reputable hotel will definitely do a good job in this. : )

hi chocolate gal,
my big day is next mth. pavilion is really very beautiful n exclusive. but the guests got to walk abit cos its at the other end. i went to water terrace n pavilion n take a look before i decide i want pavilion. u shd too instead of just looking at the pictures. u can go there anyday by yourself.

hi pleasance,

just kpo abit, why did u opt for a L shape walk in? actually that is quite cool too cos the stage if i am not wrong, will be bigger.

Dear Shang brides-to-be,

just attended a dinner last week so thinking to drop by and pass some comments. nice choice for the elegant wedding.

i think the bride has the feel for flowers too. beautifully set up with lots of flowers. plus the setting is a bit of different as the couple has chosen someone like "shanghai night" as the ballroom theme

the svs was good but u may have to co-ordinate with the co-ordinator on the food servings.

the one that i have attended started at about 9pm and ended at slightly over 11pm.. consider slow esp when there were only 6 dishes.

Hi ashie,

Ya, dun tink we can nego for more rite? Maybe we can try.....hehe.

Hi choc_cowgirl,

If u are having 60 guests, it will be abit cramp. Why dun u go down and take a look 1st and ask wendy for advise. She will be able to tell u whether is it possible to hve it at pavilion.

Hi Audrey,

Drunken prawns...that is not in my menu...i have not decided on the menu yet. Wat abt u?

Hi novgal,

Which ballroom is the dinner held? 'Shanghai nite'...did the couple used red roses? Pls elaborate on that..thanks. Is the interval between each dish very slow? How do u rate the food?

hi germ,
the dinner was held at island ballroom

yes
red roses along the aisle, with some floral stands as well. i believe there are floral decorations at the stage as well but was attracted by the red lanterns. the lanterns were those smaller and oval in shape.

there were 3 "glasses" of flowers at each table. red roses coupled with mu-dan (dunno the english term) and lotus seed flower (hmm.. the green one that has no petals). the overall feeling is like you have gone to the 70s as the music played was those chinese oldies, by zhou xuan. quite special

during the 1st march in, the couple switched to contemporary style with the english songs.

i think the interval between each dish was about 20 - 25 min. i also noticed that the food was being apportioned in plates as the waiters brought out from kitchen. it might take longer time for the chef to apportion the dishes in the kitchen.

the food served was relatively nice. but prob becos of the late interval, the dessert was not nice (mango puree with sago).. the sago was too soft and the dessert was not chilled enuf.

btw, does shang have a one-to-one service (ie one waiter to one table)?