Shangri-la Hotel

hi zann,

before i say anythg, i need to say this: you're so so so sweet!! i was so touched when i read tt u took the trouble to take those photos then upload them to share wif us! thanks gal *hug*

anyway, i think the crystals look reali nice.. esp onstage. n agree that the centre-piece for the guests' tables a bit small. i rem wendy telling me we can 'upgrade' it with extra cost, but she advised that it's not very nec cos they'll be removed when the food is served unlike the red table where the food will be served in per-person portions.
cin, u want to keep the guests' centre-pieces better let them noe.. else they may remove them before u noe it.. hehe.

moo,

is this ballroom ure talking abt in shang? cos shang has only 2 ballrooms: Island & Tower. hmm.. but i do know the island is made up of katong/tanglin (sthg like tt..) not sure if "azalea" is part of tower?

hi ashie and zann

thanks for replying

initially i also tot there are only 2 br...the coordinator jesscia told me there is a smaller br...unsure whether she is talkg abt sentosa's shang rila or ... hmmm nvrm, will check w her if she replys my email.

u gals enjoy your wedding preparation!

hi pleasance

i am not sure, she said i can use the smaller br...is not stated in her email to me...she showed me the setup of the weddg table though...not v impressive haha

which br r u using?

hi ashie

mine will be a v small one, less than 20tables i hope...

btw, is there a resturant that has a waterfall? is it call the waterfall terrance? hv u been there b4?

hi moo,

yes! that's precisely why i asked.. cos shang has these really romantic private function rooms.. the waterfall terrace is one of them *dreamy* snoop's having hers there next feb.. hmm.. she's been mia for some time..
snoop.. yoohoo.. maybe you can tell moo more abt it..

hi ashie

thanks for your additional info! think i had asked rgdg the waterfall terrance...think max is 10tables only...don't rem...

snoops...u there? care to share? i have the private collection menu but hmmm...doesn't impress us lo...can change the dishes or not?

ashie,

hee..is actually my hubby who took the photos...i asked from him and upload them...err stealing some of his credit...paiseh...heehee :P

Hi moo,
waterfall terrace is not a restaurant... it's juz a smaller banquet area. i think max can hold up to 12 tables but will be very cramp. yap, u can change the menu by topping up the difference.
if u have abt 200 pple, think waterfall terrace is too small for u.

zanny,

oh i see.. haha.. same la same la.. 1more month n you two will become one already!! heh.
say, aren't u excited?? so wat stage of preparations u at now? hey, must share photos wif me ok?! even i am feeling excited for u..

Hi zann,

Thanks for the pics...its very nice, loved the tall centerpiece. Let us know how is ur final decor decisions ok.

ashie,

not very excited leh..dunno why..haha...maybe cos not "near" enough yet kekeke...me...sort of selected the gown...but havent selected the ballroom decor...u mean the AD photos showing the ballroom decor? ok...i will share my AD photos when is ready...hehe..yeah lor..you sound more excited than i am hahaha..

germ,

you are welcome! heehee
Ok, will update

Hi all brides here,

I just had my dinner in the Tower Ballroom last Sunday (Hari Raya). Just wanted to commend everyone in Shangri-La, all the way from Melanie, my lovely co-ordinator, to the banquet in-charge Joshua to Dolly of JM.

The deco was really really romantic and lovely. I stole a look at it when helping to touch up some deco in my reception area (those who went would have seen a mad woman running about). It was just like a fairytale come true. The food (esp sharksfin) was substantial, taste pretty good (even from the leftover i tasted), and the serving was sufficient. All staff were so nice and attentive, and my coordinator was the best i could ever imagine.

I was so nervous and touched that I even cried on stage (opps), but all I could say is that, leave everything in their hands, you would never regret having your wedding at Shangri-la

hi zann,

ei, one more month n u say not near enough?? haha, u ah.. *shake head* well, whatever nice photos u can/want to share, just share! n plssss dont ever leave out one of the bride in her beautiful WG + EG.. that one def must see!! haha..
do rem to keep urself pretty pretty this last month! *wink*

hi chinnie,

thanks so much for sharing that with us!! it certainly has affirmed me much.. im sure u had a really wonderful wedding.. congrats

Hi Chinnie

Congrates!!

we have the same co-ordinator & florist
*hopz hopz*
i hope my wedding will turn out as good as urs.

hi chinnie,

wah...congrats!! didnt know last sun decor was so nice leh...should have gone down take a peek haha...a bit lazy :P

any photos to share??

hi ashie,

hahaha...maybe when dec come then more kan cheong...hmm dunno abt being pretty..the more i see my photo the more dun feel pretty kekeke!!

hi chinnie,

yes! pls do share if uve pics.. =)

zann,

aww come on.. dont be 'qian xu' la.. haha!! hey, so uve gone for PS alr? did u go shang to take outdoor shoots? i rem reading somewhere we can do that.. act im not keen on PS, but HTB says it's once-in-lifetime thg.. wat u think ah?

hi pleasance,

ur wedding soon also right? all the best!! wish u a pretty, romantic and beautiful wedding!

ashie,

i have done my PS. Yes, u can go Shang to take but you got to get a letter of authorisation from your coordinator. Just ask from them and tell them when yr PS date and they will send u by post a letter authorising you to take pic at Shang on that date in case anyone check you all lor.

me think hor, if you have time to have phototaking session in Shang before dinner start...then no need to take during PS then you can save PS for other location...but if you really wanna take in Shang also can...got ppl take in their hotel also...but i din take there...cos dunno what to take around there leh...then my PS don't have time for too many places...so decide to forgo taking there....heehee...anyway if AD got time then take...

zanny,

oic.. but then AD sure super busy/tired one leh.. at least for me la.. cos i'll be having church wedding before my dinner. act im thinking just AD photog enough.. but htb suggest PS also.. dunno leh. how was yours?? where'd u go for outdoor? hehe.. curious la..

ashie,

u mean my PS? both me and my hubby find PS very fun though tiring..we went sentosa and fullerton...where u intend to go?? thought abt it yet? when yr PS? btw, which is yr BS?

zanny,

hehe.. not really.. tho i reali haf a lot of time still. havent even settle BS leh.. n e way my life is now, wld prob be busy til christmas, so may haf to wait til early next yr then settle. but am excited abt it, cos of this forum la! hehe..

wah.. u n HB went sentosa.. must be nice hor.. i'd also want to haf pictures at the beach, if having PS. you had FUN?!! hey, that's quite rare right.. i thot PS usu v tiring one.. rem u told me u wif julia wedding news right? may i know wat they specialise in? how's it ah? can pls share wif me ur package? tks!

ashie,

is okie...take yr time...

i think a lof of couples go sentosa for shooting...sometimes u can see same location on other brides' PS for those who share their PS pics in the forum..heehee...even on the day we were there...there were a few couples doing PS shooting there...it was a monday :P

yes, we had fun...rare? not really lah, do have some brides here i know who her hubby and her had fun on the PS as well hehe...fun but also tired :P

yes, i was with julia wedding news. when i first step in i was attracted by their photos and gowns. are you looking for bridal car in wedding package as well? if so, JWN don't provide bridal cars in their package..they have OTR as well as MTM packages. For my package, on AD, i have WG/EG for bride, suit for groom, bridal bouquet, loan of accessories, make up & hairstyle, corsages, bridal car decor and ribbons for accompanying cars. On PS, i have 4 gowns (including WG/EG/kua (if you want)), 2 sets of man's suits, loan of accessories, bridal bouquet (for PS, is artificial flower). Then there is range of 25 to 36 (12 by 15) photographs depending on which package OTR or MTM u take, 1 mini album (3 by 5), 1 table top (8 by 10) and 1 portrait (20 by 24) or you can change to 3-in-1 acryllic (10 by 12) if you want.

Wei, my advice is for any bridal shops you wish to consider, better to take a look at their gowns to see if you like and also their photos and then think of the things u require and negotiate to be included in the package before you sign. Gather info and then go back consider then decide, don't sign on the spot even if they tell u sign that day they give u discount. cos i believe those shops will be able to give that price even if you go another day if not at most dun sign with them lor haha.

ashie,

also keep look out if those shops got additional costs like false eye lashes...early hour charges...are you having yr customary and banquet on same day or different? if different, need to look out for extra charge for make up on different day too. and also what the price they charge if PS scheduled but on that day cos of unforseen circumstances (maybe rain or something) can't carry out, the charge for PS to be taken another day and also whats the cost of additional pic. hmm this is what i can remember so far...if u have any more questions..u can ask...

Have not gotten my photos from the photographer yet, but will share one taken by my friend... Simply love the mood of this photo

223933.jpg

chinnie,

which ballroom u at?? which theme u use?? can share how your flower stand, stage stand and centrepiece for VIP & guest are? any close up pic of these decoration pieces? was yr wedding on 14 nov? i miss going to the decor for this leh...cos lazy to go..

chinnie,

is that a bird cage on the stand with the crystal container for tea candles? :P
how u find this effect?

hi zanny,

oh wow.. thanks for your advice.. *taking down the points* wah, thankfully you tell me all these.. wont know actually so much potentail 'extra charges'.. alwas hear abt it but never reali knew what they meant! hehe..
your package sounds very good leh.. how much it cost you ah.. for evthg u mentioned?

hi chinnie,

thanks for sharing the pic.. it looks so lovely! u look like a princess from some fairy tale.. like your dress! got more pics must show ok?! i think wat uve chosen complements your gown v well.. very princess-in-a-garden feel

zann.. u FINALLY start to get excited!! *at last* or at least that's wat i sense from ur questions to chinnie.. hey! bit like wat u want right.. candles.. flowers (er, i see leaves only tho..heh)

Hi zann,

Which are the places where u can take pics in shang? Me dun see any spots that we can take other than the nice recep area where u check in.

Hi chinnie,

Can l ask wat do u mean by sufficient serving? Take for example a young man with a bid appetite...is it enug for him? Which sharksfins menu did u choose? Are u using a garden theme? The decor is really nice and ur gown really stands out. Did the florists help in choosing the ideal theme which compliment ur EG? Did u top up extra for the decor?

ashie,

haha..cos i need to select the decor liao mah..so very interested to ask abt the decor stuff :P
cos i got see the bird cage when i visit JM mah so i tot i "saw" the bird cage in the pic..keke

germ,

err i havent gone to shang to take leh...i was telling ashie cos i dunno where can take in shang thats why dun want to waste one location decided PS dun take in shang if got time on wedding day then take there lor

Hi chinnie...

which floral stand u chose?
i chose all crystal trees...wonder how it will look like..

Hi Moo
I'm using Tower ballroom.

Hi ashie
Thz..when is ur dinner?

Pleasance,

yesterday u din go check out their decor at tower? is all cyrstall tree stand at the aisle..
but this time i got no pic lar :P

Hi zann

lazy ..whahah
dolly did mention that i should take a look...but scared wait i see liao no more surprises liao...whahah

so wats ur comments on yesterday's crystal tree's deco???

Germ
Hope you don't mind me intruding here....
We had our wedding in Shang 2 yrs ago, did take some photos there as well.
There are a few nice spots
1. The staircase at main lobby leading towards rose verenda
2. Garden wing, area leading down to waterfall terrace
3. Garden Terrace area, but I think has been converted to coffee garden now...

hi zann,

oh i see.. haha. yah, u shd be getting excited! haha.. u sound funny talking abt the bird cage.. like u very 'gian' to have a bird cage like that!! *giggle* i guess it'll give a very garden feel lor.. but think if u want crystals, candles, flowers.. then bird cage a bit funny right..?

hi pleasance,

welcome. mine's a year after yours.. next dec 10th. still long way to go.. was telling zann that by then the new tower ballroom not so new alr.. haha. you gals are the lucky ones.. get to use such a new ballroom!!

hi girl,
definitely not intruding! glad to hear ur experience. i actually asked cos shang's a special place for my FH n me.. we had few special days there.. including when he proposed at blu.. hehe.. so it just crossed my mind.. thanks for sharing

Hi girl,

Really apperciate ur comments. I'm glad we can take pic at the staircase in the lobby...that is a nice spot. Will shang limit us as to where we can take pics? I guess ur experience with Shang 2 yrs ago shd be a memorable 1.

Hi ashie,

Propose at blu..must be very romantic?

Pleasance,

hmm i would say is different from normal flower stand lor (should be quite nice when the lightings are on) but hard to say good or no good cos it depends on what you like. for me i find it not bad but my hubby don't really like.

ashie,

no lar...dun misunderstand i not 'gian' :P
just that i suddenly saw an image of the cage in the pic? hehe..
personally during the meeting at the florist when i was told they put a bird cage, i dun really fancy the idea...but then as long as the couple who uses this concept like it can liao...heehee

hi germ,

hehe.. not reali la.. think he knows he's not the romantic type.. so got to find a romantic place to 'make up' for it! keke.. but i really love the view up there.. it's soooo beautiful! *dreamy*
..n hey.. WE get to see it in the morning right?!!

btw, when's ur AD n which ballroom u using? sorry if i ask b4.. hehe..

hi zann,

yah.. sounds a bit funny, but looks nice in chinnie's photo leh.. so u decided on wat decor u want alr?

Germ/Ash
Yup,had a really great experience with Shang. Actually started from even before the wedding, when my hubby was overseas studying. The wedding coordinator would help my hubby send me flowers and gifts during our count-down to the wedding.
They also were in cahoots with my hubby to arrange a surprise stay in the same room that we stayed in during our wedding. Even came with anniversary cake

Actually phototaking not supposed to be done in the lobby, but no one really stopped us, so our photographer continued
But I think most guests won't mind. In fact some of the ang mo guests thought it was our actual wedding day and even cheered and clapped when we entered, haha

Hi ashie,

At least he put in some effort to tink of a romantic place. Ya, agree that the view is nice and also the ambience there.

Ya, for our breakfast.....haha. My AD is oct'05 and l'm using the Island ballroom.

hi girl,
oh i see.. thanks for the info! glad u'd such a memorable time with and at shang.. they're reali so sweet to you!!

hi germ,
oh great! then i wont be left behind in this thread aft zann gets married in dec.. will miss her :'(
hey, can i ask u sth re ur TW package? when did u sign up with them? was it during a promo period? i reali love his gowns, but initially dismissed the thot cos thought he was too expensive.. but ur package sounds quite reasonable.. so wondering if u got it at a special price? n does he tie up with photographers? sorry.. alot of qns.. hehe..

Hi girl,

Maybe l shd ask my coordinator abt the restrictions on photo taking in Shang. May l ask which ballroom did u used and how u find the suite?

Hi ashie,

Ya, juz let 2 of us. When is ur AD?
No, me sign up with TW w/o promo, the last promo he had is during Fullerton wedding show which TW gave 1 additional bouquet for photoshoot ( for package w/o phtography ). TW tied up with Chris, montage, photolanguage & attitute ( Hope l did not miss any other ).

I am new here.. I have just signed up with Shangri-la to host my wedding banquet next July, Phew! One thing off my mind now... for sure.

I would like to know how does the coordinator work at Shang? Anyone care to share some of the AD pix with me. Really would like to know how's the florist that tied up with Shang, are they creative and flexible?

Ash
Don't worry, you'll definitely have nice memories of your wedding at shang too!

Germ
The letter of authorization does stipulate that photos should be taken outdoors, but I don't think the hotel staff actually are that rigid. We had our church ceremony in the waterfall terrace.... used the wooden staircase as the longer version of a church aisle. Dinner was at Island Ballroom. We stayed 2 nights at the tower wing horizon club, not as big or grand as some of the other hotel bridal suites but we enjoyed it anyways

Valley wing was under renovation then, perhaps you can negotiate for a room there instead?

hi Audrey,

welcome to the thread! i dun have AD pics to share yet leh..as for florist...whatever i can comment already commented earlier...the rest only know after my AD...

ashie,

suddenly remember think u ask me abt the price of my bridal package and also whether i have decided on the decor? at the time when i signed up that package, the price they quoted was 3k+, i am not sure now got new packages or not? as for the ballroom decor, not yet finalised. the florist did mention have time until 1 week b4 AD to finalise..

Hi Girl,

I did not see the letter of authorisation. Will ask when my AD is nearer. Ya, agree that the suite is kind of small. Dun tink Shang will give a room at valley wing cuz it is much more expensive. So, u make use of the room beside the ballroom rite? Will Shang pass us the key to the room or the room will be kept open throughout the dinner?

Hi zann,

Rem to keep us posted and also the feedback after ur AD.

Hi girl,
i'm having solemnisation at the waterfall terrace as well.. can share ur experience?
my initial thot was to use the wooden staircase during the second march in wif hubby.
was it very tedious to walk down the stairway in ur gown? wat song/music did u use for the march in? seems a very long walk from there... hehe

hi germ,
my AD's 10dec next year. tks for the info!
am very keen on TW.. may pop by in dec. just curious, which photog u chose? i kind of like chris ling's style.. are they all the same price?

hi audrey,
welcome!! yay.. another late-05 bride to accompany me when the rest of u are gone

kiddin'.. sorry, mine's even later than yours so cant share.. but so far, ev past shang bride here has had good comments.. so i think no need to worry! u chosen ur BS yet?

hi girl,
i hope so!! thanks so much *hug*

hi zann,
oic.. tks for info. hey, let us know when uve decided on decor k? me curious.. heh. btw, wat color is your EG? wendy mentioned to me usually the bride will want the decor to match her gown.. that time when she said i thot was a bit funny.. now i think abt it it actually does make sense! hehe..