SG Bridal in JB

I have done my AD gowns selection. A tiring day for me but quite enjoyable lor. I love trying on gowns... hahaha...

Btw, how do you really differentiate which gowns are outdated, old or new one? I don't really mind gowns are old or outdated. As long as it looks nice on me, I will go with it. I'm quite satisfied with their AD gowns. By looking at the gowns, those gowns may not look nice but it looks different when you wear it. Please do not just by looking at the gowns and think it’s not nice, you have to try it yourself to see the result. No harm trying, right?

I learnt something from my coordinator, Catherine. We really need to wear the gown before rejecting it. For example, while I'm changing in the dressing room, my hubby initially has rejected a "green" color evening gown on my behalf which Catherine has selected & intended to let me try on. He rejected due to the color as he knew that I don't really like green color as it will make me looks like”Malay". Catherine suggested trying it on first before rejecting the gown. My hubby made a bet with her that I definitely will not choose that gown. When I saw it, my first reaction was "I don't like this color, do I really have to try it?” I listened to Catherine’s advice and I just try lor. I’m surprised when I look into the mirror. It looks different and it looks quite nice on me. I have finalized this piece as my evening gown.

The gowns I like & have chosen do not look nice on me, but those I don't really like look nicer on me. I agreed with Serene. Outdated gowns doesn't mean not nice. New designs also doesn't mean nice. FYI, I have rejected most of the new gowns.

I have seen my layouts but unable to get the softcopy so cannot show u gals. However, I just posted some of my PS photos in my multiply. Overall, we are satisfied with the layout. Never make any changes.

Thanks to Gladys (cos' she changed her appointment to Fri), I managed to take a look at the gowns as well as try 4 pieces of gowns.

They just moved all their gowns to the new area on Fri night hence the racks are more spacious and bright now. I browsed thru the racks with my HTB and we managed to shortlist several simple and elegant pieces. As there r no couple trying gowns at 2pm, I requested Ivy to recommend me some of the latest gowns. Similar to 2002, Ivy too advised me not to choose my gowns so early as there are gowns which are not back yet such as dry cleaning or on rental. Best is 2-3 weeks b4 AD.

Overall, the few pieces that Ivy recommended look good on me. In fact, I m now thinking of giving up my MTM since I am fine with their collection, I dun really wanna take the risk of creating a gown which might not look good on me... -_-!!

Ivy also told me that they dun rent out gowns that are less than 3 mths old which I can understand y lah. Young gowns are usually reserved for PS only. Also, most of the PS gowns have very long or elaborated trains/tails hence are usually not used for AD day too. However, if u really like any gowns u used during PS, there r still room for negotiation.

Anyone inviting their MUA for ur AD? Probably u can ask for her advise as well as her recommendation on ur makeup and hairdo to match the gowns. At least u have a better idea of the overall look for ur AD.

I am a bit confused because i see most of my friends photo the gown they wear for their indoor photo shoot is their gown for actual day. This does not apply the same to SG Bridal?

At that time when I went over, they are renovating one of the shophse just two/three shops besides them. When I choose the gowns, it was at the 2nd level of the shophse. When I was choosing it, the selection is really very few. Overall at that time, I try out about 4-5 gowns. I guess after trying it, I told her I can't find anything that I like. So probably, Ivy agree to let me take out the photoshoot gown. Or probably the one that I choose is not new anymore.

So Serene, you like your album layout? For me, I also didn't change at all. Everything looks fine for me. I didn't take note of any small details. My colleague who also took her photos at printemps, the one at Citysq. She got to ask them to amend few times. She said that some of the photos like arm was like cut off slightly etc. After hearing that, I realise that I didn't take note of that. Crossing my fingers that everything will goes well. By the way, when you ladies going to collect the gowns and everything? I'm planning to take like 1week before. So that's y I didn't take their floral bouquet. I intend to get it in sgp.

Hi adnl2002, the gowns that I choose are like victorian style. The top part is lacy and halter neck. For the evening gown, is purple tube gown. If you ask Ivy, probably she will know about it.

We just done our photoshoot last Sunday and both my hubby and I had a wonderful time with the SG Team. Special thanks to

1. Nicole & the team - for selecting such wonderful gowns for my photo shoot, all the gowns really reflect my personality truly love them all! You can be sure they will be able to help you choose the perfect gown ^_^

2. Jenny - for making me so beautiful! Both my hubby and I felt like we are models and besides, your painstaking styling make us look so wonderful and perfect. Thumbs up to your excellent skill all along with us.

Kenneth- For capturing the perfect angle making us look so beautiful.His superb skills is undoubtable. Big Big humbs up to him again!

3. Kenneth's Asst-JunJie/JJ - Teaching us how to pose for every angle (especially JJ, a playful but with a good patient guy for the whole section)Make alot fun thru our PG section for the whole day.

We had such a enjoyable time with them. I've my personal album & couple album with them b4, the standard are still there,no drop but incraese to a better service and job done.

We are now looking forward to seeing the photos and we can't wait to see the finished product ^_^

I agreed with Lizzy_Bride since I also see those gowns on the 2nd level of their shop(abt 3 units away) Perhaps if anyone who went to their 2nd level shop will then understand what we have seen..

Anyway we went in on sunday to ask about our ablum layout and am glad that I'm able to see some nice gowns (just by looking from outside) We were told that our layout will be ready this sat and hopefully it will be good n nice without any amendment coz we have 3 ablums in total and I heard they are short of manpower on the designing part..AND also to select my gowns.. fingers cross again...

Hi Lizzy_Bride, glad you're able to select the gown you like, be it PS gown or anything.. so long as you liked it and look good on you ^__^ I can't wait to start my AD gown selection..

Hi Pinky,ya I agreed with you that JJ is v nice n patient to teach us how to pose for each shoot.. I'm so grateful that we have him to teach us coz we are not a pro and without his help we might look v stiff or fake.. ;p We really had v nice photoshootings with Kenneth and the rest of his team as well..

Hi lizzybride,

The layout looks fine to me hence I din make any change or comment. We just went 'Wow'... I also never take note of small details leh... I believe they should take not bah... My friend took hers in 1 of the JB BS too and in the end her armpits not lighten hence got 1 patch of black black... Quite un-glam... I checked mine... No black black... hehehe...

Many of my friends signed up with local BS also made many changes to their album. Either we are too easy customer or Sg Bridal has done a good job... I believe is both... =P

Hi pinky, wow! Happy that u enjoyed ur PS too. I think the PS process is the most enjoyable one. Feel so spoilt...

I went to the 2nd level shop before to KPO. Cos my sis cutting her hair at Sense (next door) and I happened to bump into Ivy while she open the door. Never really seen their gowns cos' got a couple trying hence not nice to interrupt.

Actually if u gals really not satisfied with the gowns, probably make another trip down to take a look. Cos is a once in a lifetime event. So dun settle for something u dun like.

Hi 2002,

I went to the 2nd level of their shop (abt 3 units away) for AD gowns selection last Friday. Their gowns look okay to me. Probably some nice gowns have already returned from dry cleaning or rental on that day, thus I am able to select a few nice gowns. Catherine told me that they are shifting their gowns to the next door and will be ready by this week.

Hi Lizzy Bride & Serene, I didn’t amend any small details also except for the brightness of the background. My cousin & friends have reminded me to take note on these small details as they have made many changes to their album. They took their package from other BS in JB. With their advice, I really took an effort to check on these small details and was unable to find any flaws. I asked my hubby why they keep emphasizing on this yet I can’t find any. I really don’t know what we should take note of. SG Bridal has done a great job & they are really pro. So gals, u need not worry too much on this. Your album will look very nice de.

Hi gals, we are allowed to rent 1 WG & 2 EG for our AD. Are you all taking 2 EG? Do we have time to change 3 gowns during the dinner? Need your advice. Thanks!

Can anyone recommend where can I rent for Chinese traditional Kua? SG Bridal has rent out all their kua on my AD and I need one for my tea ceremony. Or any suggestion what we can wear for tea ceremony other than kua? Many thanks!

Hi Gladys

Another EG can be used as tea dress. Are u cantonese? Cos' if u r not bound by traditions, probably u can consider getting Sg Bridal cheongsum. =) I saw that they have several pieces of nice nice modern cheongsum under their EG sections. Do give a try... At least apart from using as a tea dress, u can also use it as a backup in case u suddenly feel like changing another gown to say bye bye to ur guest. (^_^)

This is my plan lah...

No, I'm hokkien. Not sure if my mum will mind or not. Will ask her. She keep asking me if I can get a kua for my tea ceremony.

I didn't get to try out any cheongsum that day. Probably my coordinator think that I'm not suitable for CS ba. No nice figure... hahaha...
Thanks for your advice

Hi Gladys

You can try this website: http://www.justgowns.biz/ This is feature in one of the variety show broadcast in channel 8 (but i cannot remember the name). In there, they offer kua rental. No harm taking a look.

Hi adnl2002 & Serene. I guess probably the layout are too well-done to complain much. Haahaa. By the way, when will you be collecting the stuffs? One week before ur AD?

By the way, I am taking 2 wedding gowns and 1 evening gown. I will be taking one simple gown for my tea dress. Intend to wear it from my new house to my mum's place. Hopefully, when the albums are ready, Ivy will allow me to choose the gowns again. Crossing my fingers.

Hi Pin&Jie, my wedding will be this weekend. I collected my AD gown today. I got no picture to share coz they did not give me back my soft copy with design. Hahah I tried to ask for it but got rejected. When I looked at the design, I did not make any amendment. I'm nnot sure are we too chin chye or we are just plain lazy to ask for amendment. Till now, I think their album are really nice compare to other BS in JHB. Their album can give us a different feeling from what we see from other BS.

As my figure is not very good, they tried to alter the gown to my size. I cant say it is perfect but guess they had done their best.

I had one gown with very very long tail. I intend to use it for my 1st march in. I wont be wearing my morning gown in the evening. I tink that piece is quite elegant.

Hi Gladys, pls lar... Ur figure so slim... U cannot wear cheongsum?! OMG? Then wat's mine? Bottle!! I think cheongsum is probably under PS gowns. Do ask them for it. Will be very elegant ones.

Hi Lizzybride, Ivy said at least 2 weeks from the day I confirmed the layout. But I have arranged to pick up on 22 Nov together with the selection of my gowns... =) U better inform Ivy in advance if u intend to re-select ur gowns.

Hi tyty78, congrats! U must be very very busy wor... The way u describe ur gowns really arouse my interests. Share with us ur AD photos ya... So excited... Remember, must have fun and stay relax...

Hi LizzyBride,

Thanks so much for the website. I’m considering one of the EG as tea dress as suggested by Serene so I don’t need to pay extra $$ (fm $88 to $98) to rent a kua just for tea ceremony only. I will only collect my gowns & the stuffs two days before my AD. Is it too late? Should I arrange to collect earlier?

Hi Serene, I think I ever tried Cheongsum before during PS gown selection. It does not really look good on me as I’m short and my "front" not big enough. U knows wat I mean ba. hehehe... Whereas you are different, you are tall and you have a nice figure. The black gown looks really stunning on you. You look so gorgeous & sexy. Are we allowing to request to choose the gown again? Hopefully we can do so...

Hi tyty78, Congrats to u!!! U must be feeling very excited ba... Remember to relax yourself and be a happy & beautiful bride. I have collected my soft copy also and those are without design too. Are we not given soft copy with design ma? I haven’t asked my coordinator on this yet.

Hi Gladys

Thanks for your compliment but I am not wat u describe in real life. hehehe... The credits of my nice nice outlooks go to Jenny, Ivy and the other staffs who helped me choose the gowns. (^_^)

I would suggest that u pick up ur stuffs at least 1 week before ur wedding. Gowns too if possible. i am worried that u might be too stress or busy the few days before ur wedding. It's better to keep at least 2 day before ur AD free...

Btw, they have quite a number of cheongsums so probably u can ask them to recommend u. =) Unless u have the spare cash else I dun think there is a need to spend extra $$ to rent gowns. Maybe u can ask them to put u on 'waiting list' as in if any one give up their kua, reserve it for u lor. (^_^)

So excited hor... hehehe...

Yo gals,

I'm back from our PS on Wed & Thur~~~ well, in fact we were a bit unluckly that the both days raining in Desaru, we have to back half way & postpone to another day for outdoor PS. but frankly speaking we dun feel sad & even happy to be there again, as it's really pleasant to work with the SG team!

Great thanks & appreciation to Kelvin, Ah Feng, Wei Zai, Jenny, Xin Yu, Jun Jie, JJ, Amy jie, Xiao Jia, uncle, etc... they all are so friendly & professional! it's really heaven & hell contrast from our previous BS in S'pore... we can only say that without this contrast we might not realise how lucky we are customers of SG Bridal at all...

Serene, we are thinking to separate indoor & outdoor album liao, although we havent seen our indoor pix at all (really cant wait le!)...confident in Kelvin..hahaha...but a bit pitiful that we didnt take many nice own pix for indoor part as u leh...

Tyty78, Congratulations! we r on the same boat & able to comprehend each other bit more ba... really wish u a wonderful wedding & blessed marriage!!!

Hi princess,

They really treat u like princess, right... Unlike what my friend described abt their tiring PS, I actually find mine very enjoyable too!

I dun mind doing again... hehehe...

I think ur co-ordinator will probably ask u to separate e 2 themes if u have 2 albums. But for mine, albums' size difference hence quite difficult... now is a mixture of indoor and outdoor for both albums...

U can rest assured that ur photos will have the WOW effect!

Tks tks! Will check if I can change my collection date to 1 week earlier and check with them on the kua & cheongsum. Thanks for your suggestion.

Feeling excited but stress also... three more weeks to my wedding... yet still got so many things to do... stress leh...

ya lor... although the posing is bit difficult for non-professional person like us, still enjoy the process a lot...

our coordinator is Xin Yu, very sweet considerate & patient gal... in fact she didnt persuade us to have 2 albums, but we think it might be better to have a designed indoor one & a natural outdoor one... since we trust Kelvin & SG's post design, so we think it should be worthy to top up lor...

we also wish to have the WOW effect when we see the raw pix... really cant wait liao...

Hi Gladys,

all the best for ur AD~ remember wedding is to celebrate, to enjoy, but not to worry or stress abt.. get more helpers lah & relax urself...

Hi Gladys

Stress is unavoidable but must have fun too. Cos' this is the last moments to enjoy the preparation process before u become MRS ya.... =D

Hi princess
My co-ordinator, Ivy, also never hard sell on the additional photos... hehehe... But my HTB and I just keep on choosing the photos non stop...

i just went and see the layout of my album last weekend. at 1st i was still worried i will have to do amendments to the layout. but in the end my worries turn out unduly..the layout was great, theres wasnt any complain about it..n to be frank , i am satisfied with it the 1st moment i saw it.
My coorinator Nic also let me choose my AD Gowns on the same day, she was super patient with me..she let me try alot alot of gowns n tell me at the same time if i dun like dun hv to force just tell her n kp on trying..and she even gave me alot of new gowns to try with the tags still on it..Jia jia was also great in changing me..she was also helping me with my PS gowns previously with Ivy..i reali like their whole team and appreciate their efforts.
Those who are interested, can take a look at my photos in my multiply here,
http://mq22sg.multiply.com/

Hi xiangqi

Nice layout... Very simple... I went to the same place as u but my layouts not the same... I dun have the soft copy so cannot share....

Wow... seems like a lot of u went down over the weekend hor... I wonder if u gals get to meet each other... heheheh.... should be fun meeting...

Hi Xiangqi,
I'm just starting to look around for bridal studios at JB, and i saw your pics, they are nice. Are yours from SG Bridal? I have actually shortlisted Venus and Fables....but would love to look at SG Bridal as well, but i can't seem to access their website.

Anyone here can share your experience with Venus or Fables?

Hi Sharon,
Ya i am with SG Bridal, i tink their website nting much to view, only their address and contacts.
Serene,
when can u get ur album?? i tink both u & me r very satisfied SG Brides.

Purple posh,
SG bridal PG skill is much better than venus, dun hv so much repetition for the poses.......but of cos SG bridal price is more expesnive than venus. i strongly suggest u go for SG bridal hv a look before u make any decision. venus and fables same boss

Hi Purple Posh,

I also din went to venus of fables b4 so cant gim u much comments on their services n gowns.
But i can say that SG give me very gd and comfortable service when i m with them throughout.
From my coorinator Nic n Ivy, Jiajia who always help me with my gowns, Kevin, feng , fang when i was taking my PS.even my mua jenny was all just great.
So i also suggest u make a trip dwn to SG n have a feel n look at their gowns too.
From there i tink u wil have a btr and clearer view.

i went to Venus, service was not very good, we almost walk off when no1 came to attend to us, jus throw us some albums, and leave us there. but their photos are not bad, background also nice. but they dun take care of the gown nicely. i see lace falling out, so a bit minus point.

SG staff are more friendly and cheerful and flexible. we intend to cover city square after SG, but we love the photos so much, we booked on the spot. really very good. I like my coordinator, she is so funny. when she bring us around she will intro the staff to us, and even customers, we almost faint... quite fun dat day.. had a lot of free gifts, so happy..

H Chloe, you mind to share with me your pkg cost? Estimated will do. So far, i have heard good comments, but nt sure if the pkg cost is manageable...

Mine is also 4288...^__^

i cant say their package includes everything, but all are negotiable, and for most of the items that we might be charged extra fees in S'pore BS (like photo imaging/touch up,transport,hair-do setting,etc), it will be no doubt in SG bridal...

the price mainly vary becoz of the outdoor venues, album sizes & numbers, but not the quality difference...

hi girls... i have signed w venus BS.. but now i got some doubts with their gowns cos i cant find those i like for my coming ROM. can the SGers give me details on your packages (prices,no. of pics/pose,top up charges,freebies etc) and who to contact to nego on packages as i might be going down to SG this weekends.. Thanks alot..

Hi Kervin

Since u have already sign up with Venus, y r u still exploring other BS? U should make the best out of ur package.

SOme gowns must try then can see the beauty de... =)

Chloe memtioned earlier that Sg Bridal package starts from RM1888.

I would say all the staffs at Sg Bridal are very friendly and cheery hence u can approach anyone. I would suggest that u call to make an appointment cos' they usually are quite busy during weekend.

My co-ordinator is Ivy. U may wanna contact her. =)

If u wanna compare prices, based on so many comments, I think Sg Bridal prices are slightly higher than other nearby BSs.

But we think it's worth the $$ cos' we are full of praises for their service and quality. (^_^)

Hi jingyuh, is along the way down to crown hotel.. along tat stretch.. if u see ido wedding, u will able to see sgbridal de.. =D

I back from outdoor PS @ Desaru on Fri... finally this time the rain only comes as soon as we finish at ~4pm! but super hot & i felt quite dizzy after few hrs strong sunburn... but have seen some pix from Kelvin's camera after we finish. we love Kelvin's skills~~ so everything is worthy & meaningful!

have almost decided to separate the indoor & outdoor PS into 2 albums liao... so 2000RM is the standard price??

Serene, did u manage to get all softcopy or the 4R hardcopies (the raw ones when u select pix)? or any tips to take note during the negociation?

Hi princess

Mine are the edited softcopy of the poses I have selected. Since I topped up for another album at abt ur price, they gave me the whole album with all the raw 4Rs which total up to more than 300 poses.

I didn't ask for the rest of the softcopies. =)

As for the additional album, RM2000 is not the standard price lar. U must see if u r taking the silverprint or normal print and what sizes of album u taking. =)

Just tell ur co-ordinator wat u want. They will try to work out for u de. Sg Bridal won't 'chop' u de but there will always be something special for every couple hence dun compare regarding this session. It's quite impossible to have all the special treatments when most couple only have 1, right?

My special would be the FOC 4R raw pictures lor. Initially, I am quoted RM500.

thanks so much for the info! in fact what i'm more interested is also the raw 4Rs only, since we ll choose the best ones into album, and those include edited softcopies... i only want to keep the memory for all the poses instead of reprinting them into good quality photos...

so nice, then we can ask for the FOC raw 4Rs when we top up for additional album... ^__^

btw, we saw new indoor backgrounds & themes in SG last Fri... so lucky for the new customers... and it's really wise to keep improving & avoid same themes for all customers... thumb up for SG!

Ya... I saw the new themes too... So romantic... I too envy those new customers... Just like how my previous friends envied me for having new themes and gowns... hehehe..

I think this is a never ending cycle of envy... (^_^)

Soon we will find our albums bored le... =P

I told my HTB that I wan to take Bridal photos again when I am pregnant...

Hi ladies, I am interested to find out more about the package details of SG Bridal. Could you send it to me please? My email address is [email protected].

Pin&jie8275, I think your pics are nice. May I know who is your photographer?

Hi Xb

Thanks for your compliments! My PG is Kevin. (^_^) I have just sent u my package info.

Btw, take a look at the photos of other Sg Bridal in this forum... They are very nice too!

Hi pin&jie8275 (pinjie8275),

Can i have a copy as well? I went to the studio before, was pleased. Should be going for the bridal show next week at plaza pelangi and see what they have to offer. Ur package would be a gd reference to me, thanks!

I would like to share with u my package but please dun use this as a baragining tool. Cos I signed up my package almost a year ago hence prices and freebies now are quite different.

I recommend Sg Bridal bcos of their great service hence I do not wish to create unecessary inconvenience to them too when people starts printing out my package details and show it to them...

My friend signed a year earlier than me and I am paying abt RM1K more than her for almost the same things except that I have 1 album bigger than her.

Hi yanty, u've got mail! =)