SG Bridal in JB

kolabear

hi ling
did u tell Ivy the idea was from me? cos when i ask to do for me she say don kw how to do.. haha. when i sign up with them, thier shop was still e old one, few stores away selling matrenity clothes now (FYI, my BB gal due in Mar and likely to go bk SG bridal to take some family pic next yr, so hope Ivy will give me a better deal)
the one u are going to now is a brand new shop and the reno there looks so impressive.
if u thinking of videography, i suggest u ask SG Bridal and talk to Ian. Ian is a freelance and his shop is few stores away. i love e express montage he does for my wedding dinner, thou 8 mins but many of my guests and myself laugh till our hearts out.. very entertaining. hard to descrbe to u thou

hi wink, SG bridal not a very popular shop as compare to Venus or others in City Sqaure but i think thier service is good and most important don ask u to keep adding photos
it was by coinident i saw the shop there as my hubby services his car w a regular shop there. fall in love with a photo shoot in desaru and sign up with them. din bother comparing. for me as long as the 'feel' is there, is there :p

hi cat, my package is e one from Panda (fion16). cos i cant rem my password, re-created another. ie: panda = kolabear

hi oinkoink
(1) no does not consists. i ask Ian from SG bridal, freelance videographer. see above commenst to Ling for Ian, i love his express montage, i enage him for whole day and he comes to Sinagpore to do for me. compare rates and services, thier still cheaper
(2) got my own MUA, if u need recom do let me kw as well
(3)see e cute cute panda pic post? we drove in the day b4 wedding and they tie e ribbon. my pandas are tie by hubby in the morning.
(4) u collect the day before AD, need to self collect
(5) excluding searching and discussing, i went in to choose gowns, then indoor, then outdoor, then see photo, then see final print out, then collect+finalise what to wear for AD, then day before AD go in try and alter if necessary, lastly to return.
(6)for me no issues on the gowns and such as they buy in new stocks freqeuntly. i choose some clothes in mar to standby. in end Jun new stock come in can choose again, my AD was in July. good thing they not fussy and let u choose till u happy w what u wan to wear and they can instantly alter for u, so don need to come too manytimes

oh, if U take in malaysia, do go outdoor and please don come bk to SG to take photos hor. JB has nice scenary and even the old coffeeshops and such styles are nice.. has a oldies falovour which we cnat find in SG

kolabear

hi ling
din notice ur earlier post. if u wan to rent a kua, suggest u try other shops instead of thru SG bridal. my GF rent hers in JB but cant rem the name. the kua in SG bridal not nice. some bridal shops has a variety of kua for rental. u sld try those shops. stil cheaper as compare to singapore price

ling09_09

hi kola,

Congrats on ur upcoming to be a mommy!!!

Heehee...actuali i din reali take a look at their kuas... heehee..anyway, she wont b charging me for tat alrdy..
Yes, i did told her the idea was from was..tats y i say she remembered u...heehee
How much is ur videographer n MUA? can email me if u wan to..

oh ya...btw...how long did they give u the time period to return the gowns back to them..?

yukikodawasan

Hi Kola,

Thanks for sharing.. Looks like you are really satisfied with SG Bridal. Hmm, so if I take bus to JB, how should I tell the cab driver to go to SG Bridal?

kolabear

hi ling
check with Ian (freelance in SG bridal) I took e whole day shooting inc of express montage. he has diff prices for diff slots u book. Mine ard S$1000. u wont get this price in singapore. everytime u see pp videography they show like 30mins of the mroning event, very boring. try his express montage, thou only ard 8 mins and extra RM400 (if don rem wrongly), it wld be a unforgettable evening dinner. he edit until so cute

MUA was done by a fd, ard S$400. she follows me whole day and did for my MIL as well. if u wan her contact do PM me.

generally i think they are quite flex when returning gown. i think we return 5days or so lesser. U need to give them a depsoit when taking e gowns out but of course refundable

hi oinkoink
i think generally i am an easy cust.. haha. but i really appreciate them for making the wedding clothes for my 2 pandas which was placed at the wedding car (see above pic) and the guest book which i wanted. to me its beyond thier normal service (insteading of throwing in extra photos which any shops can do)

we drove in and i am not sure on the bus. but i suggest u take a cab, its opp of plaza pelangi so maybe cab fare ard RM6

hi huiting
my package is e one right on top of this link. panda(fion16) = kolabear (forget PW so create new link)

hdbanger

have gone to SGBridal yesterday. happy with their service.

while price is a huge consideration, i think many of you will agree that it's really the bride's decision and feel on whether the gowns and photos will be good.

generally we're acceptable to the standards offered, and both of us being not too fussy (and keepin to our budget), we signed up with them for the RM3888 package. Ivy provided as much things as she could for our package by herself (plus we're not fond of hard bargaining).

but seriously, for interested couples, get acquainted with them, and many things i think can be discussed. we did so with her (due to some requirements) and also a hair salon they're familar with at holiday plaza (that's another story altogether).

my AD will be early jul '07. a weekday. so photo will probably be sometime in mar or apr.

will try and keep you ladies posted as the process runs along. it's gonna be a ride, especially when i can't drive my truck into m'sia. so much travellin on cabs involved. heh.

kym377

Anyone can share photos taken at SG Bridal? I am considering either SG Bridal or Printemps. Any advise? Wanted to go down to take a look but the weather hasn't been very cooperative.

kym377

Hi Kola,

Mine is in Dec 07. So wanna start sourcing already. So far, i find the magazine style layout of printemps nice. Dunno abt SG Bridal. But i like the frontage of SG Bridal. Looks nice and looking at your package, i think its a gd deal. Will be going down to SG Bridal tmr, rain or shine. Can i also quote you so that i can get your package? DO i just say you as the bride who got SG Bridal to sew clothes for their teddy bears or there are better ways to remind them of you?

kolabear

hi kym
nice to hear that you are going SG Bridal. maybe u can look for Ivy, guess no one as crazy as me go and ask bridal shops to sew new clothes for panda bear... U may wan ask Ivy got sample for the "guest book" i mention.. cos Ivy said quite a few pp reading the thread go to her and ask direct for the guest book.. like i mention, i like some 'perosonalise' stuff.. instead of trhowing on more photos(too common). don need lots of photos.. but each piece u choose U must love it.

well, if u thinking of videograpgy, do ck out with Ian, after all since u there no harm checking it out. i recom e express montage, real hilarious

kym377

Thanks Kola,

Btw, i read from the above thread that you drove in to SG Bridal. Just wanna check with you on your take on the safety of parking there with all the car thefts threat going on.

kolabear

have u gone down to SG bridal? today's a good weather. my hubby drives in very regulary, in fact he service in a shop few shaps away from e bridal, that why i manage 2 see SG bridal.. last year they don hv nice fontage as they have now... they were in a smaller shop

kym377

Hi Kola,

Thank you so much. Yes. I signed up with SG Bridal today. Your package was really good. Their package price has increased now. In fact, comparable to the BS in City Square. The RM2888 package doesn't include desaru anymore. I was too lazy to search or compare, so just sign up lor. Took the RM3888 package. I liaised with Ivy as well and said that Fion recommended me. Ivy commented that you are so nice... recommended so many people to SG Bridal.

Oh yes, i also got the guest book, but i did some changes to it. Almost same concept as yours. Will tell her exactly what i want after i think it through.

kolabear

hi kym..
glad to hear u are happy with the package.

for my package u notice i give up lots of small items like 5R, hand bouqet as most wld hv bargain.. frankly after the dinner, our photos are all kept in e cupboard
except for the one in the room, its a 4 photo in 1 concept.. we don wan the 'typical' photo where both sit together and face e camera

haha.. ivy told me e guest book seems to be a 'in' thing in her shop. i am sure u wld hv gotten a better one than mine cos mine e 1st they made and its very simple

kolabear

hey kym
just curious, did u consider videography or photography, if yes can consider taking from JB as well, still cheaper than in singapore. anyway i din take photograpgy but opt for videography.

magic28

Hi Kola

Now I am in your thread instead of Dawn ;-)

Will talk to my HTB about gg to SG bridal hse in JB. He quite concern about safety, a bit kia si.... hee hee

Who is your photographer at SG-BH? And your MUA went in to JB to do your make up for you? Or you meant you engaged your own MUA for AD? Pls give me as much advise n info as you can, cos my AD/selomnisation is in June 07 and I don't really hv much time to plan n most of my friends are married long time ago cos I am an 'old bride'..... ~(^.^)~

kolabear

hi magic28
congrats to ur wedding

safety wise so far so good cs my hubby been going to a car workshop few shops away from SG bridal to service his car regularly

photographer they hv a few, if i don rem wrongly kenneth did for most of the shoots. SG provides all e mk up during photo shoots. for AD i engage my own from SG.

don worry i search for my wedding stuff in Jan 06, July 06 is my AD cum solom.. now awaiting Jan 07 for my BB to pop out

good thing abg shooting in JB is they can prepare e photos out fast for u not like in singapore cos the albums here are all sent bk to jb to make.

my GF does in SG says her packgae consist 1 mk up for indoor and 1 for outdoor shooting. if u unlucky for outdorr rain, u need to pay extra for the mk up. but when i was with SG bridal they don charge extra.

i took my outdoor photo in mid may and my GF in early may. after selection and going thru e designs, i collection my album in mid june where GF collected hers in late jul.. hmm.. so u can see e 'time lapse'.

so u hv some time budget, jb shops may be a better choice...

oh.. don overspend on weeding... save more $$ if u intend to have a BB soon like me.. cos 2 me more worth while to spend on BB

ongfion

Hi Fion,

I'm new to this forum. Planning to go JB take bridal package too and saw lot's of recommendation on SG Bridal here. Thus, intend to go down take a look. Could I quote your name as well?

Any others have any recommendation on other studios as well? Thinking to go check them out at the same time too.

Many thanks!
Fiona

rosel

<font color="aa00aa">hi fion aka panda,

congrats on being a mother-to-be and thanks for sharing so much info wif d rest of BTBs here.

i made a trip to SG and venus to recce. at SG, i spoke to ivy and the package she quoted me was RM3088 and wat it encompassed was not as attractive as urs. my HB din wan to commit immediately and ivy looked a lil displeased and even resorted to 'saleman's pitch' by saying tat the px mite increase if we dun confirm soon.

when i requested for the pc of paper (which listed the details of d pkge), she refused to give it to me. i explained to her tat i needed it to jerk my memory and she cld give me a simplified version if not the full version. but still, she did not agree. on the contrary, venus listed a simplified version of d pkge for me.

being a plus sized bride, im worried tat i will have limited selection of gowns. @ venus, i was being brought to see the studio and d gowns 'wardrobe' and was even offered some gowns to try on. however, @ SG, ivy was reluctant to show me to the gowns wardrobe, citing tat it's very messy and i felt tat d gowns she showed me were nt very nice. when i requested to try 1 of d gowns, she remarked tat she allowed me to try cos d dressing rm was not taken.

fyi, i actually went to venus first then sg. havin recvd excellent svc @ venus, i was rather unimpressed by ivy's svc although, after lookin thru samples fr both BS, i actually prefer SG's style. ivy's inflexibility is holding me fr signing wif them. like to hear ur views on ivy as ur coordinator since u have dealt wif her b4.

btw, did u pay additional charges for ampoules, false eyelashes etc? were u informed of such charges beforehand?</font>

storeberry

Hi ladies! I went to JB over the weekend &amp; settle for SG brides! I was attended by Nic. Their gowns are not alot but the designs are quite unique, I also like their bridal shots &amp; designs, very modern!

I signed the package on Sat &amp; chose the gowns on Sun, spent about 2 hours choosing the gowns, really surprised that I didn't took alot of time to settle the gowns. hee.. Altogether I chose three wedding gowns (1 short baby doll gown) + 1 outdoor gowns, 3 evening gowns (including one red short wedding gowns with flowers) and one Kua.

Now have to watch my diet to prepare for my shot on 1st of Febuary! Hopefully the pictures turn out fine!

Hi Rosel, were you there on sat? I also went to venus first then to SG Brides but we decided to settle with SG because we like their design effect &amp; photography, its more modern, more new age. But Venus's service was also very good, however I can only sign with one. The prices of both place is the same, RM3888 package.

SG &amp; Venus told me about the extra charges for ampoules &amp; eyelashes, however Venus charge a RM35 for setting of hair, SG don't.

I think Fiona package is very comprehensive &amp; good~! But too bad the price have increase... Fional, the people at SG still remember you, they said you refer alot of people to them!

hdbanger

rosel,

talk to ivy about it. m'sians in general (esp chinese) can discuss over things. find a win-win solution for both you and them.

i feel us singaporeans drive a hard bargain, and it sometimes makes giving and takin for both sides a bit harder.

just to make my point:

we were gonna pop over to a hair salon we haven't visited in a year (in holiday plaza) later that day, and they recommended us the people to look for.

and then over at the salon, the stylists got along with us (partially cos we spend quite a bit there on hair and products), that they even asked us to quote their names to ivy.

ivy did bring us to take a look at the studio upstairs. we didn't ask for it. and also maybe because we made an appt on a non-peak period (weekday noon) in mid-dec. we had to wait about fifteen to twenty minutes while she attended to someone else, as we shifted the timin a little earlier at last minute.

meanwhile, we pored through about 6-8 photo albums on the different styles and album sizes.

she did tell us about the extra charges. and all the items were stated clearly in the receipt.

and we're given some stuffs FOC (again we didn't ask a single thing). just whatever she can offer, i'd go along with it. i'm more interested that they make my bride a beautiful and happy one.

hope it helps a little on the possibilities and solutions. 8P

rosel

<font color="aa00aa">hi storeberry,
yes i was there on sat.

hi hdbanger,
thanks for the precious advice. im still deciding whether to go for SG. i'm quite concerned abt d synergy btw my coordinator and me (us) as she will be assisting us in alot of things to come. also, i liked the gown i tried @ venus. feeling torn btw now..

kolabear

hi fiona
sure no prob can quote thou i don earn commisson but its nice to see pp going to e place where i recom. but trsut me, u gals are seeing a much more bigger shop and wider selection that i see 1 yr ago... haha.. thats why some 'complain' they see higher charges as well la..

i don hv other 2 recom. maybe to me is all e same. i like see wedding photos. when i was captivated by 1 of the photos i see, i immediately decide on this shop. i go in w a budget and work towards that direction. else u see so many 'wow...." stuff then u tend to be lost and frustrated what to choose.

my hubby also say like i choose him.. in fact we only pator for 19days when he propose to me and i agree.

hi storebery
glad to hear u have ur gowns. i don kw abt sinagpore but find in JB, they do things more chop chop and not draggy. my gf has hers in MTM and spend at least 6trips just to select/ try/ alter her gown... very tiring leh

hi rosel
thanks for ur congrats. at the end i think more impt is u feel more comfortable on the shop. photo taking to me is e whole exp that counts cos i hv seen freind taking a low package but top up so much to get extra stuff.

i am definite a plus size bride, frankly selection is limited but eventually i am happy w what i have selected. maybe to me e choice is limited due to size. in fact when i 1st sign up, i din look thru at the gown cos u will me mersmised by e wide selction.

e day of my selection, ivy wld pick at least 10 pieces of wedding gown and evening gown to stand by for me. she say can slowly try until i happy. maybe for photo shooting i don mind that much cs some flaws more easily covered.

for my AD i was undecisive on btw 2 wedding gown and for the evening gown, i mk my finally selction ard 2 wks b4 wedding when new stock came in. i do not kw for venus if they give u e flexibility.

i think i was upfront w them and ask her any addiotonal $ need t pay besde my package. she told me is for e amplouses and eye lases. after the whole things, that is really e add i pay, no hard selll on photo (in fact i din top up due to budget constraints)

hi hdbanger
i agree to go over on a non peak hour for services.. in general u get more qaulity attention

hdbanger

rosel,

no problems. my impression is that, ivy is easy to talk to. you can maybe talk about budget constraints, and what kinda focus you have in mind, and see what ivy can work up with.

and for gowns, which is what all of us are concerned with, you can ask for photos (if any) of plus size brides like you. see if the styles they wore suit you.

i think sgbridal will have to try and convince that everyone will look good in their gowns, then comes photography (and post production) as 2nd priority.

if you explain this to ivy (that's what i did), i think she will agree, and fulfill your concerns. if you didn't like the styles they show, you can explain say you don't feel comfortable. it's all pretty subjective. i think she will understand.

but you also have to make a decision without draggin too long, as fion mentioned, they are efficient in a way.

for my case, i did away with all the flowers. got a friend handlin it for me, and i'm not about to lug the petals across the causeway. so upfront i told her. straightaway she cover back with 1 more gown, and i think a few photos (can't remember).

jennis27

Hi HdBanger,

Mind if you email me the package? my email address is [email protected] I went in to have a look at SG bridal 2day, quite like the design and was also served by Ivy but would like to find out more abt the package u get. Thank u so much.

storeberry

Rosel, I was at Venus around 2pm &amp; SG around 4pm, maybe I saw you there! Hee... We only went to two places &amp; make our final decision, don't want to spend too much time deciding because we also chop chop one.

I think the most important is that you like the photography &amp; the design &amp; someone that you are comfortable with. Why not talk to Ivy again? I have not deal with her before so cannot comment. All the best to your choosing of BS!

Fion: Yah I think some of their gowns are unique! Especially the red short gown, when Nic show me I thought it look like a nightie! But after wearing it look interesting so decided to take it.

Hopefully pictures turn out ok! I ask for Kelvin to take my PS because more unique, what about the rest of SG brides?

ling09_09

Hm..seems like everyone are very pleased wif their gowns... Juz wonderin hw many gowns do they haf in store..? are their gowns unique? Though i've signed up wif them, i nv had a chance to take a look at their gowns...

Sigh...i will b havin my PS on Apr ot May.. nw currently tryin to slim dwn... But i haf BIG BONES!!! Can anyone advice me hw to slim dwn?

kolabear

hi ling
actually i din bother to lose weight thruout the whole wedding.. cos thats me when my hubby knows me.. haha.. so to make things easier for me, i feed him fatter after marriage.. now me into my 30wks preg and we grow fatter day by day.. haha

hey gals
just curious, did anyone ask for videography w Ian? cs we find his express montage very cute and hope u gals wld get a good deal as well ahhh

storeberry

Hi Ling, I ask Nic, she told me they have about 300 gowns but I don't think there is so much... But all are pretty nice so the lesser quantity is actually ok.

Fion, I am thinking of just engaging PG to take the actual day but your rave about Ian make me itchy lei... Still deciding though.

rosel

<font color="aa00aa">fion, i will enquire abt ian d nex time i go down, prob nex fri. am heeding all ur advice to go down @ a non-peak timing. hopefully things turn out better. if nothing goes wrong, i'll sign up with SG. *fingers crossed*</font>

kolabear

hi storeberry &amp; rosel

i prefer VG to PG, when u look back more fun. esp when i look back at the morning scene, when hubby came to my room to fetch me, we were bothlaughing till tears drop.. haha.. my fd tot he was too emtional and cry for me..

maybe e next time u talk to Ian, ask him abt e express montage. tell him to show u something what he did for me that kinda of express montage. don take those normal editing, super boring and waste of $ to me.

if Ian cant rem me, tell him Fion AD in Jul, super panda crazy woman. my hubby house in woodlands and have a 17kg big obese Jack Rusell... our dinner was held in Hotel Miramar hope he remembers

lemzjo

Dear ex-SG Brides,

Could you share with me the details of your packages &amp; photoshots taken by SG. I'm so tempted to get my HTB to drive me in...but need to do some homework with good quality photoshots by SG to show HTB first.

Thanks ladies....Cheerio/Jolene

ling09_09

Hi fion,

I wana slim dwn not bcus of hubby...its myself. Cus SO FAT, in the PS, i dun tink it will luk nice... NO CONFIDENCE either... haiz.. smetimes juz feel like givin up.. fat means fat lor.... hahaha

Hi storeberry,

thanks for ur info. Anyway, did u went to c their gowns?

storeberry

Hi Ling, yah I saw &amp; choose the gowns already. I think their gowns are not bad because I only took two hours to choose six gowns. I think theirs are quite unique, I am excited with my wedding shoot in Feb!

Actually thought of doing laser for my freckles but think not enough time, will probably KIV till later.

kolabear

hi storeberry
i also have freckles
but don do laser now la.. cs the thick thick make up and cover one.. and i look flawless during wedidng ahhh...

actually was thinking of doing after giving birth. cs u kw hormones changes and afer birth tend to get more.. but now seems all my money saving up for my BB liao.. think am getting to the 'auntie' trend.. haha

storeberry

Yah,I am not doing it now. The doctor laser a small part of my cheeks to show me &amp; its really dark now. I think I cannot bear to do my whole cheeks, very scary, later cannot face people!

Usually when the bb comes, everything will spend on the bb, we will always want the best for our kids.

lizzy_bride

Hi All...
I am new to Singapore Brides website. Just happen to view this forum and find it interesting as we are also intending to go JB to search for bridal shops. Initially, we have plans to go venus...but after reading one of the post...make me skeptical about it.

So..i guess the recommended ones are:
1) SG Bridal
2) Qiu Be De
3) Oscars

My bf and I are planning to go there to recee...any suggestions or comments to look for in the wedding package as we are very inexperience in such things.

kolabear

hi lizzybride
when i was searching, was planning a $X budget and work within e budget.

mk sure u get all ur bargian written in B/W to avoid future disputees. don take in too much unnecessay, rather u trade off for additional photo
i think min 30 phots esp if u wan go for the photo design, something like 2 or 3 pic in 1 page where they did editing

lizzy_bride

Hi Fion

Thanks for the advice. What i am afraid of is the photos style...roughly how much is the pkg? I read one of the posts, actually offer photoshoot in desaru or tioman.

fatboy1314

Hi Fion, Of cos i remember you... i cut your jack russell scene and save it into my com... TOO BIG TOO much ... watch out his diet.(I mean the dog)

So when is your BB going to pop up?

Kitkiokio,
Are you the one very far away from me?

kitkioko

Hello Fatboy,
You forget me liao! I just spoke to you yesterday "Mei Liang Xin"! I just started a thread specifically for Ian (I-Studio). Under "I-studio - JB", to those brides to be who look for VG or PG or Brides already be who have any comments about Ian service, you can post there.

Can you send me VG rates ASAP coz my friend is interested.

kolabear

hi lizzybride
mine at SG bridal was RM2888 but that was 1 yr ago package. now with the new shop of course e price will increase as they hv wider range of clothes

hi ian
oh yeah the fat JR is now 17kg. obese dog. my BB gal gal popping out in mid mar 07, but likely earlier cos a little obese as well.. haha

storeberry

Hi Kitkioko, you are here as well! I am also considering Ian Kok after Fion strong recommendations! Ian, can you PM me your rates as well? I am looking at the express video montage. Maybe when I am at SG Brides for PS on the 1st Feb, will also drop by your place to see.

Hi Lizzybride, they have a few pkg, one is RM $2688 &amp; RM3888. We took the 3888 pkg because we wanted the whole pc photo without the line in the middle &amp; also bigger photo frame.

lizzy_bride

Thanks storeberry and kolabear for ur advice. I just dropby citysq today.Was impressed by the album by printemps. The photos are quite nice! I will go again to Taman Sentosa to look at other shops. The SG bridal is also ard Taman Sentosa? Is it near to Venus?