Senja Green , HDB August 08 BTO

Chris>> Wah~~ .. you so late also havn't sleep ar .. take care leh. If not now see you this face .. 3 years later see you another person liao.

Joshua>> I saw and experienced good one. Its the suction and material used to capture grease and oil~~ Very effective and easy to clean one ... but i think very power consuming~~ I also see people modify with blower. Wraping with aluminium foil is common.

Er... hood is the suction thing right? and hob is the one for cooking arh?

Which brand of Hood & Hob is good? I saw there is a type of Hob/Hood got no flames one, just a orange light below the glass. Is that good? Or with flames better?

Alex>> My design to wow you all .. But can only realize in 3 years time. So 3 years later then let you all admire or jealous .. hehe~~
Now you can BBQ with this ... trendy,small and space saving ... juz add a BBQ plate designed to sit on top (u can kickoff Korean BBQ style)... normally German stuff very good .. this Ariston also reliable brand~~

1176427.jpg

Haha, am toying with the idea of putting the Hood n Hob at the service yard ,which will be the cooking area during weekends. The kitchen sink, washing machine n fridge shall be in the kitchen, maybe open concept too since the grease are confined to the service yard, if we close the windor/door.

Not sure if the 1470mm of width at the service yard is enough for the Hob. And also need to check the amount of heat from the sun at the yard since the Hob will situated there.

The gas pipe will be embedded in the walls right? Need to see the layout if the Hob is really gg to end up at the yard. At most use those old style gas cylinders for supply. Haha...

Stonefish>> You seriously want to banish Robin Hood and the Hobbits to the Service Yard?? What about your clothes????
1470mm can't even squeez in a Carom board leh~~ Can lah .. only two person play at one time~~ Then you can lean on your Hob .. kekeke~~~
Maybe its a good idea, the meat will be cooked faster with the heat from the sun ... fwahahaha~~
The piping system and wirings will be concealed in the wall which is also something i'm worrying. I was thinking to extend a water tap in the service yard from common bathroom to wash our feet coz by the time i walk straight to the bathroom, the smell and foot prints will evoke war~~

Alex>> Yah .. also look like what DJ used to spin records .. *zipu zap .. zipu zap* hahaha~~~

co2: I believe most of the houses you have to walk through your living room & kitchen then you get to wash your feet right? If you want, you can create a small washing area at your corridor. haha...

You can extend the water tap from the kitchen sink or from your washing machine also right?.

With regards to this article posted earlier :
http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC090812-0000059/Back-then,-it-did-not-even-have-LRT

I think, ultimately, there should be an underground / elevated walkway link from the MRT to the LRT, look at this map.

1176831.jpg

And since the temporary bus interchange will permanently be there, I guess it make sense for the “proposed” town centre to be built over the current bus interchange, aka , similar to the one at Clement , Boon Lay etc.

Ground level bus interchange , followed by new shopping centre from level 2 to maybe level 4, and a condo on top of the shopping levels. Since the original swimming pool was relocated from Petir Road to beside the Pond, I guess the move is to make the sports complex nearer to the “Town Centre “

Let me guess, they will be calling for tenders for building the intergrated Bus interchange, commercial and residential space in 2011,to be awarded and start building by 2012 and completed by 2015, to be in time for the opening of Pending MRT station ?

Co2fan : actually I had thought of relocating the common bathroom room to the kitchen side. That will require the bathroom basin to be relocated too . And reduced area in the kitchen for placement of buildin cabinet / fridge / washing machine / sink etc. Major works needed. Dun really like the idea of the bathroom n bedrooms doors facing each other.

Alex>> Ya hor~~ .. we can modify an old washing machine to place at the corridor for washing leg .. kekeke~~ Kitchen basin also can extend.

Stonefish>> Make 2 doors for accessibility as well as shortcut but when using have to lock both doors.

stonefish >> But will rain come into the service yard area?

I think they might call for the tender earlier. Very difficult to do digging and piling at the same time I think...

Looking at the model
1177311.jpg

I think windows are not provided at the service yard. From the floorplan, there seems to have a door and windows separating the kitchen and service yard.And floorplan also does not indicate any window at the service yard. So rain is able to wet the service yard unless we install our own window

As for the proposed "town centre" , I guess it will only be built after the tunnelling of the DTL2 had been completed. Piling on the plot of land beside the proposed MRT site with tunnelling work ongoing is a bad idea.

Anyway I think i read somewhere they will be using 2 Tunnel Boring Machines for this project ? Something like when they built the Tunnel below the English Channel. 1 TBM on each side boring toward the centre. Since the foundation of the Bukit Timah Area is generally Granite, and it will take a longer time to tunnel. So I guess, tunnelling for DTL2 will start in the city, and from the Pending station .

I just hope the DTL2 will not be operated by SBS and have the same kind of bullsh*t operating the NEL.

I rememeber SBS justifying the need for a higher fare for NEL, as they used the driverless system,"so as to save on manpower cost in the long run" and they need to recover the cost of the system. Then they deployed a staff on each train, to ensure the train is running well. Kind of slap themselves on the wrist.

co2fan, 2nd door opening to the kitchen will need to remove the basin. if keeping the original door, then the only place to place the basin will be on the wall between the 2 doors, as the showers will be on the side with the toilet bowl, so the basin cannot be relocated there.

stonefish, you was saying you do not like the toilet facing the living room right? You can 'seal' the original toilet door, shift the basin to right and create a door (at the original position of the basin). Your shower area will be at the 'seal' wall. This is just my rubbish ideal.. hee hee

stonefish >> they are always slapping themselves anyway. :p

But its good they hire ppl to do work. At least can keep unemployment levels down.

Having two doors is quite troublesome right... Imagine you are have housewarming, and guests go your house for the first time, didn't lock one of the doors when doing business...

Alex, thats what i mean, if need to relocate the door, the best way is to seal the original door, and switch the position of the door n the basin, and leave the shower intact. Less work to be done = less cost. See how when the actual flat is ready. May end up not doing anything at all too.

joshua, I almost fell off my chair when i heard the SBS explaination in the news yrs back.

Yup. having 2 doors in the bathroom have its pro n cons

Why not this way (the cartoon man is scaled to the unit) This is alternative~~
Thanks to Stonefish/Alex/Joshua's inspiration.

1177731.jpg

co2, haha, you very free lei. Re-draw the floor plan again. But it is very nicely done. : )

This idea is much more cost saving. Sealing up the wall, hack off another wall, install a plastic folding door and re-directed the water pipe to the shower area.

In fact, i think i will adopt this design. This way, i can decorated the wall facing the bedrooms!! Wooooo!!!!

Kudous to you, co2!

One question on the drawing which i always wanted to ask... On the latter drawing, the left side of the main door (facing the corridoor), there is a space. What is that space for?

Alex, its the empty space from the common corridor. HDB have to maintain the 91sqm for 4-room. and decides to leave it empty rather than let us pay for it and have the extra space incorporated in our flat.Haha

Really? Then can i use that space to make a shoe cabinet?

Cos I only realise lately that if i create a fake wall cum shoe cabinet to cover along the Bomb Shelter, the main door could not open fully and it will hit against the fake wall.

Err, i think empty space as in, its hollow from ground to roof. No floor on ur level, how are u gg to place ur show cabinet. Got this conclusion judging from the PDF for Senja Green maps n plans that was on the HDB website during the BTO. Seems hollow to me.

Stonefish>> Very pro right!! ... hahaha~~ I merely used Microsoft Paint function to edit (erase) the original unit layout plan.

Alex>> Haha ... I've already designed my own layout plan liao with furniture and misc on the plan. Its got a washing machine cum shoe rack invented by me outside my corridor. But this full map cannot reveal to you all .. coz copyright .. hehe~~
The space is for Dry riser and Duct room. Also to conseal some piping and fire system.

co2, OIC....

wah seh! U put a washing machine at the corridor??? U better lock your washing machine or else when ur bill comes, u will get a shock.

Wah, where everybody go over the weekend? so quiet in here.

Sandy, walk-in-wardrobe is gal's topic. if u scroll up, u notice all r guys talking.

If you want a WIW, it is either you forgo your Masterbedroom toilet or extend your masterbedroom (the next bedroom room will be smaller).

Or you can consult Co2, see if he can 'reveal' his plan or 'advise' something.

SASA>> Alex referred to Co2 hor .. not me rite??
.. hehe .. but i got some advice ..
" You wan 1 BATHTUB with 2 BASIN and extend WIW ... in the end you got place to put in KING SIZE bed meh???????????" kekeke~~~
jokin lah Sandy~~ I draw one for you~~~

SaSa>> How about this??

1180526.jpg

Joshua>> Yup .. not really that accurate but the dimension in mm is true ... so our actual unit will look real small coz i compared my sis house with her layout drawing.

Alex>> Like that also can ar??????

co2fan >> nice idea for the WIW! Hahaha... I am looking for software that can draw out the image in true scale to the mm. Maybe when I'm free then I'll try to find...

there's a new BTO in Punggol today. Pricing wise quite similar to our Senja Green.

Below is an article taken from Today online:

DO YOU want more direct bus services, or would you rather have services which call at more stops in your estate? Are there "gaps" - such as insufficient capacity or long waiting times - in the bus network that serves your estate?

From next month, these are some questions the Land Transport Authority (LTA) will be asking grassroot leaders and their advisers in all constituencies as it embarks on an island-wide consultation exercise.

"Our aim here is to benefit as many commuters as possible, while maintaining the operators' financial viability," said Transport Minister Raymond Lim yesterday in a dialogue with Bukit Panjang residents.

The LTA - which will take over the role of central bus network planner from the two bus operators - hopes to complete the consultation exercise by next March next year.

As previous surveys have shown that commuters are satisfied with the overall bus system, Mr Lim said the current bus network "is a fairly good and comprehensive one". So he is against the idea of a major overhaul of the existing system as it may be lead to people "who are worse off", but he recognised that "improvements can still be made".

One resident lamented yesterday that it takes her children three hours each day to travel between Bukit Panjang, in the north-west, to Nanyang Technological University as there are no direct bus services.

This anecdote highlighted the different views within a community, said Mr Lim. Some residents may want more direct bus services, but this could result in fewer bus stops along the route and translates into a longer walk to bus stops for other residents, he added.

This is why the LTA needs to "get a feel" of how to improve bus services here. "Really, there is no right or wrong answer here. Different people have different needs and they want it done differently," said Mr Lim.

Another resident, Ms Lim Ai Kheng, asked if the new underground Bukit Panjang MRT station could be integrated with existing LRT station and bus interchange nearby. As it stands, the proposed MRT station site is 120 metres away from the LRT station.

Mr Lim replied that the authorities are working closely to bring all three transport nodes together but added that there are certain constraints for the area.

First, railway alignment is not able to swing sharply to meet Bukit Panjang LRT station and yet be able to run to the present bus interchange at Woodlands Road within a short distance.

Second, there are other planning considerations for the land in the area.

Dr Teo Ho Pin, who is MP for Bukit Panjang, told reporters later that the MPs who look after various parts of the town had submitted proposals to the authorities to bring the three transport nodes closer.

One is to relocate the bus interchange between the underground MRT station and LRT station, and so reduce the walking distance between the three transport nodes to 70 metres. Another is to house the three modes under one roof, which Dr Teo admits will be "more costly".

The authorities are still considering the proposals but Mr Lim had earlier stressed to residents: "Whenever possible, we will try our best to integrate these three things (MRT, LRT and bus) because it will make it much more convenient for people."

Actually... IMO, the bus interchange between the MRT and LRT will be good enough. Singaporeans need to walk more. hahaha....

Joshua, I will remember what you say (Singaporeans need to walk more) and will apply that to myself everyday when I move to my new house. hahaha

How i wish i have a big big house in this small small island and going home in a fast fast car then no need walk walk here walk walk there~~

joshua, sg weather is very seldom good. Either too humid or rain. sigh

co2, hahahahaha...ya rite. I wish i have a house at Pulau keppel. take a sail on my yacht for suntan or fishing.

The root cause is still money ... How i wish i can have half the weath of >>

Michael Jackson,
Micheal Jordan,
Michael J Fox,
Micheal Chang,
Michael Owen,
Micheal Phelps,
Michael Schumacher,
Micheal Douglas and Micheal Learns To Rock.

Maybe i should change my name to Micheal .. but thats my cousin's name.
Well .. i've decided .. i'll call myself
Mygal Lam~~

Huat Ar~~~

Punggol Spectra site near to the plaza in between 2 schools. Perhaps not so windy when the upcoming residential blocks completed tho very convenient. Optional flooring 100 bucks more ... doors 120 bucks lesser tho 2-3 sqm extra for internal floor area. Typical long living room (which is very common and 'reno-limited' and boring to me) Overall the price still more expensive than Senja Green. Senja Green is still the best buy~~

co2fan >> i think they are going to release the one in Dawson also right? Supposed to be Q3 this year I think.. Drive fast fast car in SG = meet red lights faster.

alex >> Not a car owner... But hope the MSCP won't be too dark, else we might have some idiot do naked pushups there. Hahaha..