Sembawang Green BTO sep 06

thanx edwin for the updates!

seems like the rest of the blocks are going to be completed soon, hope the resources will be re-deployed to blk 487 after that..heh...

yes... in another 3 months... all the 3 blks will be completed i guess. things are moving fast...

let's look forwards to our key collection dates.

So have you all settled on the AD dates and venues?... who will be the first sem greeners to AD ... other than those already gone thru the AD and now waiting for the flats to come only...

wow.. 11 flr for 487 le. tat really fast nw. hav nt been going up to see the progress since last 2 wks le. if the rest of the 3 blk can b ready by nxt 3 mths, tat will b sep08 le. tat is really more faster den expected.

edwin, yup will b moving in straigh aft wedding but my AD is end of 2009. so shd b last from all ba.

u r still sourcing for ur AD date? tik it is gd to start preparing as housing shd b able to set our mind secure le. hehe..

ya.... sep should be able to see the building done inclusive the water system on top. but still got interior to do and paint work. follow by the testing of electrical instalation and water flow.

i suppose we can see all these things being done by end of yr to march 09 next yr. so hopefully we can see our 487 ready by latest jun. i m looking forward to it. so 488 guys when u receive ur letter for application for HLE...please inform us k?

piggy, I have confirm my AD date already... and venue too... so tat time u went to see ur unit being constructed... how do u feel?.. i guess i can only do so in 2 more months time...

At the rate it's going, i suppose my AD will come after the house, as mine is in 3rd quarter of 2009....So piggylover, you are not alone..haha..

Yap! Those who will be receiving their letter for application for HLE once the the 1st block is done up, must inform us..keke..

Oh Heman, You are supposed to reapply the HLE again when the blks are up. cause they need reacess ur financial ability again after so many yrs. You may have changed your job by then. Its a norm by HDB.

i dun think it matters. Ur eligibility is tagged on the day you sign the lease agreement.

Any increase in your household income shouldnt have effet at all. HDB is just scare you have, "touchwood", become jobless or change job with lower income... and hence unable to sustain the monthly instalment.

But you may check with HDB for more confirmed explanation regarding this.

edwin, congrat to u!! so u AD oso end of yr mah?
me too hope can get key by jun09, 6mths for me to prepare for my new nest le.

Raynard, hehe.. which mth is ur AD? mine will b really late as it is in dec09.

edwin, hahha.. ya lor. so exciting getting to see my unit was complete le. last mth went to my sis bf hse, feel so gd to enter a newly reno hse. cant wait for my own nest to come. heheh.. :P

Thanx for the updates edwin
I'm sure things are looking good for the flats...My unit is from 488 so once I rec any news will let you guys know ;p My AD is in another 5 month's time, Nov 08...Hope that the house will arrive soon after my AD

Hi Piggylover, my AD is in Sep 09..I also can't wait to move in to our new nest where my fiancee and i can call our home..hehe..:p

edwin, hehe.. great! u dec09 wedding too. hahha.. tot i will b the last there, so u will move straight aft AD too?

Raynard, wow.. sep09 is popular mth for wedding in 2009. so swt of u! ur home muz b a lovely nest de.

Sharon, which blk u getting? im from 487, hope can get key by mid09.

Thx piggylover, hope our budget can allow us to do wat we wan with the renovation..

Hopefully we can get our keys by mid 09 too, then right after AD can move in right away..*pondering*

I went to "VExxGAS" ID (w/o the "xx" duno how come this forum does not permit me to spell out tat word) last year at the home & decor fair held at the expo, the concept they designed for me was not too bad, but i would say their price is a quite steep...

Raynard, yup yup! me too hope everything can fit into budget. r u taking up the flooring n all doors? im taking up their doors only, nw abit worry as the wooden door are including the 2 toilet door (dunno will get wet mah)...

wow.. u really fast. i hav nt really look into ID or contractor now. haha.. tik hav to start sourcing by early nxt yr le.

Oh, i opt for the OCS as well...my budget for renovation+furnitures, ermm..i'm looking at abt $40k also..

actually i haven seriously go and look for ID/contractor yet, just tat last year happened to pass by, so took a look.. hehe..

i didnt opt for OCS. Cause dun like to have wooden door for the toilets. Also prefer homo tile to ceramic...so both didnt take up. My budget ard 20k-20k for the reno part. hopefully can have some modernise design.

i think for those 488 and 490 blk pple, u all can start to look for quotation already. cause finding the right contractor or ID firm is a tiring process. Maybe for those who have seen any ID firm can share abt their experiences..

from what I heard from my friends' experience are that, you will need to take note that the ID have listed in the quotation for you..This is because some may not write down the 'hidden cost' such as lightings, any additional powerpoint required, spotlight (if any), etc..

Then you may give them a higher budget initially so that they can do up a nicer design and they will be constrained to a limited design with your budget, from there on, you can reduce on the stuffs that you do not need and reduce the price..

Any other suggestions from anyone else who can care to share?

I didn't opt for the OCS too...so thinking my reno budget would be arnd 20+K.

I think I would give them a lower budget instead. I've experienced it when you give them a lower budget and when there are additional costs involved, it'd be easier to negotiate an affordable price ;p Also, most of the time, lightings and electricity may not be included in the qoutation unless you mention.

Btw, for those not in OCS, would you be considering doing parque or laminated flooring for bedrooms? Which would you prefer?

Edwin, i agreed with u. nw abit regret, mayb will consider to remove 2 toilet door n replace by those pvc foldable door ba. haiz... bf say which collect key den den decide.

Raynard, hmm.. i tik lighting will nt b included in the quote rite? frm wat my current home which my mum bot last 4yrs, lighting n toilet accessories was separated unless stated in their quote.

mech, im tiking of getting homo tile for my flooring. u getting laminated flororing for all bedrooms?

yap, usually lighting's price will not be included in the quotation unless u specified.. Hence, when comes to the actual work, they may add in the lightings for u and tat will be additional cost..Anyway, this is just one of the feedback i heard from my friend's experience..

Maybe tat's just his luck, I'd seen another ID's work, whom listed down everything in the quotation, hence i would say is very transparent..

Anyone planning to apply for reno loan?

Mech - was thinking of doing teak parquet for bedrooms. Last sunday went to take a look at the showroom for Clover by the Park at Bishan. They were using teak parquet & look quite nice. That's why thinking of doing the same. But parquet will be more ex compared to laminates i guess. If not enuff $$, just do master bedroom will do.. haha.

hi all.. i seen ple and hear pple do parquet flooring for bedroom, esp master bedroom. well.. may i ask the reason behind of having parquet flooring? How is it compared to hyaving the normal homo tiles? is parquet diff to maintain?

piggylover- if $ permits, I'd love to have parque flooring for all my 3 bedrooms

desmer- yup parque is more expensive than laminates...I prefer the feel of parque and it's more lasting than laminates. I think you've given me a good suggestion of doing the master bedroom only in the event of not enough $$ ;p Btw, what's the difference in teak parque? What's the colour of the wood?

edwin- I prefer parque cos of the cosy feel and it's not too difficult to maintain. I think homo tiles are very 'cold' and some people don't like it in the bedrooms cos of health reasons.

Edwin - for me, parquet/laminates somehow gives a more cosy & warm feeling to the entire room. Plus, you wont have to step on cold tiles first thing in the morning when u get off your bed! Haha.. But heard it's more difficult to maintain cos it can be easily damaged by water.

Mech- can't really describe how different is teak parquet but color seems more dull than normal parquet. You can also consider timber which is even more ex than parquet. This would really gives a real "wood" feeling to your floor.

Raynard, ya lor. talking to my frez during lunch today too. mayb can ask for separate quote as to see the different.

mech, wow.. sound cool to hav parque flooring ya.

andrew.... thanks for the update!
wow!! 488/490 progressing very well!
hope my 487 will reach #17 soon, so i can view my unit.. keke...

Thanks andrew for the update.

Yes, the progress is pretty fast for 488 and 490.. Do you think we can get our keys soon? Or we have to wait for all 4 blocks to be ready?

To all who are planning for their wedding, do enjoy the process of your wedding preparation.. Its stress yet fun.. Once over, you will start to miss it! =P

Went to the Home & Decor Fair yesterday at the Expo, it was exhausting even though my fiancee and i spent 3 hours at the exhibition, but with 2 ID companies only. 'Cause they drew what we wanted on the floorplan and get quotations.

If we were round up the exhibition, it will probably gonna take us 1 whole day...Nonetheless, it is a good experience so that we will know what to look out for and also know that our own concept of design may not be feasible due to the restriction in the powerpoints/wiring/walls..

my husband and i was also at the Home & Decor fair. We spent more than 2 hrs talking to ONE ID. We were too tired to carry on after that and left...

The ID we spoke to, he quoted us $25k for reno and some carpentery works. Including basic furniture and electrical appliances based on his design for us, he estimate about $45k for the whole house...