RENOTALK PEOPLE

yalor, the temp RT is very slow... N everyone's not actively posting there too, i think i'll stay here for the moment.

ivy: give him some buffer better, he tell me 3wks in the end now 5th wk, i'm still pending some minor rectification to be done.

For my case, Ah soon showed us a tentative drawer for my TV console. The rest was after tiling, then his bro Jason will sit down n draw out the proposed layout. They didn't advise us on the downlights portion, i didn't do cove lightings. Just went to the lights shop and ask how many downlights i need for my living rm space and then just buy.

U spent $4k on toilets+kitchen fittings! Must be very nice nice one lah. Show us pics leh!

If u wanna save on lights, can go to the light shops we went @ Geylang.. i went No.1 lightings, Pet went DK lightings and A lightings. Angel went to Extreme lightings at J.besar and got cheap downlights too.

ivy, i also spent 4k for toilets + kitchen fittings. HEART ache man..

I'm also left with lights to buy...

I bought 2 toilet bowls, 2 sets of rain shower, 1 storage heater, 1 teka sink, fujioh hood hob and oven 3 x basins plus taps.

I don't have the pictures leh. I go and search online to see whether i can get the pictures. if yes then i post.

ivy, u got 2 rainshowers?

mrspiglet, u bought the downlights before confirming the design of your false ceilings?

Uncle ask me to go to eunos and have a look at the unit he is doing. and assures me my unit will be delivered in 6 weeks or even earlier.

yah i standardize cos since i going to have a storage tank might as well... so both MBR and common toilet gets rain shower. Sizing didn't take down,cos when we bought that time the sales person advise to check with contractor the sizing of our pipes then inform them and they will do the necessary.

I manage to find some pics of my purchases online but some couldn't find. will post up later. going for my aerobics class now!!

ivy - so generous! Usually people only do rainshower for MBR. Or else when have a group of people stay over, they shower until very shiok then don't want to come out. Teka sink you bought during the 20% sale?

WC sizing I read that just need to measure the distance from the wall to the center of the sewage pipe. Just see how sewage flows down from upstairs to measure.

RT seems to be having problem again.

mrspiglet: How's your inspection yesterday? So handover should be this week right? btw didn't see your dining area in photo. Have you finalised the loc.

Can check with you the kitchen sink is bought fr PJ is it?

ivyseah: Wah! So fast finished buying. WC got different types, think your should be the S-trap, wall to drain abt 150mm type, right?

I am also thinking of Teka sink. Where did you buy it from. Remember to show us some pictures ok.

evelyn: rain shower typically is at least $400+ and above for 1 set leh. Too ex, then just take 1 rainshower for MBR, save some money and utility bills. haha!

familyof4: i dun have design on false ceiling leh, just flat surface with downlights. I dun want L-box or cove lightings, scare cove lightings a lot of dust bunnies. So just 12 downlights evenly spaced out in the living room. What design u have in mind for ur living room?

go n take a look! since u still have time. Can steal some ideas also.
But do buffer more time for him, cos there may be last min items to rectify.

ivy: u r very gd to ur guests leh! my common toilet mixer shower set is only 1/4 of the rainshower set. Let them bathe so shiok later they dun wanna come out liao. Haha! Another way u can see ur WC sizing is from the ceiling pipes (that's if u r not on the top floor), then can agar ur sizing.

Gaku: Quite a fair bit of rectifications to do. Later hub meeting ah soon to go thru all the prob w him. Hopefully handover this wk ba, a couple of things still nvr do leh.

Have not finalise my dining area yet. Dun plan to buy any dining table for the time being too, since i've got a brkfast table to use anyway. N yes, the kitchen sink is Rubine double bowl from PJ.

Hi pet.. i m not asking you to renovate ur hse.. haa. i know u already done up with the reno.. just that when i look at ur new house pic, i guess it need to be accessories. Normally when i do up a condo showflat, we dun actually renovate the whole hse but by accessoring it. It definately will be different..

ivy: realli v gd to hav 2 rainshower leh...mi dun even hav one
initially wanna retain the previous owner's heater for my common toilet but after fixing realised it's no longer hot liao duno y..so prolly gotta buy another one now..sigh..

anyone who wanna view ah soon's worksmanship are welcome to my place in serangoon ya..though there's oso a few os items here n there la but overall tink it's jian4 de2 ren2 lah...

mrspiglet: Think rectification if not major should be quite fast, maybe a day or two. Guess you must be really excited about the handover.
How much did you pay for the double bowl?

familyof4: I do agree with mrspiglet after witnessing my relative house with cove lightings. When I climb to see the cove lighting, I saw alot of dust, gecko droppings and wiring all over the place.

mrspiglet, I will be having cove lightings as I really like it.hehe...I understand uncle is v busy de...so will give him some buffer time
Told him I dun mind to wait a little while so long as the things are done swee swee...

I updated the items i bought in RT, but today can't get in already...

Renotalk is still having problems leh

Tonight i am supposed to meet ah soon to discuss about my reno quote as i have some changes.
let's hope he doesn't 'fly aeroplane'

mrspiglet,
I am converted leh .. thinking of doing false ceiling now instead of L-box.
How do you know how many downlights is required?
I also like your all white kitchen, but I am scared of maintenance problems

Angel,
I contacted Mr Yeak last Friday, now waiting for his quote.
Please post your pics for us to drool :p

Yoyo,
Thanks for sharing your quote.
You just plastering your kitchen wall over the existing tiles is it?

Hibernate,
Ya, I have checked around and it is not worth to change laminates as it costs almost as much as building a new one

Familyof4,
Your house also going to be done by ah soon?

Ivyseah,
I was looking at your quote over the weekend and saw that
Shower screen with door for 2 toilets - $560
4 ft shoe cabinet - $720

Is this tempered glass shower screen with door? And the shoe cabinet is full height or half?

Wah, 4k for toilet and kitchen fittings? Please share where you buy the stuff?

mrspiglet - whee! totally true! getting one only will save money on the equipment itself and utilities. intend to get one only also..but hor..i also want bath tub...........

think will only get a simple reno then accessorize my house ba...but hor..that will also mean....more cleaning work cuz more small places to trap dust..hmmmmmmm....

By the way, anyone knows if there has been any reviews on sofa from Morris Lifestyle? Renotalk is still down and cannot do research

k0k0, most likely I will get Ah soon to domy house.I think not many can match his pricing.

my sanitary fittings and stuff also cost me quite a bit...$3350.00 all from asia excel marketing.

But i got myself a Franke sink

yoyo, do u have some pics to share on ur hse reno?

yah folks i installed 2 rainshower cos hubby and kids sometimes bath at the common toilet. So have to be fair :p

Zonkkie - i didn't get it during the sale. I got it together with the rest of my items from asia excel marketing.

Gaku - I seriously do not have the dimension :p

K0k0 - i think it is tempered glass but i will just double check with him again. As for the shoes cabinet, it is full ht.

hmmmm I actually wanted to do cove lightings.. I know there will be dust problems but heheh who looks on top??? :x

pictures of my purchases coming up but I can only find some of the items photo online.. the rest cannot find...

gaku: mine got quite a bit of plastering and painting to be touch up, so may take longer. Must wait till my closet is up then can ask them to paint the false wall again. I'll be happy if this wkend can handover

i forgot how much the bowl cost me liao. But confirm not more than $130, cheapest double bowl i've found. I've no idea whats the diff between cheap and ex bowls leh. To me, bowl is just a bowl for washing.. :P

familyof4: i also like cove lightings! effect very nice. but i'm too lazy, so my laziness won the bet, no cove lightings for me. U got ask Ah soon to think of a ceiling design for u? I think he may have some ideas after doing up so many houses.

k0k0: Hahah! dun be influenced by my words! do what u like so that u dun regret. but assess urself whether u r willing to do extra house work if u do have cove lightings. L-box i think its still alright, cos its fully sealed i think? But becos L-box means i need to buy more downlights to make it bright, so cheapo n no budget me gotta do a normal false ceiling instead. It was a tussle for me too

i did the planning w some help from the forummers in RT and went to light shops and show the uncle my floorplan. My living room is partitioned into 2 by the centre beam, size is abt 2 living areas of 3.5mx5m each. I put 6 downlights (2x13W each) in each area. See if this simple diagram helps u?
987616.jpg

My white kitchen hor... i also scare leh. But hub allow me to go ahead becos he wanted me to do something i like rather than pick a color that i dun n keep thing "what if i did white.. would it be nicer?"

evelyn: yes yes! save money! u wun be bathing in common toilet often anyway, get a normal decent set will do.

i didnt had a bathtub b4, but many pple commented its a pain to maintain n waste of space? Maybe u wanna reconsider?

Ya, isn't it a torn in between choice? Nicer house = more accessories but also = more cleaning. Dilemma... Unless until i'm rich enough to get a part time maid to help me clean.

mrspiglet, he volunteered to think fo rme when i told him i didn't really hv a concrete ideaof what i like :p

I just realise that the length of my sink is too long
uncle says keep it within 800mm but mine is 860mm

987630.jpg

i big one for common bathroom and 1 small one for common toilet

987631.jpg

2sets

987632.jpg

2sets

The system keeps hanging on me.. so I'm gonna post the pics seperately..

i wanted the square one.. but kiat can't fit in :x his butt too big and makes doing business uncomfortable. so gotta change to the bigger one..

haha...i am actually having the intention to change one of my basin. so gonna drop by tomorrow to IMM to get it changed too. The toilet may also change...shall see the cost difference.

haiz...agree that it's tough to clean up bathtub. but my CMO (Chief Maid Officer aka htb) say it's okie, just don't use it too often so don't need to wash that often.

am thinking whether shd we do l-box or cove lightings or not. my grandfather who's a contractor mentioned that the cement or don't know what they use to cover is harmful to lungs. haiz...but they're so pretty..

k0k0 >> thats why loh .. we will see the contractor we prefer and see what will it cost like if we decide to hack the ugly blue stuff and get new cabinets ..

rierie >> i like bathtubs too! but after some deep and long considerations, i felt its not practical. haha! even when the hotels have bathtubs, hubby and i dont even use it lor!

evelyn, i loved to have bathtub too! but then hubby is very realistic about it...the water bills and cleaning...he won in this case, thus I gotta let it pass...

i let him chose the basin and he chose both glass bowls...after much thoughts, i prefers the ceramic one and for the toilet, i want the kids to have a comfortable one too...so will go and have a look tomorrow.

987735.jpg

the teka sink. but i am not using that tap. I am using a taller one.

987736.jpg

I somehow prefer squarish stuffs... so everything square square..

Can't find pic of my glass bowl for MBR. The rest are taps..

Phew finally finish posting for my kitchen/sanitary purchases...

Fannie get the kids to sit on the bowl to test it out. when I initially chose the square bowl.. i choose it for the look.. didn't really sit on it but when i try on then i realise aiyoh... it is super uncomfortable..that's why i change lor

i had a few friends who installed bath tubs at home and end up they use the bath tubs to soak clothes and all sorts of funny things....

the novelty of having a bathtub will wear off after a while especially after you look at the water bill hahahah

ivyseah - Love your rain shower.... can share where you buy and the price? I also thinking of installing a rain shower in my MBR but not the common toilet hehe...

ehhh sorry ahhh folks!! I got only 1 set of rain shower lah. I open up my invoice then i realise. it was me who wanted 2 set of rain shower but hubby say no need to waste money. So we got a normal shower head. aiyah... i dreaming...

xiaofeizhu, the rain shower set is $300 and the mixer is $220. I got it from Asia Excel marketing at IMM

this is the mixer.

987744.jpg

familyof4: u mean u kitchen sink gotta stay within 800mm? Very hard leh, unless u use a single bowl. I had super hard time finding a double bowl tt does not exceed 800mm by too much.

Evelyn: but u'll still have to stand inside the tub when u shower right? I think still will stain the tub, still must wash regularly leh. u really gotta think again n again ... :P

ivy: i didnt realise i have to sit on the toilet bowl when i bought it. so i've yet to try out my toilet bowl even now that its been installed! i just pray hard my butt will fit in nicely... :P
u very blur leh!! hahahah! must be dreaming of rainshower too much issit? ur mixer looks like mine, except i took the 1-way mixer to cut a bit of cost. Everything also $$$!

yoyo: thanks for sharing the thread with me
it's nice...

mrspiglet:I told uncle very tough, he ask me to try, else my space quite limited. sigh... I may stick to the one i have gotten tho' cos i like the double bowl...

familyof4: then u may really have to stick to single bowl already. I search a lot of places, double bowl confirm exceed 800mm. I bought the smallest i can find, still sits at 820mm. http://www.rubine.com.sg/dux620.htm

If u take single bowl, then where u gonna place those dishes that u have soaped? i had that reservation of placing on the solid surface top, bo bian take double bowl.

Mrs Piglet, it didn't occur me to try also until we saw fannie and family sitting on them and trying them out. We went together. Then when I saw, it still didn't strike me that I should try. It was my hubby who hop on first and exclaimed :" Wahhh lauu!! so cramp!!!" hahahahha

mrspiglet, i may speak to uncle when he meets me up tomorrow. I may change the kitchen layout slightly if needed. Thanks for telling me...I prefer a bigger sink cos my mom who will be staying with me will cook alot and I think a double bowl is much better.

Ivy, i still remember Kiat's expression that day! Classic! lolx

familyof4,
Wow, you also spend alot of sanitary fittings hor ..
How does the Franke sink look like? Any pics?

IvySeah,
Your quote very good leh .. i think you psf is very low for your full height shoe cabinet
Your wc is quite nice, single piece .. may I know what brand is it and how much har?
The rainshower set for $300 is quite ok, I think

mrspiglet,
No lah, I went to someone's house who also did false ceiling with downlights, very nice too!
But I have no intention of doing cove lighting, it is either false ceiling or L-Box.
Thanks for sharing the drawing with me. Your living quite big leh, you got aircon or ceiling fan installed here?

My living and dining is about 3.6m x 8.9 m or so, wonder if l2 downlights will be enough
x x | x x | x x |
| | |
x x | x x | x x |

hibernate,
I also have the same problem as you, initially thought can save $$$ by changing laminate
But now also no choice have to do it becos I cannot stand the color of my kitchen cabinet also

Yoyo,
I understand liow, we also want to do some plastering over to cut costs

k0k0 - $300 is without the mixer. you can select any other mixer that you fancy. i didn't realise my mixer cost $220.. until i look at the invoice just now... arghh should have chosen a more economical one...

I like single piece bowl!! it cost $330 per piece. initially i selected a Baron squarish bowl at the same price too... but not comfy to sit on so chose this in the end.

Evelyn - I went to see a ID last saturday. She did a drawing for me (computerized) one, FOC. MY bf is quite satisfied with her. Fuse Concept.

Hihi Everyone.. I'm back... Hard time catching up..