RENOTALK PEOPLE

Hi Yoyo, congrats on your flat.

Just saw your photos of your reno. Can I know if you have wrought iron on your Alu.

Usually for mechanical design we will refrain from using Alu with metal. Unless really bo pian we will have intermediate material in between to prevent corrosion.

If you want more detail on the corrosion, you can see from
http://provisional-reno.blogspot.com/

fondue: the lights are fr the existing owner,we tot it's quite nice so save abit of $ didnt change

mrs piglet: the windows are oso fr the existing owner hee hee...the whole frame is alum, some powder-coat, the only part tat is wrought iron is the flower n leaves which is abit rusty..and ah soon has agreed to help us touch on the rusty part..

zig: the floor is laminated flooring, not parquet..its fr power dekor..code is java teak..

For laminated flooring, ah soon onli provide power dekor and the elephant brand (acefloor)...the lady (elaine) who supplied this to ah soon is oso v helpful, she fetched us her office to c the big samples (cos small one v difficult to choose) and she said power dekor is better than acefloor n the java teak color is using the powerdekor's latest technology(which i dun u/stand exactly wat technology :p)..initially we wanted pergo and supreme as they are more commonly known, but ah soon said pergo no margin.. (cos pergo sell to hse owner n contractor the same price)and the supreme pple nt v friendly, so we went ahead w powerdekor...and elaine said pwerdekor has antibacterial which pergo doesnt..so whoever is using ah soon, can safely pick pwer dekor n let him earn some margin lah

Felina - I haven't decided whether to get ID or contractor. We are not doing major overhual. Basically doing the 2 toilets plus some carpentry works. So not sure if it's worth to get ID. But we have been visiting IDs so far to see what ideas they have...

fondue: u just say u also "heard 353 tampines wifey say the sockets n lights a bit slanted leh. Uncle too busy issit?"

fondue/Pinkpetter: Hub says there were 2 person when the electrician 1st came. But 2nd n 3rd time only left with that uncle. And he's complaining ah soon got too much houses on hand n he's the only one doing ALL of them, so that probably explains y he a bit frustrated n dun wanna do extra things?

Felina: its just like any other screen but dun have the door lor. Just 1 pc of glass...to prevent the shower water from wetting my mirror.

yoyo: Oh, i still tot how come wrought iron got smooth smooth finishing one. Hee! Now i know can mixed both material together.

kaikai: u can try getting quotes from both ID and contractors to compare. If ur carpentry works r not too complex, i think u can search the net or magazines for ideas n go cheaper with contractors.

gaku70: yes u r right abt the wrought iron wif alu which really rust...we tot of changin tat but ah soon said can help us touch up so we can save some $

angel: the door is still held by 3 hinges instead of a door frame like yrs as we reckon tat it's too troublesome to change the whole frame...decided tat since it's in our mbr, shld b ok lah...

pinkpetter: we didnt change the main door, onli painted it..initially we wanted to change the door oso but ah soon advise tat veneer door nt suitable for main door esp if rain can splash in so better to use nyatoh door and when we look at the design of the nyatoh door we tot it's abt the same as our exiting nyatoh door so we didnt to jus paint the door n save some $$ loh

below are the before n after pic

983430.jpg
983431.jpg

ah soon oso agreed to help us paint the existing wrought iron grill cos it was blue oso!...the grill is stil in the factory for spray-paintin so no new pic...
983432.jpg

fondue - oh, me also eyeing the nespresso le cube but red one. My sister-in-law has one... very easy to use.. just pop capsule. But think $1+ per capsule, so still more expensive than kopitiam kopi but cheaper than Starbucks! That time Taka 10% off storewide buy, think also can get 10% off the machine.

mrspiglet - mm... so irritating... i also very particular about my WC, if they want to use then use the common toilet one... think must specifically tell me ID if the WC seal is opened, he needs to buy me and install a new one.

My place hacking completed the last 3 days. Aircon people from Hong T@r came to do the first installation yesterday. 4 people came, all very professional and experienced. Like fondue said, definately can get cheaper deal elsewhere but their materials and workmanship is good. Think the contractor workers a bit not happy because they got in each other's way... hehe... but no major quarrel la... contractor got banglas while aircon is mainly malaysian chinese, quarrel also don't understand each other.

pinkpetter: the "study table" tat u saw is our shoe cabinet i tink
and yes it's done by him oso..

ah soon is v flexible in terms of the design of carpentry such tat he won limit hw many drawers/shelves u want, or the material used for the doors (i used glass), sliding or casement, mirror or not (i've a hidden mirror in my wardrobe n glass toppin on my shoe cabinet)..best thing is the doors n drawers come wif anti slam

983438.jpg
983439.jpg
983440.jpg

mrs piglet: when u said the switches are slanted, do u mean tat the outer case(meaing the flat cover) is misaligned wif the inner case (the thick base)? or izit the whole switch is not fixed parallel to the wall?

Yes that's what I like most also... He will try to custom the carpentry to what we want so I have a thicker shoe cabinet. hhehe pai seh on the shoe cabinet. :P

mrspiglet>> ya that's probably why. But I think with the downturn, uncle can get more help soon? I hope he does.... he's going to be super busy.

these are the few FOC items we gotten fr him (or items we hope he won be chargin us cos we havnt settled the final payment yet keke..)
new rubbish bin
983453.jpg

new storeroom shelving
983454.jpg

new mirrors and free use of mosiac tiles
983455.jpg
983456.jpg

new dish rack
983457.jpg

new bedroom door handles n stoppers
983458.jpg
983459.jpg

no la he won't. If he's charging you he will tell you. That's what happened to me too! I worried and worried and in the end I realised he's true to his word. But I kept telling him, UNCLE if things that need money you must tell me earlier le. Otherwise I have no money to pay you. :P

Your mirrors are huge! and your door handles so nice.

mrspiglet - yah, will get quote from contractors also. We going to IDs first to 'steal' their ideas. haha

yoyo - how much is your wardrobe psf? Looking to hide mirror inside the wardrobe also. Saw a system at closet design whereby you can pull out the mirror and then rotate it. Was quite impressed by it.

kaikai>> when I went to some nerighbourhood furniture shops I saw it too. I saw sliding versions and rotating versions.. So in terms of design, cheaper versions also have it... just that closet design should have more quality stuff.

Hi hi peeps! i really miss renotalk a lot. down so long aiyo. i just joined this forum leh. wat did i missed? Mrs piglet! how's your hse progress? dunno how's Angel81 E.A. hor? she got come in here to post? really frustrated with RT, everyday cannot go in

wahh yoyo ur place looks nice. For your carpentry works ahhh u choose the laminates urself or ah soon's carpenter will suggest?

kaikai,zig: i dun hav my quotation w mi..prolly later at nite den i type out the detail quotation for sharing
but overall it's abt $17k..nt sure if there's any VOs yet..

zonkkie: frustrating right? Why would i wanna spend so much to replace the WC for hygiene reasons then i end up w strangers using my MBR toilet again?! Argh. i'm really pissed with that. u must tape a lot a lot of rounds of masking tape to stop them from using!!

yoyo: casing slanted. Socket also slanted. Lights in straight line but not 90degs (mine r sq downlights). *faintz*

btw, my spare mosaic all missing from my house so i ask jason to find back for me, wanna use them as DIY stuff. He got me some other red/silver mosaics and now i know its spare from ur house! LOL!

pinkpetter: Jason say new guy starting work next wk. i hope they have more time to handle their work on hand.

i also super scare leh. i ask him to chge things, add things, all he nvr say must charge. Now so scare final bill comes i'll faint! So he confirm wun charge unless he says beforehand right? He's really a gem, too gd to be true. I shd have saved my $ and ask him to do the mirrors instead!!

Kaikai: another source is those ID's website.

ivy: we choose the laminate ourselves..the project is executed by ah soon pte ltd n the designed by JY pte ltd keke...

ah soon has ALOT of laminate sample..ask for him all if u wan to c more cos he usually jus giv 1 or 2 booklets but fr reading renoblog forum, i noticed he has lamitak (which is the better one, i tink), edl, evershine, jennings,senglee..

we find it v difficult to imagine hw the laminate looks like based on the small sample esp if u r using one wif grains/design so we went down to the warehse itself to take the big sample n did smtg silly like dat...the mobile is our "mini tv" n the remote is the "mine tv console" wakakaka...

983497.jpg

mrs piglet: our switch casin oso hav the same problem but tot it's normal (cos cant b 100% perfect?) so didnt highlight tat to them...if realli can change lemme noe cos the electrician comin dis sat to fix the wiring for tv console...

u reminded mi of the tiles! ah soon said he'll leave some remaining tiles for us but everythin was cleared after cleaning...haha i better ask jesper to ask him for some spare tiles...

yoyo: u 2 very cute leh! i only had lamitak, n didnt had time to go to the factory to take bigger samples. So everything was gut feeling.

We go n buy the ruler to measure 'shui ping xian' cos we are pretty convince that the casing is VERY slanted. It was running beside the aircon trunking so we can't tell for sure which one is slanted until the ruler comes. I went ard whole house to measure all the sockets, none of them is 100% straight, but slant a bit i'm still ok. i just cannot stand those that are super obvious even to naked eye.

make sure u get the spare tiles, otherwise if last min found defects need to touch up no more tiles liao. My tiles all missing but i still got touch up to do!

fondue - huh? how come the electrician will tell u tat cannot do 2-way switch? Maybe it's slightly more x, that's why he said cannot? I have a 2-way switch for my staircase, so that the light can b switched on on lvl 1 or 2. Yeak charged mi alittle bit more for that.

Felina -
Yah, in some threads super fast.

yoyo - icic. Yupz, since it's mbr, shd b fine lar. I got the exact same rubbish chute cover as u!
Ur common toilet mirror is huge!

pinkladystar - harlow harlow! hee.. yah, i'm here. if u chk out the 2nd last archive, u'll see some pics of my place. It's an EM, not EA, by the way.
Shifted in on Sun, now almost finish with unpacking loh. hehehe.. RT been down for super long liao hor?

angel: ya we tot bigger wil b nicer mah..too bad we cant hav the same one for mbr toilet cos didnt wanna cover the mosaic..actually we wanted the mirror for mbr to be taller but since it's free tink we didnt ask to change lah..

i wanna add another gd thing abt ah soon is he doesnt restrict the # of paint colors n brands...but we paiseh to use so many so we onli choose 1 dark color in each room n lily white for the lighter shade in the whole hse..now i regretted not choosing different shades of whites for my hse cos i wonder hw other shades of white wil turn out keke...

All> Wah very very active here ah..

Btw have you all heard of this company call EL-Design Solution (They also have a company call El-Fa Project/Contractors not too sure of the name) Please do advise since RT still down.

Yoyo: Please re-consider about the wrought iron and alu. What you are seeing is not rust but galvanic corrosion and touchup will not solve the problem. I am worry in a few years you can just put out the flowers from the grille.

My apology if I sounded too nosy and pls ignore msg if you do mind.

mrspiglet...
wun la. need money one he will say. Like when my dad asked for plastering he immediately say need $400 leh.. I looked at him pitifully then he say $300... haha then in the end when counting VO he charge me $200. Other things he never say is ok one la

yoyo - haha no wonder. At first I tot why mbr's mirror so small and the common toilet one's much bigger. Now that u explained, I agree. It'll be a real pity to cover the pretty mosaics!

Pet,
Thanks for the link.

Fondue,
Thank you, will contact erica and get a quote from her
So your aircon trunking all concealed up? Can be expensive for maintenance lor

mrspiglet,
I like how your wall color changes with the warm and day lights, and pd doors .. giving me new ideas haha
Sorry to hear those pple anyhow use your wc .. I also don't like and somemore so inconsiderate!!
Your shower screen not up yet right? It looks like very narrow and no curb is it?

yoyo,
Congrats! Your house looks nice and big, esp the kitchen!
Is the power dekor laminated flooring good? Your wardrobe looks good, can share how much it costs you?

angel,
wah, sounds like you highly recommend yeak hor. will give him a call soon

Can anyone share where you buy your build in oven, the price? Thanks!

pinkpetter: gd gd!! like tt most prob my reno can even go below $21k cos he say can deduct 50% for doing half height instead of full height MBR TV cabinet! :P

k0k0: we were quite surprise how our anyhow-idea turn out pretty well! Ya, i'm still v mad abt the WC. they finish 1st round washing and i told hub to go back during lunch and TAPE my WC!

Shower screen not up yet, no choice my toilet kinda small for shower area. No curb also, i dunno how they gonna do it, they say ok one leh. hmm...

Pet: What's VO?

Yoyo: Pls share with me your quote at [email protected] can? $17k is very very reasonable, I would like to see what's included.Is yours a 4RM?

Just to check does the contractor bring you to the factories or showrooms to choose the type of tiles, mosaic, or materials that you want, or do they just bring to you small samples?
I know some contractors bring you to some shops they liase with to buy the WC stuff and lightings and they get a cut from there. Does Ah Soon do that? Cos i prefer to get my own toilet stuff , lighting and kitchen stuff, and get the contractor to install. It's cheaper like this right?

envivi...mine is a 5rm unit 122sqm..i oso tink 17k is reasonable but wanna highlight tat i didnt do kitchen cabinet, hence the lower costs..we oso v broke so we didnt change doors and windows, didnt do false ceiling, L-box, etc..so our reno is realli the minimal kind..

shall giv u the detailed quotation when im home

pinkpetter: realli ah? he oso told us change trunkin costs $80 n the partition wall to cover beam in my mbr $150...so if i oso look at him pitifully can discount? keke

btw, when do ah soon count VO huh? izit at the last payment? im actualli quite curious hw much is my final amt includin electrical wks, VO and discounts (if any??)

yoyo... ya so he will add that $230 with your electrical thingy.
VO he will do at last payment. He will give you a call la. Can bargain a tiny bit on the VO.

christy: confirmed.

Barang Barang Warehouse Sale - 2 Days Only
From Saturday, 28th Mar 2009 - Sunday, 29th Mar 2009

Enjoy up to 90% off all furniture and accessories (including new arrivals) at Barang Barang's 45,000 Sq Ft warehouse.

Visit them at No. 19 KLW Building, Senoko Loop from 10am-7pm. Free shuttle service from taxi-stand at Woodlands MRT (left exit form station) available. Departure every 30 mins. 1st bus at 10am; last bus at 6.30pm.

wah!!! Barang barang warehouse sale! Cool! Thanks for sharing, cuz I need to get some stuff from there! Yay... shopping time!

can anyone help me see what's the price range for the leather L-shape sofas? I cannot make it tmr, can only chiong on sun if the price is right.

mrspiglet> Oh
kao_drool.gif
wonder if lots of pple will got down tomorrow.. hahaha. Wah new arrivals too??? Just told my hubby about it and he say tomorrow we go... *See how excited he is*

Anyone put a bathtub in your MBR toilet? I wonder how it will be like?
I am thinking of buying one for my new flat.

christy: that's what they say stated, dunno how true leh. Inclusive of new arrival wor...

Pink diamond: yes! tts where i get all the sales info!

enivi: i didnt put but i hear a lot of pple telling its a waste of water and really a pain to maintain cos must wash the big big tub.

All> Oh check with you all ah... my 2nd appt date is 24 Apr and we will ask the bank-appointed lawyer to go 2nd appt on our behalf.

Question: How many cheque do we need to prepare? Is it the follow?

1 cashier order of 5% for HDB
1 cheque to seller
1 cheque to agent

enivi - unless your toilet and place is big, then not advisable, it is really space consuming. My last place I had one... and it is really a white elephant, use it a few times in the beginning then like 3 times a year. In the end, use it to throw dirty laundry.

enivi: fyi my mum used to hav a bathtub in the toilet...it's a pain to maintain it cos u gotta clean it even though it's under utilised and takin a bath needs alot of time (waitin for water to fill up) and $ (wasting alot of water)..in the end tink she used it onli a few times...

Christy>> that sounds right. But your lawyer should be able to advise you on it with the exact amount for each cheque... mm

mm envivi>> we used to have also and they get very dirty easily.. and to scrub the tub down was really a hassle.. it's personal preference though