Rendezvous Hotel Singapore

Hi chelsa,
Glad that u caught him, keke !! Happy preparation !!

Hi everybody,

I just completed my Wedding Dinner on 10 Dec 2005,last Sat only.Hope I could help.

For happigal,
Food tasting usually better then AD.Dinner overall OK. No complain.

Hi jonny,

could u share wif us more?
how is the portion of food share for guest? enuff?
who is ur coordinator? the lcd screen is it yellowish or clear?
tks for ur help!!

Hi butterflies,
Food portion is enough for all.U can also request for 12 pax big table but remember some dishes like fish and chicken is only that big...enough for 10 person only.You don't get extra big fish or chicken.
Denny my coordinator.service gd.Always remember to bargain with him : )
LCD screen alright.Did not notice any yellowish.But you should know that your guests sitting beside the stage would not see the screen clearly.

Whether u test the projector or not,you would still need to use it.Another way, U bring your own but ask denny first.

For tweetie,

Yes, mine two nite stay...on 10 to 12 Dec.Check out latest by 2pm.
Tell denny to increase the parking lor.everyday call him until he agree...heehee.

For All,

Denny sometime would respond to u very fast but sometime would go MID(Missing in Duty).If you need to get him,everyday try email,sms,call his hp,hotel or office no. If not, call police!!

U can also request for your free breakfast to change to lunch.Anyway most of u would be too tried to wake up the next day so early for breakfast.

Hope all these can help.

Hi Tweetie,

I did not really ask for more,just get him to increase to 30%. Anyway on my AD,a few of my guests take public transport instead of driving.

Hi Jonny

Thanks for sharing your experience with HR. At least I am more reassured about the food.
Presume yours in the in-house chef and not Tang Court ?

By the way, which is your favourite dish huh? or is there any dish which you dun recommend ? Am choosing between Yam Paste or Red Bean soup for the dessert... but will see how it taste during the food tasting then decide. Any comments ?

Guess you must have got more than 20 tables ya? more bargaining power for free 2nd nite stay... so nice....

Sorry to ask so many questions... pai seh pai seh.... would be very grateful if you could share more with us.

Thanks in advance !

Hi butterfly,

I just received the contract. Just realised that I can accomodate a max of 8 people for my food-tasting. And I didnt tell Denny about that!!!! Great!

Hi Tweetie,

I think 30% is the max. I didnt hear of anyone getting more than 30%. You can actually try to bargain. The no of tables listed on my contract is 18 guaranteed. But managed to get quite a no of perks from Denny.

Just realised that the food is either by their in-house chef or Tang Court. Which one is better ah?

Just went for a wedding dinner last nite.... my advise to u all is better ask ur guests to wear dark colour or black clothing....bcos the young banquet staffs abit not steady and i being kena pour over by 3 glasses of orange & 1 glass of Spirit........ so suay....

worst is the manager didnt even apologise to me! he just said "Anything i can help"!!! argh...... since it is my friends' wedding, i lun and dun want to make a big fuss..... so disappointed!

oh ya...... the service also not that good...... friend request for a plate of chilli sauce, a young lady still talk back to him saying there one plate ALREADY on the table....

Friend so piss off telling her, cant she see all people want the chilli sauce...then only she ask her colleague to get a plate of chilli sauce for the table.... hmm... is a plate of chilli sauce so expensive for the hotel?

hi cheezz,
tks, tink we will check wif him maybe when the time come closer, tks !
kao_babydust.gif

hi jonny,
tks for sharing wif us the details. agreed wif u Denny's service is good, he is an accomodating guy & we enjoy discussing the terms with him. oic, tks, coz i think i read previous thread got ppl mentioned abt the LCD screen. I dun hv projector, u r rite, yellowish or white, i still need to use it, hehe

hi chelsa,
good for u,
sumtimes he very "automatic" one...dun need to bargain & he will juz give u if its within his limit, nice hor!

hi sinkor,
hmm, what is the manager's name? did he know u r poured over by his staff or he dunno its caused by his staff? hotel service staffs wise we arn't sure, jonny care to share wif us? tks.

Hi butterflies,

I dunno wat the manager name, i only know there 1-2 guy wearing in black jacket walking around to ensure all the staffs are making the dinner smoothly.... as for the "pouring" incident, the whole staffs in the banquet knew about it! but we didnt make it big bcos is my friend's happy day so better keep it low profile......

I not sure my friend has invited how many tables but the place abit cramped within the ballroom (level 2). service staffs are all young gals/guys mostly less than 20yrs old. the foods wise, haiz..... serving really JUST NICE and i felt full only after having the yam paste in the last dish. the abalone with veg are so salty..... all my males friends still go for 2nd round at newton after the dinner....

This is my first wedding that all the dish (including the cucumber, pineapple as display) on the table are being wipe out..... the cripsy chicken really small portion...... and the fish can only serve one round that all....

as for the LCD screen for showing the photo montage, the photo showing are very clear so dun need to worry it is yellowish or wat......

in fact, we have no intention to feedback these negative remarks to our wedding friend since it is over... no offend to BTB here if u are engaging this hotel as dinner. this is just my feedback to let u all know on the staffs service...

hi sinkor,

its ok, tks for ur feedbacks.
maybe it will serve as a checklist for us to point out to our coordinators & we muz be prepared not everything will be smooth ahead.

yup, dun need to tell her coz i tink ur friend will feel embarrassed & sad if she heard the negative remarks abt her wedding from her friends.

hi butterflies,

ya...my friend is the groom..but i did tell him the "pouring" incident and assure him i am OK... why i told him was becos i want him to ask for more discount on our table so he can save abit!

Gosh sinkor, thanks for your feedback. I just went for my food tasting and the waiter that served us was very very good. He was very pro and efficient but now reading your post I think must take note. I don't hope for much but just for my guests to enjoy themselves so this feedback is definitely good

Hi Crankiee,

In fact, there are really some good waiters around.... so dun worry. As we can see that those good & pro waiter will serve those table in the front (mostly occupied by relatives). Since i am the groom's colleague and being arranged at the last row corner... the waiter/waitress are those "not steady" one....haha.....and cant deny that nite i really suay lah... haiz...

Hi tweetie & happigal,

Yess...just tell him ALL your guests own a car!!Just kidding...anyway ask him lor if not beg him....until he give in.

I did chat with the chef during Food tasting.During food tasting, you can tell them which dishes not too salty,which dishes need to increase portion and etc.

On your AD dinner, I don't think you would check who is the chief chef for that day or actually who prepare it!! Anyway, I don't think Denny allow you to choose which chef for your dinner.So whether inhouse or Tang Court chef, does not matter...most important AD dinner is good.

Btw, Tang Court waiter/waitress are not the same group as on your AD dinner.

For happigal,

Yam paste with pumpkin in coconut milk better than Red bean soup.

The rest of the dishes are ok..no favourite dish.Take note of Sharkfin,not so nice during my dinner but no problem during food tasting.

I had 20 tables but I sign the package in Dec 2004 which included two nights stay.U mean this year onwards, they only have one night stay??

For chelsa,

Actually,it should be 8 pax for food tasting.They put 6 pax first then say give u up to 8pax. This is what denny told me.

For Sinkor,

You mention so suay,right? So suay only lah...Sometime if suay,anywhere you go will kenna also.For me, I'm happy with the service, no problem,nothing happen and everything go on smoothly

For butterflies,

There r two Managers for that night dinner.One control the PA system and the other for your march in. Both would be around for your dinner and assist you when possible. One of them call Thomas(if i not wrong) and another one tall big size.

Hi jonny,

ya...i better have to say myself "suay" else really feel bad for spoilting the mood of the BTB here! :D

and i agree wat u say.....the sharkfin really no nice....but the prawn is fresh

As for the PA system & those LCD to play the montage, effect very good.....

hi jonny,
tks for ur above reply, oh....i thot denny will be around on our AD
kao_dizzy.gif
, hmm muz chk wif him coz feel more secured as he is very helpful whenever we need help

HI butterflies,

I don think he would be around....
I saw him before the dinner at about 7pm but not during and after that.

Dear Jonny

Many thanks for your feedback !

Yes, I chose the yam paste instead of red bean soup too! more special i guess.... cos most of the wedding is either red bean soup or longan beancurd stuff....

Yes, this year's package is only one nite stay only ... : (

Phew ! Thanks Jonny, all ex HR brides and BTBs. I feel more assured....

hi cheezz,

oh, ur AD over ? so fast ? all along i thot u r a 2006 bride ? so sorry...abit muddlehead...
Congratulations & may u hv a blissful marriage wif your hubby
kao_kiss2.gif

Hi hi, i'm trying to choose between Intercontinental and Rendezvous on a weekday..
I'm having about 17 tables. What are the freebies offered by Rendezvous?

hi red088,

u can email HR ask them to give u the standard wedding package, coz i abit lazy to retype here...as for the additional freebies its abt those we mention above, but that depends on who is ur coordinator.

red088,

like what butterflies said, call the hotel and asked them to email u their package. I received their package in my inbox within 2 days.

hi cheezz,

so sorry, recently very busy until din visit forum...how r u doing? how's ur life being a Mrs now ? hehehe
quiet...ya...personally i feel HR brides not as participative as other hotels brides leh...so quite sian oso.

<font color="aa00aa">hi butterflies,
tat is bcos i cant log in from office now..so i can only log in during weekends and at night..furthermore, i thk there are >1 thread on HR..so it is abit slow...btw, wen is ur AD ?

hi red088,
hv u contact them? manage to get ur package?
wen is ur AD? call them up, look for denny aw, his tel is 63351780 </font>

Anyone managed to ask for free corkage? Think I only have free corkage of 1 bottle for each table i book. Do you think that I can ask for more though I had already signed with HR?

<font color="aa00aa">err..precious momentz..u mean u haven't sign up with HR ? aren't u getting waive corkage ? dun really get ur qns..which corkage are u referring to ? wine or beer?</font>

Just went to HR to have a look,found the area,perks &amp; suite not bad.Just found that they dont provide LCD projector for below 20tables,i have 18tables so have to pay $300

Any of u able to '' bargain '' for another extra night stay or anything else?

I saw in the package corkage waive for liqour but how abt wine?It didnt mention,any of u know?

Hi Rachel, wine corkage is waived according to one bottle per table means if u have 18 tables means 18 bottles of wine corkage foc... more than tat than they charge corkage per bottle...

btw have u signed with them already? Dun think can bargain for another nite's stay as they are quite stringent on tat lor... but i managed to bargain for 25% of carpark hope it helps...

Hi annabelle,

I actually also told Eileen i prefer more carpark coupons,cause a lot of my hubby's friends are driving.She also said the most is 25% cause car park space very limited.The rest will charge me $5 per entry,i find it very ex.

Honestly,im still considering between HR &amp; M hotel.Going down M later after work to take a peek at a wedding going on there,so i can how it really looks like.

I have a appt at Novotel Clarke Quay tomo also to look at the ballroom,but honestly HR appeals to me a bit less than m because m bridal suite has a gorgeous jacuzzi
and i managed to get 2 nights
But i love HR red ang po box i find it so cute
So even i dont sign HR will buy the box from them

<font color="aa00aa">hi rachel
can share ur package with HR ? how many nite stay you have? wat angpow box are you refering to? who's ur coordinator?anyway, I dun rem paying extra for the projector, i aso hv 18tables for a weekend</font>

i just attended my fren wedding in HR. I was one of her helper, and find that this hotel really cannot make it. Their bridal suite lousy, and the helper room don't have bed in the room, only a very lousy sofa. No towels, shampoo etc.. in the bathroom.

when we arrive at the hotel, no bellboy come and help us with the luggage, until we call for one. Just feel that this hotel cannot make it.

Hi cheez,

Its the $688 per table weekend package.Only got 1 night now,but if im really signing then will make sure can get 2 nights.My coordinator is Eileen,she said either can choose guest book or ang pow box.I saw nice guest book at $15 at MPH,so would rather get the ang pow box from them as i find it harder to buy outside.

Funny she told me cause i dont have 20 tables,i have to pay $300 for the projector.When was your wedding?

hi hi, understand that they will not give additional night in 2006 coz they rather save the room for convention..

my coordinator is denny and he didn't seem very enthusiastic ... i didn't get 25% for carpark but managed to squeeze the LCD projector ..prob is LCD screen and stage opposite ends of the room..

i managed to get the corkage waiver for wine.

how's the food generally?

Precious Momentz,

I got free corkage for wine plus free flow of beer.

Red088,
You have to squeeze from Denny? Oh dear. My hb and I didnt even thought about the projector..he was the one who asked me if I need it.

Rachel,
Our contract is for 18 tables. Denny didnt charge us for the use of projector. But we did tell him that we are sure of exceeding 20 tables and will give me a call when our AD is near.

Rachel,

I had a very bad experience with M hotel. The waiters for my colleague's AD were all very inexperienced. They spilled over our tea and the waiter also elbowed me when he was cutting up the fish and in the end, the dish simply looks unpresentable. And we were blocked by the pillars.

<font color="aa00aa"> hi SH,
did ur fren tell you tat rm is for guest to rest?
some hotel dun even have it, so as long as there is a rm for guest to rest, then is good enuff..u shd call for rm service to ask for towel &amp; toiletries.
hi rachel,
my wedding was in dec05, i thk mayb the package for 2006 is different...but i dun rem having ang pow box, bcos denny mention angpow is a sensitive thing, so he rather we brg it ourselves</font>