Rendezvous Hotel Singapore

Hi Rusty_piano, do you happen to know if any hotel in town do charge Sunday as weekday rate? Getting $$$ to get married nowadays !

Hi Bear lover,

If u are having less tables, ard 12 - 25, i would strongly suggest Grand Mercure Roxy Hotel @ Marine Parade. Sun @ weekday rate. $648 nett for attractive menu but 8 course. I had seen the Roxy room (function room) It's cosy and warm. Decor is quite alright too. The level of the function room is quite classy and there's a swimming pool & bar on the same level.If you had min 18 tables, you get free flow beer too. Minus point is that short march. If you dun mind that, i am sure you will like there! Also, if you book with them now, you do get free air tixs. Look for Charlotte for more details..

Hi Rusty_piano, thanks for your advice ! Do you have charlotte's email ? Maybe I can find out more from her ! Do you happen to have their wedding package too ?

hi annabelle,

I have yet to sign with HR. Waiting for the wedding fair to enjoy the perks.

I read from Carlton that the staff there are abit rude. Dunno how true though...

Hi,rusty_piano, Charlotte replied me very fast. The wedding package is for 2005/ 2006.

Weekdays $528+++ or $568+++ (Sun-Thu)
Weekends $588+++ or $628+++ (Fri,Sat & PH)

Did you have your wedding there ? My bf said worried guests will perceive the place as 3-star and ang pows may not cover our cost ! How's your experience ?

Hi sortkate, her email is [email protected]

Hi Bear lover,

think not really nice to discuss other hotel in this thread.. hehe...btw, i have not attended wedding there and my venue for next year is not there too. So no experience to share, you can read those threads under Century hotel, Grand mercure Roxy and even poolside wedding threads for more understanding and comments.I nearly sign up with them but i still prefer long march in so give up the venue. Feel a bit wasted. If i am not wrong, the hotel is rated 4 and half star hotel.

Hi sortkate,

I am judy here... u still remember me?? I ever sent u email regarding GHA package...u did not reply my email after your 1st and last email... Glad to see you here again.. : )

Hi Judy.....

yes....of coz i remember u......sorrie.....nowadays seldom check my mails.....i am fine......u considering HR also????

Hi Bear lover,

You are welcome!! Feel free to email me @ [email protected] if you need any help...ok? : )

Hi sortkate,

It's ok... Intially i am thinking of booking HR however in the end, i chose Holiday Inn. From my point of view, HR service are quite gd..can consider... Good luck in your hunting... Feel free to email me too : )

Hi everybody

I might sign up with Hotel Rendezvous but my only concern is the food.

Any idea which restaurant caters the food and how is the quality.

Appreciate all feedback.

And ... anybody's co-ordinator is sharon?

Thanks !

hi happygal

i might sign up with HR also. our concern is also the food cos they hv no chi restaurant. but eileen told us that the chef is stationed in HR. also do u think the ballroom is a bit empty with the standard deco? but we dont want to fork out extra to top it up.

Hi happigal & matreshka,

I had already signed up with HR. Not too sure about the quality of the food though. Probably those who had their weddings at HR recently can share your experience here?

To my understanding, theirs is in-house chef.

I find their ballroom quite okay. Been to M Hotel's function room on the 2nd level & felt that it's worse. Been to Hyatt & Conrad Hotel, nothing much special too.

For me, I liaise with Eileen.

Hi i also signed up with HR already. for food wise my fren had her D&D there last yr according to her e food quite ok... so hope everything turns out well
for me i liase with eileen too...

actually i attended a wedding banquet in HR before, 1-2 yrs ago. it was not traditional chinese menu with a mix of western food. honestly, the food was pretty bad!! that's why i'm so headache now! seems no perfect venue for smaller scale banquet

Hi everybody

looks like its now their inhouse chef who prepared the food... not sure if this is good or bad but I have ever tried their buffet in the straits cafe (got chinese food in the spread)... taste quite ok...

Hi matreshka
I am quite okie with the ballroom decor. like it simple. dun really wan it too gaudy. if you have special requirements, perhaps you can speak to eileen to see whether she can help you ?

hi happigal

ya, think i'll find a day to try their food. for deco, already talked to eileen. it's their standard deco. if i want more, need to pay extra. anyway, will go down to have a look of the actual setting later

hi happygal
the wedding dinner chef is not the one preparing the straits cafe food..for me, i juz had my food tasting at tang court.HR uses their chef for this yr's wedding. but i understd from my coordinator that HR is recruiting the own inhouse chef..for next yr's wedding..do check it out with them.

Hi Matreshka

Ya... you will need to go down to have a look at the actual setting cos what you see from the virtual tour is different from actual. I personally feel that its okie.

Hi Tweetie

Thanks. So how do you find Tang Court's food ? I have checked with my co-ordinator. Yes, they will be using their own in-house chef. Not sure if its good or bad news but given that it is a 4 star hotel, i dun think they will risk their reputation lah hor ? **worried**

Also, are you aware of any additional perks which we can 'squeeze' from them? I tot of additional invitation and car park coupons. If possible, 2nd nite stay in the suite free .... hee ! not sure if this is possible. Any advice for me ?

Solli for the long list of questions... but what kinda wedding favours can we choose from and do you have any pics of the invittion cards ?

Look forward to hearing from you.

Cheerio !! : )

hi happigal
i thk the perks are quite standard, unless u hv >20 table, then it is easier to negiotate..
have u sign up with them? as for their food tasting lah..
yup we had hp 'bear' wrap in sash bag as wedding favour

Hi Tweetie

I will most probably sign up with them but my only worry is their food. The menu may be impressive but its the taste that count lor... sigh... looks like I will have to gamble liao.
so next month is you AD... are you excited ?

hi happigal,

I've to say Eileen is professional in her work too. Juz that denny wun say a straight "no no" when u liaise wif him. He will try to accomodate ur need. A very nice guy to liaise the terms.

oh butterflies
why did u change ? is it bcos of something?
yeah, denny is nice guy..we enjoy chatting with him too..he is very professional, who wouldn;t shoud you the pissed off face when you ask for more.he used to do outdoor catering sales

we meet up with Denny on logistic discussion for our actual day next month. he told us for the flower arrangement, there wont be any charges if we take roses and for the arrangement, HR leaves it to the florist.

has anyone gone to the florist (JM)to take a look at their arrangement before?

btw, HR's selection of wedding favours not so nice.

can anybody tell me what is the maximum capacity HR can take and the price of the wedding package

thanks in advance

hi apuppy
the max no of table is 24 (incl 1 reserve)
i think the weekend price is now $688 nett, not sure abt the weekday one.

My coordinator is Denny too. A very nice guy. Just wondering..did any of the ladies neg for more free parking? Denny only gave me 30 %. I managed to get free corkage on wine, free usage of LCD projector. Tried to neg for one more free night stay in the suite but Denny refused. He gave me one table free in additional to the 19 tables we took.

Hi puppy,

HR allows a max of 24 tables but its not advisable to take so many tables as it can b quite cramped. Usually 20 tables should be good enough.

Am choosing between Malacca rooms in Intercontinental vs Rendezvous. Am looking for small places e.g. 8 - 15 tables. Intercontinental min 8 tables -- S$658+++. Rendezvous min 15 tables -- S$628+++. Anyone tried their food? Which one is better??

Hi mag,

You must neg with the banquet manager sometimes. I neg with Denny regarding the parking coupons. The rest like free corkage, free 1 table and free usage of red carpet, LCD projector, he was the one who asked me whether I want it. We meet up with him 2x at the hotel lounge. And each time, he did not charge my hb and I for the drinks we consumed. And he was kind enough to give us a free parking coupon on the 2nd meeting as my hb parked his car in the hotel's carpark.

But its been 2 weeks and denny has not gotten back to me regarding the finalised contract even though I have paid up the deposit.

did anybody get free one nite stay?

hi butterflies,
can him in the morning, he start work at 8.30am, he's pretty fast in replying emails too, i thk the contract will be sent via mail to your home address.

hi cheezz,

kekeke, u mix me up wif chelsa leh, chelsa is the 1 looking for denny.

nope, i din bargain for free 1 extra nite, coz i think he is really alot better than Eileen in terms of negotiation, so i dare not bargain too much coz i request to switch from Eileen to him, whatever standard freebies he gave, i accept happily, coz Eileen can't bargain things, always a straight no no. I think i get almost the same freebies as chelsa except i dun hv free 1 table. What abt ur freebies ?

btw hor ur name & chelsa name i oso easy to mix up, hehe !

hi chelsa,

maybe u can ring his hp directly, if no reply, sms & email him u haven't rec'd his contract. Usually he dun took that long, unless urs is hotmail or yahoo, the email accounts may thought that is a junk mail & will auto delete after some days.

Hi butterflies,

I called Denny up on Sat but was diverted to his voicemail instead. Will call again on Monday. Because I did not state what type of wedding flavours I wanted from them. So got to settle this before I get the finalised contract. Was thinking to arrange for food-tasting for 8 people instead of 6. So Im keeping my fingers crossed that Denny wont find me a nuisance. Hahahaha

hi chelsa,

maybe he is on leave? I think u can ring and email him concurrently to play safe.
for wedding flavours, i tink they will hv new flavours next yr, i remember denny told us its alright to choose next yr, so i tink its ok if we didn't state it in the contract.

hee, as for food tasting, maybe u can try to bargain, but if cannot, then dun make him difficult, coz i feel he is very nice to give u 1 free table hor, coz the min shd be 20 in order to earn 1 free table. thats the reason why we like to negotiate wif him. he is a good sales person !!

hi chelsa
i just called him this morning, he is there leh,even he's not in, Eileen will be able to take down the message.how many tables u have? 18+1 FOC ?

HI butterflies,

Managed to get him. But I did not requested for more people for the food-tasting cuz I dont think its nice since he has gotten the contract ready.

Hi Cheezz,

He gave me 19/20+ 1 free. Hehehe. Cant remember cuz no matter what, we are almost confirmed we are having 20 tables.