Rendezvous Hotel Singapore

Hi WK, wah so fast sept already booked. hope to see u becoming a rendez's bride. hol inn parkview was one of my top choices also but they refuse to give me the ballroom then the function room is a bit too small and with 2 big pillars so i gave up. but i remember their package is not much more ex than rendez leh. the rate they offered is almost the same and the perks also the same.
so any other hotels u considering before u confirm with rendez?

Hi YYPP

You have seen HIPV's function room? It's not nice? I saw the Crystal ballroom but i doubt they will let me use it because i only have b/w 15 to 18 tables. So far, we only looked at these two hotels. I quite like the idea of being able to use the ballroom at Rendez. If i were to hold my wedding elsewhere, will have to settle for a function room, plus there might be two weddings on the same day! heehee. What about you? When's your wedding?

Hi WK,
yup i have seen the function room. its at the basement beside an indian restaurant. in fact i have been there 2 or 3 times to see the room cos we wanted to hold it there. but we find the room too small and the march in is super short. then there are two pillars in the room. twice we were there they had wedding for 13 tables and we already find the room a bit cramp. that is why we bargain with them for the ballroom. but they refuse. their ballroom is nice.we also having 18 tables leh, so maybe for chances also not as high lor.

my bf like the idea that rendez can only hold one wedding a day. he say more exclusive and our guests wont be confuse. we went marina mandarin and saw 3 weddings on the same say and we find it a bit confusing lor. i read somewhere that someone mentioned her friends at the reception spent half their time directing the guests to the correct ballroom. i dunno which hotel and how true though. paiseh so long winded.

anyway we find rendez quite accomodating to our needs and so far quite please. we had firm bookings with them for mid next yr.

Hi YYPP

Thanks for the feedback about the HIPV's function room. Yah, my hubby and I also like the idea that HR is more exclusive. We will probably confirm our booking with Denny by this week.

what are the additional perks that denny could give care to share.. me also should be deciding by this week ... hmm...

hey WK, no problem on that. cant provide much help, can only provide some feedback. have u seen the actual wedding setup at rendez?

Hi bells bells, mm..actually for me and odae we din bargain for much additional perks cos we think their package is already quite comprehensive. what i ask for is only additional complementary parking lor. and also cos i din work with denny intially when i was signing so i dunno what denny can give.

Hi YYPP,

Yes, I saw the actual wedding setup on 13 Nov. Quite nice, except that the march-in aisle seems a bit narrow.

Hi bells bells, we bargained for free flow of beer, waiver of corkage charge for wine, complimentary parking up to 30% (from 20%)and a complimentary day room for helpers to use from 2 to 8 pm. What did you bargain for?

Hi WK, if u r having 18 tabkes i think the aisle will be slightly wider. but still narrower than some of the hotels cos the ballroom itself also not very big. wah u good negotiator leh, u got more perks than me. i din have the room use.

Hi YYPP

I think Denny is quite ok. Why don't you try asking him since your wedding is next year? Maybe he'll let you have the room. Doubt that the hotel will hit 100% occupancy rate. He's quite ok leh; I went prepared to beg but luckily didn't have to. I think i better sign the agreement soon, in case he changes his mind. heehee.

hi yypp and wk,

thanks thanks I just went down to confirm everything today.... I so stress looking and comparing ... aiyo... I think it's becoz of danny that we took up with this hotel... heheehee... Yeah got the free flow beer and additional parking also...
Serena, I requested for 8 person for food testing also.. hehehe.. just tell him you want that also.. tell him he gave it to belinda carla and michael jackson so you should have that also..

Hi bells

Thanks, I will be going down sometime this week to sign my package too. Thanks for the tip about the food testing. Will it be a full food testing or still without the cold dish?

Also, my friend told me to try and also change the free breakfast (that comes with the suite) to a lunch instead coz we'll probably want to sleep late after the dinner.

heehee, Denny will faint if he sees all the Rendezvous brides exchanging tips here.

Hi WK, yah i will go pester him again..heh..no lah, he shld feel happy that everyone is singing praises of him here..haha..
quick go confirm then we have another bride here

Hi Bells, glad to have another firm rendez bride here! i agree searching and comparing of venue is a real headache. glad its over isn't it..

hmm..wonder when will odae be back. kind of miss her leh keke.... she will have a nice surprise to see this thread so lively now.

Hi Bells & yypp

Wanted to ask you exactly how the procedures are for confirming the banquet? Do we pay the deposit first to "lock" the date? Do I get to see the contract before I pay the deposit? Just spoke to Denny and he said we have to pay first before the contract is issued to us. Isn't that a bit risky? What if they suddenly decide not to give us all the free things they initially promised?!

hmmm...if i have not remembered wrongly, i pay the deposit and got the contract at the same time. isn't it that we have to go through the contract and firm up everything before we sign on the dotted line?

Hello, we just sign on the dotted line too...
You pay the deposit of $2k and he'll send a draft copy of the contract to you... once everything is agreed upon, he'll send a hardcopy of the contract to you for signature. Fax it to him once it's done.

Hi bnl and yypp

Thanks for the feedback. Yah, i thought it was a bit strange leh, that we pay first then sign the contract. Thanks!

hi wk,
yes we got the tentative one also. With the additional things discuss than he types it nicely as an official contract.
Told him we sign up because of him also.. hahaha..
Hmm.. Thanks for the info for changing breakfast to lunch.

yes the food tasting is full course without the cold dish.

Hi Hi...I'm BACK!!!

Yypp,
U missed me ah??? heehee...

Time really flies & it's 2 wks ago matter to me liao though it doesn't seem like so at all! O..so u really turned up on my AD? Hmmm...I din go down for reception so as not to stress myself up hee...stayed in the room till wen it's time for the march in. Huh?? Which fren? Any description? I can drill her for u! haaa...

Hmmm...overall, things happened smoothly on my AD & so far, nv receive any negative comment rgdg the foods leh... although my mum did mention the shark's fin & dessert were slightly more diluted than the food tasting session's. Svc was oso good I muz say!

Hi Bnl,
Congrats! So u haf settled on ur venue liao yah? One big worries down! Fr start till end, I muz say my experience with them is GOOD! U'll sure receive the same treatment too!

Hi Wk,
I'm not too sure abt the 'new' procedure...I paid (thru cheque) & received my contract at the same time. However, at the later stage, we had amendments to the originals due to change of menu selection, add-ons, etc & Denny faxed us for confirmation & endorsement. But anyway, Denny is trustworthy, no doubt!

Btw, personally I found the aisle size was ok even though my hb belongs to the 'big' type. Wen marching thru, felt we were surrounded by the guests, thus, the moment...the warmth...

Odae!! you are back!! haha..
hey enjoy ur HM? I bet huh..
good to hear that everything went on smoothly for you. heh...think ur fren is wearing pink tube dress with short hair..haha..
mm..did the hotel change plate after each dish? heard some say they do. other than the shark's fin and desert, the rest of the food? hehe..the fish still small? great to hear that svc is good cos i think that is very important besides the food.
yah i went down to the hotel on ur AD and went to the ballroom twice. cos the first time was around 6.15pm, thought the ballroom shld be done by then but it wasn't so went back at around 6.45pm.
hey got something to ask u, is it ok if i email you? same email as the one u sent me the invitation cards?

Harlow yypp!!!
My hm ah??? hahahaa....eat & eat & eat a lot till gain wt liao leh! Wonder if my working clothes still can fit me?!

O..den I know who's the one u referring to liao le! She's like dat one...sensitive type.. hee...

Actually both shark's fin & dessert were oso ok too! Not sure abt the fish leh cos I din get to c it at all. Foods for main tables were ordi individually portioned. Ya..my mum did mentioned that they cleared up the plates after each dish.

Waa...u so gu lat? Visited the place twice ah? For me think will sprout molds liao! hahaa...

Sure...u email me at [email protected] lah. Awaiting for ur mail!!!

Hi odae

Glad to hear that your AD went very well and thanks for the feedback. I'm intending to charge to credit card leh, so that can earn points. heehee.

I ever asked Denny if they'll change the plates after every dish but he said no leh. Do you mind sharing what are the dishes you selected? I'm a bit worried about the food but very happy to hear that you haven't received any -ve comments.

Odae, yypp, bells, bnl,

Which bridal boutique did you go to? So far, I haven't started shopping for gowns yet. I'm probably one of the laziest brides. heehee, so glad I stumbled onto this thread.

Hi Yypp,
Got ur mail liao but yahoo doesn't allow me to type/write leh...wonder isit cos of the setting.. I'll try out another pc tml ok? Or can u activate ur PM?

Hi WK,
Think their bill settlement arrangement is pretty flexi. U can pay up upon checking out, dun haf to do it immediately after the banquet leh.

I guessed it will depend very much on the attitude of the group of staff u getting dat nite lor cos Denny himself can't control such stuff. Hmmm...actually on my AD I was blur blur throughout...ppl asked me turn left I turn...walk straight I walked..haaa..
cos really no time nor in the mood to bother abt anything! So the feedbacks were all from the others.

As for the dishes, I stuck to the menu offering 9 courses cos wen I went for food tasting, the dishes are alrite. Hope these help!

Mmmm..as for my BS ah? Not confident in recommending to anyone though the photos turn out nice and there are ppl who commented dat their gowns are nice too due to some incidences dat we encountered leh...

Hi i'm new here. Currently i'm searching for a hotel to hold my banquet next yr. I have shortlist 3 hotels:
1. Hotel Rendezvous
2. Plaza Parkroyal hotel
3. York Hotel

Does anybody has any comment for these 3 hotels base on service, price, food, ambience and etc?

Pls let know cos i don't know which to chose.

WK (serena)
I picked universal studio at Toa Payoh.
I have went through first fitting for my gown ... this friday fitting for my evening dress... hmm... I just got a flat yesterday ... so everything also quite last min... hope that everying will get in place.

does any of you have any idea about those guo da li things... I am still very very lost leh... my god.

Hi Jo,
Sorry can't advise u cos the other 2 hotels were not in my shortlisted list. However, I'm happy with Rendez in whole!

Hi Bells,
Wen I saw ur posting...I tot Universal Studio as in Universal Studio in Japan leh! hahaa...

Dun fret over the GDL stuff...can check with both sides' parents or if not, u may wan to visit those shops selling GDL items??? U juz nid to let them know abt ur dialect group & they can coordinate the items for u! Chinatown, near the market has several shops selling all those.

Pics..yes but in hardcopies...nid to get them scanned first b4 I can upload. Let u know again k?

Hi Jo,

Been to park royal. they have two ballrooms and they are facing each other..so wonder if it will be kinda messy if two weddings on the same day? saw the ballroom, its with pillars. on the whole prefer rendez to it.
been to york hotel also cos my fren wanted to hold her's there but dunno why the moment we stepped in she already dun like the place, so din get to see the ballroom. but its under goodwood park so maybe the standard is still good.

Hi Odae,
how did your guest react to the wedding favour?
thanks for suggesting me to call denny and check on the colour cos it never cross my mind that i can do that. will be useful to get the info from him before I decide.
hey did the hotel actually serve the food from the banquet to your suit after the dinner? cos i know some hotels will do that. they will warm the food then serve to the couple.

Hi Jo,
They had mini bears, mugs, keychains, etc... U can request to see them b4 u decide. Yup, I'd the projector.

Hi Yypp,
Guessed they luv the favours cos none was left, not even for myself, hb nor the extras (reserve table) & yet still got ppl asking if I've any balance. There're 3 caucasians passby kpo kpo...& even gotten one of the favours fr my BIL.

Girl...breathe in...dun b so gan jiong...u still haf mths to prepare leh!

I was told by Denny earlier dat our portions of foods wud not be served to us. However, they did eventually! Not too sure if they heated the foods up cos it's more than half an hour later then I had mine & the foods had ordi turned cold in the airconed rm

Hi odae,

How nice if it's universal studio in japan... hehehe.. Actually both side parents are okay with guo da li... cause my parents are not supersticious neither are his parents...
I am hokien, I heard there are places whereby you pay and they do everything for you issit ? Someone told me bukit timah but could not give me the exact address... my grandma is against cakes so I am left with Hokkien candys and biscuts or something like that. Any idea ? what did you have for your GDL ?
I think probably I am the stressed one.. hahaha..
Wen I saw ur posting...I tot Universal Studio as in Universal Studio in Japan leh! hahaa...
ok after you scan remember me hoh...

When I saw some negative comments on their food I was so worried.. but now that you have given postive remarks, I feel much better.

Hi Bells,
Hahaa...really leh! USJ...I blur lah!

O..I'm oso Hokkien & my parents oso not superstitious type. But mum still go ahead & get certain things for me as per wat she has gotten during her time though not all. E.g. lamps, bb bathtub, ruler, fan, spitoon, toothbrushes, toothpastes & errmmm..small small tiny packet stuff which I dunno wat & oso can't be bothered to know too! hee....very bad hor???
Actually I accompanied my mum to Chinatown & while she choose, her daughter was bz staring at other places! haaa...

Bkt Timah? Isit Beauty World? Heard of it too but din go cos Chinatown is more convenient for us & we r not really sure of the location lor.

O ya...some ppl insist on buy the red red 'long & feng' bedsheet too, oso pillows, bolster & on & on...

Btw where's ur new place?

Juz tok to some of my colleagues (finally back @ work) & their comments were so so for Rendez - normal (No Wows or Boos lah)

wah...so hot ah the favour. my fren happen to see it at my place and were going "wah...so...cute!".
heh...dun worry i not really ganjong. wont even call denny until next yr to check on the colour. but go to catch u while u still log into this forum haah..so how's married life?
that is sweet of them to serve the food to your suit. so u saw denny on your wedding day? he went back though he is on off day rite.....so nice of him
hmm..so so ah..i wanted a "wow" leh..haha...

Hi yypp...
Ur fren oso found it cute??? So u made ur decision???

Hahaha...tot u wud 'immediately' leh! No worries lah..as long as there's ppl in this forum & keep it active, I'll try to b ard wen needed! hee..

Married life ah? Still the same as per norm for me so far. Yet to bump into any occasion dat will 'require' me to use my 'status'. Haaa...

In fact hor...if they dun serve us our portion den wat? throw away? very strange leh! No no..din c him during my AD cos I was in the rm whole afternoon after we've checked in until my march in session. But hb met him. Hb was gan jiong wen he visited the ballrm after we checked in & found no one & set up not done yet...so we BUZZzzed Mr Denny Aw lor! Den Mr Nice guy appeared in front of him liao!!

Hmmmm...mine was over so u gals haf to c wat can b improved on based on the weddings u've seen lor. Other den dat got qns can ask ask ard.

Think I'm becoming more & more naggy nowadays..chiam..

I have went to Hotel Rendezvous just now and i do like the ballroom. But i liase with Shirley instead of Denny. Has anybody liase with shirley before. She seems to be quite nice and friendly and quite flexible.

what is this wedding "favour" you guys are talking about ? issit those keychain with a male and a female ? odae I got one near bukit batok area. very last minute still waiting for keys hope it comes before chinese new year.

Hi Everyone

Suddenly this discussion seems so lively

I just paid my deposit last Sat and am on my way to becoming a Rendezvous bride

Denny told us last Sat that the food testing can be for a max of 8 persons, so didn't have to "beg" for it. heehee.

Jo, I also had the free LCD projector but i think it's safer to bring one back-up one. I only spoke to Shirley on the phone once when I called and Denny wasn't around. But all along, have been liasing with Denny.

Odae, was your wedding favour the one with the bear in a cup? Denny showed that to us and I thot it was very cute. Yah, I was wondering if they'll save the food for us. My friends who had their dinners at Marriot and Sheraton said the hotel'll do that. Feel a bit paiseh to ask leh, coz like such a glutton. heehee.

Bells, thanks for the recommendation. I'll go check out Universal Studios if I happen to be in Toa Payoh area. Do they have a website? Wow, you are doing everything together? Can be very stressed leh. I just got the keys to my flat on 1 Nov and haven't even started reno yet! Looking at tiles and toilet bowls are making my head spin. heehee. quite look forward to completing the reno so that i can move on to shopping for bridal gowns.

I received my draft contract from Denny but noticed that a lot of the things which were in the very first quotation he sent were not mentioned in this contract. E.g. there was no mention of things like wedding cake, wedding favours, flower decorations and complimentary seat covers in the contract he sent me. However, he did put in the extras we asked for e.g. free beer, LCD etc. Was that the same for you all who have signed the contract? I'm afraid if i ask too many questions, i'll get on his nerves. heehee. So, thot will check with you gals first.

Hi all, i'm camparing hotel Rendezvous and Amara base on service, food, ambience, price and hotel rating. But i dun know which to choose.
Anyway comments for these 2 hotels?

Hi WK,
Yes...found it the cutest lor.
B4 our AD...hb & I were saying dat 'chiam ah! now wedding favours no more using chocolate...dunno how the guests going to dong till all ppl come!'

Hey! No nid to b paiseh w Denny one lah! Both he & my hb oso always pull each other's leg. So everytime I've any new query I juz asked hb to call him, keeping him on his toes! hahaha

Actually hor, we paid for our share too leh so dun think we are glutton lah...

hi wk,
when you go to universal you can look for yvonne. you can ask to see my package and you see if you could negotiate for even more.. hahaha.. cause I think I got quite a comprehensive package according to my friends. It was a wedding consultant who keep writting those additional items they could give me.. hahaha.. so I just take lah..
Same here leh... the toilet and toilet tiles I am still thiniking what to do with it. have to put in our own kitchen cabinet also..
I think the main items as per listed in the main items list already carry those wedding cake and all... the contract is just to protect the hotel so that if we don't hold the dinner they can claim on us ... as if wedding was held.. contract very very much side the hotel...

odae so yours is a bear one issit.. I haven't seen those leh.. or maybe it was at a glance I also can't remember.. I haven't choose also leh.. hmmm... strange..

Hi Bells,
Yup..the bear one. Mmm...we oso chose the favours oni wen our AD was nearing leh. Wen's ur AD huh? (not sure if I've asked b4 cos been quite forgetful lately

Hmmm...after having my hse for 2yrs...the whole pile of tiles still sitting inside my bomb shelter leh! Really dunno wat to do with them as they r still so new...guess juz throw (cos will nid the pl to put other things leh)???

I may have to give up my package with rendez........

anyone interested to take over pls let me know.

Hi Jo,
I have considered Amara also. but cos the coordinator reject all my requests and their rate is conisder quite high for that hotel so we gave them up. but their ballroom quite nice. dun like their seat cover though.

Hi Odae

Yah, I was a bit disappointed when he said no chocolates coz I simply love chocolates. heehee.

Hi Bells

Thanks, will look for Yvonne if i go to universal. But i doubt that they'll let us see other people's package. I find it much easier sourcing for hotels coz they are so open about what they can offer. They will just email me the quotation and I can sit down and do a thorough comparison. Will be so nice if bridal boutiques do the same.

You are right; the contract really sides with the hotel. I thot it was ridiculous that if i cancel the function within 9 months, the penalty is 50% of the total revenue and if cancel within 5 months, the penalty is 100%! I guess he won't change the policy for us, right? Some other hotels not so strict leh. When we held our company D&D, i think the penalty for cancellation is 100% only if we cancel within one month from the AD.

yypp, why are you giving up your package? I just paid my deposit leh. When is your AD? Mine is Sep 25. we were eyeing Sep 18 but think it's a very hot date coz it's the Mid-Autumn festival.