Rendezvous Hotel Singapore

hi princess/elin, i have sent you both the package.
the wedding show is on the 2nd oct and i will be going. have told Jason abt it.
they changed the florist? that means the ballroom deco will be different from the previous one? how's the setup for the 8th aug wedding? cramp? maybe cos of the number of tables? i quite like the previous ballroom deco, esp the decoration for the staircase leading up to the ballroom and the two "flower balls" hanging from the ceiling. hope that stays.

oh... I was being invited to the 8 Aug wedding!!!!
I must say it's very very nice...
It's not very cramp... I think that nite, my friend had around 30 tables...
Hmm... didn't really notice the staircase coz was concentrating on climbing the stairs... scare will fall down..
hee hee....

Hi yypp,

So sorry...now den saw ur posted qns to me... Nope..we've yet to go for food tasting as it'll be 2mths b4 the AD. My co-ordinator supposed to be Joyce but she's left. Den Jason supposed to take over but Danny was the oni one we met up wen we collected our wedding cards & hencforth, we liased directly with him nowadays.

The one u saw on 8th Aug was done up by the NEW florist as told by Danny. Muz agree with RynRyn that he's a nice guy! Mmm...Danny gave us a choice of working either with the old florist or the new one. So far, we've not made any decision yet.

Heard fr him that the new florist actually owns a garden whereas the old one does not & is doing it as a svc. Thus, the new one may haf more choices over the flowers, deco, etc...

hi odae, that means ur food tasting will be next mth. hmm...must update us on that

how does the wedding card looks like? i have not seen it at all..oh when we signed up with kelvin, he mentioned that they might be changing the wedding favour from chocolate to something else. anyone heard anything on that?

yah, me also looking forward to the wedding show.

Good morning yypp...

Ya..food tasting will be next mth..lookin forward to it though yet to finalise the date to do so 'cos now bit headache on who to bring along! hehe...

Mmm..as for the wedding cards ah?? I've sent them all for printing & will be pickin them up this Sat..so can't dun have any pic on hand to show u leh? Maybe can send u the pic after Sat if u're still keen??
Btw, there's choices of ivory or red colour ones...design wise is the same for both.

Ya...seems like there're a lot of wedding favours e.g. keychains, mini cups, for choice. Danny told us that more will be coming in, so will let us decide nearer to the date. Thus, dun have to have the same old choice - chocolate

moo,

The ballroom is pretty well lit and I wud say that it's more like a T-shape. Bad pt is that there is a pillar near to the left side. How many tables u lookin at? cos if not too many tables, the pillar may not pose much of a prob.

Hi odae, me still keen to see if its not too troublesome. if not just briefly describe will do, so long as not those obang type hehe..
yah haha...me also thinking when its my turn who to bring for the food tasting..hehhe.
oh they really have got the new wedding favours?? that is so wonderful!! cos we were thinking if they only give chocolates then maybe we will be getting our own ideas. now save all the trouble and money of cos.
hmm..i remember they will place the reserve table near to the pillar so that the guest will not be block. but i think the pillar is not really a problem.

Hi yypp,

Not troublesome lah but u need to wait till Sat, the earliest..

For description wise...it's pretty small in size, when folded into 2, it's square in shape and no bigger than A4 size. Then there'll be flowery prints on the main with a square box in the centre. In the square box, there'r cartoons of a couple in wedding dress. The ivory one will feature a couple in 'modern' wedding dress while the red one feature a couple in 'chena' wedding dress. Pretty cute! The back page will feature the map to the hotel while the inner pages are for our printings lor!

Ya...new wedding favours..but in case u dun like or wan extra then need to foot the extras leh.

As for me...bit worried that there may not be enough seatings even though if we take up the max 24tables as there's a sudden surge of pple to invite. Bit regretful but it's too late, thus need to do careful elimination

How abt urself? Wen's ur big day?

hi odae

i am looking into less than 25tables

y did u choose this hotel eventually? aren't there other better hotels?just curious

is it bcos of the gd service? 1 5star hotel really disappoints my fh n myself on the service provided...is your coordinator denny? is he gd?

hv u seen the bridal suite? is it v small?

i will be gg down to take a look at the real actual setup in sept, yeah! :P

when's your ad?mine will be in 2006...

Hi odae, thanks for the description. sounds kinda cute.
hmm...i think if they have favours other than chocolate, we will probably take it..hehe..can save cost mah unless the new favours not nice looking. probably they will show us during the wedding show.
oh gosh, how come so sudden having a surge in the guest list? must be very careful then. hmm..tot their max is 25?
mine will be mid next yr so still a long way from now. now relaxing..or shld i say a bit lazy to do anything..hehe..
hi moo, when is the wedding in sept? tot of taking a look at the work of this new florist if we were to be in town that day.

Hi moo & yypp,

Wow!! How I envy u gals who start early for ur wed. Hmmm...the reason y I chose Rendez is 'cos I oni started to hunt for my htl after CNY this yr though planned wedding date is Nov 04. Had wanted looked for other 5-star htls but all haf oni smaller ballrooms left, with capacity of oni up to abt 20tables. Thus, will be have been a real squeeze on the invitation so we gave them up.

The max rendez can hold is oni 24 tables. Then after a couple of mths we've settled with them, there's sudden surge on the no. of new colleagues in both mine & my hubby's co. For my case not so bad cos din have intention to invite all in the 1st pl but it's a pract in his co to invite all! Sigh!!

Oops sorry for my grandmother's story & yet to reply the followings...

Yup...we are currently liasing with Danny! He is good..I muz really say!

Also, anything u r unsure of, can definitely approach him without feeling embarrassed! Even my wine supplier also commended that he's someone who's very reliable & responsible!

Took a glance on one of the bridal suites b4..looks ok to me though not very big. They have 3 suites in all, 1 on 3rd flr, 2 on 11 flr. Have yet to chose mine.

I agree with odae...Denny is very approcable and comfortable to deal with.

Denny showed us quite a lot of wedding favours the last time we went down. He told us the couple on 8 Aug chose the mini mug (with coffee, tea or me printed on it) and in addition bought another favour (a small bear) at $1/pcs from them to put the bear into the mini mug. It was really cute...

As for the bridal suite. I personnally feel it's a bit small and dark. And I don't like the colour of the bedsheet...dark brown...doesn't give me a warm feeling...my FH said I crazy, bother over such a small detail..heehee...

I feedback to Denny on the bedsheet and he said nothing he can do about it. He agree the room has a "corporate" feeling. He also said the Director of Sales did commented it feels cold when he enters the room. Denny said since the upper management is aware of the problem, probably they'll do something about it. But no gaurantee that it will be done before the our wedding which is next yr...

As for the new florist, me and FH went down to her shop. She is a very nice lady with quite morden ideas in terms of deco. Sometimes a bit too morden for me...heehee...She allows you to choose whatever colour of rose and stands that you fancy if you make a trip to her shop personnally.
Very flexible and although I've not been to other florist, I think her prices are pretty reasonable if you decide to add, for example lily on top of the rose and orchids to the deco. You can also choose the colour of the "curtain" on the stage, on the staricase, etc. The major plus for her is you really can customize the deco to your liking
She will give advice but will also respect your decision

Hope all these are helpful!

Hi girls...

We've taken some shots of the ballroom setting when we popped by on 08 Aug. Anyone interested, pls leave ur email add here..

Limy..Wow!!! ur wed is next yr & yet u've ordi visited the florist??? I've yet to visit them leh...hehee...so not to even mention how we wan the set-up on AD to be..

odae...me too. [email protected]
wah Danny really sounds great to work with. i dunno who will be handling my wedding after my co-ordinator left but spoken to jason cos i called up and ask who took over kelvin and they put me to him. hmm..wonder if we can choose to work with Danny.
the bear in the mini cup sounds cute. seems like this new florist is good, at least u will have choice over the deco.

Hi Jasline & yypp...

Pics in ur mailbox!

yypp,

I'm oso not too sure if Danny will be following up with me till my AD, cos we were being assigned to Jason too (but have not met him till date). Hopefully he does!

hi odae, thanks! seems much or less the same as the previous florist hehe..
hopefully Danny as our co-ordinator..

hi all *wave*

wow! quite happy to know this thread is alive again :P

odae, can i have c e pic pls? tnx

have all of u chosen your bridal package? if not, there is a malaysia bridal show in eden hotel from 17 - 19/09/04, transport is provided from lavender mrt to eden hotel, is a 2way transport. more details will be out next wk

i hope i can go, anyone interested to take up a jb package? it can be a photography package too. heard there will be furniture shops, geomancers etc also.

anyone of u tot of getting jb furniture?

U sure u want to buy furniture from JB? If I am not wrong, you need to pay tax. It's very hassle! What if the furniture not in good condition during delivery or even after delivery. It is very hard to get them to check/repair. Please think twice.

Hi yypp,

Mmm...if u haf both the old & new set-up pics together..u will notice the diff

Danny has the old set-up pics..I'd requested him to email me those pics but unfortunately, there's some probs with their network so till date, din manage to get the pics fr him.

Hi odae
thanks for the pic. so when ur AD.
The new setting look nice compare 2 the old one.
Me too go no idea who will be handling my wedding after my co-ordinator left but spoken to Sharon cos i called up rearding the guest book.

Hi Odae,

Can I take a look at the pics too? Email add: [email protected] Thanks!

I went down to the florist cos Denny couldn't show us pics of the new setup and my FH finds the old florsit's deco a bit old fashion...
The deco of the ballroom is one of the deciding factors in choosing our venue...so we made a trip down specially to see what we'll be getting if we sign up with Hotel Rend.

Hi Jasline..my AD will b 13 Nov
so it's less than 3mths fr now yet it seems that not much preparation is being done
Wen's urs??

Hmmm..wat I like abt the new florist is the way they deco the staircase as compared to wat I've saw previously (done by old one).

Was Joyce ur ex co-ord too?

Limy,

U got mail...

So u've yet to set ur mind on ur venue?

Harlow moo..

Hmmm...somehow got the feeling like nothing much to prepare leh..

Had taken our PS & selected the pics as well..

Next in line will be to go for food tasting & get the right clothes for bridesmaid & bestman... prepare the guestlist & wedding invites?

& oso, heard fr my mum that got to get some of the traditional items required for AD...but not now as it is the 7th mth plus buy too early will oni 'take-up' space at home..so wait till the date is nearer lor..

Other than that...think not much left ordi la hor??

Hi odae,

Thanks for the pics!

Heehee...I also can't think of wht else you need to do...

Ya...me still haven't really decide my venue...
Considering between Rendezvous and Traders...
I worry about Rend's food. So far comments heard are mostly negative lor...
As for Traders, my FH don't quite like the function room. Says it looks more like a classroom. As for the deco, hoping we can arrange something more with the florist...

Any comments or advice?

hi odae

hope to hear your comments on your food tasting

i didn't know must get the clothes for our bridesmaid n bestman...how to get their clothes huh? is it a surprise for them? we pay iz?

hi limy

r u looking for small no oftables, that's why u are deciding bet rend vs traders? mine also small no of tables...most likely traders will be out as it is a bit out of way for those who did not drive + find that it is pretty for businesses or functions only...just personal comments, haven't seen the setup of the function room though...just my 2cents worth ;)
yes, must rem to send your cards for printing. hv u sourcced ar? they said t-dragon is not bad..

Will it be beneficial to wait till Show on 2nd October is one is keen on hotel banquet? More perks then, you all think?

Hello odae
my in 19 Dec. are u taking their invitation card? T'm abit worry they may not put up the staircase deco for my AD cos they have x'mas decor along the staircase and joyce said they can't remove the big gold ribbon..
Have u take ur PS

Hi moo...

Ya...me looking at around 150-160 people, so deciding between rend and traders.

Actually we have more or less decide to go for traders. Partially cos feedbacks from friends about the food are very positive. The 4 different coordinators we talked to are all very professional, approchable and friendly. Just went to see the deco for function room today, simple and not bad. Heard they having new themes in addition to the only 2 now. And the bridal suite is great! Opps...think I a bit too carried away....

Don't worry moo, I understand everyone has different concerns and priorities
As mentioned in prev. message, Rend has it's pros too. Hope u'll find one that suits your needs and liking too! :D

Harlow yypp,

U got mail!

Hi moo,

Hmmm...isn't it the norm to get the bridesmaid & bestman the garments or at least give them ang pow to get the clothes? cos that's wat I've learned fr my frens. As for the other 'bros' & 'sis', clothes will be on their own.. But well, my BS pkg incl rental of jacket & gown for them so juz haf to get them there to choose..

Hi Jasline...

so ur big day is not far away fr mine ya?? Haf u collected their invites or u dun intend to? Yup...I took their invites & ordi got them printed!
Huh?? Where's that big gold ribbon u mentioned located? I've never noticed them leh... Dun worry too much lah..u rem?? Joyce has left! Hmmm...nearing x'mas period is oso not a bad idea cos they usually haf some 'calm, soothing' deco & that may enhance the atmosphere??

& yup..haf taken my PS but quite a long way before collection of the albums...u?

Hi limy,

It's good that u've made up ur mind cos that means 1 major load off ur mind...wen do u plan to hold ur AD?

Hmmm...actually Traders was oso on my list but too bad....they can't meet my minimum cos the gallery was ordi booked & oni left with the smaller function rm. But I muz agree that I dun quite like the outlook of the function rm which looks more like meeting rm...& the foyer outside it was very small & had to walk pass the escalator before 'finding' it..(juz my personal view though) However, wat capture me of Traders was the view upon entering the main lobby..& it's under shangri-la's gp heehee..

Do keep us posted of ur final decision ya??

Hi odae,

Ya! I totally agree with you!! The main lobby and the fact it's under shangri-la group captured me too! Hahah...
High Five!

We tentatively booked Oct 2005 to hold our banquet. Later realise it's a Sat and afraid pple might stay longer and drink more as compared to a sunday event... So we very likely change date to next prefered date in Nov 2005.

I'm really glad one burden off our mind. :D
Up next is PS...sigh...another headache...but I think it's not as bad as finding a venue for banquet ba...

Hi Elin,

I would suggest you talk to Rend's coordinator before the wedding show and if you are lucky, they might offer you an invitation to the 2nd Oct wedding show plus allow you to choose to take either 2004 or 2005 package.

Is there is difference between 2004 and 2005 package, Limy? I am also considering ren. as a venue but with the details I have at the moment, both years package look the same leh? Quite confused lor ... can help?

halo odae, oops .. accidentally deleted ur mail.. izit appropriate to mail those pics to me agn.. sori.. [email protected]

hi Elin, most prob will sign up durin e wedding show if cfm, more perks .. cheers..

hi odae
No I didn't use their invites.
As for the gold ribbon, they actually tied along the staircase that going up the ballroom during x'mas period last year.
cheer

Hi Tanya,

Me didn't see the 2005 package before, so can't help u much on that.

What I got to know from Denny was if they invite you their wedding show and if you decide to book your banquet with them that day, he can allow you to choose between 2004 and 2005 package depending on whichever you prefer. If you go there on your own, you can only take the 05 one.

Wedding shows usually offer more peaks cos they need to justify for the increase in pricing...

Did they increase the price for '05 package? If not, then it's more worth waiting for the wedding show since you won't lose out on anything...
Plus got lucky draw too... :D

If they do, then I suggest you talk to the coordinators b4 the show and tell them u keen on signing with them but would like to attend the show to see what additional perks they offering...which u might prefer over the '04 one.

That was what we got (i.e. an invite to the wedding show with option to choose 04 or 05) the last time we met up with Denny...

Hope this is helpful...

Hi RynRyn,

Haf sent u the pics. Hope u got it this time

Jasline,

U dun like their cards??? Haf u printed urs?

oh no! Price increase? *sigh* then better sign with 04 package then? bec perks usu things like corkage waiver and free flow beer type things only rite?

Hello odae

i found the card abit malay style lor...
have not do anything abt thecard yet, i sure what colour to use..

Hi Elin,

not sure wht additional perks they might give during the show...their '04 package to me is quite complete...the package already have free flow beer & wavier of hard liquor corkage...but heard the lucky draw might win you a free gown...

hi limy, yes the 04 package seems not bad but it'd be best is if the food tasting can be more pple lor ... from all the brides and grooms here, it seems that danny's the man to talk to

hi odae, can you send me the photos too
thanks so much!