Removal of underarm hair

hi ladies, i went thro 3 session of under arm hair removal with summit but the hair seems still growing leh. It is not like wat u gals said "only a few strand of hair after 3rd treatment". Why like that huh? When the hair stop growing?

Hi LiLacz,

I have never applied anti-perspirant before, so i can't answer your question.

Hi jumbo,

I believe it depends on individual's hair growth, some have finer hair, some thicker... My initial hair was quite thick due to many years of plucking and shaving.. After 2 or 3 sessions, the hair regrowth become finer n finer.

Of cos it did not disappear totally, cos the hair is so fine that it's not obvious at all. But being vain, i went for my 5th session last week, hoping to get rid of the fine hair too...

LiLacz,
What I learn from the various posting is that dark patches occur due to ingrown hair. This problem would be solved once the hair root is removed i.e by IPL. I'm unable to comment cos I'm yet to try.

For those who has done IPL, since the session is one month apart, what do you do about the hair growth in between the treatment period?

Hi LiLacz,
You should shave the hair in between the treatment. According to Sarah, she said strictly no plucking. I did not ask her why...

Hi Cinderella,
She's not a doc but an aesthetician.

IPL Beauty Secrets
#03-05 Far East Shopping Centre
(between Wheelock Place and Hilton Hotel)
Sarah - 9382 1247 (hp)

Hi wasabi,

Is it ok for us to call Sarah direct on her hp or should we make appointment by calling the salon's number?It will be good if she dont mind us calling her direct so we can make sure she is the one doing for us instead of a guy...

Hi Northgal,

Have you done yours?How was it?

northgal & lilacz - so can i know how u find hair removal by Sarah? Are u happy with the results? I am also planning to remove armpit hair by Sarah but want to find out whether really effective or not? Thks.

Go for Sarah,highly recommended!went to her for my brazilian IPL,is a little painful,but trust me,is worth trying.....,I got hooked!My armpit is hairless now,and all thanks to IPL.

Beautyseet, i went to her once, then subsequently no time to go...been thinking of going again. Girls, those of you who have went for IPL, how many sessions did u take to be hairless?I know for diff ppl require diff no of sessions. JUst wondering whats the average...very impatient if require several sessions.

hi lilacz.. thanks thanks for replying. Hmm. I saw kn's reply on my posting in another thread and also recommended sarah. I think i will try her out... much cheaper than others. I think generally minimum is 3 times.

hi everyone, woah... i have reading this thread.. gals really have such probs when one is hairy ah... hai.. me too. have dark ugly armpits...

seems like sarah's IPL is not bad, may i know how frequent do we have to go? every 2 weeks?? and is it permanent removal of AP hair??

I WILL NOT go to sarah ever again!
Have you ever made an appointment with your beautician and was late for 5mins and she said she cant do for you cuz u are not on time?????She said she started with another customer since im late, and this customer will take her 2 hours!Its a mere 5 mins and you start on a 2hr appointment?What kind of logic is that?And since that customer is there during my appointment time, either Sarah booked us at the same time or the customer is there early. I just dont get it why she can push away a business like that. I find it very rude. Moreover, she confirmed with me the appointment in the morning, she DID NOT ever mention that if we did not keep to our appointment time she will not service us. This is really ridiculous. I made a trip down to Orchard just to go to her, and she rejected me. This is the WORSE customer service i have ever received. How can ppl do business like that!!!!!!!!!!
Maybe this forum has brought about alot more business for her so she behave like that now.Why cant ppl just rem how they started out?When their business pick up, does their attitude have to change?!?!?!!?I am so so so so mad!And she did not even apologise to me!

Cool down, Lilacz! Yeah, i agree dat when one becomes popular, they tend to become more "tao". Maybe u shld juz tell her off on the spot so she will realise her mistake.

Her attitude is a 360 degrees change lor.First time when i went there i was very happy with her, although she kept talking bad about other salon, abit irritated.This time round really unforgivable. Will never ever step foot in her shop again.To think so many ppl commended her here, yet she gives such lousy service....URGH!

Wah Lilacz,do cool down.I understand your predicament.Imaging wasting your time and $$ just to rush down for the appt which ends up nothing.Her case is really quite ridiculous.5 mins and she did for another appt.I must "salute "her

hi girls! saw tis & thot itz interesting.

I did mine at Beauty Express, VPL (new generation of IPL i was told...). $888 for 4 sessions of both AP. $2588 for upper lips 12 sessions. but... hair still around leh...

Dun mention it,Lilacz.Do feel free to share your views anytime..It's good to let the rest know in case such thing happens to another poor 'victim'again..

I just went to Strip @ Wheelock Place for my first brazilian IPL...not sure of the results yet but it sure feels good to be soooo clean...the people there are very nice too...

I believe there must be another place that offer such service at good price. Just that many of us come in here to look for recommendations, thus all go to the same person. Anyone with other recommendations pls share ok?
Poppie, u r so courages!I dont dare to do brazilian wax manz...ouch!

Hi Beauty Seet, there is a current promo that offers 1st time trial @ $100.

For underarm ipl, 1st time trial is $50 (i think). I just signed up for the package - $810 for 6 sessions!

If you take two ipl packages, there is further 10% discount...something like that

LiLacz, dun worrie, brazilian ipl is not that pain..the therapist will use a rod to numb the skin first before zapping..if the therapist numb the skin with the rod long enough, the zapping will not be painful

LiLacz, maybe u can try Strip...the people there are ok..at least for my first visit there...my therapist is very nice....answered all my funny queries...im not sure how other places are like, but strip's turnover is very quick (they have many customers and may make you feel a bit like factory line)- u enter, do ipl or wax, done and go..but ambience and attentiveness of the therapist is ok though

hi poppie, thks. I juz called to make an appoinmt. The receptionist said that they may be changing the current promo soon (waiting for mgt to come back fr overseas or something). So i thot better grab the deal while it is still on.

Okie, thks again.

Poppie, u sign up for both ipl and brazilian waxing package? If i just wan to do underarm IPL, how much is it? Do they use those cream or use ice to apply to your underarm before zapping?I heard some places use ice, which is not effective at all.The pain will be *&*^%&%$%#

Beautyseet, do share your experience ok!When r u going?

Beauty Seet, how did the session go? Hope it went well

LiLacz, i signed up for both brazilian & underarm ipl...cost 2200+...ouch...my pocket hurts..Strip uses some metal thing to numb the skin...dunno wat exactly it is..will ask my therapist the next time..but the pain level is ok as long as the therapist zaps after the skin is numb enough..i got ZzzzAPPED first 2 times! - felt like small electric shocks! :P then my therapist asked me to tell her when my skin feels numb..then she will zap..and it was better..haha

but if you r doing underarm IPL, i think you dun hv to worrie..not pain at all...brazilian might be little more pain cos the area is more sensitive..hope this helps

Poppie, only using some metal thingy? Dont use any gel or cream? I really wonder whats that metal thing then, cuz that time the person applied a kind go cold gel before she zaps.

hi poppie and Lilacz, i am going for both underarm and brazilian ipl later today (want to enjoy first-time price) and will feedback soon... I hope not to sign up any package (scared i might be tempted tho')...trying to save $ for working on my face which i thot wld be most obvious..heehee.

forgot to mention something. My fiance said that according to old family beliefs, there was a "myth" that a woman with no hair there is a bad sign.... something like may be a jinx (curse) to the husband ... That scares me lots and i was hesitating abt doing Brazilian for quite a while (frankly). But i figured out that if so many gals have tried Brazilian, I cld dismiss this as baseless... heeheehee. However, having said dat, i still feel a little impeded.. Any reassurance, gals?

poppie & Lilacz, I am back! Quite happy with the experience. Big THANKS to poppie for letting me know abt the first-time trial thingy! Feel that it is worth it!

Lilacz, i asked the beautician for u abt the gel thingy. She said they used to have the cooling gel but feedback was that the metal cold rod is more effective (and yes, it works). Overall, i find that it is not painful at all.

Beautyseet, congrats!U must be feeling very "sexy" now!hehehe.Wah sounds very convincing since both of you said its not painful at all...somemore the trial price is very cheap. But can i dont sign on the package?Cuz i heard some ppl just need 3 sessions to be hairless. So if we sign up for 6, the rest of the sessions very wasted.

Hi poppie,

How long does an underarm IPL session last?

Also, what is tel # of Strip at Wheelock(i can only find # for Holland V)?

Beutyseek and poppie, so how long later r u going back to do your 2nd session?I think i will go for the underarm one.Did they tell you most ppl take how many sessions to be totally clean? Can give me the number to call?Thanks!

Beauty Seet, good to hear that you enjoyed your session at Strip!

tobebride, the underarm IPL session will not take more than 15min...it is a very fast affair. The tel no is 68361200 (wheelock) 64677219 (Holland V)

Lilacz, the IPL sessions are done every weeks. Strip has a package of 6 sessions (i think it is very ex to do single sessions there). The therapist said that most people should be able to remove all the underarm hair in 6 sessions, but it really depends on individuals. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that mine will be done in 6 sessions!

LiLacz, if you are worried about wasting the sessions if you sign up a package, you can wait till I finish my 3 seesion. I can let you know the outcome then, but that will take another 3 months..

I understand where you are coming from..some people in this forum removed all the hair in 3/4 sessions..esp at Summit Clinic...maybe the clinic is using a more powerful machine? not sure...but I did regret a bit on signing up the package after reading what some gals have posted here..why dun u try both strip and summit and see which is better?

Hi lilacz and poppie, i have an IDEA!!! Poppie, since you kinda regret signing package coz mebbe too many for u, u can consider strip the package and "sell" it to us at individual sessions if u dun need anymore... (must check with Strip to see if they allow transfer)...but of coz, then lilacz and me will have to wait. But we can keep in touch and see how as we go along the process, rite? Meanwhile, i think me and lilacz can source around and also try other places... so as not to have too long gap between the Ipl sessions (otherwise not effective liao).

For me, i tried 2 times underarm ipl already (incl the one at Strip), so far v little hair left... so i v happy! But as for brazilian, the one at strip is the ONLY one time i tried and i notice still got a fair number of stubs leh.. think definitely need one/two more since hair there thicker (now i think it is so much more comfy and cleaner to have brazilian done!)

That's a great idea, beautyseet! but first, I need to check with strip...

LiLacz, I made a typo mistake in my previous reply...I meant to say the IPL sessions are done every 6 weeks, not every week...haha!

poppie, thats why i was like "wow, every week?Then can get desired results fast man!"haha.

Beautyseek, you r very lucky. 2 sessions only can see results already.Some ppl went for more, still growing...maybe you are the kind who only needs 3 or 4 sessions to get all the hair under control.Good luck!

I cannot tahan already, just plucked my underarm yesterday!I thought of just shaving it while i source for a place to do IPL...but since plucked liao, think have to wait some time before i do IPL, if not cannot capture the hair since roots are gone.I will need more sessions in that case.Abit regret.hehe

Lilacz, u can call Strip and check. I also purposely kept some hair underarm the last time i went Strip but the gal shaved them off before she started the ipl, so mebbe actually dun need to keep hair. I am not sure. Keep us posted on ur progress huh...