Removal of underarm hair

Hi apple,

no need to keep the hair long just be sure not to wax it or use any other methods which removes the roots prior to seeing doctor. This is because the laser treatment needs the black colour roots to absorb the laser, so that the effect is better.

The doctor will shave the hair for you before proceeding with the treatment.

quite a dumb question but what should we wear when we go for the treatment and how long does it take for the whole process?

I have just called to make an appointment
next tue...wonder if it works for ingrown hair?
And by the way, is the doctor a male or female?

do they do hair removal of bikini line?
this laser thing, is it permanently no hair?
how many times must we do for permanent hair removal?

the doctor is a male. The whole process of hair removal for underarms takes about 15 mins but prior to that he will answer all questions you have about the treatment. So prob takes about 30 mins or more in all.

You can wear a T shirt or any outfit which does not hinder the process.

According to the doctor, there is no side effect. But during the process you may feel a bit pain...like ant bites and smell something burning.

It prob takes about 2 - 4 times, depending on individuals' hair growth. I have not gone for my second round yet so cannot comment much. But I am quite satisfied with the result for first round.

Is this IPL or just plain laser treatment? quite confused leh? Can i have the address of evergreen? i've tried IPL in yishun at $150 but it's not that painful as what u gals described...and i was told that i can pluck my hair but just let it grow before the next visit for the doc to check the regrowth..me need to go back every two mths for a period of 3-5 times only...it's also known for lightening the armpit area too?
Can anyone elaborate more about Evergreen laser process? isit the same as IPL?

Hi Long hair,

Just curious, after the 1st treatment, are there any sores or side effects on the underarm??

So, what is the interval period between the 1st and 2nd appointment? Do you pay $100 in full on your 1st visit??

Hope to hear from you soon!

I don't think it is the same as IPL, cause the doctor mentioned that there are several types of treatment, and he is using laser. The doc mentioned he can use the same laser for mole removal as well.

The interval between my last visit and the next one is about 1 month. After treatment will look a bit red but it's fine after a while.

$100.00 is paid in full on first visit after treatment.

Went last nite ... its laser ... quite painful dur9 the process .... but today am okie liao ... hope that its effective ...

Lala>> Can share the address for the Yishun Clinic for the IPL?

IPL is one of the newer technology isit? Heard its not as painful and more effective

I would like to find out the results from those has visited Evergreen for hair removal treatment. I was thinking to call and make appt with them too. Do they accept Nets or we need to pay cash?

After the process, can we use any deodorant/anti-perspirant on our underarms?

Cozz I sweat alot so really need to use it esp when I am doing sales and really ugly to have a 'patch' on my clothes..

Does anyone has any idea? Thanks

I just called Evergreen a few days back ... seem like the machine will oni be there from 17 dec to 19 dec and this is the last time that the clinic will be renting the machine ....

It was very effective for the 1st few weeks but after I missed 1 treatment ... it started to grow at the normal speed again .... guess have to look for other clinic with such service ...

Anyone with any recommendation??

Hi Appletree,

How long does the hair last after your 1st treatment? Do they accept only cash or they can accept Nets too? After the 1st treatment, will there any inconvenience caused?

For me, I went for 2 treatments, it appears that after the second treatment, result is not very good. (Result was quite good after the first treatment and there was very little hair left.) I have not been going back for further treatments since I have budgeted myself $200.00 for this.

Now the hair have grown back as per normal, i really wonder whether it's because I've not been going back for treatments. Can anyone share your experience?

Hi ST,

Can pay by NETS ... they do not accept credit card thats all ... no incovi except for the little pain you will experience ...

Hi Long Hair,

Am thinking of looking around for other options ... mine seem like growing even faster than the last time ... sheese ... but I really love the convi after the 1st treatment ... can just wear anything I like without having to think twice ....

Hi Longhair and Appletree,

the second time treatment is more painful than the 1st time...but the regrowth is finer than the 1st time..

too bad,the machine is not coming in again...cos thinkg of doing for the legs...

Appletree,
do keep us posted if u found other options,k?
thanks..

Since the machine is not coming to Evergreen anymore, the doctor said Changi General Hospital also has this treatment, anyone tried before?

ST

u can find the same machine @ summit medical clinic @ jurong east
per session is @ $100
max u need 3 sessions 2 clear the AP hair

Anyone knows abt this machine at East side. Me staying at Eunos, as such is not convenience to travel to Jurong.

I also went to Evergreen to do my underarms and upper lips removal of hair. But only went there 2 times. It seems tat they haven't been calling me for the 3rd time. My hair has grown to normal now. Perhaps it's cos I didn't go back there every month to do the laser treatment???

They didn't call you becos the machine is not coming in to them anymore, that's why we need to look for alternative.

i have really bad armpit because i've been plucking the hairs out myself for several years. result - ingrown hair and uneven skin (especially when there's the occasional pimple there.) any recommendations for permanent armpit hair removal that's not too pricey? also considering bikini line hair removal if available at the same place. Want to resolve this asap since my wedding is in 4 months.

also, i read something about lightening the armpit in one of the posts above... just wondering, what does lightening do?

thanks! =)

Hi Bochup

i hv d same probs wif u, oso pluck hairs til ingrown hair & uneven skin, & bcz of ingrown hair, when i lift up my hand, can c dark black things, oso some marks left when trying 2 pluck ingrown hair.

yes thr's armpit bleaching, jz knew abt it recently fr another forum, ASK EXPERT... Karen thread.

Hi Yunn & Bochup,

Have anyone of u tried epilator? Am thinking of getting one or going 4 IPL.

Would suggest to get bikini line done by practitioner cos they wouldn't want to lose their professional membership, compared to e beauty salon where several complaints have been made against ineffective facial n slimming.

Hi northgal

i nvr tried epilator b4, heard tt will lead 2 dark armpit.

IPL? v dangerous 1, mz check properly whether they'r profession, if not, get burnt & sensitive skin.

hi yunn,
wah then how u resolve yr armpit problem? =)

northgal,
i haven't tried anything at all. still searching for an answer. sigh...

I heard that waxing is a better alternative than plucking, but you must wait for the hair to grow till at least 1cm to do waxing, its quite unsightly when its so long right...also duno how.I have been plucking too, and underarm is not smooth.Wonder if bleaching will make that area looks "cleaner".

Hi northgal,

I have used epilator before but i dun find it very effective. The hair growth is rather prickly. I dun recommend it...

I have also tried IPL to get rid of my armpit hair not long ago, and after abt 4 sessions they are gone permanently. You should try it too..

Hi northgal,

I have been using an epilator for many years now and I am quite happy with it. In the beginning the hair may grow back quite quickly so you may have to use it twice a week but now, I only have to use it maybe once a week and the hair is much finer and there is less regrowth.

To try and avoid the 'black' armpit problem just use a loofah or exfoliator in the shower to rub your armpits. This will also lessen the likelihood of getting ingrown hairs. Hope that helps.

Hi wasabi,
How much did u pay for your armpit n where did u get it done? I inquire from one beauty salon, they r charging abt $800 for 6 sessions.

Giggles,
which particular brand n model r u using? e new model by Braun n Philip cost abt $120. Given this price, I would find IPL more cost effective in the long term.

Hi northgal,

I had been "cheated" at a well known beauty salon and spent 1K ++ for 6 sessions of IPL but no results at all.

Then from the SB forum here, I got to know abt the Summit clinic at Jurong East, only $100 for 1 session. Great results, so I continued my IPL sessions at Far East Shopping Centre, also $100 per session.

At both places I was attended by the same female aesthetician (correct spelling?) who just opened a new IPL salon there and working part time at Summit. I chose to go Fast East instead of Jurong because it's near my working place, but both produce equally good results.

Hi wasabi,
I am very keen to go to e one at Far East, can give me e contact? e whole process is done by e female aesthe? Thought that e one who did it in Summit is a man??

Hi Bochup

my prob still there cz recently jz got 2 knw 'armpit bleaching' fr Karen's Goh thread so may find out soon. mz ask my beautician abt it. but then i think i try scrubbing 1st c any improvement, if no, then oni go ahead 2 bleaching 1. no $$$, hehe!

The one who did IPL for me is Sarah, she's a aesthetician but not a doctor. When she's not on duty at Summit, then the male doctor will perform the IPL.

Actually i prefer female to do for me, cos i find it rather embarrasing if it's done by a man..

You can call Sarah at 93821247 to make appt. Her salon is at #03-05 Far East Shopping Centre, it's the one near Wheelock Place, not Goodwood Park Hotel.

tks wasabi, wld definitely give it a try. btw, I just shaved 2 days ago. Shd I wait till certain length b4 I visit her?

Anyone tried IPL on upper lip n bikini line? We gal really vain n troublesome hor.

I'm guess you need to wait till certain length, cos she might need to know your hair growth pattern before starting the IPL process. Anyway u better find out more details from Sarah as i'm no expert..

You are not the only vain gal here.. me too, very vain.. hahaha... I hv also tried IPL on upper lip, bikini and lower legs. But upper lips results is not good for me so far, not sure why...

I hv only tried once for bikini line, good results, very sexy... but i can't stand the pain during the IPL process, as the bikini area is very sensitive. So i hv decided not to continue the sessions now.

Hi northgal,

I just bought a new one earlier this year but it was an older model. I got the Phillips one that has the massager attachment as well as a special cap to use the epilator for your underarms. I think the one you are talking about is the Satin ice. I paid $70 and am very happy with it. It is much better than my previous one.

By the way you may find it is a bit painful the first few times you use it but I am used to it now. When I let my sister borrow my epilator she said the massager really eases the pain. (And she has very low tolerance for pain, so I think the massager is a good investment). The one I bought also comes with a small loofah

wasabi,
Err..bikini line pain har, am keen 2 get it done before wedding nite leh..can't imagine myself screaming during e process.

Hi wasabi,

Is the IPL process for underarm painful?I heard from my friend she can hardly close her armpit after the session cuz its so painful...and u said that after 4 sessions your underarm hair is gone permanently, so thats when u can stop going?

woh, sounds painful to me... i went for an AP removal session at bioskin...wah...the process of using the machine to "burn" the AP roots is not painful, but putting the ice to numb it is v v v painful...i don't dare to do it again after that one time...but i really need to get rid of it too...also the black patches
163761.gif

cinderella,
I presume that you sign up a package, it will be wasted if you don't finish the course. How much did you pay for it? The more I want to go to clinic now cos I pay only when I go, no need to sign up a package.

Hi northgal,

Are u going for the one wasabi went to?So its per session, no need to sign up package?In that case its good.Just like Wasabi, after 4 sessions no more hair growth can stop going.More flexible.Did they advise you on any side effects?For eg cannot do it if pregnant?

Will wait for your update.Good luck!

LiLacz,
yup, I am planning to go to the one at Far East which wasabi recommended, likely to be within this few weeks. It sounds good cos no package required and the fee is affordable. I have no idea about whether can do it if pregnant or not. Are u preganant?

Hi Lilacz

Before the IPL process, they will apply some cold gel on the armpit. This will somehow numb the area, so you will feel less pain. NEVER never trust those beautician who just rub ICE over the armpit, cos i encountered this before too at a reputable beauty salon.

According to Sarah (at Far East) and the doctor at Summit, the cold gel not only numbs the armpit, it can also work like a light transmitter to kill the hair roots more effectively. This cold gel is very expensively, that why a lot of beauticians wants to cut cost by using ice only.

Overall, I don't really feel any pain on my armpits. Only very cold, that's all....

I got no idea abt any side effects for pregnant ladies, you might want to check with Sarah or Summit Clinic.

hi northgal,i nearly want to sign up package, paid a deposit of $350, after that thought over, then told them i don't want to continue..so i can go for the different treatment that i want till i use up the $350 lor..so this AP treatment was one of the treatment i tried...luckily never sign up the whole package...otherwise regret...
hi wasabi, yours sound good leh...no pain...i am interested to try also

Hi Northgal,

No lah im not pregnant.Im just worried what if im pregnant halfway through the process, will it affect the baby.Guess i will check with the clinic.I wanted to try underarm bleaching initially.Have some dark patches that may have come from years of plucking.Wonder if IPL helps in this area too?

Hi Wasabi,

Thanks for the information.Glad to know its not a very painful process to go through.
Do u still glide on some anti-perspirant after the procedure?Can we do that?Just wondering if the underarm will be sensitive after IPL.