Regent Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter happy sunny
  • Start date Start date

Hi Frances,

yup.. they will provide the seat cover FOC for all chairs and alternate special seat covers for lunch package as well. It's not included inside, so you got to negotiate for it

Hi Tougei,

Your "summer jazz" theme sounds really nice
Looking forward to see your photos.

I've been MIA here awhile as got a lot of wedding prep elsewhere... Just bought my house. So 1 less thing to settle now.

But haven't book the banquet in Regent yet...so awaiting approval from in-laws side.

Hope things go well and we will book the lunch package.

Would like to find out which printers did you girls go to for your inserts?
Was considering Lil-art but slightly ex as compared to others. Any comments?

Hi gals.

Just had my wedding on 1 july at Regent. I'm on HM now so cant write alot but one thing is that Sunil and the other coordinator is GREAT. quite alot of things happened on my AD - my BIL got into car accident just before dinner (luckily not hurt), receptionists were caught in jam along Orchard, bubble guns not working etc etc... but Sunil and my hubby's brothers held the fort. So still went ok.

The food and deco had great comments. They pre-freeze the ice cream for my western dessert and they were still frozen when served. Not a easy feat for almost 400 desserts. The bubble machine effect was very well received too

Hi yingal, I used lil-art for my printing. They are not really more expensive than the rest and their service is also fantastic. I had to rush out my inserts cos' we were late in sending our order form and yet had to rush to send out the invites since hubby going overseas. They were so so helpful and accomodating that I was totally impressed. No mistakes with the wordings AT ALL. We had everything done pat. We took the black and red cards. for the black ones, we didnæt want to use the cream inserts and they changed it to a maroon one for us. It looked great against the black and not so 'inauspicious'. Highly recommend Lil-art. I called up the other cheaper printers before and the service cant be compared. They seemed to pluck the prices from the air when I asked so I didn't trust them.

Hi Tougei,

Glad to hear you had a great wedding!
Is your a dinner or lunch banquet? Do share with us your photos yeah?

Actually, my FH and I still can't decided which to book. I'm the "fickle-minded" one.... I like Regent lunch banquet and a outdoor wedding at Singapore Arts musuem.... can't make up my mind on which one to choose....

Anyone can give me comments on these 2 locations?

hallo tougei! great to hear from you, hehe, your photo portrait very nice *wink* enjoying yourself on honeymoon? Woah, next one is me liao, how exciting. your BIL got into accident? wah, really anything can go wrong on your wedding day, but great that everything went well in the end.

i called Lil art before too. the person who picks up the phone is very well mannered. the prices are abit steep, but somehow, they gives me the assurance that they are competent.

yingal, if you are not rushing for time, you can consider going to johor to print. at city square, there are three printers. very good price.

hallo precious thoughts, i know of someone who had a lunch banquet at Regent. quite interesting too. outdoor wedding, when is your date? might rain

Hi Huiling,

I think I will settle for regent. I'm looking at 19 March 2006 luncheon.

I'm also interested in the chocolate fondue thing or a desserts buffet as I am a dessert crazy person ... how much did you pay for yours?

When's your AD?

Hi gals, I also signed up my package with Regent Hotel. AD falls on the 29th Sept 05. Have not made up my mind if I am to choose the Jazz theme or the chinois theme. Also did any one of you manage to negotiate for a 10 pax food tasting? Cos my package only consists of 6 pax.

Any advise/suggestions?

My AD will be in MAr06...anyone has any banquet packages eg lucheon/dinner/outdoor packages to share?
Hi preciousthoughts
mind sharing your package with me?

Hi everybody

My AD is on 27 Sep 05 and my coordinator in Regent is Evelyn.

Looking forward and feeling excited as the day draws nearer..Let's hope everything turn out fine...

Feel free to share any pointers and tips

Hi Cheryl,
You AD coming soon...yet to decide onthe theme??
Me AD 06 Nov..already decided on the jazz theme liao.. kiasu!! hehe.. :p my coordinator is Ginny

hallo preciousthoughts, choc fondue cost $15 per pax. or was it $12 per pax? Can't remember leh. so you have decided on regent! great! when is your AD? chosen your BS yet?

hallo cheryl cheng, I have seen the chinois theme before, very nice and unique. Jazz theme, maybe you can ask tougei. hers seemed unique, summer jazz?

hallo elson tan! are you working as archaeologist? your date is so near! three months more. what is your theme?

jus went to the wedding workshop today at Regent...quite like the traquility theme they have for 2006...my AD will be in Mar06...anyone here took/taking the Nassim Room for their dinner Banquet?

Hi tougei ,

I'll be going down to regent to choose my invites this weekend..wondering how u manage to negotiate with them for the 2 muslim to b "absorb" as i will b inviting non chinese too..
did briefly mention to my coordinator abt it but she didn't seems to allow the "absorb"..she mention by per head..

Hi gals. I am on HM now. Will be flying back tomorrow *sob sob* Can only send you the pics when I'm home

Hi jiemei, I just asked Regent cos' my fren who had her wedding just before me (at another hotel) told me she asked her hotel to absorb the muslims. Errm...I dunno how to describe the "negotiations" also. That time was 2 weeks before my wedding and I had increased by 8 tables so I told Sunil that since my tables increased, I should get more perks heheh... He said they can absorb max of 2 Muslims/vege.

Oohh... I loved loved the black invites. Created quite an impact and the ribbons really stand out against the black. So if your frens are not "pang dang", do consider the black invites
But one word of caution, you have to tie the ribbons yourselves so it's alot of work. Especially if you are like me who wanted the ribbons to be perfect so I ended up tying most of them myself :-p

Hi Peggy,

I went to the wedding workshop as well. I am one of the 2 gals there as my FH was working and couldn't make it. I like the tranquality theme very much as well. Lots of candles and rose petals. I feel the 2 candles stands at the entrance very special. THe whole feeling is a romantic, cosy and intimate theme ...

Hi Huiling,
I am still undecided about regent. Sunil said the English dessert will cost about $15 per pax. It's over my budget.... though still hoping to have. Actually, I'm in dillemma over Hyatt, Regent or Marriott for lunch banquet. Personally, I like the deco and ballroom of regent. Also, all along I've deal with Sunil and find that he gives good service and very sincere. Also, he gives me the feeling that he really wants to make my wedding a special and memorable one. Such as, even for the colours of the flowers, he gave suggestions rather than what the original theme is having. However, the only bad point about Regent is it is a less well-know hotel and not conveniently located. Some might even think it's a 4 star hotel. Hence, people might give lesser ang pao compared to Hyatt and Marriott. Moreover, mine's a lunch event. Hence... might even give lesser ang pao.

Any previous Regent LUNCH or DINNER banquet brides can give their comments on the ang pao they receieved?

Hi precious thoughts
I think I remember you
...you sat in the middle near the entrance to The Bar right?..My FH and I sat on the right corner..you are right, abit worried abt the same things as you...For the kind of menu and cost,the location isn't that good..I estimate that we may loose abit of ang pao...

Hi Peggy,

I think I remember you too. Were you one of those who came early? Were you there before I came? Was there 1 or 2 couples sitting at where you sat?

For the ang bao part, my FH wasn't that concern about losing money actually. But also cannot loose too much. I think I'm only willing to loose maybe about $1.5K. He says most important is that I'm happy about the venue. But of cos, must still be within budget. It seems that I'm the more "calculative" one. hehe...

As for the location, to walk from MRT, it is really a torture. However, there's actually a bus from somerset and orchard mrt that stops right in front of Regent. Hence, it's still quite accessible actually.

Are you considering lunch or dinner?

Hi Preciousthoughts
still contemplating between outdoor ceremony and dinner at Aloha Changi Cottage or indoor at Regent...if Regent...it will be 10tables dinner in Nassim room
....how about you?

Hi jiemei,
I also tot of choosing the chinois theme cos i tot that was a little unique and sort of related to the wedding card which I chose. I took the red invite instead of the black one cos tot my in-laws will be "pan tang"

Hi Elson,
My wedding co-ordinator is also Evelyn. Feeling rather excited as I am doing my food tasting today.

Hi Huiling,

Didn't know that you are with regent oso. If you remember who am I (I am in TWP's thread as well).

Do you gals have 1 or 2 projectors for the montage? Will the photos turn out to be very dark coz Regent's lightings are quite dim.

my food tasting will be next fri
so excited. any recommendations of dishes i should try? btw, did anyone manage to get 1/2 of 2 different dishes so as to try more food?

as for the theme, we have not decided. most probably will be chinois..

Hi Peggy,

Yesterday, I went to "The Arts house @ the old parliament house" to check out church wedding venue and my FH and I really love that place very much. Hence, might have other plans and hold our wedding there instead on the same day.

Not sure... still thinking and discussing as the arts house is a bit small but really very nice and cosy...

Hi Huiling and tougei,
Haven't seen you all around on forum. How's everything?

Hi gals. Sorry for MIA. Just came back on Wed and promptly fell sick. Still on MC today

Just emailed my AD photographer. The pictures will only be ready next Friday. Will send to you gals then

Hi jiemei, how's your nego with Regent? I think it would be best if you just straight out tell them that you need them to absorb the muslims, rather than hint hint
For my case, I told Sunil that the Muslims are husband and wife so I cant possibly squeeze 12 to that table nor leave it as 8 Chinese so I ask him if he can absorb. He said ok, he can absorb and that's it, not much negotiations leh.

Hmm... I also managed to get 2 LCDs afterall. They initally gave me one projector only. But during the final confirmation meeting Sunil kindly agreed to throw in another projector so that I wont have to worry about cabling etc etc. Maybe you can try for this perk too. But I suppose your nego power depends on the number of tables you have also. Good Luck!!

Hi Precious, we didn't have problems with ppl thinking that it is a 4 star hotel and give lesser. Most give the usual price of $80. Of course, some will give $60 or even $40 but I suppose these ppl will give the same regardless if it's at Hyatt or MM. Some commented that they didn't know that Regent is such a posh hotel and were pleasantly surprised. No one complained to me about the location so far but mine's a Friday so most come from work and they have lifts from colleagues. At first I was worried abt the location and even wanted to charter small bus but Hubby says that ppl will be able to find their way there one, not to say that it is some really ulu place. Think Orchard is still very central

About the english dessert, yours is lunch isit? For my english dessert during the dinner banquet, they charge me at $70 plus per table (don't remember exact figures liao) Works out to be about $8 per pax. If it is $15 then it might be even more worth it to get the fondue instead for $11 per pax.

Hi Cheryl, I think the summer jazz theme is actually from 2006 package. It simply uses yam roses and pink carnations instead of the red or white roses for the chinios and jazz theme. I had a small gazebo with lilac organza set up on the stage instead of the normal deco. And the tables have lilac runners. I think Regent took some photos of this deco. Maybe you can ask them?

Hi pinkmi, yes I have half portions for the bird nest and lobster soup; and for the chix dishes; and finally the dessert also. In fact for the dessert, I had 2 testings cos' we wasn't satis with what they gave us during the food tasting and so Sunil arranged for another 2 desserts for us to try out.

Hi tougei,

How many tables do you have as I have tried so many time trying to negotiate for 2 projectors but they are still reluctant abt it.

Hi. I have 38 tables eventually but when we were "negotiating" during the final co-ordination meeting for the projectors and the muslim tables, I had 40 tables. Managed to cut down 2 more due to last min drop outs and some we decided not to invite afterall.

hallo Jenz! yep, rem you from TWP thread, great to see here as well! when is your AD? what a coincidence

hallo precious thought, The Art house can seat about 200 pax right? not very small, how many guests are you looking at? quite a unique place to solemnise

hey tougei, rem to send me your AD photos!!!

Hi Jenz,

I'm not referring to ACM. The Arts House is located somewhat beside ACM. It is the old parliament house but only converted to an Arts house somewhere last year.

Hi Huiling,

yup... the chamber of the Arts House can sit 200 persons max. I'm looking at around 200 guests. However, it can only accomodate 200 pax for standing cocktail. Even so, it seems a little cramp to me. It is not possible to have a sit-down banquet in the Arts house. It is really a very unique, grand and beautiful place to solemise. If I have this, I might not get regent in the end as the rental of the Arts House is very high for a Saturday. However, the Arts House do not have the date I want. I'm looking at 18th Mar but they only have 25th Mar. Also, I'm afraid it will clash with Qing Ming.

Can anyone confirm when is Qing Ming next year? Would reallu appreciate it

Hi Tougei,

Hope you are better by now. Have lots of rest and drink more water. A lot of people falling sick these period. My department super short-handed because people keep going on MC.

Really looking forward to see your AD pictures!

Hi Tougei,
You are back. Happy to hear that you are happy with Regent on your AD. So how's the band on your AD? Did you request for the band to play for your march in?

Hi precious, thanks
Feeling better liao

Hi gpsl, The band had good comments from guests. My hubby said they played quite well but I wasn't really paying attention :-p But no, they didn't play during the march-in afterall.

Hi tougei
Welcome bac!

So when did d band start playing? did they play for ur 2nd march-in? did u use original cds for d rest of d dinner?

Do take care n drink lotsa water!

Hi gals. Will send you gals once I got my pics back

The saxophonist played before the march-in. Then stopped for the march-in (using own CD) and cake cutting etc... start again during first dish and ended before 2nd march-in... not very long. Yep, I used all original CDs, didn't want to take the chance

The band is a 3-piece band. One of them will sing along with the music occasionally (depending on what song). They are quite good

hi yingal

Initally they didn't but I asked for a list of songs and they sent me. I can send it to you if you give me your email.

Tougei,

I would like to have a peek at your pics as well. Remember to send to me when you get them back [email protected]. Pls also send me the song list for the band as well. Can I just ask how many ensemble do you have? Thanks!

Girlrenyu,
My AD is Jan 06. Coming very soon hor & I don't seem to have started my prep yet except for the designing of gowns. BTW when is yours?

tougei:
can i have the list of songs too. and send me your photos when they are ready. [email protected]
btw, how many bottles of wine were consumed during ur banquet?

just curious. what march-in songs have you gals chosen?

Hi. Sent you gals liao.

I selected 12 songs but I'm not sure how many were played. They will play a maximum of 45 mins only. It is a 3 piece band.

I used up 40 bottles of wine.

I chose "A whiter shade of pale" & "Amore" for march-in songs

Hi tougei,
i just went to collect my invites and i believe i will end up paying for all my non chinese guests as there are quite a no. of them, my hb's business associates..maybe i'll nego some other things from them the next time i go down lor. we have 50 tables there, but they dun seems to be able to offer anything extra, everything by the book one leh.. kinda like no special privillage

can u send me ur pics as well? me interested.

thnx!