Regent Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter happy sunny
  • Start date Start date
I have called up The Card Shop. The lady, Shirley is very very helpful! maybe if you are keen, we go down and see her stuff together? her shop is at delphi orchard, but she is usually not there, so have to make appointment with her.

i have not signed with regent yet! cuz sunil and our timing don't match..hahah, will definitely sign within this month. ya going for the wedding show? just for fun?

Hi huiling

How's the charges by Card shop? Is it reasonable? Sure, I dont mind coming with you to see her stuff
When?

No lar, wont be going to wedding show. sekali the promotion so good that I will hit my head against wall hahah.... but you enjoy yourself yar?

The card shop cards are $1 each for the budget line. Cheapest promotions discontinued pieces are at $0.60 each but design is quite plain. The Card Shop I think is a husband and wife team. Shirley & David. I am hot stamping for my cards and it is $70 for mould and $0.35 ea piece. Cheapest I could find in the market at this point in time. Hope information helps.

Oh, in case you are wondering, my printer is not from the card shop. The Card Shop is basically middle people who will outsource the printing onto someone else, which adds to another layer of profits for them. Which, makes it a tat more expensive of bridal couples like us. It pays to do your homework first

Hallo Cadaryne! Thanks for informing us
yeah, i called Shirley up, she gave me quotations that sounded reasonable. Oh they outsource the printing to someone else? then how come they are are still cheaper than most printers? Hm...Is hotstamping nicer? When is your wedding, Cadaryne?

Tougei, want to meet this sat, 4.20pm at City Hall Mrt? I will give shirley a call, see if she is free

Hi huiling

I am going to Regent to meet Sunil at 11am. Can we meet at earlier at 4pm instead? I'm meeting a fren for dinner at Tampines

Hi Huiling

How did your meeting with your printer go? So sorry I was very very busy last week and unable to reply you earlier. I tried to post to the thread last Friday nite but something wrong with my keyboard and I cant type. So frustrating!!

Are you still going to the Regent's show on 17Apr? Sunil persuaded me to go to see the new themes. Do you want to go together?

Hi, I used Kentrich Trade Press. It's in Alexadra Distripark. I called up 6 printers and this was the cheapest.

hallo tougei n grin! i have been to card shop and discuss designs. The card selections seem quite limited, but this is the first shop I been to, so not sure exactly how many card selections to expect. Basically I wanted brown cards. however, I have to do hotstamping on the cards, since basic ink can;t be seen on the type of brown cards that I have seen. the smallest square brown card + hotstamping (only one side) + envelopes will cost about $1.5 per card. Is it expensive? Grin, could I have the contacts of Kentrich Trade? how much did they quote you for yours?

yep, tougei. i met sunil yesterday too! to sign the contract. he said he forced you to go to the wedding fair, haha. Yeah I'm going. will it be boring for you? since you have settled your gown and all? good that you go too lah, can help me choose gown. I'm taking Off the rack from The wedding present. If i can't find anything suitable, then I will MTM.

anyway, how is your gown design? any pic to show? can we ask sunil to seat us together? or is it free seating?

Hi Huiling

I haven been to any card shop yet. But aren't you taking Regent's cards or you are buying your own? I will be using regent's design and thus only have to source for printer for inserts. How much does card shop charge for inserts?

Oohh so you finally sign on the dotted line
Good lor, a thing off your mind. The meeting with Sunil on Sat morning was fairly fruitful
Finally settled my dessert. We not only got to try 2 more desserts (to choose), he actually got the dessert chef down to talk to us. When I saw the chef, I was thinking - shucks if I still don't like the dessert, how to tell him in the face?
Luckily we found something we liked - some dark chocolate tart with caramelised banana and macademia nuts. And we added ice cream as well
He also invited the chinese chef to come down to finalise the banquet dishes. Thumbs up again for service

As for the wedding fair, I'm quite ok to go. But my hubby says that it's a waste of money since we already booked the hotel and bought the wedding gown liao. So he is not keen to go
I will try ask ask him again.

I have MTM my WG liao. Will send you a pic
I know you looking for simple and elegant WG rite? hehe... mine is princessy type.

Hi Grin, can you tell me how much is Kentrich charging for inserts? Thanks!

Hi huiling,
Kentrich no: 62734648. Ask for Helen. I donno if they have brown cards, but I remember she has alot of samples on a ring with diff shades and weights. I did heat embossing (for words) with a custom engraving border (the kind of embossing where the front is raised and back is depressed), which is alot more ex than hotstamping. It cost me $1.6 for a Chinese/Eng pair of inserts and I get the engraving plates back. Hotstamping should be a lot cheaper cuz can use a lighter weight paper and no need to carve the metal plates for engraving. I printed my reply $ thank-you cards there too. My reply cards were postcard style so the paper had to be very thick (=ex) So I bought 380gsm paper from popular and she printed them. The paper was gold, but I think I saw shiny brown paper in popular too. Ultimately the cost of printing will depend on how much you are printing (more=cheaper per piece). If you are printing a lot, then those shops which charge fixed price per set are not so worth it.

Hi Huiling

My hubby still doesn't want to go for the wedding show. Hmm... wonder if we can still sneak in to see the setup after the show. Will sound out Sunil heheh...

By the way, I sent you the pics liao

Hi gals.

Hi Bugbear. Sunil just got back regards to the fondue - $11 per head, minimum of 100 pax. I think it is quite ex for fruits and satay sticks and chocolate. Unless they use Godiva lar hehe... so I think I wont be getting that. Will be using the money to top up the deco for the ballroom instead

Huiling, how much Regent charging you for the fondue. Is it cheaper since yours is in the package?

hallo tougei! saw your gown pics! The back of the gown is so sexy! you must have loved your gown very much. do you need to top up alot for the lace? I think you are quite tall, that's why you can carry off the halter necked cut. You didn't want a bustier?

fondue, I don't know how much is it, cuz mine comes in the package. So I won't know how Regent charges per head. But I should think that it is more expensive than $11! since my guest list is small. yep, I agree that that you will be better off decorating the ballroom with the money. make it real nice! did you watch The Wedding Planner by Jennifer Lopez? remember the first church wedding that she was handling in the show? It was gorgeous! lotsa of white flowers.

Back to work from wedding and honeymoon... now's the time for the post-mortem on the regent experience

1) Deco was great!! Was glad that we chose the Chinois theme cos it was nicely done up... classy chinois, not cheena at all :P

2) Lighting display for 1st food presentation- we were afraid that we will get those funny disco lights like in other hotels, so we wanted them out. The hotel in the end just dimmed the ballroom and used the lights only to light up the way in for the servers. Looks very good! And it's a totally different perspective when you are at the bridal table.

3) Banquet service was excellant. Think i'm a bit biased here cos I compared with a wedding i attended at Marriot the week before, and that was really bad. ANd it's easy for the bride and groom cos the hotel staff will guide you every step of the way, reminding u to smile and prompting you for the things u need to do.

4) Food was generally good, though my sis said that the fish at the bridal table still have some scales on it!

5) Booze - We brought our own wine. For 38 tables, we used up 36 bottles of reds and 12 bottles of whites. Hotel was great in regulating the flow. Oh, and I found out that the concoction of beer + red + white wine drunk through a straw can be quite intoxicating.. haha

5) Hotel service is tops! - From the doorman all the way to the cleaner, the friendliness felt sincere. Will be happy to stay at the hotel if there's an opportunity again.

6) Suite - ooh... we didn't want to leave after two days! One of the fun part is looking at the other weddings the following day and reminiscing on ur own.

All in all, we are happy Regent customers :D

Hallo gorky! looks like everything went really well for your wedding, I can't wait for mine to come!
) so exciting. Where did you go for honey moon?

hallo cadaryne, I have received your PM. thank you!

hey tougei, ya confirmed going for regent wedding fair?

Hi gorky

Glad your wedding went so well
Yes agree that the chinios theme is very classy and unique. But I may not be able to take that theme cos' of my Jazz band. Sunil says that jazz doesn't seem to go well with the red lanterns etc
So now dunno how to decorate the ballroom. Very fun

Yar, i agree abt the disco lights hehe... Regent also have such "intelligent" lightning but I also opted out for my first dish. Wah, you had so many bottles of wine!! Oh dear, I only expect about 40 bottles of wine and 1 barrel of beer leh. didn't have free corkage somemore

Did you have the ensemble?

Hi huiling, don't think I will be going for the Regent show. Sunil just reverted that they are not having the stage deco I wanted for the wedding show afterall - to drape the chiffon sashes into a gazebo on the stage. So no point for me to go liao
But enjoy yourself yar? Hope you see something you like for your WG

I will be having No Sharkfin menu for my banquet.
Understood tat Regent Hotel has the following instead of sharks fin soup:
- Braised Bird's Nest Soup with Winter Melon and minced Chicken
- Double-boiled Fish Maw, Dried Scallops and Chicken Soup
- Braised Lobster Soup with Fish Maw
Can anybody comment on the 3 alternative soups?

Someone posted an earlier message saying that the bird's nest is very miserable. Can taste more of the winter melon rather.

Hi girl ren yu,
I can't wait for mine to come too. Mine is on 12 Nov and the co-ordinator is Ginny. Ginny is alright but quite hard to bargain with.
When is yours ya? Have you started printing out the invitation inserts? Anybody knows where can I print out the inserts at low costs?

Hey girl ren yu - yeah! but i tell you, the dinner felt really fast.. i was quite disappointed when the banquet mgr tell me i have to go eat my dessert then say bye bye to the guests. An end to a magical evening...sigh. We went to Hong Kong (Impulse decision cos of jetstar asia offer) Did little shopping but lots of romantic fine dining :D Ah... honeymoon period is always the best part. When is your big day?

Tougei - my wedding dinner was quite rojak actually, chinois theme with jazz music. No ensemble so maybe the contrast is not so obvious. My opinion of the jazz theme i saw at the next day's wedding is that the deco is less vibrant... suggest you add more flowers and tealights

Don't worry too much about the wine. Can get the hotel to regulate. In the beginning, a lot of bottles will be opened up...then it will slow down...so no need to be kan cheong. And yours is a lunch right? Hopefully pple will drink less.

Parisgirl - I tried the bird's nest soup. Too bland and can't taste any of the bird's nest. Lobster soup sounds good.

Will get photos by month end... will post for all the see

hallo parisgirl and gorky! my wedding is in December, still like a long way to go. am getting abit tired of wed prep. already have ideas in my head, am eager to execute the ideas

I don't know who is ginny. been liasing only with sunil. have been revisiting some of the old threads that I have posted comments on recently (that's how bored I am!) it's funny to look back and see the processes, how I thought that regent was struck out of my list because it was simply way out of my budget. How I considered hyatt, goodwood park hotel, royal plaza on scotts. But i think Regent really evokes something out of me when I first stepped into it, the grandeur of it.

anyway as for honeymoon, i really very lost. have no idea where to go. am quite certain that it would be one of the european countries though.

sorry parisgirl, I have not printed any inserts yet. so not sure where to go. ya are going for the printer that regent ties up with?

and thank you gorky! i can't wait to see ya photos. who is ya photographer and videographer?

Hihihi..
Did anyone of U here went to the wedding show held in Regent yesterday (17th APril)? Care to share with us what the show is like?

hihi... wedding will be held in regent next year feb... just confirm yesterday during the wedding show...
5K deposit.... really steep as compared to other hotels...

like the jazz theme....
but feel that the bridal suite is not up to standard...
as compared to swissotel raffles, shereton, fullerton, hyatt...

hi all, have signed up with regent as well...

mine is on 13 nov... but mine is using the function room only...
parisgirl, urs on 12 nov?? urs in ballroom??

yah... feel that the bridal suite quite small actually... compared to others, like marina and amara... cos i seen theirs, and its so much bigger.... hmm....

Hi parisgal

I am taking the bird nest altv to sharks fin soup
I tried the lobster soup as well durin the food tasting and everyone (except my Dad) agrees that the bird nest soup is better
It is more qing dan and refreshing. Can taste the birds's nest but of course not ALOT. I didn't like the lobster soup cos it tastes like Sharksfin soup, just without the sharksfins. Nothing spectacular.

Hi gorky, i will be doing the jazz theme with red roses hehe... agree that the original jazz theme is elegant but abit bland
Mine is dinner
Huiling is doing the lunch thingy.

Hi Huiling. How's the wedding show? Found any WG you liked?

By the way, can someone tell me what's the theme for 2006?

LuckyStar,
Yes, mine is on 12 Nov held in Tanglin Room..
Have seen the room, it is very longish. So the march in will be very long...nice to show wedding gown..hehe. Which function room are u using, tanglin or nassim?

Tougei,
Will you be printing out 'No-Shark-Fin-Thank-You' cards?
what do u mean by the jazz theme with red roses? The roses are supplied by yr own or by Regent?
Tougei, do u mind sharing with me yr beautiful gown pics? my email add is [email protected]

Hi tougei,
the themes are as follows (correct me if i'm wrong):-
1) Jazz
2) chinois
3) elegant (black)
4) dreamz
5) tranquility (not very sure whether spelt correctly)

parisgirl, so u the one who "chopped" my date!! haha.. ;p
actually wanted 12 nov also.. mine is tanglin as well... haha.... will send you a email...

hallo tougei and all who were not at the show

thought that Regent was putting in alot of effort to make the show entertaining and different. it could be because i have not been to many shows! besides the usual, the elegant black theme refered to longish tables with black table cloth. quite mysterious looking.
Think i like tranquility the best. If I did not rem wrongly, it was the one with a huge round burning candle in the middle of the table, with rose petals scattered at the table. thought it was very very er tranquil ;p

chinois theme really stands out because i think no other hotel has this theme. All modern red looking.

Jazz theme, think I see it quite often enough at weddings.

i went to see the tanglin room too. and I thought it was very nicely set up. went to view it once without any set up, and it did not impress me much, but when I saw the sash and the flower balls and the stage yesterday, it was like wow! beautiful! esp, with the longish walk in. very good for cosy dinner.

hallo Melody and luckystar

bridal room not big enough? hmm, I have not really noticed. anyway, what was important to me was that the dressing mirror was next to the window. Cuz a friend of mine who got married at Hyatt, she was given a room where the dressing mirror was not quite near the window. and it was getting darker, so was difficult for makeup artist to gauge her makeup. hence that was the first thing (position of dressing mirror) i look out for when I look at suite.

Hey tougei,yep saw a few gowns that were pretty interesting. But I suspect they won't suit me. the models are so tall and their shoulders are so broad! will prob MTM. A pity you were not there, else we could chat. i was there pretty early and waited quite a while for the show to start

Hey girlrenyu - my photographer is Sam Wong. I think he's quite good, very detailed and hardworking. We had fun with him around cos he knew a lot more customs than we do, so we had to enact some scenes for his shoot... haha. I got a fren to do the videographing.

Tougei - paiseh i very blur one. And glad to hear that your bird's nest has some real stuff
Hey, can send me pics of ur lovely gowns? [email protected]

Wow... sounds like 2006 has even more exciting themes! It can only get better right? About the room, I got a dressing table near the window. My make-up artist actually drew the curtains a bit. Otherwise one side would be too bright, and the make up wldn't be balanced.

luckystar,
i replied to yr mail already. hehe.

Would like to ask you gals, does Regent Hotel provide emcee script like most other hotels?

My fiance and I are thinking of doing away with the yam seng and cake cutting because it looks "stupid" to be cutting a fake cake.
Do you think it will look werid if do away with these?

sorry parisgirl, need to clarify certain things with you... have sent you an email...
thks....

but thought regent's cake looked unique..

heloo

I have not seen the regent's cake yet. Anyway to find out?

parisgirl, I am thinking of getting a real cake or do without the dummy cake. like you, i also find it 'stupid' to cut a fake cake. but i was thinking, if there's no cake-cutting, then just march in and then sit down? do not need to go onto the stage?

Me thinking of getting a real cake too... can serve as a side dessert... or little cup cakes to make up the wedding cake... so much ideas...

seem like we have the same idea about the cake. i was actually think if i should take away the dessert and serve the cake, or serve the cake as additional dessert. but i am not sure if pple will eat the cake, coz i am always very full by the time i finish the dessert during wedding banquet.

btw, have you gals check out any place to get wedding cakes or cupcakes? think it will be too expensive to get it from Regent...

Hi gals.

Wah, the black theme sounds interesting but don't think we can invite the elders. They will throw a fit heheh... Will be good for a wedding dinner for frens though.

What flower balls?? Can someone kindly describe to me? sounds interesting

Did you get to see Regent's new cake at the wedding show? I wonder if Regent would allow us to order cake from another shop?

Hi Huiling, yar wish I could be there too
So what design you looking at for your WG actually? When do you need to confirm your design?

hi pinkimi,
think it's gonna cost to get from regent definitely... was thinking of finding those bakery shop... found 1 that specialised in wedding cakes in railway mall...
some of my ideas:
(1) make 3 plain white sponge cakes, different size... place on white glass act as serving plates. dedorated with real fruits or flowers... cut-on 1st tier, then get hotel to help serve 2nd & third tier to guest as an additional dessert...
(2) 5 tiers of mini fruit tarts, 1st tier with a small wedding cake for cutting. then serve the fruit tart as a last dessert...
(3) just need to make 1 superb nice nice wedding cake just enough for family members & close friends who will stay later for the wedding. Thinking of a rich chocolate cake... hee hee

pinkimi,

nope... not really yet...but looking at normal priced cake... 20-30 for 1kg... thus if get a 4-5kg (around $100) base tier should be possible...then follow by a 3.5 kg, then lastly a 1 kg. should add up to around $200... Just look for a baker that you trust... no need decoration... just plain white color square cake...

Buy some fuits or flowers to DIY decorate... should be quite nice already...the cake can be a very simple white fresh cream sponge cake...

if decorate with white grapes on the side... light green orchids or gerberas find some silver ribbons/wires or white lace to tie up the flowers... should be quite nice...

or else, just need to get a pair of small clay figurine to place on top tier, sprinkle coloured sugar icings/flour on cake...

or buy M&Ms mini chocolates.. just sprinkle on cake...

I think this could serve about 100 - 150 guest comfortably... since not every one likes to eat cake anyway...

Hi Melody and pinkimi,
I don't think Regent Hotel allow us to bring in cakes from outside. Coz' I saw in the agreement tat it does not allow food outside to be brought in. You may check with yr co-ordinators to double confirm.

alamak... never ask regent... but the other hotel okie.
will check when i meet them...
thanks for reminding me...
i guess they might be worried of the quality of the food...

hey smallgirl and melody,

i had asked my coordinator before. she said i can bring in my own cake, but have to let them know and sign a form.

Just to contribute a bit: fresh cream cakes can't last out of the fridge for more than two hours, that's why it's rarely used for wedding cakes.

I'm glad to see so many of us interested in having a real wedding cake. It crossed my mind and I did my research on it too, but good ones are expensive and the cheaper ones (not cheap either) are not as nice. I thought having cup cakes a refreshing idea, but wouldn't cutting it seem a bit strange? Do you cut on one of the cup cakes or do you cut in between two cup cakes to pretend you're cutting the real thing?

good morning gals

seems that most of us are having the same ideas. i had also thought about how to cut a cupcake. or should i have a bigger cupcake meant for cutting. hehe.
but i think i really need to find out the price of a reasonable cake. have anyone of you checked out pine gardens at amk?

Can you see the picture of cupcakes i have attached? I like to have cup cake in place of ordinary tiers cake coz' they are so cute!

Went down to Regent, requested to my co-ordinator for their quotes. Was quoted $15+++ for each cup cake...daylight robbery leh!
if u have 200 guests, tat will be very costly, right?
276625.jpg

hi parisgirl,
i love the cupcakes. i also think they look so cute... hehe...

but $15+++ for each cupcake is so ridiculous! that is additional $150+++ per table.