Regent Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter happy sunny
  • Start date Start date
hi gals.

Hi Huiling, yar, it has been kindof quiet in here. I have also just spoken to Sunil on my food tasting on 10 Mar
I have requested 2 half portions (to try try mah) of the chix dish, alternative to sharks fin, and the western dessert. The western dessert really sounds yummy leh. Sunil proposed this "White & Dark Chocolate Mango Cake with Fresh Fruit and Tropical Sauce" and this "Mango & Cashew Nut Tart with Vanilla Bean Ice Cream" Wah, I was positively drooling by the time I finished reading the description hehe... I hope the actual thing taste as good as it sounds

They also sent me this email attachment with the cards but one is red/fuschia and the other is white. Didn't see the black one leh. Hmm... will ask for it when I go down to Regent on Thurs. Huiling, your hubby is keen on the black one isit? Sounds really stylish and contemporary

Hi Bugbear, hehe it really depends on your priorities for the wedding. Are you of the "once a lifetime" mindset? If you are, then go for it cos' else you might regret and fret over it next time. As for me, my budget not high so I didn't even bother to consider Fullerton, Ritz etc
I would rather spend the $$ on a good honeymoon hehe...

But more importantly, you should consider the space constraint. Why don't you ask Regent if they have any weddings coming up that is of abt 45 tables and you can go down and see if you are comfortable with the setting?

hallo bugbear, i agree with Tougei. if Regent can take your number of tables, I would rather go with Regent. 10K is alot of money leh, and the day will only last for a few hours. I'm sure regent will also leave a nice memory too
if you really love fullerton, then maybe cut down the guest list?

hallo tougei, how much more do you have to top up for western dessert? the cakes certainly sounded yummy! I'm going to ask Sunil for it too!

my husband does not like the black card. he likes another one that is abit beige looking one.
BTW, have you gone for your trial yet? I've changed my Makeup artist to Kenneth Lee.

Hi Huiling

There is a top of of $65++ per table (I think) for the dessert. But we decided to go for it cos' I wanted something different and special for my dinner rather than the normal 8 chinese dishes. But yours is lunch right? Are you the one with the chocolate fondue?

Oh, can you tell me why did you decide to change to Kenneth? have you gone for your trial yet? Are you still with TWP?

Hi Gals...

Tougei, Huiling...actually, i called Regent lately to checkout their 2006 packages...and they estimated an increase of about 5%. After the estimated increase, their menu price is not much different from Fullerton already. My above desscription is comparing some other hotels with cheaper menu.

My concern with Regent is the pillar as well as the space constraint for 45 tables. Will call Sunil again to see if they have any weddings of approx. 45 tables.

Hello all, this page really useful 'coz me hubby and me also considering Regent for end of year wedding. can you tell me your feedback on the wedding planners eg. patrina, ginny etc? especially those who have gone through the banquet already? Also, heard that some one got corkage waiver coz signed up at bridal workshop. may i ask when was the workshop held? very lucky leh! Can share what other "out of package" perks anyone managed to get for 2005 weddings? Mine is on weekday.

hallo tougei, yep i'm doing the choc fondue
I'm still with TWP. met kenneth at a friend's wedding. hit off very well. so decided to get him ;p

bugbear, fullerton let you lock in the price for 2005? like that hmmm. if the diff is not large, guess it does not matter? haha, if it is my fiance, he will go for fullerton! he loves the hotel. but I also hope to see you going for Regent

hallo moomoo, i did not bargain for any perks so can't help you on this. only know that there might be another bridal show coming up in April. I think sunil is quite nice. do you like the hotel? any other hotel you are thinking of? weekday should be quite easy to bargain?

Hey All,

Here are some of our actual day photographs for your viewing pleasure.
http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2132056776&code=14549162&mode=invite&DCMP=isc-email-AlbumInvite

We engaged Kalyedoscope Photographers for our 2-days event. http://www.kalyedoscope.com

We feel that they are professional and easy-going and the price is reasonable. We will not hesitate to recommend them to anybody. They took more than 1600 pictures (digital) for us and we have uploaded about 200+. You will notice that the pictures alternate between the groom's and the bride's house. That's because there were 2 photographers, one with me (the groom) and one with my wife. As both cameras are time synchronized, the pictures show what's happening on both side simultaneously.

Hello all!

I also only seen the red and cream cards .. but happy with both so I took half red half cream.

Wah Beary... ur pics are great! The synchronisation thing is quite cool. I will be trying to do the same thing.. but the photographer at the groom's house will be my FH's fren. I get the professional one :P

Moomoo - i got corkage waiver in the bridal show last year. Do attend the show in Apr.. they may throw in some extras.

hey tougei - food tasting can have half half one ar? I spoke to Joanne and she say cannot, must be the full dish. My food tasting's on 1 Mar but haven't confirm the dishes I want yet.

Hi Huiling. Wah Chocolate fondue *drool* I exchange my chocolate cake with your fondue? Haha, just kidding lar. So does Regent have the utensils and stuff already or do you have to source for them? Do you have to top up for it??

Hi BugBear, if Fullerton allows you to keep to 2005 price then it might be worth it
But I remember that Fullerton's ballroom also very small leh. Or is there more than 1 ballroom?

Hi Sharky, I also got to see 2 invites. Will confirm with Sunil when I see him on Thurs.

Hi Beary, your pics are really not bad. seems that you click very well withh your photographers as well. Your wedding cake very different leh, is it one of the choices of cakes provided by Regent? By the way, the balloons are very sweet. Did you specifically ask for them or are they provided?

Hi gorky, oh your food tasting is earlier than mine
Tell me about it later ok? Is your menu Passion 1 or 2 or 3 or 4? Can have half half one leh, but not too many lar. I asked for 2 dishes with half portions and the dessert also cos' it is an add-on. Maybe you talk to Sunil instead?

Hi Tougei, Fullerton big ballroom is down below. it can take about 55 tables and they are using th 6 ft table, instead of the normal 5ft. As such, each table can easily accomodate 11. The package that i got from Fullerton is the 2005/06 package...so they won't be increasing (I hope)

Hi Bugbear. I think it's the same ballroom but dunno why I remembered it as small. Maybe cos' it's dark and I didn't look around properly. That time my fren only have 30 tables. But do be careful when you march-in cos' it's down the stairs
I really "nei yi ba len han" for my fren when she was walking down the stairs hehe...

Also, double check the prices for 2006 for Fullerton yar?

Hi Tougei...Thanks. I am also concerned with the stairs...anyway, Fullerton seems too exp. Sure suffer loss...need to re-consider :p

hallo all! ahhhh! this thread has come alive again! the good old days have come back ;p

cream and red cards, are they the one with a slot in? you can slot in your inserts into it? think that's the old ones. Regent is launching the new cards, maybe you can ask Sunil if they are available, or they are not launched yet *shrug* there are new wedding favours too, not sure when they are coming in.

tougei, i thought your cakes sound absolutely heavenly! I'm not sure if the fondue is good, cuz I have never tried one before. and yep i topped up for it man. it cost quite abit ;( maybe not worth it to have fondue, wonder if I should ask for your dark and white chocolate mango cake instead. and i think regent has the utensils and stuff, I hope they are presentable! I have nv seen a fondue presentation before!

thanks beary,, for generously sharing your photos. I will view them now!

Hi Tougei - Mine's not passion 1 - 4 leh. Mine's the classic menu, with another list of substitute items. I will talk to them again abt the half thing. Will let you know how the makaning turns out

Has anyone tried swopping any amenities for a dinner at one of the restaurants? I'm thinking of swopping the coordinators' room for a dinner at Iggy's the following nite. The food there's fantastic.

Hi huiling,

How much is the top up for the fondue as compared to the dessert? If it's not too much, and if your lunch is not the chinese sit down type, I say go for the fondue!! It leaves a much more "wow" impression. My colleague went for one of the weddings at Hyatt with the fondue and she is still talking abt it
But of course the presentation must be good lar. Just make sure that the utensils like the pot for the chocolate is clean and shiny and big enough for ppl to gather around. And that the variety of fruits/ bread to dip into the fondue if not too limited. Oh, and that they use good quality chocolate. Yum yum

I will ask abt the invites tonight when I go down to Regent
Anyone else got things you want to check out? I can help ask.

Hi gorky, oh is yours the 2004 package? but I think there shouldn't be much difference with the menu right? When's your wedding? Mine's in Jul 05. I think by the time my wedding, the chef would have forgotten what comments I put for the food tasting liao

I heard abt Iggy's too
Maybe we will go there during our 2-night stay at Regent. But it is a private restaurant right? Will the wedding co-ordinator be able to give you a free dinner there?

Morning Gals!

Hi Tougei, when u are there, can also help me check out if they are open for 2006? if their 2006 package is out? I am targeting ard Apr. Thanks.

Hi Huiling, how much do u have to topup for the fondue? I agree with Tougei that if yours is not the chinese sitdown, u should go for the fondue. Definitely going to leave a better impression than serving cakes

hey tougei ya going to regent tonight? I love going to the hotel! love the ambience of the hotel! hmm, Iggy, where is the restaurant? Italian food?

Hi Huiling and Bugbear, I've PM you back

Think Iggy's at some corner on the 2nd storey. Just above the bar is it? Heard good comments on it
But don't think it's cheap. Gorky, have you eaten there before?

Hi Moomoo, almost forgot to say "Welcome!!!" to you
When's your wedding? Huiling's right when she says weekday is easier to bargain for perks. Not that we bargain for much cos' the package is already quite comprehensive
My co-ordinator is Sunil all along. He's the Director of catering
Haven really spoken to the other co-ordinators yet.

Hi Huiling, i am with Flamingo. Decided on your gown designs already?

Hi Moomoo...I have spoken to Patrina and Laksmy (besides Sunil), both very nice ladies. So far, i think coordinators from Regent are pretty friendly.

oh Laksmy is nice too
spoken to her on a few occasions.

Flamingo, heard shirley Li is very friendly. i sorta know what designs i want, but can't make up my mind exactly which one! prefer sleek and clean look

Hi Huiling, when will your WG be ready then? Hehe, I like the classy princessy look
But I think the sleek and contemporary WG very suitable for your wedding lunch.

Bugbear, I think Flamingo's designs quite special
Have you decided on what design you want yet?

Yah...laksmy is very nice...
Heheh...actually, Shirley is a friend of my FH...so i had a very easy time when i select BS. I did not even go BS hunting. Flamingo was the 1st and last BS i stepped into

So good that you sorta know what designs u want...i think i will just leave it to Shirley to design my gowns...i know nothing about designs, materials, etc

Hi gals.

Hi Bugbear, the package for 2006 has just been submitted for approval. So anticipate to be out in abt 2 weeks time
Sunil says that there are 2 new (& fantastic) themes for 2006 and asks you to "must wait for it" hehe... but he refused to tell me what it is yet. As for the chocolate fondue, he will check the price and revert soon but it is certainly doable

Oh I saw the new invites liao.
250584.jpg
250585.jpg

We loved the black one as we thought that it looks simple and yet stylish. And so we took half black and half red. But when I told my Mum, she was quite apprehensive abt it. So now I dunno wat to do leh. Shall I insist on the black ones or take the normal ones instead
Will you gals go for black invites?

As for the favours and cakes, we did not choose first cos' Sunil says that new ones will be out soon. Looking forward to those
But in the old selection we saw this pair of wooden fork and spoon which we thot was quite nice.

Hi Tougei, goos to hear from you! Thanks for the great news. I sure look forward to it. Do you happen to have Sunil's email? I can't seem to get him on the phone and did not receive any response from Lakshmy. So exicted about the new package.

Hhm, actually looking at the photo, the black one is very unique, but i personally still prefer the white one. cos i feel that it blends in very well with the Jazz theme (if you opted for that)...but this is just my 2-cents worth.

The photo frame thingy is aso a new invite? Pretty interesting too

I think Regent is really putting in a lot of effort on their invites, deco, menu, etc. This is what i really like about them!

Hi BugBear,

We had 42 tables on our wedding night and it was still pretty spacious to walk around during the photo taking sessions. Don't think adding only 3 more tables will make it too cramp.

Wow... the new invitation cards are so stylo... for those who have yet to agree on the contract with Regent, try to bargain for at least 70% invitation cards, this will help save you around $100, coz every extra card is around $2.50 for me and I had quite a bit of shortfall with only 60%.

Hi tougei, our wedding cake was on Regent's selection list. Maybe they have changed the list for 2005. The balloons were prepared by ourselves. We wanted a more joyous mood and hence the balloons. We got the banquet manager to assign waitresses to give out some of the balloons to kids during the reception and it really added to the joyous mood. Our friends prepared the streamers on their own initiatives and we were really surprised when we came in during the 2nd walk-in to a "popping" reception.

One last thing, try to get the assurance from your actual day coordinator (your AD Co-ord may not be the one you are talking to regularly) that they will NOT be showing other prospective couples around during the critical 5pm - 6pm period, coz this tend to distract the coordinator, leading to a delayed response time when you really need their help to address certain last minute issues. Honestly, I was a little irritated when Patrina (not my usual co-ord) could not attend timely to some of the urgent issues that cropped up last minute.

Hi Beary, good to hear from you that having 42 tables is still spacious. Do you have tables that are blocked by the pillars? Any commeents from your guests regarding that?

Just got back from company retreat in Bintan... heh heh. Spent my time putting as much sunscreen as possible to avoid getting too dark.

Tougei - Yah yah, i realised that mine's the 2004 package and the classic menu is like passion 1. I'm going to try to ask for something at iggy's. Will let u know how it turns out. My wedding's on Apr 2.

Iggy's French makan. The owner/chef, ignatius, is the former chef of les amis. Have tried the food there. Very good, uses the freshest of ingredients. Price quite steep... but cheaper than les amis so I think it's quite worth it.

Wah the new black card quite cool, but it gives me the impression of a D&D rather than a wedding dinner. Just my humble opinion

Hi BugBear,

There will be 2 tables that has an obstructed view of the stage but not totally blocked. My presentation is projected onto the 2 side screens so none of the tables are blocked for the presentation. You can always discuss with the co-ord on how you would like to arrange the tables.

hallo beary, the balloon idea sounds good
did you bought those ordinary balloons? how did you prepare them? pump them first and bring to the hotel or you pumped it in the hotel? hmm, must buy a good pump then?

I nv know that Iggy is by the former chef of Les Amis, hm, what are the price range? actually i have nv been to les amis either. are the food really that good?

regarding the cards, the printing prices differ dep on the type of cards you are getting due to the differences in the type of paper. that's what I heard from sunil
tougei, next time you help us find out the various prices can?

I think I'm going to sign the contract today! anything I should take note of? that they should write into the contract?

Hi Beary, do you happen to still have the floor plan that i can take a look at? If it's only 2 tables that has an obstructed view, then it seems ok...don't think can totally escape the obstruction

iggy's lunch starts from about $30 + or so... can't quite remember liao. Dinner is more ex, about $100 w/o wine. I like the food there lor, plus the ambience is great...good for those special occasions.

Hi Beary,
I noticed that you had your presentation projected on both screens which means 2 projectors. Do you have to pay additional for the 2 projectors?
I'm entitled to 1 free projector and have to pay additional if I wanted to have 2.

Hi yingal

Oh, you just reminded me leh. I also only have 1 projector. Hmm... oh dear, must rent the other one hur? Did Regent tell you how much?

hallo tougei, i think it cost $350 to rent a projector. not sure if there is any discount if you rent a second one
BTW, check your PM

Hi yingal, tougei
Lucky you... you have 1 free projector. We had none. We had to borrow both from our friends, if not that would have been $700 for 5mins use... :p

Oh, if you refer to my earlier posts, I mentioned that I have (I bought it) the required 30m video cable to link the 2 projectors and can lend it to anyone who needs it. The offer still stands.
I bought the cable as Regent's vendor charged $150 for the rental of the cable whereas I can buy it for $90 at Sim Lim Square.

Hi bugbear,
Do let me know your email address so I can send you the floor plan. You will also have to advice the banquet manager on where the baby seats (1-3yrs) and high chairs (4-6yrs) will be. We had many kids and babies during our dinner and it turned out well that we gave them the final layout early so they can prepare for the BC and HC.

Hi yingal, I think i will try to borrow my office's projector first hehe... don't want to spend so much on a 5mins projection leh. else, just have one screen lor

Hi Slimmy, there are a number of pics of the ballroom in the archived threads above
But you need to search for them abit - some are in the Dec thread from Chubbyrain wedding, I think (correct me if I'm wrong)

So far the service has been good cos' its 1 waiter to a table and the food err...some good, some ok, but no bad
Oh I find that the wedding co-ordinators' service are excellent.